SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox

VSIP Partner Free

SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox add-in for Visual Studio. This add-in adds several features to help your embedded database development efforts: Scripting of tables and data, import from SQL Server and CSV files and much, much more.

(135) Review
Visual Studio
2015, 2013, 2012, 2010
Download (449,208)
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Reviews (135)
Q and A (92)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by port_al | June 03 2015

Great and professional tool!
Looks and works like native VS toolboxes.
That was like life saving when i found it because at the moment i was nervously thinking of what to do in order to develop and maintain SQLite database under Windows Runtime platform on Windows Phone 8.1.
Other tools i tried are not comparable. I might not try them that many but as soon as you find this one you don't want to be searching for a tool further.
Thank you very much!

by Can Altunöz | May 17 2015

Its very powerfull tool for SQLCE. Simple and easy to use. Tyvm for a great work

by Hammer510 | May 12 2015

You read my mind in regards to what SQLite in Visual Studio was missing. Thank you so much for your effort!

ErikEJ May 12 2015
| Edit |

Thanks,Hammer. Let me know if you miss anything or Things don't work as expected :-)

by Hfzusama | April 27 2015

It is extremely excellent tool for databases such as sqlite which is very difficult for me but with this tool I can easily create and use my sqlite database in my projects. I am very thankful to you for this tool

by RaymondChan95032 | April 23 2015

I have used the SqlCe35Toolbox.exe and SqlCeCmd.exe from Mr Jensen to analyze/dump Windows Mobile SDF database files. The tools are easier to use and very helpful. Mr Jensen is also very quick to respond to my questions and issues. Highly recommended !

by Vladimír Klaus | April 22 2015

I use this excelent tool several years. It helps me a lot - for example when Webmatrix had broken DB functionality.
Now I use it inside VS 2013 and it is still beter and better. Especially new function for connection renaming is fantastic since I have more the 15 databases with the same filename Data.sdf.

by Bill Drago | April 17 2015

This is an excellent tool for working with SQLite and Visual Studio. It's one of those things that you once you start using it, you don't know how you lived without it.

by AshRoller | April 16 2015

Very useful, thanks

by efhilton | April 13 2015

Beautifully written. Extremely useful. Thank you!

by Benoit P | April 09 2015

A great and necessary tool for VS2013 users, simple yet powerful. Thank you very much for all your work. Benoit

by SandroR | April 09 2015

This tool is an ESSENTIAL part of Visual Studio since Microsoft
removed from Sql management Studio the support of SqlCE.
Its value is unbelievable and we have only to thank Erik for his remarkable job.
Thank you!

by Matthias Dieter Wallnöfer | April 03 2015

by RandomlyKnighted2 | March 16 2015

This is a fantastic extension. This has helped me several times in the past with migrating databases and with the added ability to migrate SQLite databases I can now do so much more with it. This extension also has the added benefit of being created by the very dedicated ErikEJ who is willing to work with his users to figure out any problem they may be having and to extend the extensions functionality to its full potential.

ErikEJ March 31 2015
| Edit |

Thanks, and thanks for your help with SQLite => SQL Server export

by Tonazzi-M | March 10 2015

This is the best tool for working with SQLite and SQL Compact databases.
Very quick responses from the helpful developer, many thanks for you great work Erik!

ErikEJ March 10 2015
| Edit |

Thanks, and thanks for your debugging help!

by Jc1984 | March 07 2015

Hello to everyone, there is a way to change de result set as grid, I appreciate your help...


ErikEJ March 08 2015
| Edit |

Of course, just go into options and enable result set a grid!

by tmksoft | March 05 2015

Really nice tool.

I use it for editing the database in my Umbraco installations.

by oeduran88 | February 26 2015

Thank you very much for such useful tool. It helped me do some things I wasn't able in Webmatrix.

by Yatajga | February 20 2015

by Rick Strahl | January 28 2015

Microsoft has all but abandoned support for Sql Server Compact especially when it comes to the tooling, but this add-in makes up for that in spades. This tooling for SQL CE is miles above what Microsoft ever provided. I especially like the ability to import and export schema and data from a full SQL Server which is a huge time saver especially for testing components that support multiple providers.


by Hervé ANCHER | January 16 2015

From France, Very useful !

21 - 40 of 135 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion

  • Local Database
    2 Posts | Last post November 16, 2015
    • Is this the download that lets you adds data bases in Visual studio 2015? Someone told me to install a local database and create since the 2015 version doesn't have it. 
    • It depends what you mean by "local database" - why not give it a try?
  • API
    12 Posts | Last post November 12, 2015
    • Great job! Thanks for this tool. It is just amazing. Quick question. Is there an API (DLL) so that the Script generation of SQL Server Database Schema and Data to SQLite can be called inside a C# code? 
    • Hi Erik,
      Please help me. Is it possible to generate by code the Import data script inside a C# project? Thanks for you quick reply.
    • Hi Erik,
      FYI, I see many objects class. Which one should I use to generate the script for importing data from MS SQL Server to SQLite?
    • Glad you like it, feel free to post a review here! You can use my API, yes: http://erikej.blogspot.dk/2013/03/sql-server-compact-code-snippet-of-week.html (Just replace DB4Repository with ServerRepository)
    • Hi Erik,
      Thank you very much. I got the DLLs. Probably the last question :-) What is the method I can use to specify the tables for which the generator will output the scripts? Thanks again!
    • You can use the generator.ExcludeTables method
    • Awesome! Thanks Erik!
    • Hi Erik,
      I have another issue when calling the assembly:
      using ErikEJ.SqlCeScripting.
      The error meaasage is the following:
      The type or namespace name 'ErikEJ' could not be found (are you missing a using directive or an assembly reference?).
      Any idea about what's missing? Thanks in advance for your reply knowing your busy schedule.
    • I am happy to help, but could we please take this discussion here: http://exportsqlce.codeplex.com/workitem/list/basic and pls provide details about the sql ce version used and the project type etc.
    • FYI, I referenced the DDLs.
    • As I said, pls log an issue, and provide exact and clear information
    • Sorry about that. Alright. I am doing that right now. Thanks!
  • Instalation Issue VS2015 Community
    6 Posts | Last post November 12, 2015
    • Hi Erik,
      Is this Toolbox compatible with VS2015 Community?
      I tried to install it with VS2013 Express and get informed that it´s not compatible with that version. So, i installed VS2015 Community and tried to install the toolbox, but nothing happens, no errors, no messages...
    • Of course it is, I currently use VS 2015 Community to develop it! How did you install? Is it not installed already? Check the Extensions and Updates dialog
    • I have just downloaded and executed the file to do the install.
      Now, with your suggestion, i checked the Extensions and Updates dialog, added the extension and it´s working fine.
      Thanks a lot!
    • how did you add the extension?  I don't see anything, only form for servers
    • i tried to add folder with extension to this list. now i get message that access  to the path is denied
    • Amalgamsky: I do not understand your issues, pls log an issue here with clear description and screenshots, thanks: https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/workitem/list/basic 
  • Scroll problem!
    14 Posts | Last post November 11, 2015
    • Hi
      When I have many tables, The toolbox will show vertical scroll bar, but I can't scroll with middle mouse button!
      Please, check and fix it...
    • Hi, could you try the latest build here, and let me knwo if that fixes the issue: https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/releases/view/618303 (Uninstall first, then download and run)
    • Hi again,
      Yes! that's OK, I've installed version
      Thanks a lot...
      I have a suggestion too! May you create a standalone (portable) version of this toolbox, please? Some times we need it without visual studio...
    • Great, and thanks for reporting. Standalone version are already available: https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/releases/view/104096 
    • Thank you...
      May you update this standalone to the latest version, please?
      This is not ! So, we have scroll problem and there is no design edit tools like VS-version (such as Add column, Edit column, ...)
      Thank you very much
    • Since VS Community is now free for all, I have decided to spend my (limited) resources with the VS extension. But the software is open source, and I do accept pull requests!
    • OK! Thanks...
      And sorry, but I found another bug!
      When we open an edit window for a table (Edit Top 200 Rows) and main toolbox anchored window will be minimize (hide), then the tables list will close! We must open tree node and search table again!
      Thanks again...
    • I would be grateful if you could report any bugs here: https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/WorkItem/Create and describe the steps to reproduce, and possibly with screenshots (I am not sure I understand the issue)
    • OK...
      1: Set your SQL toolbox window to auto hide
      2: Open tables tree node
      3: Select a table (now, the tables tree is open and a table is selected)
      4: Click every where of VS-window (out of toolbox window) to close toolbox (autoHide)
      5: Back agian to toolbox (open it), Now, tables tree is closed and nothing is selected
    • Thnaks, I have logged an issue here: https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/workitem/12260 
    • Hi, could you try the latest build here, and let me knwo if that fixes the autohide issue: https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/releases/view/618303 (Uninstall first, then download and run)
    • Hello Erik,
      Great job! Thanks for this tool. It is just amazing. Quick question. Is there an API (DLL) so that the Script generation of SQL Server Database Schema and Data to SQLite can be called inside a C# code? 
      Patrick M.
    • Yes! That's OK...
      Thank you very much...
      I hope that you find enough time to update standalone version....
      Thanks again
    • Hi, you are welcome - re the standalone edition: Would be helpful if you could list what you are missing in the standalone edition by submitting a list on the CodePlex issue tracker 
  • Unable to load DLL 'sqlceme35.dll'
    4 Posts | Last post October 30, 2015
    • Error of loading sqlceme35.dll raises on toolbox start. VS2013 Ultimate crashes too.
    • Re-install/repair the SQL Server Compact 3.5 SP2 runtime
    • Same problem. Crash Visual Studio. I dont need SQL Server Compact, only SQLite. Does it mean SQLite is not really supported?
    • Yes, you can use only sqlite, but your sql ce install is broken. Repair/uninstall. Did you try the latest daily? I made some fixes for this...
  • Windows 10 universal app and SQL server compact database
    5 Posts | Last post October 27, 2015
    • Is it possible to access to a SQL server compact 4.0 database from VB or C++ in an universal app ? Previously, I used the reference System.Data.SqlServerCe and made SQL queries in the code by means of SqlCeResultSet.
      Now, how to do ? And why Microsoft doesn't propose the tool you have created ?
    • You cannot, but you can use SQLite
    • I can open my SQLite db in VS2015 with the toolbox 'SQL Server Compact/SQLite toolbox' and see the tables and fields. I'm trying to open the db in VB with:
      Dim db As SQLiteConnection = New SQLiteConnection(dbpathstring)
      I get an error 'could not open database file'.
      How to open a SQLite db then make queries in the Universal app environment ?
    • See my blog post here: http://erikej.blogspot.dk/2014/10/database-first-with-sqlite-in-universal.html
    • I followed these instructions since I was able to open the db from the toolbox.
      But I have found at the moment the cause of the problem: it is due to the db path which must be equal to this one:
      Path.Combine(Windows.Storage.ApplicationData.Current.LocalFolder.Path, "MyDb.db")
      Because of Windows Store app, the database cannot be put elsewhere.
      In addition, the db has to be included in the project in order to be copied in this special folder. So, its settings in the project must be: 'content' (build action) and 'copy always'.
      I also tried the folder "ms-appdata:///local/" as recommended somewhere but that didn't work.
      I got this information here:
  • Could not find SqlMetal location in registry
    7 Posts | Last post October 10, 2015
    • Hi, Erik, 
      I'm trying to create a Linq2Sql DataContext on a SqlCe 4.0 database, but I'm getting an error stating 'Could not find SqlMetal location in registry'. I have verified that SqlMetal exists in the following location:
      C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SDKs\Windows\v8.0A\bin\NETFX 4.0 Tools
      so I'm guessing I must be missing a key entry, but I have no idea what I would need to enter into the registry to resolve this issue. Any thoughts?
    • Update: 
      So I've been digging through the registry looking for the keys that I think the toolkit is looking for and I've verified the existence of the following keys:
      each of which has an InstallationFolder value that points to a folder in which I have verified taht there is a copy of SqlMetal.exe appears.
      So I'm guessing there is a key that the toolkit 
      I'm using VS2012 pro if that's important. 
    • I fixed some issues relating to sqlmetal detection in the latest refresh, could you try to remove the extension, and reinstalle from the gallery, so you get version 4,3,0,2
    • I did an uninstall and updated to, but to no avail - still unable to locate the SQLMetal in the registry. 
      I checked my path variable and made sure that all three of the folders I listed above were specified, just in case that was the issue, but with no success. 
    • Hi JW, it was a bug - fixed in the latest daily here: https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/releases/view/616898
    • Success. Thanks so much for all your quick help on this!
    • Great worked for me as well - good work
  • FormatException for DateTime type
    4 Posts | Last post October 02, 2015
    • Hello,
      Trying to open Top 200 Rows I got FormatException: String was not recognized as valid DateTime at ErikEJ.SqlCeToolbox.ToolWindows.ResultesetGrid.LoadData(String sqlText)
      The connection string has DateTime Kind=Utc option. (The ServerVersion  is
      Anyway thanks, I discover the extension just recently and I like it.
    • I think it means that one of your rows contain data that cannot be converted to a DateTime object
    • Hello Erik, 
      Thanks for your answer.
      I did a more experiments with it. SQLiteStudio showed the raw values - it seems to be stored in unix format and somehow wrongly (I can’t  figure why  it is caused  by infrastructure -  I am using SQlite-net, SqLitePCL.raw dlls got through Nuget as the infrastructure, SQLiteConnection is constructed with storeDateTimeAsTicks = true as default setting.) . (e.g. stored 622159416000000000 value is interpreted as 18.7.1972 22:00:00 by the infrastructure).
      Then I experimented with SQLiteStudio, to figure out the SQLite Toolbox is able to show date time stored as correct unix format. I cloned the original table structure to a different table, then insert one row through SQL INSERT statement and  using function strftime('%s', 'now'.) Then using function Datetime(MyDateTypeColumn, 'unixepoch') in SQL SELECT statement showed it correctly. And of course the SQLiteStudio showed the value in raw format in the grid  – an integer number (even for the original case, which was quite valuable for me).
      I looked at  SQLite Toolbox, Edit top 200 Rows, View Data as Report, Script as SELECT execution all raised the exception.  Only using replacing MyDateTypeColumn  Datetime (MyDateTypeColumn, 'unixepoch') in , Script as SELECT  was  successful.
      Question (or kind of suggestion)from that all:  What do you think, if  the  SQLite Toolbox, Edit top 200 Rows, View Data as Report, Script as SELECT execution shows raw values in grid for Datetime SQLite type by default (not doing any date time conversion) , like SQLiteStudio seems to do? (Or if  have some setting which kind of implicit date time conversion is used for that  with possibility of no conversion?)
      I tried to use SQLite very recently, so I might miss something important. Then please excuse me if the suggestion sounds stupid to you.
    • Hi, let us continue the discussion here: https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/workitem/12224 - have you tried setting the DataTimeFormat to UnixEpoch in the connection string?
  • Possible issues
    3 Posts | Last post October 01, 2015
    • 1. Right click some table in the toolbox, and choose one of the "Script as..." menu items, and a new tab pops up with default script to get you started. I usually type "ctrl a" to select all, and then immediately type "s" because I plan to type "select foo from bar etc..." But what happens is it pops up the save-as dialog box. You need to close it and then it also hijacks the uppercase/lowercase "s" and "S" for some reason, so you need to close the tab and try again.
      2. In VS tool windows, I don't have the "Properties" tool window open ever. I always close it because it takes up space and I don't use it. When I open VS (this only happens once, when you first open VS), I go to the tool window for the sqlce toolbox, I click the "+" to expand my db, click the "+" to expand the "Tables" node, it then automatically opens the "Properties" tool window, and switches to it. I just close it and forget about it, but it happens every time. Wonder why?
    • Thanks for reporting this, suggest you use this link for error reports: https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/WorkItem/Create - I have logged issue 1. Re 2 - you can disable this via the Settings dialog (DisplayObjectProperties)
    • 1. ok will do in the future, 2. that works thanks
  • Feature request for "new" button
    7 Posts | Last post September 30, 2015
    • In the next version, please consider adding a button "New" to the menu - the one which has open, save, save as, execute, execute + plan, etc...
      Right now when I need a new window I must go into the toolbox, and right click something, and clear out the automatic stuff in the new window, and so on.
      Would be easier with just a "new" button for a new blank window! :-)
      Loving this!
    • Thanks for the great suggestion, this will be in the next daily (and release) - there already is a menu item to do this, but only on the database level named "Open SQL editor" - but I will add it to the Table context menu
    • Oh then maybe I'm doing something wrong? All I have in my menu is:
      open, save, save as, execute, execute + plan, estimated plan, parse, search, ignore ddl errors...
      I am referring to that menu that shows at the top of the editing tab. It has icons and text.
      But there is no "new" window/tab button in there?
    • Got it! I have added an issue to get this done: https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/workitem/12220 
    • awesome :)
    • This is now available in the latest "daily" - https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/releases/edit/616898 
    • I just tried the alpha it and it works for me... Thanks, this is such a useful addition!! I have some "bug reports" (maybe it's just me?) I will put separately... And I love the new icons.
1 - 10 of 92 Items