SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox

VSIP Partner Free

SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox add-in for Visual Studio. This add-in adds several features to help your embedded database development efforts: Scripting of tables and data, import from SQL Server and CSV files and much, much more.

(144) Review
Visual Studio
2015, 2013, 2012, 2010
Download (479,246)
2/2/2016
4.5.0.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (144)
Q and A (95)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by JohnyL | September 25 2015

Invaluable tool for SQL Server Compact databases. The editor has now more capabilities which is important. Welcome fix for Save button which now does not open Save File dialog! SQL Server Compact Toolbox is just "must have"! Thanks, Erik! :)

by Rouf0007 | September 25 2015

Very good tool and ErikEJ is very helpfull. Many tanks

by sinfon | August 21 2015

Easy to use, lots of features, excellent for debugging. I can't imagine using SQL Server Compact without this tool. Awesome!

by FoosFam | August 16 2015

I am just getting started in the world of SQL CE development (long story) but it's nice to see great tools like this exist and have the backing of a great technologist like the author. I actually reached out to him about some Windows Mobile questions and he was happy to answer those. Reminds me of the days when the internet was great, the PreMIFT days. (that's Pre-MyspaceInstagramFaceBookTwitter)

But I digress - an absolute must have for any jumping into SQL server compact and SQLite. Thanks for the support and the tools.

by Thronic | August 01 2015

Excellent tool for managing SDF / Compact database files. I loaded an older VS2010 project in the newest VS2015 Community edition without any hassles and have even greater and easier control now than I had before. This will be bookmarked with me for a long time. CE is still an excellent option for standalone and portable applications.

by Base64 | July 23 2015

Great tools for working with SQL Server compact, much better than the Visual Studio built-in functionality.

by machal85 | July 21 2015

The best and the simplest!

by engenious | June 18 2015

Thank you so much for that great toolbox.

by RandyTheBear | June 18 2015

This toolbox is great! When I got tasked with creating an embedded
database for a tablet app using SQL Compact, I had never done it before.
This toolbox and Erik's blog made it simple. I recommend it to everyone.
I have used it on several applications since then.

by port_al | June 03 2015

Great and professional tool!
Looks and works like native VS toolboxes.
That was like life saving when i found it because at the moment i was nervously thinking of what to do in order to develop and maintain SQLite database under Windows Runtime platform on Windows Phone 8.1.
Other tools i tried are not comparable. I might not try them that many but as soon as you find this one you don't want to be searching for a tool further.
Thank you very much!

by Can Altunöz | May 17 2015

Its very powerfull tool for SQLCE. Simple and easy to use. Tyvm for a great work

by Hammer510 | May 12 2015

You read my mind in regards to what SQLite in Visual Studio was missing. Thank you so much for your effort!

ErikEJ May 12 2015
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks,Hammer. Let me know if you miss anything or Things don't work as expected :-)

by Hfzusama | April 27 2015

It is extremely excellent tool for databases such as sqlite which is very difficult for me but with this tool I can easily create and use my sqlite database in my projects. I am very thankful to you for this tool

by RaymondChan95032 | April 23 2015

I have used the SqlCe35Toolbox.exe and SqlCeCmd.exe from Mr Jensen to analyze/dump Windows Mobile SDF database files. The tools are easier to use and very helpful. Mr Jensen is also very quick to respond to my questions and issues. Highly recommended !

by Vladimír Klaus | April 22 2015

I use this excelent tool several years. It helps me a lot - for example when Webmatrix had broken DB functionality.
Now I use it inside VS 2013 and it is still beter and better. Especially new function for connection renaming is fantastic since I have more the 15 databases with the same filename Data.sdf.

by Bill Drago | April 17 2015

This is an excellent tool for working with SQLite and Visual Studio. It's one of those things that you once you start using it, you don't know how you lived without it.

by AshRoller | April 16 2015

Very useful, thanks

by efhilton | April 13 2015

Beautifully written. Extremely useful. Thank you!

by Benoit P | April 09 2015

A great and necessary tool for VS2013 users, simple yet powerful. Thank you very much for all your work. Benoit

by SandroR | April 09 2015

This tool is an ESSENTIAL part of Visual Studio since Microsoft
removed from Sql management Studio the support of SqlCE.
Its value is unbelievable and we have only to thank Erik for his remarkable job.
Thank you!

21 - 40 of 144 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Data Source VS2015
    2 Posts | Last post Tue 7:12 AM
    • ErikEJ,
      after making the connection , I'll create the data source , and give an error that is not supported, it can be. It is to do a tutorial on how to connect and preecher data grid .
      
      thank you for tool
    • The Data Source support in my DDEX provider is limited to saving connections on server explorer for use with the EF Tools. Not for creating DataSets, which I do not recommend for using with SQL CE anyway. If you want a quick data access layer, just use the LINQ to SQL code generation  
  • Unable to load DLL 'sqlceme35.dll'
    6 Posts | Last post February 03, 2016
    • Error of loading sqlceme35.dll raises on toolbox start. VS2013 Ultimate crashes too.
    • Re-install/repair the SQL Server Compact 3.5 SP2 runtime
    • Same problem. Crash Visual Studio. I dont need SQL Server Compact, only SQLite. Does it mean SQLite is not really supported?
    • Yes, you can use only sqlite, but your sql ce install is broken. Repair/uninstall. Did you try the latest daily? I made some fixes for this...
    • I had repaired SQL Server CE 4.0 SP1 and still face the same error. I am using vs 2015 community edition.
    • Kalpesh: repair/reinstall 3,5 sp2, not 4,0
  • Can I use SQL statements with SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox add-in?
    2 Posts | Last post January 22, 2016
    • Can SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox add-in help me use SQL statements to do operations on SQLite on UWP/Windows 10 environment (desktop, mobile etc.)?
      
      I am not able to find that detail in the description of the package...
    • You can run SQL statements against a SQLite database on your desktop, not against a database on a Phone or Tablet directly
  • Script out Database from LocalDB build in VS 2015
    2 Posts | Last post January 13, 2016
    • Hi Erik,
      I have used your plug in in Visual Studio  2015 Community and it works fine. I have manged to script out LocalDB Schema and Data and created .sql file. Only DB tables were scripted out. How to script out Stored Procedures from the same LocalDB. All this will be uploaded to the SqlServer 2012 Developer.Thank you for your time. 
      
      Cheers!
      
    • Thanks! For SQL Server to SQL Server scripting, use the tools built into SQL Server Management Studio.
  • Local Database
    2 Posts | Last post November 16, 2015
    • Is this the download that lets you adds data bases in Visual studio 2015? Someone told me to install a local database and create since the 2015 version doesn't have it. 
    • It depends what you mean by "local database" - why not give it a try?
  • API
    12 Posts | Last post November 12, 2015
    • Great job! Thanks for this tool. It is just amazing. Quick question. Is there an API (DLL) so that the Script generation of SQL Server Database Schema and Data to SQLite can be called inside a C# code? 
      
    • Hi Erik,
      
      Please help me. Is it possible to generate by code the Import data script inside a C# project? Thanks for you quick reply.
    • Hi Erik,
      
      FYI, I see many objects class. Which one should I use to generate the script for importing data from MS SQL Server to SQLite?
    • Glad you like it, feel free to post a review here! You can use my API, yes: http://erikej.blogspot.dk/2013/03/sql-server-compact-code-snippet-of-week.html (Just replace DB4Repository with ServerRepository)
    • Hi Erik,
      
      Thank you very much. I got the DLLs. Probably the last question :-) What is the method I can use to specify the tables for which the generator will output the scripts? Thanks again!
    • You can use the generator.ExcludeTables method
    • Awesome! Thanks Erik!
    • Hi Erik,
      
      I have another issue when calling the assembly:
      
      using ErikEJ.SqlCeScripting.
      
      The error meaasage is the following:
      
      The type or namespace name 'ErikEJ' could not be found (are you missing a using directive or an assembly reference?).
      
      Any idea about what's missing? Thanks in advance for your reply knowing your busy schedule.
    • I am happy to help, but could we please take this discussion here: http://exportsqlce.codeplex.com/workitem/list/basic and pls provide details about the sql ce version used and the project type etc.
    • FYI, I referenced the DDLs.
    • As I said, pls log an issue, and provide exact and clear information
    • Sorry about that. Alright. I am doing that right now. Thanks!
  • Instalation Issue VS2015 Community
    6 Posts | Last post November 12, 2015
    • Hi Erik,
      
      Is this Toolbox compatible with VS2015 Community?
      I tried to install it with VS2013 Express and get informed that it´s not compatible with that version. So, i installed VS2015 Community and tried to install the toolbox, but nothing happens, no errors, no messages...
      
      Thanks
    • Of course it is, I currently use VS 2015 Community to develop it! How did you install? Is it not installed already? Check the Extensions and Updates dialog
    • I have just downloaded and executed the file to do the install.
      Now, with your suggestion, i checked the Extensions and Updates dialog, added the extension and it´s working fine.
      Thanks a lot!
    • how did you add the extension?  I don't see anything, only form for servers
    • i tried to add folder with extension to this list. now i get message that access  to the path is denied
    • Amalgamsky: I do not understand your issues, pls log an issue here with clear description and screenshots, thanks: https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/workitem/list/basic 
  • Scroll problem!
    14 Posts | Last post November 11, 2015
    • Hi
      When I have many tables, The toolbox will show vertical scroll bar, but I can't scroll with middle mouse button!
      Please, check and fix it...
      Thanks
    • Hi, could you try the latest build here, and let me knwo if that fixes the issue: https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/releases/view/618303 (Uninstall first, then download and run)
    • Hi again,
      Yes! that's OK, I've installed version 4.4.0.5
      Thanks a lot...
      I have a suggestion too! May you create a standalone (portable) version of this toolbox, please? Some times we need it without visual studio...
      Thanks
    • Great, and thanks for reporting. Standalone version are already available: https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/releases/view/104096 
    • Thank you...
      May you update this standalone to the latest version, please?
      This is not 4.4.0.5 ! So, we have scroll problem and there is no design edit tools like VS-version (such as Add column, Edit column, ...)
      Thank you very much
    • Since VS Community is now free for all, I have decided to spend my (limited) resources with the VS extension. But the software is open source, and I do accept pull requests!
    • OK! Thanks...
      And sorry, but I found another bug!
      When we open an edit window for a table (Edit Top 200 Rows) and main toolbox anchored window will be minimize (hide), then the tables list will close! We must open tree node and search table again!
      Thanks again...
    • I would be grateful if you could report any bugs here: https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/WorkItem/Create and describe the steps to reproduce, and possibly with screenshots (I am not sure I understand the issue)
    • OK...
      1: Set your SQL toolbox window to auto hide
      2: Open tables tree node
      3: Select a table (now, the tables tree is open and a table is selected)
      4: Click every where of VS-window (out of toolbox window) to close toolbox (autoHide)
      5: Back agian to toolbox (open it), Now, tables tree is closed and nothing is selected
      Thanks
    • Thnaks, I have logged an issue here: https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/workitem/12260 
    • Hi, could you try the latest build here, and let me knwo if that fixes the autohide issue: https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/releases/view/618303 (Uninstall first, then download and run)
    • Hello Erik,
      
      Great job! Thanks for this tool. It is just amazing. Quick question. Is there an API (DLL) so that the Script generation of SQL Server Database Schema and Data to SQLite can be called inside a C# code? 
      
      Patrick M.
    • Yes! That's OK...
      Thank you very much...
      I hope that you find enough time to update standalone version....
      Thanks again
    • Hi, you are welcome - re the standalone edition: Would be helpful if you could list what you are missing in the standalone edition by submitting a list on the CodePlex issue tracker 
  • Windows 10 universal app and SQL server compact database
    5 Posts | Last post October 27, 2015
    • Is it possible to access to a SQL server compact 4.0 database from VB or C++ in an universal app ? Previously, I used the reference System.Data.SqlServerCe and made SQL queries in the code by means of SqlCeResultSet.
      Now, how to do ? And why Microsoft doesn't propose the tool you have created ?
    • You cannot, but you can use SQLite
    • I can open my SQLite db in VS2015 with the toolbox 'SQL Server Compact/SQLite toolbox' and see the tables and fields. I'm trying to open the db in VB with:
      Dim db As SQLiteConnection = New SQLiteConnection(dbpathstring)
      I get an error 'could not open database file'.
      How to open a SQLite db then make queries in the Universal app environment ?
    • See my blog post here: http://erikej.blogspot.dk/2014/10/database-first-with-sqlite-in-universal.html
    • I followed these instructions since I was able to open the db from the toolbox.
      
      But I have found at the moment the cause of the problem: it is due to the db path which must be equal to this one:
      Path.Combine(Windows.Storage.ApplicationData.Current.LocalFolder.Path, "MyDb.db")
      
      Because of Windows Store app, the database cannot be put elsewhere.
      
      In addition, the db has to be included in the project in order to be copied in this special folder. So, its settings in the project must be: 'content' (build action) and 'copy always'.
      I also tried the folder "ms-appdata:///local/" as recommended somewhere but that didn't work.
      
      I got this information here:
      https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/apps/hh967755.aspx?cs-save-lang=1&cs-lang=csharp#code-snippet-1
  • Could not find SqlMetal location in registry
    7 Posts | Last post October 10, 2015
    • Hi, Erik, 
      
      I'm trying to create a Linq2Sql DataContext on a SqlCe 4.0 database, but I'm getting an error stating 'Could not find SqlMetal location in registry'. I have verified that SqlMetal exists in the following location:
      
      C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SDKs\Windows\v8.0A\bin\NETFX 4.0 Tools
      
      so I'm guessing I must be missing a key entry, but I have no idea what I would need to enter into the registry to resolve this issue. Any thoughts?
      
      thanks!
    • Update: 
      So I've been digging through the registry looking for the keys that I think the toolkit is looking for and I've verified the existence of the following keys:
      
      HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\MicrosoftSDKs\Windows\v7.0a
      HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\MicrosoftSDKs\Windows\v7.1a
      HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\MicrosoftSDKs\Windows\v8.0a
      
      each of which has an InstallationFolder value that points to a folder in which I have verified taht there is a copy of SqlMetal.exe appears.
      
      So I'm guessing there is a key that the toolkit 
      
      I'm using VS2012 pro if that's important. 
    • I fixed some issues relating to sqlmetal detection in the latest refresh, could you try to remove the extension, and reinstalle from the gallery, so you get version 4,3,0,2
    • I did an uninstall and updated to 4.3.0.2, but to no avail - still unable to locate the SQLMetal in the registry. 
      
      I checked my path variable and made sure that all three of the folders I listed above were specified, just in case that was the issue, but with no success. 
    • Hi JW, it was a bug - fixed in the latest daily here: https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/releases/view/616898
    • Success. Thanks so much for all your quick help on this!
    • Great worked for me as well - good work
      
1 - 10 of 95 Items