Your extension will be available shortly on the Visual Studio Marketplace at this link.

SQLite / SQL Server Compact Toolbox

Free

SQLite / SQL Server Compact Toolbox extension for Visual Studio. This extension adds several features to help your embedded database development efforts: Scripting of tables and data, import from SQL Server and CSV files and much, much more.

4.8 Star
(244)
Visual Studio
2017, 2015, 2013, 2012
Download (631,730)
3/26/2017
4.7.87
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

5 Star
by infoset | March 01 2016

I really appreciate your commitment to the file-databases commmunity and keeping things alive despite Visual Studio team politics. Please keep up your fantastic work.

3 Star
by Karthick snkl | February 24 2016

thank you

ErikEJ February 24 2016
| Edit |
Delete

How can I make it 5 stars?

5 Star
by GeroZinkDev | February 21 2016

Excellent Toolbox! Thanks!

5 Star
by Busta4Sure | February 19 2016

This tool is perfect for what I need. Glad to see some SQL Compact support in VS again! Thanks Erik.

5 Star
by Murti_x | February 17 2016

İt's really good tool.But deleting or editing rows is not working sometimes.

Thanks.

ErikEJ February 17 2016
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks for the kind Words. If you have issues, could you please post detailed steps to reproduce on Github

5 Star
by Crack it | February 15 2016

Great tool for me and my team

5 Star
by ZZZ Projects | February 11 2016

This tools is very easy to use. It saved me a lot of time when importing table from SQL Server to SQL Compact for my unit test.

5 Star
by Rudolf Heijink | February 06 2016

Just found this. Thank you very much for sharing, I wish I had found it before!

Rudolf

5 Star
by ajphall | January 25 2016

This is excellent. Thank you for all of your efforts Erik.

5 Star
by Marcio Maciel | January 17 2016

This is amazing! Tks ErikEJ! 5 stars easy! =D

5 Star
by James Green | January 06 2016

Really helped me out, saved a bunch of effort using this plugin.

5 Star
by Ghalib Masood | December 26 2015

An amazing tool that made developing local database for my windows phone 8.0 project a lot easier. Currently, using it for all of my WP projects. Outstanding Tool.

5 Star
by David L3 | December 14 2015

A brilliant tool! I use compact databases a lot both in desktop and web applications and I find this toolbox totally indispensable.

5 Star
by SkyHigh42 | December 12 2015

Great tool, great support.

3 Star
by ClevelandClete | November 25 2015

Having to Check the "Results to Grid" EVERY TIME I run a query is quite distracting.

ErikEJ November 27 2015
| Edit |
Delete

You dont have to, just use Tools/Options to set the default value for all new windows

5 Star
by jecs.pt | November 24 2015

Outstanding tool!!

Thank you.

5 Star
by cemremengu | November 23 2015

Great, great work thanks so much.

5 Star
by Sapan Ghafuri | November 04 2015

I just come here to tell you thanks. Your tool helped us too much.

5 Star
by pehu71 | November 04 2015

Very nice update!

4 Star
by bobthecoder1 | November 03 2015

You can't scroll with mouse wheel when the mouse is positioned over table names. However scroll works when ur mouse is positioned near the scrollbar! Otherwise pretty nifty little tool.

ErikEJ November 04 2015
| Edit |
Delete

Hi, thanks for your feedback. could you post an issue here: https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/WorkItem/Create with a screenshot, thenI will look into it

61 - 80 of 209 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • parameter tables for code support
    2 Posts | Last post September 21, 2016
    • Hi I am still in analysis phase of developing rewriting an application previously developed in MS access over to vb.net with SQL server. One of the techniques I used with access is that I had a number of program support tables - table driven programming (code processing depending on user input are parametrized instead of hard coded) those data were stored in the front-end db rather then in the user's (back-end) database. with vb.net and SQL server as back end the question arises how to store and distribute those front-end data they have to be randomly accessible. Access table, xml or SQL server compact. Is SQL server compact compatible with SQL server on the same machine ?
    • It is completely different product, so if you mean can it be installed side by side with SQL Server, then yes. See my blog for various posts on deployment.
  • Add SQL Server Compact is grayed so cant use it
    2 Posts | Last post September 12, 2016
    • Hi,
      I am using the SqlCe40Toolbox.exe but when I right click to add a connection tha option is gray. What should I do?
      
      Thanks
      
      Eric
    • You need to install the SQL Server Compact 4.0 runtime - https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30709 
  • "The specified type isnt supported"-Error during creation of DataSet
    2 Posts | Last post September 05, 2016
    • Hello,
      I want to create a DataSet from a Connection to a Compact 4.0 Database.
      However, every time I am getting the following Error message:
      "An error occurred while retrieving the information from the database:
      The specified type is not supported by this selector".
      The NuGet package Microsoft.SqlServer.Compact as well as the MS Sql Server Compact SP1 x64 are installed.
      Know how to fix it?
    • Without seeing your code it is impossible for me to help you - and not really sure how this relates to the Toolbox... Suggest you post more information, incl code either on Stackoverflow or https://github.com/ErikEJ/EntityFramework.SqlServerCompact/issues/new 
  • Support for vs 2015 express
    3 Posts | Last post September 02, 2016
    • Hello,
       I am trying to use SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox with Visual Studio 2015 Express for web. But i can't  install it. Does exist any version that I could use? thank you. 
    • You can use VS Community instead or there is a standalone version on CodePlex
    • ok erik
      
      Let me change to the community edittion.
      
      thank you.
  • External Tool
    2 Posts | Last post August 30, 2016
    • Hi, i need to schedule export from sdf to sqlite for many db's.
      There is a command line tool?
      
      Thanks
    • Sorry, found it!
      Great Tools. Thanks
  • Toolbox is Empty?
    2 Posts | Last post August 30, 2016
    • After installing the toolbox, when ever i click on it, its empty. It only shows is the SQL Server Compact Data Types. I dont see any of the menu options as shown. Any ideas? Help? Im pulling out my hair..
    • You need to connect to a database, right click the root node (Data Connections) to do that - then you can start working with it.
  • Cannot install on VS 2015 Community
    5 Posts | Last post August 15, 2016
    • Hello
      I have a problem with installing the toolbox on VS 2015 Community version. It says it didn't find any installable applications. Can you help?
      
      Here is the log:
      
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Microsoft VSIX Installer
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - -------------------------------------------
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Initializing Install...
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Extension Details...
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	Identifier         : 41521019-e4c7-480c-8ea8-fc4a2c6f50aa
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	Name               : SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	Author             : ErikEJ
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	Version            : 4.5.0.2
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	Description        : SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox add-in for Visual Studio. This add-in adds several features to help your embedded database development efforts: Scripting of tables and data, import from SQL Server and CSV files and much, much more.
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	Locale             : en-US
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	MoreInfoURL        : http://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	InstalledByMSI     : False
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	SupportedFrameworkVersionRange : [4.0,4.9]
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	SignatureState     : Unsigned
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	Supported Products : 
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 		Microsoft.VisualStudio.Pro
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 			Version : [10.0]
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 		Microsoft.VisualStudio.Pro
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 			Version : [11.0]
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 		Microsoft.VisualStudio.Pro
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 			Version : [12.0]
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 		Microsoft.VisualStudio.Pro
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 			Version : [14.0]
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 		Microsoft.VisualStudio.Pro
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 			Version : [15.0]
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	References         : 
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 		-------------------------------------------------------
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 		Identifier   : Microsoft.VisualStudio.MPF
      2016-08-
      
      
    • 2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Searching for applicable products...
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Found installed product - Microsoft Visual Studio Express 2012 for Web
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Found installed product - Microsoft Visual Studio 2015 Shell (Integrated)
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Found installed product - Microsoft Visual Studio Express 2015 for Windows Desktop
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Found installed product - Global Location
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Found installed product - ssms
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Found installed product - ssms
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - VSIXInstaller.NoApplicableSKUsException: This extension is not installable on any currently installed products.
    • No extensions, including this one, work with VS Express, you need Community edition (free) or higher (Pro/Enterprise)
    • I am guessing that you have installed Express, not Community!
    • Good guess, sorry for trouble
  • SQL Server Compact Toolbox right click not working
    2 Posts | Last post August 12, 2016
    • I have a Compact Server 4.0 database.  I need to look at one of the tables.  When I right click on a table, the context menu only has refresh and properties.  What are the steps to fix this?
      
      I have VS 2015.  When I try to reinstall the toolbox, only VS2013 appears.
      
      Bob
    • You are looking at Server Explorer, open the Toolbox to get the full experience, from the Tools menu, or use the Icon is Server Explorer 
  • Tutorials For Windows IOT Core
    4 Posts | Last post August 02, 2016
    • Please let me know if you are aware of any online tutorial for creating a brand new SQLite database intended for the Windows 10 IOT Core and the Raspberry Pi 3?
      
       I'm interested in creating a Food Recipe database with four tables.The part that I need help with is only with the creation of the database using the scripts generated by your tool.
      
      I will appreciate if you guys can share some links on how to do this using SQLite Toolbox inside Visual Studio 2015.(C#)
      
      Thanks
    • Can you use this: http://erikej.blogspot.dk/2014/10/database-first-with-sqlite-in-universal.html ?
    • Erik:
      
      I was able to create my tables with the link you provided. For one of the tables I created all the needed fields and inserted all the data including images. Now I find myself in a situation where I need to add another field to that table?
      
      Question: Will I loose all the data? Is there a way to add a field without loosing the data already entered?
      
      Thanks
    • You must recreate the table, a SQLite "feature" !
  • Crash on Windows 10
    2 Posts | Last post July 20, 2016
    • Hi, ErikEJ.
      When I moved to Windows 10 and tried to export SQL server database to SQLite I
      got error DataReader.GetFieldType(3) returned null on my table with sys.geography type column. This operation worked for me on Windows 8.1 earlier. Also this error is well known in net and related with versions of SQL Server and .NET types and has solution.
      Is there suggestions?
    • Hi, if this is a "well known" error, could you please create an issue on github with all details. I have never heard about this issue before.
1 - 10 of 117 Items