SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox

VSIP Partner Free

SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox add-in for Visual Studio. This add-in adds several features to help your embedded database development efforts: Scripting of tables and data, import from SQL Server and CSV files and much, much more.

(165) Review
Visual Studio
2015, 2013, 2012, 2010, 15
Download (513,215)
4/19/2016
4.5.0.2
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (165)
Q and A (99)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Crack it | February 15 2016

Great tool for me and my team

by ZZZ Projects | February 11 2016

This tools is very easy to use. It saved me a lot of time when importing table from SQL Server to SQL Compact for my unit test.

by Rudolf Heijink | February 06 2016

Just found this. Thank you very much for sharing, I wish I had found it before!

Rudolf

by ajphall | January 25 2016

This is excellent. Thank you for all of your efforts Erik.

by Marcio Maciel | January 17 2016

This is amazing! Tks ErikEJ! 5 stars easy! =D

by James Green | January 06 2016

Really helped me out, saved a bunch of effort using this plugin.

by Ghalib Masood | December 26 2015

An amazing tool that made developing local database for my windows phone 8.0 project a lot easier. Currently, using it for all of my WP projects. Outstanding Tool.

by David L3 | December 14 2015

A brilliant tool! I use compact databases a lot both in desktop and web applications and I find this toolbox totally indispensable.

by SkyHigh42 | December 12 2015

Great tool, great support.

by ClevelandClete | November 25 2015

Having to Check the "Results to Grid" EVERY TIME I run a query is quite distracting.

ErikEJ November 27 2015
| Edit |
Delete

You dont have to, just use Tools/Options to set the default value for all new windows

by jecs.pt | November 24 2015

Outstanding tool!!

Thank you.

by cemremengu | November 23 2015

Great, great work thanks so much.

by Sapan Ghafuri | November 04 2015

I just come here to tell you thanks. Your tool helped us too much.

by pehu71 | November 04 2015

Very nice update!

by bobthecoder1 | November 03 2015

You can't scroll with mouse wheel when the mouse is positioned over table names. However scroll works when ur mouse is positioned near the scrollbar! Otherwise pretty nifty little tool.

ErikEJ November 04 2015
| Edit |
Delete

Hi, thanks for your feedback. could you post an issue here: https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/WorkItem/Create with a screenshot, thenI will look into it

by Ruud Borst | November 03 2015

.

by ryan.gillies | October 20 2015

Considering SQLCE is a product of Microsoft, its increasingly frustrating how they continue to remove support for this format bit by bit.

Thankfully ErikEJ's set of tools do just about everything - all of his tools are must have for anyone working with SQLCE databases.

by The Doron Team | October 13 2015

Awesome!!!

by Codinator12 | October 07 2015

Crazy good. Should be part of VS.

by Eumar Assis - Microsoft | October 05 2015

Awesome!!!

21 - 40 of 165 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Planned SQLite Enhancements
    3 Posts | Last post April 19, 2016
    • Erik - Love the Toolbox so far.  So I know what I might expect in the future and at the risk of seeming pushy, do you plan for SQLite to:
      
      1.  Enhance the Build Table (beta) designer to start with a previously entered table so that I can add/delete/rename columns and then execute a Drop/Create instead of starting over when I need such changes or having to edit the previously saved script?
      
      2.  Add the equivalent of "Add SQLite-net DataAccess.net" to instead generate a Linq DataContext class together with the fully attributed entity classes corresponding to each table?
      
      3. If so on #2, will you include relationship code, which means adding a foreign key attribute to Build Table?
      
      For those that you intend to implement, do you have a guess as to timing?
      
    • Hi, this project is open source and free, and accepts any contributions from you and others. Regarding your suggestions:
      1: I propose that you just use the "Script as DROP and CREATE" feature. Remember that SQLite does not support "ALTER TABLE"
      2: LINQ to SQL is not supported by SQLite as far as I know, so no plans there.
      3: See reply to 2
      If you like the Tool, feel free to post a review here...
    • Erik - Thanks for the response.  
      
      1.  I thought it would make sense to just edit the DROP and CREATE script.  That's certainly easy enough.
      
      2.  Seems ignorance on my part re Linq working with SQLite is bliss.  I just got it to work.  In particular, I did several regular Linq queries, a DataContext.GetTable(), and several approaches to changing data, each followed by DataContext.SubmitChanges().  All the changes were made in the database.  
      The key is to instantiate the Linq DataContext by passing in a SQLiteConnection instead of the connection string.  After that, I used the Toolbox’s generated DataAccess code as a starting point for the Linq entity classes.  The key hurdle there was that I made NULL attribute database script changes after I started without corresponding changes in the entity classes.  That produced a cryptic error message that took some time to eventually rundown with help from Stack Overflow.  
      
      3.  I may respond to your suggestion to contribute to the Toolbox, though certainly not until I'm on a more solid footing understanding this stuff.  I'm only making step-by-step progress, having just started to learn about both SQLite and Linq a couple weeks ago at your suggestion.  And a great suggestion it has proven itself to be!
      
      Thanks again.  I'll post a review of the Toolbox in the next week or so.
      Steve
      
  • Toolbox activates "Properties" window when activating anyting in Toolbox window
    2 Posts | Last post April 16, 2016
    • Hi, Erik! Thanks for new version! But I got bad news.
      When the project first launched, trying to activate Toolbox makes active "Properties" window, so that I have to activate Toolbox again. It was also in early versions.
    • Hi.. could you post an issue at github, and provide more details about which version you mean by "new", and steps required to reproduce the issue...
  • PrimaryKey attribute not recognized?
    4 Posts | Last post April 12, 2016
    • I have installed the Sqlite Toolbox, successfully connected to an existing sqlite database, and added DataAccess.cs to my project. However, the table and column attributes are not recognized:
      What is the namespace for attributes in the DataAccess.cs?
      What references are needed?
    • Hi Gary, I beleive there is a link to this blog post at the top of the DataAccess.cd file: See the blog post here for help on using the generated code: http://erikej.blogspot.dk/2014/10/database-first-with-sqlite-in-universal.html 
    • Erik - I am having the same problem as Gary (though with a database I created using the Toolbox), plus these additional problems:
      -- The generated DataAccess code had "using SQLite" instead of "using System.Data.SQLite", which made the SQLiteConnection class unrecognizable.
      -- After fixing the using, SQLiteConnection was ok, but the CreateTable methods were not recognized.  There are several CreateXxx methods in the SQLiteConection class, just not CreateTable.
      
      I followed the blog you suggested, including installing the 2 additional Windows Phone and Windows RT extensions, all using the VS Extensions Manager.  The problems are still there.
      
      I can see how the Toolbox will be a big help once I'm past the startup challenges.  Thanks for your help.  Steve
      
    • Cincy Steve: As noted above, the generated code is for use with the sqlite-net class code, not with System.Data.Sqlite - please read the blogpost linked above. The same link should be at the top of the generated code. 
  • Data Query error if SQLite databases uses DateTimeFormat=Ticks
    2 Posts | Last post March 11, 2016
    • I have a database that uses DateTimeFormat=Ticks in the connection string.  When a DateTimes is written to the database, the value of the Ticks property is written. When I use your tool to query the database, I get an error from DateTime.ParseExact with a very long stack trace.
      
      Can you fix your tool so it checks that property in the connection & interprets the value properly? There's also a property in the connection that tells you what value to use for the DateTimeKind property of the DateTime struct.
    • Hi Tony, I have made some fixes for that recently, can you describe the issue in more detal here, and tell me the exact extension version you use (from the about dialog in the add-in): https://github.com/ErikEJ/SqlCeToolbox/issues/new 
  • Data Source VS2015
    5 Posts | Last post March 04, 2016
    • ErikEJ,
      after making the connection , I'll create the data source , and give an error that is not supported, it can be. It is to do a tutorial on how to connect and preecher data grid .
      
      thank you for tool
    • The Data Source support in my DDEX provider is limited to saving connections on server explorer for use with the EF Tools. Not for creating DataSets, which I do not recommend for using with SQL CE anyway. If you want a quick data access layer, just use the LINQ to SQL code generation  
    • Like using your tool, but I private install SQL CE with my app.  Any thoughts on how to get your tool to work with private install?  Also, I find this error occasionally https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/974247  Any thoughs?
    • Sorry Erik, thought I was responding to SQLToolBox.  That is the tool we are using.
    • John: you could use binding redirects with the standalone tool. And lets discuss the other issue on Github
  • Unable to load DLL 'sqlceme35.dll'
    6 Posts | Last post February 03, 2016
    • Error of loading sqlceme35.dll raises on toolbox start. VS2013 Ultimate crashes too.
    • Re-install/repair the SQL Server Compact 3.5 SP2 runtime
    • Same problem. Crash Visual Studio. I dont need SQL Server Compact, only SQLite. Does it mean SQLite is not really supported?
    • Yes, you can use only sqlite, but your sql ce install is broken. Repair/uninstall. Did you try the latest daily? I made some fixes for this...
    • I had repaired SQL Server CE 4.0 SP1 and still face the same error. I am using vs 2015 community edition.
    • Kalpesh: repair/reinstall 3,5 sp2, not 4,0
  • Can I use SQL statements with SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox add-in?
    2 Posts | Last post January 22, 2016
    • Can SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox add-in help me use SQL statements to do operations on SQLite on UWP/Windows 10 environment (desktop, mobile etc.)?
      
      I am not able to find that detail in the description of the package...
    • You can run SQL statements against a SQLite database on your desktop, not against a database on a Phone or Tablet directly
  • Script out Database from LocalDB build in VS 2015
    2 Posts | Last post January 13, 2016
    • Hi Erik,
      I have used your plug in in Visual Studio  2015 Community and it works fine. I have manged to script out LocalDB Schema and Data and created .sql file. Only DB tables were scripted out. How to script out Stored Procedures from the same LocalDB. All this will be uploaded to the SqlServer 2012 Developer.Thank you for your time. 
      
      Cheers!
      
    • Thanks! For SQL Server to SQL Server scripting, use the tools built into SQL Server Management Studio.
  • Local Database
    2 Posts | Last post November 16, 2015
    • Is this the download that lets you adds data bases in Visual studio 2015? Someone told me to install a local database and create since the 2015 version doesn't have it. 
    • It depends what you mean by "local database" - why not give it a try?
  • API
    12 Posts | Last post November 12, 2015
    • Great job! Thanks for this tool. It is just amazing. Quick question. Is there an API (DLL) so that the Script generation of SQL Server Database Schema and Data to SQLite can be called inside a C# code? 
      
    • Hi Erik,
      
      Please help me. Is it possible to generate by code the Import data script inside a C# project? Thanks for you quick reply.
    • Hi Erik,
      
      FYI, I see many objects class. Which one should I use to generate the script for importing data from MS SQL Server to SQLite?
    • Glad you like it, feel free to post a review here! You can use my API, yes: http://erikej.blogspot.dk/2013/03/sql-server-compact-code-snippet-of-week.html (Just replace DB4Repository with ServerRepository)
    • Hi Erik,
      
      Thank you very much. I got the DLLs. Probably the last question :-) What is the method I can use to specify the tables for which the generator will output the scripts? Thanks again!
    • You can use the generator.ExcludeTables method
    • Awesome! Thanks Erik!
    • Hi Erik,
      
      I have another issue when calling the assembly:
      
      using ErikEJ.SqlCeScripting.
      
      The error meaasage is the following:
      
      The type or namespace name 'ErikEJ' could not be found (are you missing a using directive or an assembly reference?).
      
      Any idea about what's missing? Thanks in advance for your reply knowing your busy schedule.
    • I am happy to help, but could we please take this discussion here: http://exportsqlce.codeplex.com/workitem/list/basic and pls provide details about the sql ce version used and the project type etc.
    • FYI, I referenced the DDLs.
    • As I said, pls log an issue, and provide exact and clear information
    • Sorry about that. Alright. I am doing that right now. Thanks!
1 - 10 of 99 Items