SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox

VSIP Partner Free

SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox add-in for Visual Studio. This add-in adds several features to help your embedded database development efforts: Scripting of tables and data, import from SQL Server and CSV files and much, much more.

(122) Review
Visual Studio
2015, 2013, 2012, 2010
Download (419,821)
8/7/2015
4.3.0.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (122)
Q and A (81)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Tonazzi-M | March 10 2015

This is the best tool for working with SQLite and SQL Compact databases.
Very quick responses from the helpful developer, many thanks for you great work Erik!

ErikEJ March 10 2015
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks, and thanks for your debugging help!

by Jc1984 | March 07 2015

Hello to everyone, there is a way to change de result set as grid, I appreciate your help...

Thanks...

ErikEJ March 08 2015
| Edit |
Delete

Of course, just go into options and enable result set a grid!

by tmksoft | March 05 2015

Really nice tool.

I use it for editing the database in my Umbraco installations.

by oeduran88 | February 26 2015

Thank you very much for such useful tool. It helped me do some things I wasn't able in Webmatrix.

by Yatajga | February 20 2015

by Rick Strahl | January 28 2015

Microsoft has all but abandoned support for Sql Server Compact especially when it comes to the tooling, but this add-in makes up for that in spades. This tooling for SQL CE is miles above what Microsoft ever provided. I especially like the ability to import and export schema and data from a full SQL Server which is a huge time saver especially for testing components that support multiple providers.

Excellent.

by Hervé ANCHER | January 16 2015

From France, Very useful !

by SubramanyamRaju.B | January 09 2015

Thanks you so much.

by saramgsilva | January 08 2015

Really useful tool, thank you!

by SitzenPlatz | December 31 2014

Makes working with SQL CE so much easier and straight forward.

by Microasif | December 21 2014

thank you

by chrrud | December 16 2014

This is a really great tool. It makes everything a lot easier!

by hardono | December 11 2014

Thank you for this powerful add-in Erik. Many kudos for saving the day. Without this tool many of us would have just skipped SQL Server Compact and forced to use SQL Server Express.

by Jeff.Bowman | December 05 2014

It has been with disappointment that we've had to watch as Microsoft over the years has slowly and step-by-step dismantled support for SQLCE in Visual Studio (and SSMS/E as well). Their excellent small-footprint, low-overhead, file-based database has lost their attention; it's gone the way of the venerable FoxPro.

Enter ErikEJ and his suite of tools. He has saved the day. We can confidently continue with our SQLCE-based projects.

It's got a few minor quirks here and there; it's not quite to the level of a commercial product, but then... it's not a commercial product.

Erik is very attentive to any topic surrounding SQLCE. He can be readily found frequenting any of the many SQLCE discussion forums. He's always available for support questions, is very helpful and he replies quickly.

Most projects of this nature require us to choose between support, documentation and quality. With SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox we can have all three.

Thanks Erik, keep up the good work.

Jeff Bowman
Fairbanks, Alaska

by Kountree | December 02 2014

I have downloaded and used SQL Server Compact/SQLite add-in for Visual Studio. The tool picks up where our buddies in Redmond (Microsoft) left off. I found his tool to be very intuitivewith a dash of ingenuity. An example would be importing data from a Comma Seperated Value (csv). Initially, I had one column to import the data. The tool is intuitive where the selection is available by right clicking the table. The ingenuity is where the csv will have to be modified to be used by the tool. Here is an example:

My file contains
A,1
B,1
C,1
d,0

The table definition contain fields

(pk) TableID (indentity(1,1) not null
letter (varchar(25) not null
IsCapital (bit not null)

By modifying the file by placing the field names as a first row, helps with the import.

letter,IsCaptital
A,1
B,1
C,1
d,0


Great Job Erik. As we say in Ohio,USA "U are da Man." Translated "You did a wonderful job in developing this tool. Much kudos goes out."

by PwAtHexapod | November 30 2014

Very glad that there are people in the world that makes it easier for others ( like me ) to do software development. And they do it for free.
You Erik is one of them, thank you very much for a super product and quick feedback.

by ilyasnsk | November 20 2014

Erik, thank you for these very useful tools.

by Ahmed Abulwafa | November 16 2014

Helped me a lot with my Universal App project.
overall it's a great tool and a must-have.
Good job Erik!

by SilverSideDown | October 16 2014

This tool is a must-have, and I use it daily for project work. It's installed on all Windows dev machines. It's incredibly sad that MS won't support CE in their SQL Management Studio, so thank goodness for Erik's efforts in getting us the next best thing. Microsoft should be sending him checks for doing their work for them.

Also want to personally thank Erik for being responsive on Twitter and quickly posting a build with a bug fix that I needed (for long text fields & row height). I was blown away by the response time, thank you so much.

by Ilija Injac [MVP] | October 07 2014

The SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox is a tool EVERY Windows Developer should
have installed.

I made the experience that even if the download count is > 300K,
that many devs still don't know how to leverage the real
power (or potential) of the tool.

Maybe more tutorials (real world scenarios would help). Or just tweeting more
about blog-posts.

Thanks again Eric, great tool!

21 - 40 of 122 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Unable to add datasource
    6 Posts | Last post August 22, 2015
    • Hello,
      I tried creating a project to test your tool. First, when I display the about box, I notice a bunch of 'no' (see http://i58.tinypic.com/2dv5p4k.jpg). I've already pressed 'Register DDEX Providers' button. Second, when I try to add a new datasource in my project to access a sqlite db file, your tool doesn't show up in the 'Choose provider' window. How to fix that ?
    • My tool does not provide features for adding a sqlite dataSource, you must install the SQLIte VS tools, as described here: http://erikej.blogspot.dk/2014/11/using-sqlite-with-entity-framework-6.html 
    • OK. I've downloaded and installed the file mentioned but I get an error ('An unexpected error occured in the .NET Framework data provider...'), although the connection test succeeded.
    • Hello again,
      trying to get rid of my problem, I get an error, this time from YOUR tool: I chose Script Database from the menu and then Script Database schema. See http://i59.tinypic.com/2lsxgxs.jpg for the error. The db is a valid one though, it's been created by a video game and can be opened with any sqlite browser tool...
    • Please try to uninstall and reinstall so you have the latest refresh, version 4,3,0,2. Please let me know if that fixes the issue for you.
    • No error with the latest version! Thank you! ;)
  • How to upgrade?
    6 Posts | Last post August 02, 2015
    • Hi, I was using C# 2010 with SQL Compact on an old laptop and recently bought a new laptop with WIndows 8 and installed Visual Studio 2015. The database program I developed on the old laptop doesn't run under VS 2015 since I don't have SQL Compact on it. 
      
      Is there some easy to find and understand how to get SQL CE on 2015? I seem to be in a tailspin trying to figure it out.
      
      Also, this toolbox is a VS extension and can someone point me in the right direction to install this?
      
      Thanks   Ron R
    • To get SQL CE Installed, just install the required runtime as described here: https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/wikipage?title=Known%20Issues&referringTitle=Documentation - and then install VS 2015 Community (not Express), and then you can simply install the Toolbox from the "Tools, Extensions and Updates" menu
    • Thanks Erik, Seems I have everything downloaded by VS 2015 Community does seem to know about SQL Compact. Do I need to add it somewhere?
      
      Ron R
    • Did you install the runtime and addin? And what does "not know" mean?
    • Got it thanks for your help Erik. I was missing the runtime.
      
      Ron R
    • You are welcome, Ron. If you like my tools, I would be grateful for a review here :-)
  • SqlMetal missing
    8 Posts | Last post July 30, 2015
    • Hello, 
      
      Anytime I want to add a LINQ to SQL for my SQL compact 3.5, I get this error message:
      
      SQL Server Compact - Couldn't find SqlMetal in the expected location: bin\NETFX 4.0 Tools\sqlmetal.exe; 
      
      Can you help me? 
      
      Thank you in advance 
    • Which OS version, and which VS version? And where is sqlmetal.exe located on your machine (if at all)?
    • Thank you for answering, 
      
      OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 
      VS version: Visual Studio 2015 Community
      Sqlmetal location: 
      C:\Users\username\AppData\Local\Microsoft\CLR_v4.0_32\UsageLogs
    • That is not the location of sqlmetal.exe, but sqlmetal.exe.log
    • Hello, 
      
      I have found the location but SqlMetal.exe wasn't there at all:
      C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SDKs\Windows\v7.0A\Bin\NETFX 4.0 (The tool points to that file path location.) 
      
      1 - I uninstalled the extension and reinstalled it thinking that all the default files will be added; but no luck.
      
      
      However I found other versions where the SqlMetal.exe already exists
      C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SDKs\Windows\v8.1A\bin\NETFX 4.5.1 Tools
      C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SDKs\Windows\v10.0A\bin\NETFX 4.6 Tools
      
      2 - How can I change the path so SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox will point to one of the versions where the SqlMetal.exe already exists ? 
      
      
      Thank you 
    • I have improved the sqlmetal.exe detection, could you remove, download and reinstall this newer build, and let me know if it Works for you https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/releases/view/612989 
    • Hello, 
      
      Thank you very much, it works perfectly. And by the way thank you for the tool it is very useful. 
      
      Ailiam A.   
    • You are welcome, feel free to post a review of the Toolbox here...
  • How to insert from CSV file?
    3 Posts | Last post July 24, 2015
    • Hello,
      
      Apologies if this has been answered elsewhere, but I wasn't able to find out after doing some web searching. I'm trying to insert into a .sdf database from an external CSV file. When I try the BULK INSERT command, it appears to not be supported. 
      SQL Server Compact gives me:
      
       Error Code: 80040E14
       Message   : There was an error parsing the query. [ Token line number = 1,Token line offset = 1,Token in error = BULK ]
       Minor Err.: 25501
       Source    : SQL Server Compact ADO.NET Data Provider
       Num. Par. : 1
       Num. Par. : 1
       Err. Par. : BULK
      
      
      
      What's the recommended way to do a bulk insert? I'm runnign version 4.3.0 on VS2015 Thanks!
    • Right click a table and select Import from CSV
    • Thanks EricJ!
  • DataSet (XDS) Visual Design with Sql Server Compact 3.5/4.0
    2 Posts | Last post July 21, 2015
    • Can i use DataSet (XDS) Visual Design with Sql Server Compact 3.5 with this tools on Visual studio 2013?
    • Nope, the DDEX provider is not fully featured enough for that. But using DataSet with SQL Server Compact is generally a bad idea
  • VS 2013 Community Database installation
    2 Posts | Last post July 15, 2015
    • Installed SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox but in my version of VS, the option SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox in the menu Tools shows that SQLCE 4.0 & 3.5 is missing. My question is why? In menu Tools\Extension and Updates it shows that version 4.2 is installed. 
      Some more information in order to understand my problem is when I right click "Data Connections" it is not possible to add SQL Compact 3.5.... as well as 4.0 option. Only possibility is to Add SQLite Connection... 
      Many thanks in advance for your reply.
      
    • You must install the SQL Server Compact runtimes on your nmachine, as described here: https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/wikipage?title=Known%20Issues&referringTitle=Documentation 
  • Entity Framework 6 and model first with sql server compact database
    11 Posts | Last post June 21, 2015
    • I have a project with an entity framework model first pattern. I will generate a database from this model, but first it must be a sql server compact (sdf) database. For that I installed the sql server compact/sqlite toolbox. The dialog to choose the datasource appears, but if I press next, than the dialog will be closed and I don't know why. I think before updating to EF 6 it worked with EF 5. Does anybody have a solution? Thanks Andreas
    • I'm using visual studio 2013.
    • Make sure to install the latest EF 6.1.3 Visual Studio Tools
    • Yes I installed 6.1.3. But the version of the reference is 6.0.0.0. Is this correct?
    • Can I send you my model edmx file to check if it is corrupt?
    • Yes, but it is not the NuGet version that matters, it is the vs tools!
    • What do you mean? To which email can I send you the edmx file?
    • Hi Erik. Sorry but I need a solution for that. I'm hanging with my project. Here is the link to a demo sample.
      http://www.engenious.de/WpfApplication1.zip
      
      In this small sample I have the effect I described. Just open the edmx file and try to generate the database from model based on an existing sdf file.
    • Hi, I am always happy to assist for free, but if you need urgent support, pleaase contact MS support, they have a number of paid options
    • As I said in my first reply to you: Make sure to install the latest EF 6.1.3 Visual Studio Tools! That Works fine on my PC https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40762 
    • Thanks I will try this.
  • issue with UniqueIdentifier
    6 Posts | Last post June 04, 2015
    • Hello
      
      I've got a table (using compact 4.0 connection) with 2 columns (id and name)
      Id is a uniqueidentifier and name is nvarchar(25)
      
      the Id column is not filling in automatically though as I believe it should be and result in me getting an error when i try to enter new rows.
    • Suggest you post a question to the CodePlex issue tracker, with a screenshot and your create table statement - SQL CE does not autocreate GUIDs...
    • Thanks for reply ErikEj
      
      To be honest i'm not a big fan of signing up for various site for 1 app. which is why i posted here since this is where I got the extension at.
      
      As for my guid problem. I've been using CE tables in the past that did autofil Guid's. In fact I can connect to a previous existing CE database that was created using VS2012 and then add rows to it with your extension with no problem and it auto fills not problem. But if I Create any new tables (which are successful) and then go to add new rows that is when the autofill doesn't happen. Also, I am now using 2013 community.
    • You can just use the same Windows Live account on CodePlex that you use here to post these comments. And I cannot help you unless you provide more info as requested
    • urg.... I hit the other site once I find it again. but honestly trully agittated by it..
      
      What more information will you need. You were asking the create table script, but as I said in the previous post, creating the table is not the issue.
    • Just tried to sign into the codeplex site and even with my live account i still have to provide the same sign in info just as if i was hitting a new site. 
  • Table is not available [Job]
    4 Posts | Last post May 15, 2015
    • I try to develop an Windows Phone Silverlight 8.1 App with al local database. I designed a database with your tool and add the sdf file to the project. 
      The database has at the moment only the table Job. 
      
      I add Windows Phone Datacontext with your tool.
      In the Datacontext file is a Job Class.
      
      Then i created the database with CreateIfNotExists(). 
      But whe i read from the Job table i get the error "table is not avaiable" German "Die angegeben Tabelle ist nicht vorhanden. [Job]"
      
      Which step i have forgotten?
      
    • Hmm.. Without your code is is hard to guess! Suggest you share a repro on the CodePlex issue tracker. It could be your connectionstring, perhaps
    • Or the sdf file could be something else than "Content" and "Copy always" in your project
    • Hi Erik, thank you. I made a small demo project and this works. So i made two changes in my app, first i uninstall it from the mobile dev and i used a smaller name for the db. And this works also.
      
      The sdf file was in the project embeddedResc and copy always.
  • Diff data from 2 DB files (SQL CE)
    4 Posts | Last post April 30, 2015
    • I want to create SQL file with the changes between the two DBs. When run the Diff tool it seems to compare only the Schema.
      Is there a way to compare data in both databases and get Insert statements with the differences?
      Thank you.
    • Yes, you can do that on table level (Compare Data)
    • Yes I missed that option on the Table level. This was exactly what I was looking for. Thank you.
    • The feature is still in beta, let me know if it Works for you!
1 - 10 of 81 Items