SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox

VSIP Partner Free

SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox add-in for Visual Studio. This add-in adds several features to help your embedded database development efforts: Scripting of tables and data, import from SQL Server and CSV files and much, much more.

(173) Review
Visual Studio
2015, 2013, 2012, 2010, 15
Download (521,503)
5/6/2016
4.5.0.2
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (173)
Q and A (105)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Win_sky | March 07 2016

Great tool, only error I receive is when trying to create a report using the report wizard. When creating a data source you would get "error occurred while retrieving the information from the database" or won't even attempt to connect. Any help with that?

ErikEJ March 07 2016
| Edit |
Delete

I will be happy to provide support, but please provide more details about your issue here: https://github.com/ErikEJ/SqlCeToolbox/issues/new

by Gianluca Maria Marcilli | March 06 2016

Very good tool. Hope for updates concerning integration of DB in asp.net applications.

ErikEJ March 07 2016
| Edit |
Delete

Hi, could you please explain what "updates concerning integration of DB in asp.net applications" means here: https://github.com/ErikEJ/SqlCeToolbox/issues/new then I will look into it

by bkboggy | March 02 2016

Absolutely incredible. A lot of fantastic options, works without any hick-ups (thus far) and just makes my work that much easier. My only complaint would be that it does not display data types for SQLite, but rather generic db types. I would much rather choose from types listed on https://www.sqlite.org/datatype3.html .

ErikEJ March 02 2016
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks for the review, pls log an issue on github with details about where you see these data types... (screenshot, maybe)

by infoset | March 01 2016

I really appreciate your commitment to the file-databases commmunity and keeping things alive despite Visual Studio team politics. Please keep up your fantastic work.

by Karthick snkl | February 24 2016

thank you

ErikEJ February 24 2016
| Edit |
Delete

How can I make it 5 stars?

by GeroZinkDev | February 21 2016

Excellent Toolbox! Thanks!

by Busta4Sure | February 19 2016

This tool is perfect for what I need. Glad to see some SQL Compact support in VS again! Thanks Erik.

by Murti_x | February 17 2016

İt's really good tool.But deleting or editing rows is not working sometimes.

Thanks.

ErikEJ February 17 2016
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks for the kind Words. If you have issues, could you please post detailed steps to reproduce on Github

by Crack it | February 15 2016

Great tool for me and my team

by ZZZ Projects | February 11 2016

This tools is very easy to use. It saved me a lot of time when importing table from SQL Server to SQL Compact for my unit test.

by Rudolf Heijink | February 06 2016

Just found this. Thank you very much for sharing, I wish I had found it before!

Rudolf

by ajphall | January 25 2016

This is excellent. Thank you for all of your efforts Erik.

by Marcio Maciel | January 17 2016

This is amazing! Tks ErikEJ! 5 stars easy! =D

by James Green | January 06 2016

Really helped me out, saved a bunch of effort using this plugin.

by Ghalib Masood | December 26 2015

An amazing tool that made developing local database for my windows phone 8.0 project a lot easier. Currently, using it for all of my WP projects. Outstanding Tool.

by David L3 | December 14 2015

A brilliant tool! I use compact databases a lot both in desktop and web applications and I find this toolbox totally indispensable.

by SkyHigh42 | December 12 2015

Great tool, great support.

by ClevelandClete | November 25 2015

Having to Check the "Results to Grid" EVERY TIME I run a query is quite distracting.

ErikEJ November 27 2015
| Edit |
Delete

You dont have to, just use Tools/Options to set the default value for all new windows

by jecs.pt | November 24 2015

Outstanding tool!!

Thank you.

by cemremengu | November 23 2015

Great, great work thanks so much.

21 - 40 of 173 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • SQL Server Data diff script
    2 Posts | Last post Thu 7:40 AM
    • Hi Erik - Firstly, this is a great tool and is helpful in my work!
      
      I have few questions on data diff feature and others.
      
      1. I'm trying to convert server db(.mdf) to .sdf file.I had about 1100000 records. On choosing to do this for both schema and data, it generated multiple .sqlce (102)files with 18528KB size. Is there a way to restrict the script to a single file?
      
      2. Once the files were generated, I added an extra record. Since the last run of the script, is there a way to find out the differential updates and generate only the delta script other than doing the .sdf file compare?
      
      3. I wanted to compare the .sdf files and see the difference. I used this 'script database diff' option and saw the schema changes captured for the .sdf file, I am unable to capture the delta data changes between source and target. Is there an option for that?
       
    • 1: No (due to ressource restrictions during creation of the files)
      2: The Toolbox has a data compare featuire (on Table level) - could you use that?
      3: See 2
  • A tutorial for starting with SQLite embedded and ClickOnce??
    8 Posts | Last post Wed 2:16 PM
    • Hello, I download the extension and watched the videos on https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/documentation and https://github.com/ErikEJ/SqlCeToolbox and erikej.blogspot.com but I can´t find any simple tutorial of how to start from zero.
      
      I just need to solve the creation of a SQLite dabatabase AND the ClickOncePublish thing to start searching for more.
    • To create a database, just select Add new SQLite database from the menu. ClickOnce does not really relate to the Toolbox
    • Thanks ErikEJ!
      
      1) I create a New proyect - Visual Basic - Windows - WFA
      
      2) With the Toolbook I create or connect to the SQLite Database
      
      3) I install NuGet - Install-Package System.Data.SQLite
      
      4) I can show the data base info on a DataGridView
      
      All OK.. but when I publish the proyect and try to run I have the error "Unable to load DLL 'SQLite.Interop.dll'"
      
      I read a lot of boards and I even have the DLL but something still don´t work.
      
      This is something related to the Toolboox or to Visual Studio - SQlite integration?
      
      Thanks
    • Is your app built for x86 (and not Any CPU) ? It is a SQLite issue, and has nothing to do with the Toolbox or VS.
    • Thanks again ErikEJ, I will research. I'm stuck on that point.
    • Solved!!!
      
      Compile - Target CPU - x86
      
      Thanks
    • Great - If you use my tools, I would be very grateful for a rating or review here:
      
      https://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/0e313dfd-be80-4afb-b5e9-6e74d369f7a1/view/Reviews
    • "If you use my tools, I would be very grateful for a rating or review here:
      
      https://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/0e313dfd-be80-4afb-b5e9-6e74d369f7a1/view/Reviews"
      
      No problem, I need to learn more and then I will post a feedback
  • Grid View doesn't work
    2 Posts | Last post May 16, 2016
    • When I activate the "Show results as grid" option in the settings then execute a "SELECT * FROM table" (for example), the grid displays but once I do anything that would scroll the grid or once I use the group by thing by clicking at the "+", Visual Studio stops working and restarts.
      
      I'm using Visual Studio 2015 Community on Windows 10 x64.
    • I am unable to repro - could you share your database/table?
  • Table Shows "-ReadOnly" When Right-click "Edit..."
    2 Posts | Last post May 11, 2016
    • Hello Erik!
      
      I'm attempting to use the CE 3.5 Stand Alone Runtime to modify a single table in a legacy application that has fallen into my lap.
      
      The Problem I am having is, when I open the database, and "Edit Top 200 Rows" The DataGrid shows up, but has Tablename-ReadOnly as its title, and I cannot edit any of the rows. I dont see any messages, just will not let me edit.
      
      There is only a single line on the table, so I'm confused as to why It shows Read-Only.
      
      Do you have any suggestions?
      
      Thanks for this wonderful tool!
      
      -Paul
    • Hi Paul - most likely because the table that you are trying to edit does not have a primary key defined. You may be able to use a SQL UPDATE statement if you can find an usable WHERE clause.
      
      If you use my tools, I would be very grateful for a rating or review here:
      
      https://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/0e313dfd-be80-4afb-b5e9-6e74d369f7a1/view/Reviews
  • Windows 10 UWP
    2 Posts | Last post May 10, 2016
    • Hello Erik again,
      
      I have one more question. Does Your toolbox works in Windows 10 Universal Applications?
    • The Toolbox is a Visual Studio Tool, and does not "Work" in particular project types. But you can use SQLite and the generated sqlite-net classes in Windows 10 UWP Projects, yes.
  • Problem with installing SQL compact toolbox
    2 Posts | Last post May 06, 2016
    • Hello Erik,
      
      Thank You for this usefull tool. I'm writting because I have problem which I can't resolve. I have VS Community 2015. Let me describe step by step, how I install Your tool:
      
      1. I didn't have EnityFramework and EntityFramework.SqlServerCompat so I installed it from Nuget.
      2. I installed Your tool
      3. I created new database. Connection is fine but then I have this red error: http://oi68.tinypic.com/2hd2l3b.jpg
      4. When I want to add entity model to project I get error:
      "Please add the EntityFramework.SqlServerCompact NuGet package to the project"
      
      I have 2 question too. 
      1.Do I have to EnityFramework and EntityFramework.SqlServerCompat referenced in solution? Because I don't see any of these in References in project.
      
      2. May I install 3.5 version of Your tool and have option "Add Windows Phone DataContext to current Project".
      
      Thank You,
      Wojtek
    • Lets continue the support discussion here: https://github.com/ErikEJ/SqlCeToolbox/issues/52 
  • Planned SQLite Enhancements
    3 Posts | Last post April 19, 2016
    • Erik - Love the Toolbox so far.  So I know what I might expect in the future and at the risk of seeming pushy, do you plan for SQLite to:
      
      1.  Enhance the Build Table (beta) designer to start with a previously entered table so that I can add/delete/rename columns and then execute a Drop/Create instead of starting over when I need such changes or having to edit the previously saved script?
      
      2.  Add the equivalent of "Add SQLite-net DataAccess.net" to instead generate a Linq DataContext class together with the fully attributed entity classes corresponding to each table?
      
      3. If so on #2, will you include relationship code, which means adding a foreign key attribute to Build Table?
      
      For those that you intend to implement, do you have a guess as to timing?
      
    • Hi, this project is open source and free, and accepts any contributions from you and others. Regarding your suggestions:
      1: I propose that you just use the "Script as DROP and CREATE" feature. Remember that SQLite does not support "ALTER TABLE"
      2: LINQ to SQL is not supported by SQLite as far as I know, so no plans there.
      3: See reply to 2
      If you like the Tool, feel free to post a review here...
    • Erik - Thanks for the response.  
      
      1.  I thought it would make sense to just edit the DROP and CREATE script.  That's certainly easy enough.
      
      2.  Seems ignorance on my part re Linq working with SQLite is bliss.  I just got it to work.  In particular, I did several regular Linq queries, a DataContext.GetTable(), and several approaches to changing data, each followed by DataContext.SubmitChanges().  All the changes were made in the database.  
      The key is to instantiate the Linq DataContext by passing in a SQLiteConnection instead of the connection string.  After that, I used the Toolbox’s generated DataAccess code as a starting point for the Linq entity classes.  The key hurdle there was that I made NULL attribute database script changes after I started without corresponding changes in the entity classes.  That produced a cryptic error message that took some time to eventually rundown with help from Stack Overflow.  
      
      3.  I may respond to your suggestion to contribute to the Toolbox, though certainly not until I'm on a more solid footing understanding this stuff.  I'm only making step-by-step progress, having just started to learn about both SQLite and Linq a couple weeks ago at your suggestion.  And a great suggestion it has proven itself to be!
      
      Thanks again.  I'll post a review of the Toolbox in the next week or so.
      Steve
      
  • Toolbox activates "Properties" window when activating anyting in Toolbox window
    2 Posts | Last post April 16, 2016
    • Hi, Erik! Thanks for new version! But I got bad news.
      When the project first launched, trying to activate Toolbox makes active "Properties" window, so that I have to activate Toolbox again. It was also in early versions.
    • Hi.. could you post an issue at github, and provide more details about which version you mean by "new", and steps required to reproduce the issue...
  • PrimaryKey attribute not recognized?
    4 Posts | Last post April 12, 2016
    • I have installed the Sqlite Toolbox, successfully connected to an existing sqlite database, and added DataAccess.cs to my project. However, the table and column attributes are not recognized:
      What is the namespace for attributes in the DataAccess.cs?
      What references are needed?
    • Hi Gary, I beleive there is a link to this blog post at the top of the DataAccess.cd file: See the blog post here for help on using the generated code: http://erikej.blogspot.dk/2014/10/database-first-with-sqlite-in-universal.html 
    • Erik - I am having the same problem as Gary (though with a database I created using the Toolbox), plus these additional problems:
      -- The generated DataAccess code had "using SQLite" instead of "using System.Data.SQLite", which made the SQLiteConnection class unrecognizable.
      -- After fixing the using, SQLiteConnection was ok, but the CreateTable methods were not recognized.  There are several CreateXxx methods in the SQLiteConection class, just not CreateTable.
      
      I followed the blog you suggested, including installing the 2 additional Windows Phone and Windows RT extensions, all using the VS Extensions Manager.  The problems are still there.
      
      I can see how the Toolbox will be a big help once I'm past the startup challenges.  Thanks for your help.  Steve
      
    • Cincy Steve: As noted above, the generated code is for use with the sqlite-net class code, not with System.Data.Sqlite - please read the blogpost linked above. The same link should be at the top of the generated code. 
  • Data Query error if SQLite databases uses DateTimeFormat=Ticks
    2 Posts | Last post March 11, 2016
    • I have a database that uses DateTimeFormat=Ticks in the connection string.  When a DateTimes is written to the database, the value of the Ticks property is written. When I use your tool to query the database, I get an error from DateTime.ParseExact with a very long stack trace.
      
      Can you fix your tool so it checks that property in the connection & interprets the value properly? There's also a property in the connection that tells you what value to use for the DateTimeKind property of the DateTime struct.
    • Hi Tony, I have made some fixes for that recently, can you describe the issue in more detal here, and tell me the exact extension version you use (from the about dialog in the add-in): https://github.com/ErikEJ/SqlCeToolbox/issues/new 
1 - 10 of 105 Items