Web Essentials 2012


Adds many useful features to Visual Studio for web developers.

(194) Review
Visual Studio
Download (1,116,349)
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Reviews (194)
Q and A (326)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by z1c0 | December 15 2012

by massive-geek | December 15 2012

I'm getting exactly the same issue as samuel.milton.

Using VS2012 and getting his same issue

I'm getting "Undeclared variable" and "Undeclared mixins" when I edit the Bootstrap LESS-files which results in "Compile error" in the preview window...

Can you help me pls?

Mixins and variables on another sheet should they be available from another within importing the sheet? e.g. if I have colors.less and then layout.less should it fetch the vars/mixins from colors.less without importing it?
I'm quite new to less but seeing other projects that's what they don't usually import and import only to combine

P.S. really great extension!

by samuel.milton | December 13 2012

I'm trying to get my site going with VS2012 and Twitter Bootstrap (LESS).

But i'm getting "Undeclared variable" and "Undeclared mixins" when I edit the Bootstrap LESS-files which results in "Compile error" in the preview window... Ideas?

Screenshot: http://i.imgur.com/DfydD.png

Edit two: Thanks Mads for the reply. Clearly a five star addon!

by DanglingPointer | December 13 2012

Are you using latest version of Microsoft Ajax Minifier (http://ajaxmin.codeplex.com/) to minify the JavaScript? If you are then would it be updated automagically? And If not, then how would you compare these two?

Update: After running couple of tests, I have observed that the latest release of Microsoft Ajax Minifier (4.78, released 12/07/12) outperforms Web Essentials' JavaScript minification by 3.5%.

Mads Kristensen December 23 2012
| Edit |

Yes, 2.2 uses AjaxMin 4.78

by Saeid Pournejati | December 08 2012

by Caio Vilas Boas | December 07 2012

The TypeScript Regions feature is awesome! Love it :)

by Joshua.Rocha | December 07 2012

Is there a way to make a squiggly line go away without changing my code? I understand that there are more vendor prefixes I could use, but if my project is only supporting webkit, I would REALLY like to make that squiggly line go away. Please, please, PLEASE put an option to ignore or even an option to disable "alert for vendor prefixes" in the future.

I firmly believe that any squiggly line that comes up in anything should be able to be removed after user consideration. I know this is a great extension, but just like Microsoft Word doesn't always have better grammar than I do, this extension should take my input.

Thank you for the phenomenal extension and all your hard work!! :)

Mads Kristensen December 23 2012
| Edit |

In version 2.2 you can select which browsers to support and the CSS editor will adjust accordingly with the correct validation and auto-generated vendor specifics. Just right-click in the CSS editor to open the browser selector

by Paul Mason | December 07 2012

Very impressive :)

There seems to be an issue in the Zen Coding support with lists containing sibling elements. e.g. div>ul>li*5>span+div only adds the nested div to the first li, and not the other 4. Nesting the sibling elements in a container div doesn’t work either (div>ul>li*5>div>span+div).

by Kenneth Scott | December 07 2012


by subkamran | December 06 2012

I would give this 5 stars, but as an licensed Mindscape user, I think I will need to disable WE 2012. The reason is, while I can disable compiling and previewing LESS from WE, it still messes with the syntax highlighting and parsing of the LESS files (since that's what Mindscape does).

Mads, I would give you 10 stars if you could either a) detect Mindscape and prompt/automatically disable LESS handling or b) allow me to fully disable LESS handling in WE options.

It should be noted also, I work on a team, so it would also be nice to save a local set of WE settings or something (which is why I mentioned automatically disabling LESS handling).

Mads Kristensen December 06 2012
| Edit |

Unfortunately, I can't turn off LESS editor support dynamically. We (the ASP.NET team) is shipping the LESS editor officially early 2013. That can't be turned off either. Is there a reason you prefer Mindscape's LESS editor over Web Essentials'?

I've just released new LESS editor component in the nightly build. Try it here: http://madskristensen.net/post/Web-Essentials-nightly-builds.aspx

Local WE settings are supported and so are solution based settings. That was introduced in version 1.9

by UnnDunn | December 06 2012

There aren't enough stars on this site to give a high enough rating for this plugin. If you are a front-end web developer, this should be the FIRST extension you install for Visual Studio 2012.

by Suresh Babu | December 06 2012

Must have for web dev.

by Davide Mencarelli | December 05 2012

by selap | December 03 2012

LESS editing is awesome. Thank you so much.

by Rhysling1 | December 03 2012

The only downside of moving from VS2010 to 2012 was the lack of Web Essentials. Thank you, Mads!!

by Andreas Schulz | December 02 2012

Hi Mads,

that's great... congrats!

by jtlowe | November 30 2012

So far, Web Essentials has been a very useful and productive tool. It makes VS that much better, and I'm surprised half of the functionality isn't already integrated into the core VS application. I like the flexibility of the plugin though and quick responses to bugs and features.

by WBrianG | November 30 2012

This is the most useful, well-maintained Visual Studio plugin I have ever used.

by maverick_rules | November 29 2012

This extension is really, really well done! Particularly like the extensive configuration options which allows me to combine this tool in my IDE with a build-time compiler/minifier like Cassette.

by WorkAByte | November 29 2012

101 - 120 of 194 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion

  • Can't get Markdown to work
    1 Posts | Last post May 07, 2015
    • Which MarkDown dialect is used by WebEssentials?
  • Region in JS doesn't work if @ is inside
    1 Posts | Last post April 21, 2015
    • //region SomeRegion
      in JS doesn't work if i have js code with @ inside tags. Does anyone have solution for this?
  • Error when using Re-Minify all CSS/JS files
    1 Posts | Last post March 17, 2015
    • I get this error:
      Microsoft Visual Studio
      Not implemented (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80004001 (E_NOTIMPL))
  • Permission Denied
    1 Posts | Last post March 12, 2015
    • I work in an environment where we have very limited permissions on our computer. I installed Web Essentials 2012 and created a blank .less file. The preview window is showing
      Compile Error.  See error list for details
      I pulled up the error list and it's showing
      LESS: Permission denied
      I can't find the error in any log or the event viewer so I don't know which account needs permissions to what folder. I tried giving everyone all permissions to the folder that contains the .less file just to see if that was where the error is, but that didn't do it. Does anybody know which folder it writes to? The temp asp.net folder maybe? Do you also know what account needs permissions? I don't have rights to modify the temp asp folder, so I'd have to put in a request with my IT department, so I can't really just play around and figure it out via trial and error.
      I've spent a few days trying to find an answer to this, but I'm not getting anywhere. If someone could point me in the right direction, that would be awesome.
  • Good
    1 Posts | Last post February 13, 2015
    • One of the best.
  • SASS Compile Error Link
    1 Posts | Last post October 14, 2014
    • When you compile a not valid SASS files a Link Error is generated.
      This link is not connected to a running Web server.
      How can I customize this link.
      e.g. http://localhost:80/error.aspx
      Something went wrong reaching:
  • Recompile all less files doesn't work
    3 Posts | Last post October 11, 2014
    • Recompile all less files worked just fine, but when I've checkout fresh version into another folder it stop working (including recompile after build).
      If I open less file, change it and save (css is created) then this file works automatically since then just fine.
      Should I open each time I create a new repository all less files, or there is another way?
    • I have comitted only .less files, once I add corresponded .css, Web Essentials start works with it as expected.
    • The only way, find out for now is to commit .css files too. Though all my .css files are autogenerated and therefore it is a pitty, that I should commit .css along with .less and checkin .css on change of less too.
  • Minify CSS
    1 Posts | Last post Tue 12:48 PM
    • On CSS minify, should there be an option to remove empty selectors?
  • Less compiling after Publish???
    1 Posts | Last post September 10, 2014
    • So, after clicking one-click publishing, I see this in my output put window in VS2012: 
      ========== Build: 1 succeeded, 0 failed, 1 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========
      ========== Publish: 1 succeeded, 0 failed, 0 skipped ==========
      9/10/2014 3:15:40 PM: ImportMixins.less compiled
      9/10/2014 3:15:40 PM: rs-ui-tabs-from-bulleted-list.less compiled
      9/10/2014 3:15:40 PM: ImportVariables.less compiled
      9/10/2014 3:15:40 PM: variables.less compiled
      9/10/2014 3:15:40 PM: rs-custom-controls.less compiled
      This appears to me to be compiling LESS files after publishing my site.
      Is there a way to ensure compilation before publishing other than doing a manual build prior to hitting publish?
  • SCSS: unparsable compilation error:
    2 Posts | Last post July 31, 2014
    •  SCSS: Compiling style.scss
       SCSS: unparsable compilation error: 
      but no indication of the line # in the file. any help?
    • I am having this issue now as well. I have one site.scss file that imports various other partials. It was working fine until a few days ago when (seemingly) at random they started failing to compile on save. Now the partials require the other partials to be imported into them before they will compile. I've triple-checked my @import flow and it is perfect! Sassmeister and other compilers have no issue.
      Specifically, I get the "unparsable compilation error" as well as meaningless "(X)101" errors in the Error List. No line numbers or suggestions to be found.
      Any help would be greatly appreciated!
1 - 10 of 326 Items