Web Essentials 2012

Free

Adds many useful features to Visual Studio for web developers.

(193) Review
Visual Studio
2012
Download (1,098,397)
9/10/2014
3.8
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (193)
Q and A (326)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Jarrett Vance | November 29 2012

Makes visual studio crash often when working with less files.

Mads Kristensen November 29 2012
| Edit |
Delete

This is fixed in version 1.9.2. I hope you'll give it another try

by Kristian Thrane | November 28 2012

This is simply a fantastic tool!

by Tomekole | November 28 2012

Awesome extension! Thanks!

by JM_MSDN | November 27 2012

This is absolutely, hands-down, the BEST Visual Studio extension for web development. The only thing more amazing than this extension is the rate at which Mads pushes out new features and bug fixes!

by NateClark | November 27 2012

Very, very useful. Thanks!

by Mark.Bice | November 26 2012

by ADefwebserver | November 24 2012

You really need this for TypeScript.

by AlexDrel | November 21 2012

by shaneandersonxp | November 20 2012

by Jan Janoušek | November 20 2012

by Oleg Lokhvitsky | November 20 2012

Invaluable extension and great support! It's my #1 must for any web-related VS project.

by Sergey Litvinov | November 20 2012

Amazing thing. Thank you for it.

by W. Paap | November 20 2012

Indeed an essential plugin for web developers using visual studio!

by croban | November 17 2012

Essentials has a bug with new version of TypeScript 0.8.1,
does not compile.

by Veniamin Krol | November 14 2012

by seri-freedom | November 14 2012

by KKBruce | November 14 2012

非裝不可的外掛。
請注意,目前1.7的版本會讓code snippets失效。

解決辦法請參考:http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=CD154glDNdc

作者回覆,在1.8版會修正。

by DuelingCats | November 13 2012

Such a good set of tools. Really makes coding easier, faster, and efficient.

by D Monteiro | November 13 2012

Very useful tool. Thank you.

by Basarat | November 12 2012

Moar TypeScript love :)

121 - 140 of 193 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Can't get Markdown to work
    1 Posts | Last post May 07, 2015
    • Which MarkDown dialect is used by WebEssentials?
      
  • Region in JS doesn't work if @ is inside
    1 Posts | Last post April 21, 2015
    • //region SomeRegion
      //endregion
      
      in JS doesn't work if i have js code with @ inside tags. Does anyone have solution for this?
  • Error when using Re-Minify all CSS/JS files
    1 Posts | Last post March 17, 2015
    • I get this error:
      
      ---------------------------
      Microsoft Visual Studio
      ---------------------------
      Not implemented (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80004001 (E_NOTIMPL))
      ---------------------------
      OK   
      ---------------------------
      
  • Permission Denied
    1 Posts | Last post March 12, 2015
    • I work in an environment where we have very limited permissions on our computer. I installed Web Essentials 2012 and created a blank .less file. The preview window is showing
      
      /*
      
      Compile Error.  See error list for details
      
      */
      
      I pulled up the error list and it's showing
      
      LESS: Permission denied
      
      I can't find the error in any log or the event viewer so I don't know which account needs permissions to what folder. I tried giving everyone all permissions to the folder that contains the .less file just to see if that was where the error is, but that didn't do it. Does anybody know which folder it writes to? The temp asp.net folder maybe? Do you also know what account needs permissions? I don't have rights to modify the temp asp folder, so I'd have to put in a request with my IT department, so I can't really just play around and figure it out via trial and error.
      
      I've spent a few days trying to find an answer to this, but I'm not getting anywhere. If someone could point me in the right direction, that would be awesome.
  • Good
    1 Posts | Last post February 13, 2015
    • One of the best.
  • SASS Compile Error Link
    1 Posts | Last post October 14, 2014
    • When you compile a not valid SASS files a Link Error is generated.
      This link is not connected to a running Web server.
      How can I customize this link.
      e.g. http://localhost:80/error.aspx
      
      Something went wrong reaching: http://127.0.0.1:6642/?service=SCSS&sourceFileName=C:%5CWork%5CMCH.CMS.Sass%5CMCH.CMS.Sass%5Cproject%5CCongress%5CBuehne%5Cportalbuehne_did.scss&targetFileName=C:%5CWork%5CMCH.CMS.Sass%5CMCH.CMS.Sass%5Cproject%5CCongress%5CBuehne%5Cportalbuehne_did.css&mapFileName=C:%5CWork%5CMCH.CMS.Sass%5CMCH.CMS.Sass%5Cproject%5CCongress%5CBuehne%5Cportalbuehne_did.css.map&precision=5&outputStyle=expanded&sourceMapURL&
      
  • Recompile all less files doesn't work
    3 Posts | Last post October 11, 2014
    • Recompile all less files worked just fine, but when I've checkout fresh version into another folder it stop working (including recompile after build).
      
      If I open less file, change it and save (css is created) then this file works automatically since then just fine.
      
      Should I open each time I create a new repository all less files, or there is another way?
    • I have comitted only .less files, once I add corresponded .css, Web Essentials start works with it as expected.
    • The only way, find out for now is to commit .css files too. Though all my .css files are autogenerated and therefore it is a pitty, that I should commit .css along with .less and checkin .css on change of less too.
  • Minify CSS
    1 Posts | Last post September 30, 2014
    • On CSS minify, should there be an option to remove empty selectors?
  • Less compiling after Publish???
    1 Posts | Last post September 10, 2014
    • So, after clicking one-click publishing, I see this in my output put window in VS2012: 
      
      ========== Build: 1 succeeded, 0 failed, 1 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========
      ========== Publish: 1 succeeded, 0 failed, 0 skipped ==========
      9/10/2014 3:15:40 PM: ImportMixins.less compiled
      9/10/2014 3:15:40 PM: rs-ui-tabs-from-bulleted-list.less compiled
      9/10/2014 3:15:40 PM: ImportVariables.less compiled
      9/10/2014 3:15:40 PM: variables.less compiled
      9/10/2014 3:15:40 PM: rs-custom-controls.less compiled
      .
      .
      .
      
      This appears to me to be compiling LESS files after publishing my site.
      
      Is there a way to ensure compilation before publishing other than doing a manual build prior to hitting publish?
  • SCSS: unparsable compilation error:
    2 Posts | Last post July 31, 2014
    •  SCSS: Compiling style.scss
       SCSS: unparsable compilation error: 
      
      but no indication of the line # in the file. any help?
    • I am having this issue now as well. I have one site.scss file that imports various other partials. It was working fine until a few days ago when (seemingly) at random they started failing to compile on save. Now the partials require the other partials to be imported into them before they will compile. I've triple-checked my @import flow and it is perfect! Sassmeister and other compilers have no issue.
      
      Specifically, I get the "unparsable compilation error" as well as meaningless "(X)101" errors in the Error List. No line numbers or suggestions to be found.
      
      Any help would be greatly appreciated!
1 - 10 of 326 Items