Your extension will be available shortly on the Visual Studio Marketplace at this link.

Visual Studio 2012 Color Theme Editor

Microsoft Free

Allows users to create and edit Visual Studio themes. Themes can customize colors used for menus, toolbars, tabs, titlebars, the text editor, and other environment colors.

Microsoft
4.3 Star
(233)
Visual Studio
2012
Download (635,909)
9/21/2013
2.3
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

4 Star
by jschroedl | September 10 2012

1 Star
by Jakob Strauch | September 10 2012

same problem here (VS2012 Prof. German). I´ve also tried to add a new Theme by copying the current (which is shown as some GUID in the dropdown). Result: NullRef Exception.

1 Star
by leifordjr | September 10 2012

@Luke, I thought I was the only one having that exact same problem... I have tried on two machines, two versions (RTM/RC), with the same results, I only see the Dark.

I am 64 bit on both, maybe that's the problem?

1 Star
by Luke Kuszaj | September 10 2012

Doesn't seem to work - no other themes than 'Dark' in THEME menu, after creating custom theme and restart custom theme is gone...

4 Star
by Laughing John | September 10 2012

Wow, the relief is instant, thank you so much, I can finally start to use VS2012 without having my retinas burnt out.

VS2012 is still a bit "flat" for my taste, the icons are still pretty bland and those upper case menus are still awful, but that's just quibbling compared to the original themes.

Thanks to this extension I can actually move on from VS2010! Please keep the blue theme (and the editor) in future releases.

5 Star
by mt mt | September 10 2012

I've only used this for a few minutes, but the relief was instantaneous. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

5 Star
by JamieTrew | September 10 2012

It just works. I switched to blue, and I haven't thought about it since. I have actually been able to move to VS2012 now. (Who ever though making each window indistinguishable from the other was a good idea?). Thanks for this!!

1 Star
by hhrvoje | September 10 2012

Theme menu has 3 items: theme list, dark, customize colors. When I press Theme list nothing happens - tested on two computers. Both have Win8 rtm.

Customize colors opens tab that i really cant understand what to do with it: there's a Guid instead of White theme in Copy color from dropdown. If I create new theme, and open it, can't do also nothing!

Really buggy plugin, and can't get it to work :(

5 Star
by Paul Hasell | September 10 2012

Ah...blue...feels like VS 2010...nice :)

5 Star
by HowardRichards | September 10 2012

Take the pain out of your eyes.. this should have been in the release!

5 Star
by naviwhack | September 10 2012

Thank you, thank you, thank you. That's what I said on setting Blue from this editor. Gone was the terrible bland greyness of VS2012, back was most of the blue of VS2010. Absolutely superb.

Installing this extension caused VS2012 to crash the first time, but a restart later, everything was still working, and I could select Themes.

Now if only someone would fix all the icons so that they were actually discernable & relevant to the activity they described, instead of nouveau art...

5 Star
by Jason Williams | September 10 2012

I don't use any of the features of this extension except to select the Blue theme and make VS2012 *usable*. (I can even differentiate sections in the Pending Chnages window now!)

But just for that it's worth 6 stars out of 5.

Warning: You need to save and restore your text editor colours as the themes overwrite them when applied. It'd be great if the UI theme and editor syntax colours could be treated as separate colour sets.

3 Star
by playtime.pds | September 10 2012

Works fine with low level control over colours. Is there any chance of a 'Create theme from from Windows settings' option?

2 Star
by JasonBack | September 10 2012

It didn't work for me but i'm sure it soon will. thanks a lot for this and keep up the good work.

To some of the moaners who post toxic comments I would like to see your free contribution on this site. This is a free tool!

5 Star
by Alin Constantin - MSFT | September 09 2012

Does exactly what it said it does - adds a couple color themes, allows editing the colors.

The extension will not add icons to toolwindows tabs, will not use round corners or border lines where Dev10 had - those are xaml styles that are built into Dev11 binaries and can't be changed by a coloring extension.

For people:
- wanting gradients: feel free to CustomizeColors, search for 'Gradient' and modify the Begin/Middle1/Middle2/End colors as you want.
- asking for lowercase menus: there is already an extension doing that: http://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/1cd0c3ae-ea51-424e-9fb7-c5768ba1c377?SRC=VSIDE . Not something that I'd use, but to each his own.
- asking Dev10 colored icons: changing icons from Dev11-style Metro icons is not possible with an extension, the icons are built in into each of the installed VS packages.
- experiencing problems: instead of giving a 1-star review I'd contact Matt directly, I'm sure he'd be interested in investigating more and providing an updated/fixed version.

5 Star
by rcardare | September 08 2012

This is great, thank you very much! Please add icon pack and change the CAPS with one click. :)

1 Star
by Weltkrieg | September 08 2012

Didn't work for me as well. No Custom themes appeared in the menu.

I'd also prefer that this not consume an entire menu. This should plug into the the VS Options dialog.

5 Star
by zing0001 | September 08 2012

Thank goodness!

1 Star
by Technologist | September 08 2012

Does not work , very bad design , even cannot import themes from external file!

3 Star
by Kuffs2205 | September 08 2012

Needs a better way to choose the colour to edit as the list is far too complicated due to the names of some elements.

Also needs an "Export" option to save and share the theme. What happens if I reinstall?

181 - 200 of 233 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Error list -> inactive (unfocused) selected item
    1 Posts | Last post July 08, 2016
  • Dark Editor in SSIS, Light in Code
    1 Posts | Last post October 20, 2015
    • I like the Dark theme when using SSIS, but when in a script task I don't like writing code in the dark theme. Is it possible to only have a dark editor if not in code?
  • Request a working version for SSMS 2012
    3 Posts | Last post August 26, 2015
    • Matt is it possible for you to build a quick working copy of this tool for SSMS 2012?
      I had it working bases on the recommendations from this site listed bwlow and had it working. But then the second day it stopped working.
      
      http://blog.bagearon.com/2012/03/sql-server-management-studio-2012-color-themes-extension-support/
      
      If you can DBAs cross the world would be happier.  :-)
    • Matt,
      I did get it working again by removing the PublicKeyToken=  ############ from ThemeManagerPackage.pkgdef file.
      
      # are numbers/letters.
    • HI Jason,
      
      I smanaged to install into SSMS but after that how did you change the color? I cannot see any option! Would you help me please?
  • syntax colors disappear
    1 Posts | Last post September 14, 2014
    • Whenever i start to edit .cpp file, custom syntax colors are disappear.
      http://youtu.be/PShtLcx2oqI
  • method explanation colors
    1 Posts | Last post April 01, 2014
    • hi,
      I am using "light with dark editor" theme and i have a problem with the explanation area. I don't know the exact name of it, so I will explain: when I write an object name and press the dot, intellisense brings the usable properties and methods. And while I am moving on the methods with the arrow keys, an expalantion bubble pops that has information about the method or property. I want to change the colors of this bubble's text because I cannot see it with the current settings.
      Can you help me about this problem please?
      Thanks.
  • Dynamic Changing of Color Scheme
    1 Posts | Last post March 28, 2014
    • Hello Matthew,
      
      Is there anyway to change the default color settings of the Fonts inside Tools/Options/FontsAndColors dynamically through code? I've figured out how to catch the Theme change event and I would like to switch my color scheme to predefined values after a theme switch, but I can't figure out how to access the color values through code. Would I have to somehow rewrite the registry values or is there an easier way to do this?
  • Document tab colours
    1 Posts | Last post November 12, 2013
    • Hi. On my copy of VS2012 the colour of the document tabs seems to be fixed: aspx forms and code behind get a rather nasty brick red, .cs classes a sort of British Racing Green. The document with the focus doesn't really stand out, particularly for green tabs and it sometimes takes me a while to realise I'm not on the tab I thought I was. This doesn't seem to be under the control of the theme editor - is there any way to change it?
  • Support for non-Professional versions?
    1 Posts | Last post November 07, 2013
    • I'm using VS 2012 as a component of Sql Server Data Tools. As such this is the "integrated" version, not "Professional. As a result I apparently can't install this extension, which is a bummer, because I can't stand the look of VS 2012!!!!
      
      Is there w reason why you can't support other versions?
  • Color Theme for Each VS Instance
    1 Posts | Last post October 24, 2013
    • Hi,
      The Color Theme Editor for VS 2010 let me set a color theme for each instance of VS while it was running.   That is, after I started an instance of VS 2010 I could select a Theme.  Then I could start a second instance of VS 2010 and set its Theme to a different color.  This made it easy to identify which instance I was working with.
      
      In VS 2012, if I have two instances running and change the color of one instance it also changes the color of the second instance.
      
      Is there any way to include the logic from the 2010 version.  It was very useful.
      
      Thanks.
      
      Kim
  • Broken VS
    1 Posts | Last post October 24, 2013
    • Hello,
      I installed the plugin while having my custom colors. I noticed that it changed some of the colors here and there and I tried to import them back from settings file. I realized that the studio has stopped importing colors and fonts. I uninstalled the plugin but this didn't fix the problem. So now I have a spoiled color theme and broken import settings feature. Also on every change of theme the font is reset to some strange font and I have to go change it manually from the options. All this is happening on VS 2012 Professional.
      Can you suggest any fix other than uninstall and install of VS?
      Thanks
      Andrey
1 - 10 of 106 Items