SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox

VSIP Partner Free

SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox add-in for Visual Studio. This add-in adds several features to help your embedded database development efforts: Scripting of tables and data, import from SQL Server and CSV files and much, much more.

(112) Review
Visual Studio
2015, 2013, 2012, 2010
Download (382,977)
4/15/2015
4.2.0.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (112)
Q and A (72)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Atif Rahman | December 21 2014

thank you

by chrrud | December 16 2014

This is a really great tool. It makes everything a lot easier!

by hardono | December 11 2014

Thank you for this powerful add-in Erik. Many kudos for saving the day. Without this tool many of us would have just skipped SQL Server Compact and forced to use SQL Server Express.

by Jeff.Bowman | December 05 2014

It has been with disappointment that we've had to watch as Microsoft over the years has slowly and step-by-step dismantled support for SQLCE in Visual Studio (and SSMS/E as well). Their excellent small-footprint, low-overhead, file-based database has lost their attention; it's gone the way of the venerable FoxPro.

Enter ErikEJ and his suite of tools. He has saved the day. We can confidently continue with our SQLCE-based projects.

It's got a few minor quirks here and there; it's not quite to the level of a commercial product, but then... it's not a commercial product.

Erik is very attentive to any topic surrounding SQLCE. He can be readily found frequenting any of the many SQLCE discussion forums. He's always available for support questions, is very helpful and he replies quickly.

Most projects of this nature require us to choose between support, documentation and quality. With SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox we can have all three.

Thanks Erik, keep up the good work.

Jeff Bowman
Fairbanks, Alaska

by Kountree | December 02 2014

I have downloaded and used SQL Server Compact/SQLite add-in for Visual Studio. The tool picks up where our buddies in Redmond (Microsoft) left off. I found his tool to be very intuitivewith a dash of ingenuity. An example would be importing data from a Comma Seperated Value (csv). Initially, I had one column to import the data. The tool is intuitive where the selection is available by right clicking the table. The ingenuity is where the csv will have to be modified to be used by the tool. Here is an example:

My file contains
A,1
B,1
C,1
d,0

The table definition contain fields

(pk) TableID (indentity(1,1) not null
letter (varchar(25) not null
IsCapital (bit not null)

By modifying the file by placing the field names as a first row, helps with the import.

letter,IsCaptital
A,1
B,1
C,1
d,0


Great Job Erik. As we say in Ohio,USA "U are da Man." Translated "You did a wonderful job in developing this tool. Much kudos goes out."

by PwAtHexapod | November 30 2014

Very glad that there are people in the world that makes it easier for others ( like me ) to do software development. And they do it for free.
You Erik is one of them, thank you very much for a super product and quick feedback.

by ilyasnsk | November 20 2014

Erik, thank you for these very useful tools.

by Ahmed Abulwafa | November 16 2014

Helped me a lot with my Universal App project.
overall it's a great tool and a must-have.
Good job Erik!

by SilverSideDown | October 16 2014

This tool is a must-have, and I use it daily for project work. It's installed on all Windows dev machines. It's incredibly sad that MS won't support CE in their SQL Management Studio, so thank goodness for Erik's efforts in getting us the next best thing. Microsoft should be sending him checks for doing their work for them.

Also want to personally thank Erik for being responsive on Twitter and quickly posting a build with a bug fix that I needed (for long text fields & row height). I was blown away by the response time, thank you so much.

by ExGrip | October 07 2014

The SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox is a tool EVERY Windows Developer should
have installed.

I made the experience that even if the download count is > 300K,
that many devs still don't know how to leverage the real
power (or potential) of the tool.

Maybe more tutorials (real world scenarios would help). Or just tweeting more
about blog-posts.

Thanks again Eric, great tool!

by mattilaj | September 04 2014

Great work! Needed to quickly create documentation for a database and the toolbox provided very nice autogenerated images and HTML. Thanks for the effort!

by Hultqvist | August 18 2014

Works as expected with no surprises.

I have been using the code generation for LINQ.
Compared to older DB techniques, automatic generated IDs are just there, no need to request it explicitly.

The tool is now the only one I use.

by Ed (DareDevil57) | August 14 2014

Thank you.

by mwasson74 | August 13 2014

Great and extremely indispensable tool, I wouldn't be able to do this any other way. Very easy to use and Erik offers wonderful support!!

by Someone_Ca | August 13 2014

Excellent tool!..

I am searching for editing of Sql Server Ce database table and I've found this tool. Thanks for it.

by Dan Randolph | August 03 2014

This tool is really nice. I just watched the Channel 9 video again and noticed the support for Windows Phone data models.

http://channel9.msdn.com/Shows/Visual-Studio-Toolbox/Visual-Studio-Toolbox-SQL-Server-Compact-Toolbox

I am really interested in developing my own plugin to generate code for my company's SOA design pattern.

by Dennis Mlinaric | July 30 2014

Thanks Erik. Amazing work. Your ongoing support of SQL CE is very much appreciated and I regard your tools as being essential.

by David Totzke | July 24 2014

If you're working with SQL CE then you need this tool. Actively supported and updated, this toolbox has all the features you could want or need.

by nekopczynski | July 24 2014

I recently took over a contract using SQL ce to replicate large data from SQL server. This add in and the bulk copy add in were real life savers. I was able to script around transferring {a million rows plus} data back and forth between the two. Excellent product and really easy to use. Thanks ErikEJ

by gepetkov | July 14 2014

Wonderful!

21 - 40 of 112 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Diff data from 2 DB files (SQL CE)
    4 Posts | Last post Thu 7:54 PM
    • I want to create SQL file with the changes between the two DBs. When run the Diff tool it seems to compare only the Schema.
      Is there a way to compare data in both databases and get Insert statements with the differences?
      Thank you.
    • Yes, you can do that on table level (Compare Data)
    • Yes I missed that option on the Table level. This was exactly what I was looking for. Thank you.
    • The feature is still in beta, let me know if it Works for you!
  • Stored Procedures
    2 Posts | Last post April 23, 2015
    • Hi, is it possible to create Stored Procedures? I'm using VS 2012.
      If possible, where can i find information about it?
      Thank you.
    • Neither SQL Compact not SQLite supports stored procedures, as they are both embedded databases - use code instead
  • Unable to load DLL 'sqlceme35.dll'
    2 Posts | Last post April 21, 2015
    • Error of loading sqlceme35.dll raises on toolbox start. VS2013 Ultimate crashes too.
    • Re-install/repair the SQL Server Compact 3.5 SP2 runtime
  • SQL CE 3.0 and 3.5 support?
    8 Posts | Last post April 13, 2015
    • Hi 
      I am receving 2 apps developed in  vs2005->sqlCE3.0 for WinCE and VS2008->sqlCE3.5 for WinMovile6.5 and I wondoer if, with this tool I can give support to those apps from my VS2013? or I must stand still in VS2005 and VS2008?
      I never use Windows CE or windows Movile 6.5,  but here in my job we have a lot of hardware that uses WinCE and WinMovile,... and they are not  going to throw away the HW, just because MS throw away WinCE and WinMovile.
      
      Thanks in advance
    • For Windows ce and Windows mobile dev, you must continue to use vs 2005 & 2008. The Toolbox is available in a standalone version that supports version 3,5. 
    • I have a similar problem, where the client's app is sqlCE3.5, though it is on a desktop not on mobile environment.  Is my only option to downgrade to VS200{5,8}?  We are not allowed to upgrade the client's sqlce db to 4.0.  
    • Efhilton: that problem is not "similar", with a 3.5 desktop app you can use VS 2013/2015 and the Toolbox!
    • Hmm...  then maybe I'm doing something very wrong or am missing something.  I'm unable to open my client's sdf file.  I'm able to open it as a SQL CE 4.0 data source (forcing me to upgrade my client's database, which is not acceptable).  If I try to open it as a SQL CE 3.5 data source ("Server Explorer" -> "Add Conenction"), I get "Unable to find the requested .Net data provider. It may not be installed.
      
      On the other hand, if I go to Tools -> "SQL Server Compact/Lite Toolbox" -> "Add Connection", the "Add SQL Server Compact 3.5 Connection" is grayed out.  
      
      Any thoughts?
    • Efhilton: you need to install it (the sqlce 3,5 runtime msi) as the error message clearly states! https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/wikipage?title=Known%20Issues&referringTitle=Documentation 
      
    • I must sheepishly admit I did not see this page before I submitted my question.  My apologies.  I can now safely say that that error is gone.  I'm now struggling with an error in the "ConnectionString" but at least I've advanced much more than I had before. Thank you!
    • If you encounter any issues with the Toolbox, pls report issues here: https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/workitem/list/basic 
  • Istallation on Vis Studio Express
    3 Posts | Last post April 09, 2015
    • Hi Erik,
      
      Just wondering why your product won't install on Visual Studio 2013 Express?
      
      Thanks
      
      David
    • It is a built in limitation in Express, I guess to force users to buy Pro. But you can use VS 2013 Comunity in many scenarios now, and that edotion supports all extensions.
    • Okay, thanks for that I am installing Community and I'll see how I go.
      
      Thanks
  • Execute Sqlite PRAGMA statements in SQL Editor
    2 Posts | Last post March 05, 2015
    • Is the Toolbox meant to execute PRAGMA Statements in SQL Editor?
      
      If I execute a PRAGMA Statement there is no exception but neither a result.
      
      E.g. pragma table_info(Test);
    • No, that is not supported currently, I have created an issue to fix this: https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/workitem/12033 (Plan to include in next preview of 4.2)
  • Add-In Crashes in VS2013 when starting SQLEditor
    2 Posts | Last post March 05, 2015
    • Hi Erik, you did a great job, many thanks! But since a while, when I open the SQL Editor in Visual Studio 2013 Visual Studio crashes. It happens with 4.2beta but also with 4.1. (It works in VS 2010).
      
      An unhandled exception of type 'System.NullReferenceException' occurred in SqlCeToolbox.dll
      
      Additional information: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
    • Pls create an issue here:https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/WorkItem/Create and provide as much info/screnshots / VS version/update info as possible, then I will investigate
  • Entity Framework class generation missing tables
    5 Posts | Last post March 05, 2015
    • Greate work on the sql ce toolbox! It's has proven to be very useful. I recently used the "Add Entity Model to the current project" which seems to have generated all the classes associated with the database but it seems to have overlooked two tables. DO you know of any conditions that might cause that to happen?
    • I did notice that the db version is (4.0.8482.1) while the version installed with NuGet is (4.0.8876.1). Do you think the conflict might be there?
    • Thanks for the kind Words, feel free to post a review here! The version installed with the EntityFramework.SqlServerCompact package is 4.0 SP1, and you should also install that in GAC. The reason why some tables are not generated would be that they do not have any primary key. 
    • Erik, I installed the tools and on installation i accidently closes the liscence agreement dialog.  Now I cannot reinstall or find in add in manager in visual studio 2013.  Is this handled.  Will I have to Sysrestore?
      
    • Trickbox: pls provide more details using the codeplex issue tracker
  • Antivirus Scan on virustotal
    9 Posts | Last post February 17, 2015
    • Hello there,
      
      a scan of the ZIP file on virustotal showed me three virus hints:
      
      DrWeb:                 Trojan.SteamBurglar.793  
      NANO-Antivirus:        Trojan.Win32.Bladabindi.dbqyyh  
      TrendMicro-HouseCall:  Suspicious_GEN.F47V0204  
      
      Is there any explanation for these warnings?
      
      Thank you & Greetings
      
    • What zip file? And what is virustotal? MS is hosting this file, and would most likely let me know of any issues
    • I think he means the downloadable vsix-file from https://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/0e313dfd-be80-4afb-b5e9-6e74d369f7a1/file/29445/72/SqlCeToolbox.vsix
      
      Please take a look at: https://www.virustotal.com/de/file/a55bfdfdb05ffba7ce30115d7f8b0fa304875bfad653df88b241f800aa22e3b1/analysis/1423666820/
      
      A week ago the scanner found 2 infections, today 3...
    • That is odd, since the file was uploaded to Microsoft on Jan 12. And all other virus scanners seem to not detect anything.
    • If people haven't figured it out already, VirusTotal is a handy website that allows you to upload a file and have it scanned by a multitude of anti-virus engines.
      
      False positives aren't unusual, and a detection ratio of 3/57 is generally pretty safe. Though, usually with false positives, it will be detected as Generic / Suspicious, like TrendMicro-Housecall's detection, so it's a little concerning that DrWeb and NANO detect it specifically as 'Steam Burglar' / keylogger.
      Old scan of an older version detected as keylogger: https://www.virustotal.com/en/file/a8aa7d9391bdc0c2a43c57d6ced6bb72d99364fabf07a0e9fb213b19e2ca6125/analysis/
      
      But, as mentioned, 3/57 is quite low, and aside from Trend, which I don't put a lot of trust in, I've personally never heard of DrWeb or NANO-Antivirus. A quick google search found results reporting that NANO-Antivirus was actually scareware, though I doubt VirusTotal would use it if that was the case.
      
      Ultimately, people will just need to make their own judgement calls.
      I suppose you could try rebuilding the vsix file, testing on virustotal, and re-uploading / updating the download if it passes.
    • Lol...
      I created this account years ago, and apparently wasn't in the mood to provide personal information.
      I'm going to have to see if I can change my name...
    • Hi Erik,
      
      the scanner DrWeb identifies the DLL System.Data.SQLite.dll as threat. After downloading the nuget package with the same dll version from https://www.nuget.org/api/v2/package/System.Data.SQLite.x86/1.0.94.1 linked from https://system.data.sqlite.org/index.html/doc/trunk/www/downloads.wiki, I checked the dll of that package again with virustotal: https://www.virustotal.com/de/file/da1ac4c57e70cf55a79e7932c3e0487baffca7331f006dfd51597337fb1fa150/analysis/1423822619/
      
      Now DrWeb did not found any threats. But the dlls are slightly different, though both have the same version (1.0.94.0)? Both the size and the content of the dll's are different. Maybe you can explain the difference? 
      
      Would you mind to check this and if necessary replace the affected dll?
      Thx!
    • I am using this one (as I need the .NET 4.0 compatible file): sqlite-netFx40-static-binary-bundle-Win32-2010-1.0.94.0.zip - And the file in this is exactly the same as in the visx, I also did a virustotal analysis, which resulted in no viruses found: https://www.virustotal.com/da/file/fcc7e33dfd62572451fe54b99649daafdb96e674dc65a524495e540c6705303e/analysis/1423912657/ - not sure what other actions to take!
    • Hello Erik,
      
      thx for your feedback!
      Obviously one of the scanner updated its virus definition files. A few days before DrWeb found a trojaner: https://www.virustotal.com/de/file/fcc7e33dfd62572451fe54b99649daafdb96e674dc65a524495e540c6705303e/analysis/1423818824/
      In the meantime: https://www.virustotal.com/de/file/fcc7e33dfd62572451fe54b99649daafdb96e674dc65a524495e540c6705303e/analysis/1424185573/
      
      NANO and TrendMicro still found issues. But the download version of the "online scanner" found at http://housecall.trendmicro.com/de/ didn't found issues! Maybe the scanner engine at virustotal is working with older definition files!
      
      NANO's online scanner is out of service at the moment.
      
      I realized that there is a new version in the pipeline: https://www.virustotal.com/de/file/333c72871bb659efec017c9ee86e1b6766c2291fd353650d4415a7967e046889/analysis/
      
      I checked both packages. Only two files seems to be different:
      SqlCeToolbox.dll & SQLiteScripting.dll
      Scan of newer SQLiteScripting.dll: https://www.virustotal.com/de/file/096c1f3f6f0624241dfe7443d57d03cad4a08b220acf2c61a5a01fb4d7d36a2b/analysis/1424188702/
      
      Seems to me the problem is going to solve it on its own :-P
      
      
  • DDEX provider still not working
    4 Posts | Last post February 07, 2015
    • Hi Erik,
      you did a great job with this plugin. I have SQL CE 4.0 db and using EF 5. I need to add a new entity to the model but when I run "Generate Database from model" I get the error DDEX provider not installed for SQL CE 4.0...
      I am using Visual Studio 2013.
      
      Thanks in advance
      Armando
    • Did you connect to the database file via the Toolbox? Does it appear in Server Explorer? Try to re-install the ddex provider in the about dialog, restart vs, and check status in about dialog.
    • Thanks Erik,
      it works fine now.
    • Dear Mr.ErikEJ
      thanks for your replay,
      after searching I find that the issue is that my SQLite database not having primary Key"Only FK"
      that is why the sql server will not accepting tho run the script.
      with best regard
1 - 10 of 72 Items