SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox

Free

SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox add-in for Visual Studio. This add-in adds several features to help your embedded database development efforts: Scripting of tables and data, import from SQL Server and CSV files and much, much more.

(103) Review
Visual Studio
2013, 2012, 2010, 14
Download (369,787)
3/6/2015
4.1.0.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (103)
Q and A (68)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by ExGrip | October 07 2014

The SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox is a tool EVERY Windows Developer should
have installed.

I made the experience that even if the download count is > 300K,
that many devs still don't know how to leverage the real
power (or potential) of the tool.

Maybe more tutorials (real world scenarios would help). Or just tweeting more
about blog-posts.

Thanks again Eric, great tool!

by mattilaj | September 04 2014

Great work! Needed to quickly create documentation for a database and the toolbox provided very nice autogenerated images and HTML. Thanks for the effort!

by Hultqvist | August 18 2014

Works as expected with no surprises.

I have been using the code generation for LINQ.
Compared to older DB techniques, automatic generated IDs are just there, no need to request it explicitly.

The tool is now the only one I use.

by Ed (DareDevil57) | August 14 2014

Thank you.

by mwasson74 | August 13 2014

Great and extremely indispensable tool, I wouldn't be able to do this any other way. Very easy to use and Erik offers wonderful support!!

by Someone_Ca | August 13 2014

Excellent tool!..

I am searching for editing of Sql Server Ce database table and I've found this tool. Thanks for it.

by Dan Randolph | August 03 2014

This tool is really nice. I just watched the Channel 9 video again and noticed the support for Windows Phone data models.

http://channel9.msdn.com/Shows/Visual-Studio-Toolbox/Visual-Studio-Toolbox-SQL-Server-Compact-Toolbox

I am really interested in developing my own plugin to generate code for my company's SOA design pattern.

by Dennis Mlinaric | July 30 2014

Thanks Erik. Amazing work. Your ongoing support of SQL CE is very much appreciated and I regard your tools as being essential.

by David Totzke | July 24 2014

If you're working with SQL CE then you need this tool. Actively supported and updated, this toolbox has all the features you could want or need.

by nekopczynski | July 24 2014

I recently took over a contract using SQL ce to replicate large data from SQL server. This add in and the bulk copy add in were real life savers. I was able to script around transferring {a million rows plus} data back and forth between the two. Excellent product and really easy to use. Thanks ErikEJ

by gepetkov | July 14 2014

Wonderful!

by OldSkoolMadSkilz | June 24 2014

Excellent tool. Simplifies tasks that would take a LOT of time using other methods. Wish I has it years ago. Would have saved me countless hours of time.

by William Boatin | June 17 2014

I have found your posts and tools useful in getting my MSTest unit tests to use SQL Server CE, successfully.
Thank you!

by Jay Mc Bee | May 26 2014

Awesome toolset! We've used it to script our SQL CE database creation and restore, works like a breeze!!

by edikaufmann | May 13 2014

great tool. It made my SqlCe life much easier!
Just wonder: I'm using the 3.1.6 standalone version! How is this version
compared to the VS add-in 3.7.2.0 ?
How do I know which standalone version is current (newest!)
again thanks for all your effort
ed

by petevick | May 12 2014

Great tool - gets you out of the hole when MS abandoned SQL Server CE.
Not only that, the tools that Erik also provide really take the pain out SQL
Server CE development.

I have just been testing performance of large record sets, and using SqlCeCmd
I was able to export my SQL Server Database to a CE database with no problems.
Build a database, build a table, and then import 3 million rows from a SQL database.

Impressive software and just gets better.

Thanks!

ErikEJ May 12 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks for the kind Words, Pete

by ChangedDaily | May 12 2014

Very useful toolbox, integration with Visual Studio is also good.
The toolbox does what I need - examine the structure of sdf files,
view and edit data. The scripting feature is also very useful.

by signitin | May 04 2014

The Best tool to integrate SQL Compact in Windows Phone, saves a lot of time and effort. Well maintained.
Thanks

by M_Over | April 28 2014

Thanks for all the hard work! This is very valuable. By the way, what are you plans now that Microsoft is no longer supporting SQL Server CE?

ErikEJ April 28 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Well, I still support it - I am also considering adding more support for SQLite

by leenetuse | April 27 2014

21 - 40 of 103 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • SQL CE 3.0 and 3.5 support?
    2 Posts | Last post March 05, 2015
    • Hi 
      I am receving 2 apps developed in  vs2005->sqlCE3.0 for WinCE and VS2008->sqlCE3.5 for WinMovile6.5 and I wondoer if, with this tool I can give support to those apps from my VS2013? or I must stand still in VS2005 and VS2008?
      I never use Windows CE or windows Movile 6.5,  but here in my job we have a lot of hardware that uses WinCE and WinMovile,... and they are not  going to throw away the HW, just because MS throw away WinCE and WinMovile.
      
      Thanks in advance
    • For Windows ce and Windows mobile dev, you must continue to use vs 2005 & 2008. The Toolbox is available in a standalone version that supports version 3,5. 
  • Execute Sqlite PRAGMA statements in SQL Editor
    2 Posts | Last post March 05, 2015
    • Is the Toolbox meant to execute PRAGMA Statements in SQL Editor?
      
      If I execute a PRAGMA Statement there is no exception but neither a result.
      
      E.g. pragma table_info(Test);
    • No, that is not supported currently, I have created an issue to fix this: https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/workitem/12033 (Plan to include in next preview of 4.2)
  • Add-In Crashes in VS2013 when starting SQLEditor
    2 Posts | Last post March 05, 2015
    • Hi Erik, you did a great job, many thanks! But since a while, when I open the SQL Editor in Visual Studio 2013 Visual Studio crashes. It happens with 4.2beta but also with 4.1. (It works in VS 2010).
      
      An unhandled exception of type 'System.NullReferenceException' occurred in SqlCeToolbox.dll
      
      Additional information: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
    • Pls create an issue here:https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/WorkItem/Create and provide as much info/screnshots / VS version/update info as possible, then I will investigate
  • Entity Framework class generation missing tables
    5 Posts | Last post March 05, 2015
    • Greate work on the sql ce toolbox! It's has proven to be very useful. I recently used the "Add Entity Model to the current project" which seems to have generated all the classes associated with the database but it seems to have overlooked two tables. DO you know of any conditions that might cause that to happen?
    • I did notice that the db version is (4.0.8482.1) while the version installed with NuGet is (4.0.8876.1). Do you think the conflict might be there?
    • Thanks for the kind Words, feel free to post a review here! The version installed with the EntityFramework.SqlServerCompact package is 4.0 SP1, and you should also install that in GAC. The reason why some tables are not generated would be that they do not have any primary key. 
    • Erik, I installed the tools and on installation i accidently closes the liscence agreement dialog.  Now I cannot reinstall or find in add in manager in visual studio 2013.  Is this handled.  Will I have to Sysrestore?
      
    • Trickbox: pls provide more details using the codeplex issue tracker
  • Antivirus Scan on virustotal
    9 Posts | Last post February 17, 2015
    • Hello there,
      
      a scan of the ZIP file on virustotal showed me three virus hints:
      
      DrWeb:                 Trojan.SteamBurglar.793  
      NANO-Antivirus:        Trojan.Win32.Bladabindi.dbqyyh  
      TrendMicro-HouseCall:  Suspicious_GEN.F47V0204  
      
      Is there any explanation for these warnings?
      
      Thank you & Greetings
      
    • What zip file? And what is virustotal? MS is hosting this file, and would most likely let me know of any issues
    • I think he means the downloadable vsix-file from https://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/0e313dfd-be80-4afb-b5e9-6e74d369f7a1/file/29445/72/SqlCeToolbox.vsix
      
      Please take a look at: https://www.virustotal.com/de/file/a55bfdfdb05ffba7ce30115d7f8b0fa304875bfad653df88b241f800aa22e3b1/analysis/1423666820/
      
      A week ago the scanner found 2 infections, today 3...
    • That is odd, since the file was uploaded to Microsoft on Jan 12. And all other virus scanners seem to not detect anything.
    • If people haven't figured it out already, VirusTotal is a handy website that allows you to upload a file and have it scanned by a multitude of anti-virus engines.
      
      False positives aren't unusual, and a detection ratio of 3/57 is generally pretty safe. Though, usually with false positives, it will be detected as Generic / Suspicious, like TrendMicro-Housecall's detection, so it's a little concerning that DrWeb and NANO detect it specifically as 'Steam Burglar' / keylogger.
      Old scan of an older version detected as keylogger: https://www.virustotal.com/en/file/a8aa7d9391bdc0c2a43c57d6ced6bb72d99364fabf07a0e9fb213b19e2ca6125/analysis/
      
      But, as mentioned, 3/57 is quite low, and aside from Trend, which I don't put a lot of trust in, I've personally never heard of DrWeb or NANO-Antivirus. A quick google search found results reporting that NANO-Antivirus was actually scareware, though I doubt VirusTotal would use it if that was the case.
      
      Ultimately, people will just need to make their own judgement calls.
      I suppose you could try rebuilding the vsix file, testing on virustotal, and re-uploading / updating the download if it passes.
    • Lol...
      I created this account years ago, and apparently wasn't in the mood to provide personal information.
      I'm going to have to see if I can change my name...
    • Hi Erik,
      
      the scanner DrWeb identifies the DLL System.Data.SQLite.dll as threat. After downloading the nuget package with the same dll version from https://www.nuget.org/api/v2/package/System.Data.SQLite.x86/1.0.94.1 linked from https://system.data.sqlite.org/index.html/doc/trunk/www/downloads.wiki, I checked the dll of that package again with virustotal: https://www.virustotal.com/de/file/da1ac4c57e70cf55a79e7932c3e0487baffca7331f006dfd51597337fb1fa150/analysis/1423822619/
      
      Now DrWeb did not found any threats. But the dlls are slightly different, though both have the same version (1.0.94.0)? Both the size and the content of the dll's are different. Maybe you can explain the difference? 
      
      Would you mind to check this and if necessary replace the affected dll?
      Thx!
    • I am using this one (as I need the .NET 4.0 compatible file): sqlite-netFx40-static-binary-bundle-Win32-2010-1.0.94.0.zip - And the file in this is exactly the same as in the visx, I also did a virustotal analysis, which resulted in no viruses found: https://www.virustotal.com/da/file/fcc7e33dfd62572451fe54b99649daafdb96e674dc65a524495e540c6705303e/analysis/1423912657/ - not sure what other actions to take!
    • Hello Erik,
      
      thx for your feedback!
      Obviously one of the scanner updated its virus definition files. A few days before DrWeb found a trojaner: https://www.virustotal.com/de/file/fcc7e33dfd62572451fe54b99649daafdb96e674dc65a524495e540c6705303e/analysis/1423818824/
      In the meantime: https://www.virustotal.com/de/file/fcc7e33dfd62572451fe54b99649daafdb96e674dc65a524495e540c6705303e/analysis/1424185573/
      
      NANO and TrendMicro still found issues. But the download version of the "online scanner" found at http://housecall.trendmicro.com/de/ didn't found issues! Maybe the scanner engine at virustotal is working with older definition files!
      
      NANO's online scanner is out of service at the moment.
      
      I realized that there is a new version in the pipeline: https://www.virustotal.com/de/file/333c72871bb659efec017c9ee86e1b6766c2291fd353650d4415a7967e046889/analysis/
      
      I checked both packages. Only two files seems to be different:
      SqlCeToolbox.dll & SQLiteScripting.dll
      Scan of newer SQLiteScripting.dll: https://www.virustotal.com/de/file/096c1f3f6f0624241dfe7443d57d03cad4a08b220acf2c61a5a01fb4d7d36a2b/analysis/1424188702/
      
      Seems to me the problem is going to solve it on its own :-P
      
      
  • DDEX provider still not working
    4 Posts | Last post February 07, 2015
    • Hi Erik,
      you did a great job with this plugin. I have SQL CE 4.0 db and using EF 5. I need to add a new entity to the model but when I run "Generate Database from model" I get the error DDEX provider not installed for SQL CE 4.0...
      I am using Visual Studio 2013.
      
      Thanks in advance
      Armando
    • Did you connect to the database file via the Toolbox? Does it appear in Server Explorer? Try to re-install the ddex provider in the about dialog, restart vs, and check status in about dialog.
    • Thanks Erik,
      it works fine now.
    • Dear Mr.ErikEJ
      thanks for your replay,
      after searching I find that the issue is that my SQLite database not having primary Key"Only FK"
      that is why the sql server will not accepting tho run the script.
      with best regard
  • Cannot choose Server Compact 3.5
    5 Posts | Last post February 07, 2015
    • I have a problem with creating a Server Compact 3.5 connection, which I need for a database for Windows Phone 8.1 . Is this a general problem, or is it me who is missing something ?
    • You are missing the 3.5 runtime, see this: http://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/wikipage?title=Known%20Issues&referringTitle=Documentation
    • Thanks. Now I can make a 3.5 connection.. But it gives me an error when I try to "Add Windows Phone DataContext To Current Project". It says:
      
      - SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox
      - The selected project type does not support Windows Phone 7.1/8.0 - wrong TargetFrameworkMoniker: .NETCore, Version=v4.5.1
      
      And it says this right after I click that button - I dont even get to enter the namespace, or anything.
    • You are crating a Windows Phone 8.1 project, and that project type does not support SQL CE, you must create a Windows Phone 68 Silverlight project for SQL CE support, or use SQLite
    • Dear Mr.ErikEJ
      thanks for your replay,
      after searching I find that the issue is that my SQLite database not having primary Key"Only FK"
      that is why the sql server will not accepting tho run the script.
      with best regard
       
  • Can I export the SQLite Schema to SQL Server
    3 Posts | Last post February 06, 2015
    • I can script as but the file generated is not working "due to FK" in Sql server
      
    • I have a database in Sqlite ...
      But I want to migrate to Sql server..
      I migrate the tables,data but I need to migrate the Key because I have 100 table.. So it is hard to reconnect and script again..
      
      regards 
    • Suggest you create an issue on the codeplex issue tracker, and attach the database and script, then I can have a look at it.
  • Basic Usage in windows phone 8.1 using vs2013
    2 Posts | Last post January 14, 2015
    • I was wondering how this works for windows phone 8.1? I need SQL application code to be called from a dll file in my windows phone 8.1 application. I have not used linq to sql before but have used SQLCE directly in a windows 7 application. How difficult would it be to extract data from it using linq? 
    • No entirely sure what you are asking, but yes: http://erikej.blogspot.dk/2013/04/generate-windows-phone-8-local-database.html (Must be SilverLight app) - WinRT (8.1) apps only support SQLite, not SQLCE
  • This extension is not installable on any currently installed products.
    2 Posts | Last post January 11, 2015
    • Downloaded the SqlCeToolbox.vsix which is marked with a Type of Microsoft Visual Studio Extension in Windows Explorer. When I doubleclick the file I get an error, shown above in the title, from the VSIX installer. Tried to search for the Add-In using the Extensions and Updates manager (Online) in Visual Studio but I was unable to find it.
      
      I'm wondering if it's because I'm using Microsoft Visual Studio Express 2013 for Windows Desktop. Any thoughts?
      
      Thank you!
    • You are right, VS Express does not allow any extensions to be installed. But the good news are, that a full featured free edition is now available, VS 2013 Community Edition http://www.visualstudio.com/products/visual-studio-community-vs 
1 - 10 of 68 Items