SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox

VSIP Partner Free

SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox add-in for Visual Studio. This add-in adds several features to help your embedded database development efforts: Scripting of tables and data, import from SQL Server and CSV files and much, much more.

(186) Review
Visual Studio
2015, 2013, 2012, 2010, 15
Download (537,054)
5/6/2016
4.5.0.2
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (186)
Q and A (108)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Nicolas Mohamed | May 09 2016

Great tool! I use it at least once a week to migrate from SQL Compact to SQL Server. It works perfectly!

Erik is *the* expert regarding SQL Compact matters.


Nicolas

by Ed Kaufmann | April 28 2016

As a retired hobby developer this is the tool I would miss most.
I use the offline tool since years - the most amazing thing: it does everything it promises!
The integration in VS is flawless as well.

And, last but not least, I've never experienced a better support.
Erik thanks a lot!
ed

by Rdogmartin | April 25 2016

Fantastic little tool for quickly editing a SQL CE database. We recommend the stand-alone version to our customers any time they need to edit their Gallery Server database.

Roger Martin
Founder and Lead Developer
Gallery Server
Digital Asset Management and Web Gallery
galleryserverpro.com

by SirWernich | April 25 2016

it doesn't quite fit in with the "dark" theme, but it works pretty darn well, which is brilliant because sql server management studio doesn't do
sql CE anymore.
(i'm using this in vs2013)

by Peter Vrenken | April 19 2016

Great tool!

A must-have for everyone that uses SQL Server Compact and/or SQLite.

by Giarko | April 13 2016

It's a fantastic tool, it does exactly what it promises! Thank you very much.

by JJPuua | April 07 2016

ErikEJ April 07 2016
| Edit |
Delete

How can I make it better?

by clarewang | April 01 2016

ErikEJ April 01 2016
| Edit |
Delete

What could I do to make it 5 stars?

by rkamarowski | March 25 2016

First class package.

by Respiro | March 16 2016

perfect and intuitive tool with lot of usefull features

by Maxumus | March 15 2016

Excellent! Use it all the time, very well done.

by tj881024 | March 13 2016

很好用,赞一个,中国网友发来贺

ErikEJ March 14 2016
| Edit |
Delete

謝謝 :-)

by Francois Rossello | March 10 2016

Merci !

by Win_sky | March 07 2016

Great tool, only error I receive is when trying to create a report using the report wizard. When creating a data source you would get "error occurred while retrieving the information from the database" or won't even attempt to connect. Any help with that?

ErikEJ March 07 2016
| Edit |
Delete

I will be happy to provide support, but please provide more details about your issue here: https://github.com/ErikEJ/SqlCeToolbox/issues/new

by Gianluca Maria Marcilli | March 06 2016

Very good tool. Hope for updates concerning integration of DB in asp.net applications.

ErikEJ March 07 2016
| Edit |
Delete

Hi, could you please explain what "updates concerning integration of DB in asp.net applications" means here: https://github.com/ErikEJ/SqlCeToolbox/issues/new then I will look into it

by bkboggy | March 02 2016

Absolutely incredible. A lot of fantastic options, works without any hick-ups (thus far) and just makes my work that much easier. My only complaint would be that it does not display data types for SQLite, but rather generic db types. I would much rather choose from types listed on https://www.sqlite.org/datatype3.html .

ErikEJ March 02 2016
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks for the review, pls log an issue on github with details about where you see these data types... (screenshot, maybe)

by infoset | March 01 2016

I really appreciate your commitment to the file-databases commmunity and keeping things alive despite Visual Studio team politics. Please keep up your fantastic work.

by Karthick snkl | February 24 2016

thank you

ErikEJ February 24 2016
| Edit |
Delete

How can I make it 5 stars?

by GeroZinkDev | February 21 2016

Excellent Toolbox! Thanks!

by Busta4Sure | February 19 2016

This tool is perfect for what I need. Glad to see some SQL Compact support in VS again! Thanks Erik.

21 - 40 of 186 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Crash on Windows 10
    2 Posts | Last post Wed 9:32 AM
    • Hi, ErikEJ.
      When I moved to Windows 10 and tried to export SQL server database to SQLite I
      got error DataReader.GetFieldType(3) returned null on my table with sys.geography type column. This operation worked for me on Windows 8.1 earlier. Also this error is well known in net and related with versions of SQL Server and .NET types and has solution.
      Is there suggestions?
    • Hi, if this is a "well known" error, could you please create an issue on github with all details. I have never heard about this issue before.
  • Edit Top Data 200 doesn't take into account the foreign key constraint
    4 Posts | Last post June 25, 2016
    • Hi,
      
      Congratulations for this excellent tool !!! 
      just a question : Am I wrong or when we edit data in a sqlite db, it does not take into account foreign keys ?
      
      Regards, 
      
      Florian 
    • By default, SQLite does not enforce foreign key constraints (sadly) - you can enable this when you add a connection to a SQLite db by selecting the "Foreign Keys" option - this will make your connection string look like this: data source=C:\Code\sq.db;Foreign Keys=True 
    • Yeah, it works fine ! Again Congratulations for all this work and the support ! (PS : Is it documented ?)
    • Documentation here: https://www.sqlite.org/foreignkeys.html - and if you like the Tool, I would be very grateful for a rating or review here:
      
      https://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/0e313dfd-be80-4afb-b5e9-6e74d369f7a1/view/Reviews
  • Visual Studio 15
    2 Posts | Last post June 01, 2016
    • Hi, Erik! Here's my question - when SQL CE Toolbox will support VS 15? :)
    • Today! Or is something not working for you?
  • SQL Server Data diff script
    2 Posts | Last post May 26, 2016
    • Hi Erik - Firstly, this is a great tool and is helpful in my work!
      
      I have few questions on data diff feature and others.
      
      1. I'm trying to convert server db(.mdf) to .sdf file.I had about 1100000 records. On choosing to do this for both schema and data, it generated multiple .sqlce (102)files with 18528KB size. Is there a way to restrict the script to a single file?
      
      2. Once the files were generated, I added an extra record. Since the last run of the script, is there a way to find out the differential updates and generate only the delta script other than doing the .sdf file compare?
      
      3. I wanted to compare the .sdf files and see the difference. I used this 'script database diff' option and saw the schema changes captured for the .sdf file, I am unable to capture the delta data changes between source and target. Is there an option for that?
       
    • 1: No (due to ressource restrictions during creation of the files)
      2: The Toolbox has a data compare featuire (on Table level) - could you use that?
      3: See 2
  • A tutorial for starting with SQLite embedded and ClickOnce??
    8 Posts | Last post May 25, 2016
    • Hello, I download the extension and watched the videos on https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/documentation and https://github.com/ErikEJ/SqlCeToolbox and erikej.blogspot.com but I can´t find any simple tutorial of how to start from zero.
      
      I just need to solve the creation of a SQLite dabatabase AND the ClickOncePublish thing to start searching for more.
    • To create a database, just select Add new SQLite database from the menu. ClickOnce does not really relate to the Toolbox
    • Thanks ErikEJ!
      
      1) I create a New proyect - Visual Basic - Windows - WFA
      
      2) With the Toolbook I create or connect to the SQLite Database
      
      3) I install NuGet - Install-Package System.Data.SQLite
      
      4) I can show the data base info on a DataGridView
      
      All OK.. but when I publish the proyect and try to run I have the error "Unable to load DLL 'SQLite.Interop.dll'"
      
      I read a lot of boards and I even have the DLL but something still don´t work.
      
      This is something related to the Toolboox or to Visual Studio - SQlite integration?
      
      Thanks
    • Is your app built for x86 (and not Any CPU) ? It is a SQLite issue, and has nothing to do with the Toolbox or VS.
    • Thanks again ErikEJ, I will research. I'm stuck on that point.
    • Solved!!!
      
      Compile - Target CPU - x86
      
      Thanks
    • Great - If you use my tools, I would be very grateful for a rating or review here:
      
      https://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/0e313dfd-be80-4afb-b5e9-6e74d369f7a1/view/Reviews
    • "If you use my tools, I would be very grateful for a rating or review here:
      
      https://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/0e313dfd-be80-4afb-b5e9-6e74d369f7a1/view/Reviews"
      
      No problem, I need to learn more and then I will post a feedback
  • Grid View doesn't work
    2 Posts | Last post May 16, 2016
    • When I activate the "Show results as grid" option in the settings then execute a "SELECT * FROM table" (for example), the grid displays but once I do anything that would scroll the grid or once I use the group by thing by clicking at the "+", Visual Studio stops working and restarts.
      
      I'm using Visual Studio 2015 Community on Windows 10 x64.
    • I am unable to repro - could you share your database/table?
  • Table Shows "-ReadOnly" When Right-click "Edit..."
    2 Posts | Last post May 11, 2016
    • Hello Erik!
      
      I'm attempting to use the CE 3.5 Stand Alone Runtime to modify a single table in a legacy application that has fallen into my lap.
      
      The Problem I am having is, when I open the database, and "Edit Top 200 Rows" The DataGrid shows up, but has Tablename-ReadOnly as its title, and I cannot edit any of the rows. I dont see any messages, just will not let me edit.
      
      There is only a single line on the table, so I'm confused as to why It shows Read-Only.
      
      Do you have any suggestions?
      
      Thanks for this wonderful tool!
      
      -Paul
    • Hi Paul - most likely because the table that you are trying to edit does not have a primary key defined. You may be able to use a SQL UPDATE statement if you can find an usable WHERE clause.
      
      If you use my tools, I would be very grateful for a rating or review here:
      
      https://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/0e313dfd-be80-4afb-b5e9-6e74d369f7a1/view/Reviews
  • Windows 10 UWP
    2 Posts | Last post May 10, 2016
    • Hello Erik again,
      
      I have one more question. Does Your toolbox works in Windows 10 Universal Applications?
    • The Toolbox is a Visual Studio Tool, and does not "Work" in particular project types. But you can use SQLite and the generated sqlite-net classes in Windows 10 UWP Projects, yes.
  • Problem with installing SQL compact toolbox
    2 Posts | Last post May 06, 2016
    • Hello Erik,
      
      Thank You for this usefull tool. I'm writting because I have problem which I can't resolve. I have VS Community 2015. Let me describe step by step, how I install Your tool:
      
      1. I didn't have EnityFramework and EntityFramework.SqlServerCompat so I installed it from Nuget.
      2. I installed Your tool
      3. I created new database. Connection is fine but then I have this red error: http://oi68.tinypic.com/2hd2l3b.jpg
      4. When I want to add entity model to project I get error:
      "Please add the EntityFramework.SqlServerCompact NuGet package to the project"
      
      I have 2 question too. 
      1.Do I have to EnityFramework and EntityFramework.SqlServerCompat referenced in solution? Because I don't see any of these in References in project.
      
      2. May I install 3.5 version of Your tool and have option "Add Windows Phone DataContext to current Project".
      
      Thank You,
      Wojtek
    • Lets continue the support discussion here: https://github.com/ErikEJ/SqlCeToolbox/issues/52 
  • Planned SQLite Enhancements
    3 Posts | Last post April 19, 2016
    • Erik - Love the Toolbox so far.  So I know what I might expect in the future and at the risk of seeming pushy, do you plan for SQLite to:
      
      1.  Enhance the Build Table (beta) designer to start with a previously entered table so that I can add/delete/rename columns and then execute a Drop/Create instead of starting over when I need such changes or having to edit the previously saved script?
      
      2.  Add the equivalent of "Add SQLite-net DataAccess.net" to instead generate a Linq DataContext class together with the fully attributed entity classes corresponding to each table?
      
      3. If so on #2, will you include relationship code, which means adding a foreign key attribute to Build Table?
      
      For those that you intend to implement, do you have a guess as to timing?
      
    • Hi, this project is open source and free, and accepts any contributions from you and others. Regarding your suggestions:
      1: I propose that you just use the "Script as DROP and CREATE" feature. Remember that SQLite does not support "ALTER TABLE"
      2: LINQ to SQL is not supported by SQLite as far as I know, so no plans there.
      3: See reply to 2
      If you like the Tool, feel free to post a review here...
    • Erik - Thanks for the response.  
      
      1.  I thought it would make sense to just edit the DROP and CREATE script.  That's certainly easy enough.
      
      2.  Seems ignorance on my part re Linq working with SQLite is bliss.  I just got it to work.  In particular, I did several regular Linq queries, a DataContext.GetTable(), and several approaches to changing data, each followed by DataContext.SubmitChanges().  All the changes were made in the database.  
      The key is to instantiate the Linq DataContext by passing in a SQLiteConnection instead of the connection string.  After that, I used the Toolbox’s generated DataAccess code as a starting point for the Linq entity classes.  The key hurdle there was that I made NULL attribute database script changes after I started without corresponding changes in the entity classes.  That produced a cryptic error message that took some time to eventually rundown with help from Stack Overflow.  
      
      3.  I may respond to your suggestion to contribute to the Toolbox, though certainly not until I'm on a more solid footing understanding this stuff.  I'm only making step-by-step progress, having just started to learn about both SQLite and Linq a couple weeks ago at your suggestion.  And a great suggestion it has proven itself to be!
      
      Thanks again.  I'll post a review of the Toolbox in the next week or so.
      Steve
      
1 - 10 of 108 Items