Your extension will be available shortly on the Visual Studio Marketplace at this link.

SQLite / SQL Server Compact Toolbox

Free

SQLite / SQL Server Compact Toolbox extension for Visual Studio. This extension adds several features to help your embedded database development efforts: Scripting of tables and data, import from SQL Server and CSV files and much, much more.

4.8 Star
(244)
Visual Studio
2017, 2015, 2013, 2012
Download (631,729)
3/26/2017
4.7.87
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

5 Star
by PavelJ_CZ | May 18 2016

Great tool.

5 Star
by Wilhelm.Medetz | May 18 2016

5 Star
by M.Reza.K | May 16 2016

Hi

Thanks so much for your great tool!
It is really help me to write my first SQL program in C#. Also, thanks so much for your great documentations/clips and all of your comments in here and in stackoverflow.com .You are the best!

I wish you all success and happiness in your life and business. (5 stars is not enough for your helps!)
Best Regards.

5 Star
by astrickland | May 11 2016

Really helpful tool here. It saved me a bunch of time having to take a bunch of screenshots of a SQL CE 3.5 database from VS 2008. I know, not a programming task but still saved me time, and the script it generated would come in handy if I really did need to move to SQL Server Express.

5 Star
by Nicolas Mohamed | May 09 2016

Great tool! I use it at least once a week to migrate from SQL Compact to SQL Server. It works perfectly!

Erik is *the* expert regarding SQL Compact matters.


Nicolas

5 Star
by Ed Kaufmann | April 28 2016

As a retired hobby developer this is the tool I would miss most.
I use the offline tool since years - the most amazing thing: it does everything it promises!
The integration in VS is flawless as well.

And, last but not least, I've never experienced a better support.
Erik thanks a lot!
ed

5 Star
by Rdogmartin | April 25 2016

Fantastic little tool for quickly editing a SQL CE database. We recommend the stand-alone version to our customers any time they need to edit their Gallery Server database.

Roger Martin
Founder and Lead Developer
Gallery Server
Digital Asset Management and Web Gallery
galleryserverpro.com

5 Star
by SirWernich | April 25 2016

it doesn't quite fit in with the "dark" theme, but it works pretty darn well, which is brilliant because sql server management studio doesn't do
sql CE anymore.
(i'm using this in vs2013)

5 Star
by Peter Vrenken | April 19 2016

Great tool!

A must-have for everyone that uses SQL Server Compact and/or SQLite.

5 Star
by Giarko | April 13 2016

It's a fantastic tool, it does exactly what it promises! Thank you very much.

1 Star
by JJPuua | April 07 2016

ErikEJ April 07 2016
| Edit |
Delete

How can I make it better?

4 Star
by clarewang | April 01 2016

ErikEJ April 01 2016
| Edit |
Delete

What could I do to make it 5 stars?

5 Star
by rkamarowski | March 25 2016

First class package.

5 Star
by Respiro | March 16 2016

perfect and intuitive tool with lot of usefull features

5 Star
by Maxumus | March 15 2016

Excellent! Use it all the time, very well done.

5 Star
by tj881024 | March 13 2016

很好用,赞一个,中国网友发来贺

ErikEJ March 14 2016
| Edit |
Delete

謝謝 :-)

5 Star
by Francois Rossello | March 10 2016

Merci !

3 Star
by Win_sky | March 07 2016

Great tool, only error I receive is when trying to create a report using the report wizard. When creating a data source you would get "error occurred while retrieving the information from the database" or won't even attempt to connect. Any help with that?

ErikEJ March 07 2016
| Edit |
Delete

I will be happy to provide support, but please provide more details about your issue here: https://github.com/ErikEJ/SqlCeToolbox/issues/new

5 Star
by Gianluca Maria Marcilli | March 06 2016

Very good tool. Hope for updates concerning integration of DB in asp.net applications.

ErikEJ March 07 2016
| Edit |
Delete

Hi, could you please explain what "updates concerning integration of DB in asp.net applications" means here: https://github.com/ErikEJ/SqlCeToolbox/issues/new then I will look into it

5 Star
by bkboggy | March 02 2016

Absolutely incredible. A lot of fantastic options, works without any hick-ups (thus far) and just makes my work that much easier. My only complaint would be that it does not display data types for SQLite, but rather generic db types. I would much rather choose from types listed on https://www.sqlite.org/datatype3.html .

ErikEJ March 02 2016
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks for the review, pls log an issue on github with details about where you see these data types... (screenshot, maybe)

41 - 60 of 209 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • parameter tables for code support
    2 Posts | Last post September 21, 2016
    • Hi I am still in analysis phase of developing rewriting an application previously developed in MS access over to vb.net with SQL server. One of the techniques I used with access is that I had a number of program support tables - table driven programming (code processing depending on user input are parametrized instead of hard coded) those data were stored in the front-end db rather then in the user's (back-end) database. with vb.net and SQL server as back end the question arises how to store and distribute those front-end data they have to be randomly accessible. Access table, xml or SQL server compact. Is SQL server compact compatible with SQL server on the same machine ?
    • It is completely different product, so if you mean can it be installed side by side with SQL Server, then yes. See my blog for various posts on deployment.
  • Add SQL Server Compact is grayed so cant use it
    2 Posts | Last post September 12, 2016
    • Hi,
      I am using the SqlCe40Toolbox.exe but when I right click to add a connection tha option is gray. What should I do?
      
      Thanks
      
      Eric
    • You need to install the SQL Server Compact 4.0 runtime - https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30709 
  • "The specified type isnt supported"-Error during creation of DataSet
    2 Posts | Last post September 05, 2016
    • Hello,
      I want to create a DataSet from a Connection to a Compact 4.0 Database.
      However, every time I am getting the following Error message:
      "An error occurred while retrieving the information from the database:
      The specified type is not supported by this selector".
      The NuGet package Microsoft.SqlServer.Compact as well as the MS Sql Server Compact SP1 x64 are installed.
      Know how to fix it?
    • Without seeing your code it is impossible for me to help you - and not really sure how this relates to the Toolbox... Suggest you post more information, incl code either on Stackoverflow or https://github.com/ErikEJ/EntityFramework.SqlServerCompact/issues/new 
  • Support for vs 2015 express
    3 Posts | Last post September 02, 2016
    • Hello,
       I am trying to use SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox with Visual Studio 2015 Express for web. But i can't  install it. Does exist any version that I could use? thank you. 
    • You can use VS Community instead or there is a standalone version on CodePlex
    • ok erik
      
      Let me change to the community edittion.
      
      thank you.
  • External Tool
    2 Posts | Last post August 30, 2016
    • Hi, i need to schedule export from sdf to sqlite for many db's.
      There is a command line tool?
      
      Thanks
    • Sorry, found it!
      Great Tools. Thanks
  • Toolbox is Empty?
    2 Posts | Last post August 30, 2016
    • After installing the toolbox, when ever i click on it, its empty. It only shows is the SQL Server Compact Data Types. I dont see any of the menu options as shown. Any ideas? Help? Im pulling out my hair..
    • You need to connect to a database, right click the root node (Data Connections) to do that - then you can start working with it.
  • Cannot install on VS 2015 Community
    5 Posts | Last post August 15, 2016
    • Hello
      I have a problem with installing the toolbox on VS 2015 Community version. It says it didn't find any installable applications. Can you help?
      
      Here is the log:
      
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Microsoft VSIX Installer
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - -------------------------------------------
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Initializing Install...
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Extension Details...
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	Identifier         : 41521019-e4c7-480c-8ea8-fc4a2c6f50aa
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	Name               : SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	Author             : ErikEJ
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	Version            : 4.5.0.2
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	Description        : SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox add-in for Visual Studio. This add-in adds several features to help your embedded database development efforts: Scripting of tables and data, import from SQL Server and CSV files and much, much more.
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	Locale             : en-US
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	MoreInfoURL        : http://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	InstalledByMSI     : False
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	SupportedFrameworkVersionRange : [4.0,4.9]
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	SignatureState     : Unsigned
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	Supported Products : 
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 		Microsoft.VisualStudio.Pro
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 			Version : [10.0]
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 		Microsoft.VisualStudio.Pro
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 			Version : [11.0]
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 		Microsoft.VisualStudio.Pro
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 			Version : [12.0]
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 		Microsoft.VisualStudio.Pro
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 			Version : [14.0]
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 		Microsoft.VisualStudio.Pro
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 			Version : [15.0]
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	References         : 
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 		-------------------------------------------------------
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 		Identifier   : Microsoft.VisualStudio.MPF
      2016-08-
      
      
    • 2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Searching for applicable products...
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Found installed product - Microsoft Visual Studio Express 2012 for Web
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Found installed product - Microsoft Visual Studio 2015 Shell (Integrated)
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Found installed product - Microsoft Visual Studio Express 2015 for Windows Desktop
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Found installed product - Global Location
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Found installed product - ssms
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Found installed product - ssms
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - VSIXInstaller.NoApplicableSKUsException: This extension is not installable on any currently installed products.
    • No extensions, including this one, work with VS Express, you need Community edition (free) or higher (Pro/Enterprise)
    • I am guessing that you have installed Express, not Community!
    • Good guess, sorry for trouble
  • SQL Server Compact Toolbox right click not working
    2 Posts | Last post August 12, 2016
    • I have a Compact Server 4.0 database.  I need to look at one of the tables.  When I right click on a table, the context menu only has refresh and properties.  What are the steps to fix this?
      
      I have VS 2015.  When I try to reinstall the toolbox, only VS2013 appears.
      
      Bob
    • You are looking at Server Explorer, open the Toolbox to get the full experience, from the Tools menu, or use the Icon is Server Explorer 
  • Tutorials For Windows IOT Core
    4 Posts | Last post August 02, 2016
    • Please let me know if you are aware of any online tutorial for creating a brand new SQLite database intended for the Windows 10 IOT Core and the Raspberry Pi 3?
      
       I'm interested in creating a Food Recipe database with four tables.The part that I need help with is only with the creation of the database using the scripts generated by your tool.
      
      I will appreciate if you guys can share some links on how to do this using SQLite Toolbox inside Visual Studio 2015.(C#)
      
      Thanks
    • Can you use this: http://erikej.blogspot.dk/2014/10/database-first-with-sqlite-in-universal.html ?
    • Erik:
      
      I was able to create my tables with the link you provided. For one of the tables I created all the needed fields and inserted all the data including images. Now I find myself in a situation where I need to add another field to that table?
      
      Question: Will I loose all the data? Is there a way to add a field without loosing the data already entered?
      
      Thanks
    • You must recreate the table, a SQLite "feature" !
  • Crash on Windows 10
    2 Posts | Last post July 20, 2016
    • Hi, ErikEJ.
      When I moved to Windows 10 and tried to export SQL server database to SQLite I
      got error DataReader.GetFieldType(3) returned null on my table with sys.geography type column. This operation worked for me on Windows 8.1 earlier. Also this error is well known in net and related with versions of SQL Server and .NET types and has solution.
      Is there suggestions?
    • Hi, if this is a "well known" error, could you please create an issue on github with all details. I have never heard about this issue before.
1 - 10 of 117 Items