SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox

VSIP Partner Free

SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox add-in for Visual Studio. This add-in adds several features to help your embedded database development efforts: Scripting of tables and data, import from SQL Server and CSV files and much, much more.

(117) Review
Visual Studio
2015, 2013, 2012, 2010
Download (399,777)
5/30/2015
4.2.0.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (117)
Q and A (75)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Rick Strahl | January 28 2015

Microsoft has all but abandoned support for Sql Server Compact especially when it comes to the tooling, but this add-in makes up for that in spades. This tooling for SQL CE is miles above what Microsoft ever provided. I especially like the ability to import and export schema and data from a full SQL Server which is a huge time saver especially for testing components that support multiple providers.

Excellent.

by Hervé ANCHER | January 16 2015

From France, Very useful !

by SubramanyamRaju.B | January 09 2015

Thanks you so much.

by saramgsilva | January 08 2015

Really useful tool, thank you!

by SitzenPlatz | December 31 2014

Makes working with SQL CE so much easier and straight forward.

by Atif Rahman | December 21 2014

thank you

by chrrud | December 16 2014

This is a really great tool. It makes everything a lot easier!

by hardono | December 11 2014

Thank you for this powerful add-in Erik. Many kudos for saving the day. Without this tool many of us would have just skipped SQL Server Compact and forced to use SQL Server Express.

by Jeff.Bowman | December 05 2014

It has been with disappointment that we've had to watch as Microsoft over the years has slowly and step-by-step dismantled support for SQLCE in Visual Studio (and SSMS/E as well). Their excellent small-footprint, low-overhead, file-based database has lost their attention; it's gone the way of the venerable FoxPro.

Enter ErikEJ and his suite of tools. He has saved the day. We can confidently continue with our SQLCE-based projects.

It's got a few minor quirks here and there; it's not quite to the level of a commercial product, but then... it's not a commercial product.

Erik is very attentive to any topic surrounding SQLCE. He can be readily found frequenting any of the many SQLCE discussion forums. He's always available for support questions, is very helpful and he replies quickly.

Most projects of this nature require us to choose between support, documentation and quality. With SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox we can have all three.

Thanks Erik, keep up the good work.

Jeff Bowman
Fairbanks, Alaska

by Kountree | December 02 2014

I have downloaded and used SQL Server Compact/SQLite add-in for Visual Studio. The tool picks up where our buddies in Redmond (Microsoft) left off. I found his tool to be very intuitivewith a dash of ingenuity. An example would be importing data from a Comma Seperated Value (csv). Initially, I had one column to import the data. The tool is intuitive where the selection is available by right clicking the table. The ingenuity is where the csv will have to be modified to be used by the tool. Here is an example:

My file contains
A,1
B,1
C,1
d,0

The table definition contain fields

(pk) TableID (indentity(1,1) not null
letter (varchar(25) not null
IsCapital (bit not null)

By modifying the file by placing the field names as a first row, helps with the import.

letter,IsCaptital
A,1
B,1
C,1
d,0


Great Job Erik. As we say in Ohio,USA "U are da Man." Translated "You did a wonderful job in developing this tool. Much kudos goes out."

by PwAtHexapod | November 30 2014

Very glad that there are people in the world that makes it easier for others ( like me ) to do software development. And they do it for free.
You Erik is one of them, thank you very much for a super product and quick feedback.

by ilyasnsk | November 20 2014

Erik, thank you for these very useful tools.

by Ahmed Abulwafa | November 16 2014

Helped me a lot with my Universal App project.
overall it's a great tool and a must-have.
Good job Erik!

by SilverSideDown | October 16 2014

This tool is a must-have, and I use it daily for project work. It's installed on all Windows dev machines. It's incredibly sad that MS won't support CE in their SQL Management Studio, so thank goodness for Erik's efforts in getting us the next best thing. Microsoft should be sending him checks for doing their work for them.

Also want to personally thank Erik for being responsive on Twitter and quickly posting a build with a bug fix that I needed (for long text fields & row height). I was blown away by the response time, thank you so much.

by ExGrip | October 07 2014

The SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox is a tool EVERY Windows Developer should
have installed.

I made the experience that even if the download count is > 300K,
that many devs still don't know how to leverage the real
power (or potential) of the tool.

Maybe more tutorials (real world scenarios would help). Or just tweeting more
about blog-posts.

Thanks again Eric, great tool!

by mattilaj | September 04 2014

Great work! Needed to quickly create documentation for a database and the toolbox provided very nice autogenerated images and HTML. Thanks for the effort!

by Hultqvist | August 18 2014

Works as expected with no surprises.

I have been using the code generation for LINQ.
Compared to older DB techniques, automatic generated IDs are just there, no need to request it explicitly.

The tool is now the only one I use.

by Ed (DareDevil57) | August 14 2014

Thank you.

by mwasson74 | August 13 2014

Great and extremely indispensable tool, I wouldn't be able to do this any other way. Very easy to use and Erik offers wonderful support!!

by Someone_Ca | August 13 2014

Excellent tool!..

I am searching for editing of Sql Server Ce database table and I've found this tool. Thanks for it.

21 - 40 of 117 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Entity Framework 6 and model first with sql server compact database
    11 Posts | Last post June 21, 2015
    • I have a project with an entity framework model first pattern. I will generate a database from this model, but first it must be a sql server compact (sdf) database. For that I installed the sql server compact/sqlite toolbox. The dialog to choose the datasource appears, but if I press next, than the dialog will be closed and I don't know why. I think before updating to EF 6 it worked with EF 5. Does anybody have a solution? Thanks Andreas
    • I'm using visual studio 2013.
    • Make sure to install the latest EF 6.1.3 Visual Studio Tools
    • Yes I installed 6.1.3. But the version of the reference is 6.0.0.0. Is this correct?
    • Can I send you my model edmx file to check if it is corrupt?
    • Yes, but it is not the NuGet version that matters, it is the vs tools!
    • What do you mean? To which email can I send you the edmx file?
    • Hi Erik. Sorry but I need a solution for that. I'm hanging with my project. Here is the link to a demo sample.
      http://www.engenious.de/WpfApplication1.zip
      
      In this small sample I have the effect I described. Just open the edmx file and try to generate the database from model based on an existing sdf file.
    • Hi, I am always happy to assist for free, but if you need urgent support, pleaase contact MS support, they have a number of paid options
    • As I said in my first reply to you: Make sure to install the latest EF 6.1.3 Visual Studio Tools! That Works fine on my PC https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40762 
    • Thanks I will try this.
  • issue with UniqueIdentifier
    6 Posts | Last post June 04, 2015
    • Hello
      
      I've got a table (using compact 4.0 connection) with 2 columns (id and name)
      Id is a uniqueidentifier and name is nvarchar(25)
      
      the Id column is not filling in automatically though as I believe it should be and result in me getting an error when i try to enter new rows.
    • Suggest you post a question to the CodePlex issue tracker, with a screenshot and your create table statement - SQL CE does not autocreate GUIDs...
    • Thanks for reply ErikEj
      
      To be honest i'm not a big fan of signing up for various site for 1 app. which is why i posted here since this is where I got the extension at.
      
      As for my guid problem. I've been using CE tables in the past that did autofil Guid's. In fact I can connect to a previous existing CE database that was created using VS2012 and then add rows to it with your extension with no problem and it auto fills not problem. But if I Create any new tables (which are successful) and then go to add new rows that is when the autofill doesn't happen. Also, I am now using 2013 community.
    • You can just use the same Windows Live account on CodePlex that you use here to post these comments. And I cannot help you unless you provide more info as requested
    • urg.... I hit the other site once I find it again. but honestly trully agittated by it..
      
      What more information will you need. You were asking the create table script, but as I said in the previous post, creating the table is not the issue.
    • Just tried to sign into the codeplex site and even with my live account i still have to provide the same sign in info just as if i was hitting a new site. 
  • Table is not available [Job]
    4 Posts | Last post May 15, 2015
    • I try to develop an Windows Phone Silverlight 8.1 App with al local database. I designed a database with your tool and add the sdf file to the project. 
      The database has at the moment only the table Job. 
      
      I add Windows Phone Datacontext with your tool.
      In the Datacontext file is a Job Class.
      
      Then i created the database with CreateIfNotExists(). 
      But whe i read from the Job table i get the error "table is not avaiable" German "Die angegeben Tabelle ist nicht vorhanden. [Job]"
      
      Which step i have forgotten?
      
    • Hmm.. Without your code is is hard to guess! Suggest you share a repro on the CodePlex issue tracker. It could be your connectionstring, perhaps
    • Or the sdf file could be something else than "Content" and "Copy always" in your project
    • Hi Erik, thank you. I made a small demo project and this works. So i made two changes in my app, first i uninstall it from the mobile dev and i used a smaller name for the db. And this works also.
      
      The sdf file was in the project embeddedResc and copy always.
  • Diff data from 2 DB files (SQL CE)
    4 Posts | Last post April 30, 2015
    • I want to create SQL file with the changes between the two DBs. When run the Diff tool it seems to compare only the Schema.
      Is there a way to compare data in both databases and get Insert statements with the differences?
      Thank you.
    • Yes, you can do that on table level (Compare Data)
    • Yes I missed that option on the Table level. This was exactly what I was looking for. Thank you.
    • The feature is still in beta, let me know if it Works for you!
  • Stored Procedures
    2 Posts | Last post April 23, 2015
    • Hi, is it possible to create Stored Procedures? I'm using VS 2012.
      If possible, where can i find information about it?
      Thank you.
    • Neither SQL Compact not SQLite supports stored procedures, as they are both embedded databases - use code instead
  • Unable to load DLL 'sqlceme35.dll'
    2 Posts | Last post April 21, 2015
    • Error of loading sqlceme35.dll raises on toolbox start. VS2013 Ultimate crashes too.
    • Re-install/repair the SQL Server Compact 3.5 SP2 runtime
  • SQL CE 3.0 and 3.5 support?
    8 Posts | Last post April 13, 2015
    • Hi 
      I am receving 2 apps developed in  vs2005->sqlCE3.0 for WinCE and VS2008->sqlCE3.5 for WinMovile6.5 and I wondoer if, with this tool I can give support to those apps from my VS2013? or I must stand still in VS2005 and VS2008?
      I never use Windows CE or windows Movile 6.5,  but here in my job we have a lot of hardware that uses WinCE and WinMovile,... and they are not  going to throw away the HW, just because MS throw away WinCE and WinMovile.
      
      Thanks in advance
    • For Windows ce and Windows mobile dev, you must continue to use vs 2005 & 2008. The Toolbox is available in a standalone version that supports version 3,5. 
    • I have a similar problem, where the client's app is sqlCE3.5, though it is on a desktop not on mobile environment.  Is my only option to downgrade to VS200{5,8}?  We are not allowed to upgrade the client's sqlce db to 4.0.  
    • Efhilton: that problem is not "similar", with a 3.5 desktop app you can use VS 2013/2015 and the Toolbox!
    • Hmm...  then maybe I'm doing something very wrong or am missing something.  I'm unable to open my client's sdf file.  I'm able to open it as a SQL CE 4.0 data source (forcing me to upgrade my client's database, which is not acceptable).  If I try to open it as a SQL CE 3.5 data source ("Server Explorer" -> "Add Conenction"), I get "Unable to find the requested .Net data provider. It may not be installed.
      
      On the other hand, if I go to Tools -> "SQL Server Compact/Lite Toolbox" -> "Add Connection", the "Add SQL Server Compact 3.5 Connection" is grayed out.  
      
      Any thoughts?
    • Efhilton: you need to install it (the sqlce 3,5 runtime msi) as the error message clearly states! https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/wikipage?title=Known%20Issues&referringTitle=Documentation 
      
    • I must sheepishly admit I did not see this page before I submitted my question.  My apologies.  I can now safely say that that error is gone.  I'm now struggling with an error in the "ConnectionString" but at least I've advanced much more than I had before. Thank you!
    • If you encounter any issues with the Toolbox, pls report issues here: https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/workitem/list/basic 
  • Istallation on Vis Studio Express
    3 Posts | Last post April 09, 2015
    • Hi Erik,
      
      Just wondering why your product won't install on Visual Studio 2013 Express?
      
      Thanks
      
      David
    • It is a built in limitation in Express, I guess to force users to buy Pro. But you can use VS 2013 Comunity in many scenarios now, and that edotion supports all extensions.
    • Okay, thanks for that I am installing Community and I'll see how I go.
      
      Thanks
  • Execute Sqlite PRAGMA statements in SQL Editor
    2 Posts | Last post March 05, 2015
    • Is the Toolbox meant to execute PRAGMA Statements in SQL Editor?
      
      If I execute a PRAGMA Statement there is no exception but neither a result.
      
      E.g. pragma table_info(Test);
    • No, that is not supported currently, I have created an issue to fix this: https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/workitem/12033 (Plan to include in next preview of 4.2)
  • Add-In Crashes in VS2013 when starting SQLEditor
    2 Posts | Last post March 05, 2015
    • Hi Erik, you did a great job, many thanks! But since a while, when I open the SQL Editor in Visual Studio 2013 Visual Studio crashes. It happens with 4.2beta but also with 4.1. (It works in VS 2010).
      
      An unhandled exception of type 'System.NullReferenceException' occurred in SqlCeToolbox.dll
      
      Additional information: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
    • Pls create an issue here:https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/WorkItem/Create and provide as much info/screnshots / VS version/update info as possible, then I will investigate
1 - 10 of 75 Items