Productivity Power Tools 2012

Microsoft Free

A set of extensions to Visual Studio 2012 Professional (and above) which improves developer productivity.

Microsoft
(120) Review
Visual Studio
2012
Download (432,359)
7/27/2015
11.0.60403.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (120)
Q and A (158)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by versat | January 25 2016

"Color Printing" seems to be very buggy, it makes printing source code impossible here. But switching it off makes the normal printing of source code work again.
The "Guidelines" are helpful.
"Colored Tabs" and "Enhanced Scrollbar" are nice, but not really necessary.
There could be a (better) explanation on what every feature exactly is. "Fix Mixed Tabs" is not really speaking for itself. But it seems to warn when Tab- and Space-Indention is used mixed in a file and can correct it.

by ibtrukn66 | October 28 2015

Installed vs2012 PRO and afterward started receiving invalid index. Exception from HRESULT: 08002000B (DISP_E_BADINDEX) when I attempted to copy from code.
Disabled tool and error has gone away. Also clipboard did not copy until disabled. Rated a 2 only because I was not able to use long enough to try out other features. Do not have time to troubleshoot or contend with the error.

by Jozef Izso (BizSpark member) | September 22 2015

by f_max | February 25 2015

extremely useful extensions for VS

by Michael A. Duncan | November 07 2014

Installed update now I'm stuck in PRESENT ON!!

by fokytapia | September 03 2014

by donschia | June 19 2014

Yay. I can ALT+Arrow my lines up and down again. Also the tab well is usable now.
No more Control+Tab Control+Tab Control+Tab Control+Tab Control+Tab flurries to try to get back to a previous file.
This is an excellent set of enhancements, Microsoft!

by chriga | May 21 2014

Great!

by dhruvin gajjar | April 28 2014

All the features are great except one related to Custom Document Well -> Color tabs by project.

When it colors the tabs, it creeps into the eyes. I wish instead of coloring the tab name completely, they could given an option to just add one colored dot or use the colored underline for the tab names. That would make it a five star tool for me to use.

by Sam_Viper | March 27 2014

I like the tools but I created a guideline and there is no way to delete them. HELP!!

by Kevin Ison | January 31 2014

Nice tool set EXCEPT the column guidelines functionality is broke... I created
3 guidelines and could not remove them. I had to go into the registry
to delete the guides.

Please fix this!!

by Proco | January 27 2014

Very helpful

by Senthamil | January 15 2014

Nice tools

by Dunemaster | December 24 2013

Stable and useful.
Most useful for me:
* "Custom document well" options adds support for closing file tabs with one click, without popup menus
* Code HTML copy

by Michael Obermeyer | December 16 2013

by Batmanuel | November 14 2013

I tried it on Visual Studio 2010 (back then) and was great. Now I need to know how well it works with Visual Studio 2013 as I want to color my code.

by SethMoore | November 14 2013

I love these tools

I wish they were baked into the product. It makes me sad that every time I upgrade VS I have to wait to get the features I'm missing.

So 5/5 for the tools.
1/5 for not having them in vs2013 OOB :)

by Frank Robijn | November 08 2013

I'm very surprised that these essential features are still not part of Visual Studio itself. Please provide a 2013 version, as VS2013 lacks the document well, the format/organize on save options, the ctrl-click to definition.

by SomeGuyNamedAndy | November 07 2013

I love this extension. Please update it for 2013.

Thanks!

by Ed Lomonaco | November 06 2013

I love this extension, please please please make this available to VS 2013, I miss the tabs layout feature that put my tabs to the left of my project. That should be a default action of Visual Studios in my opinion.

1 - 20 of 120 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • System.ArgumentOutOfRangeException
    3 Posts | Last post September 28, 2015
    • Exception Type       : System.ArgumentOutOfRangeException
      Exception Message    : Invalid position
      Parameter name: newPosition
      Exception Stack Trace:    at Microsoft.VisualStudio.PlatformUI.Shell.DocumentGroup.MovePinnedView(ViewElement element, Int32 newPosition)
         at Microsoft.CustomDocWell.Slider.SliderDocumentGroup.SortViews()
         at Microsoft.CustomDocWell.Slider.SliderDocumentGroup.<ScheduleAsyncSort>b__5()
         at System.Windows.Threading.ExceptionWrapper.InternalRealCall(Delegate callback, Object args, Int32 numArgs)
         at MS.Internal.Threading.ExceptionFilterHelper.TryCatchWhen(Object source, Delegate method, Object args, Int32 numArgs, Delegate catchHandler)
      Exception Data:
      Key: System.Object, Value: [null]
      
    • I too have received this error.  It happens to me when I try to debug.  I removed all but one pinned tab and debug worked.  I then added them all back one by one without a crash when starting debug.  This did occasionally prevent me from launching VS when selecting a recent project from the start menu.
    • I am also experiencing this issue since upgrading from Update 2 to Update 5 in VS2013. Do I have to disable the Productivity Power Tools to get rid of this error? I'd rather not as it is a useful toolkit.
      
  • GDI object leak in full mode enhanced scrollbar
    1 Posts | Last post August 10, 2015
    • When the enhanced scrollbar is enables and in full mode, there is a considerable GDI object leak.
      
      
      To test this:
      
      0. Make sure enhanced scrollbar is enables and in full mode
      1. With task manager or process explorer, inspect the number of GDI objects used by Visual Studio
      2. Open a file
      3. Inspect the number of GDI objects again
      4. Close the file
      5. Inspect the number of GDI objects again
      6. Repeat steps 2 through 5 a few dozen times; you may use the same file or another file
      
      Expected output (assuming eager disposal of GDI objects):
      3. An increase in GDI objects since the last observation
      5. A decrease in GDI objects since the last observation by the same amount it increased in 3
      
      Expected output (assuming eventual disposal of GDI objects, subject to GC):
      3. An increase in GDI objects since the last observation
      5. An eventual decrease in GDI objects to the number observed in 1, or by the sum of the increases observed in 3; otherwise, no change
      
      Observed output:
      3. An increase in GDI objects since the last observation between 50 and 100
      5. A decrease in GDI objects since the last observation between 0 and 10
      
      
      What this means is that the number of GDI objects grows quite fast. Eventually the default GDI limit of 10000 is reached and Visual Studio stops responding.
      
      With multiple instances of Visual Studio open, the session's GDI limit is easily reached, affecting all other open applications and making the whole session unstable.
  • Format document on save & XAML
    2 Posts | Last post December 04, 2014
    • Format document on save doesn't seem to work on XAML files, is it intended ?
      If I edit and save, it doesn't behave as if I edit and use Ctrl+E, D.
    • VS 2012 Pro Update 4 (v11.0.61030.00)
      Productivity Power Tools v11.0.60403.0
  • Interactive Tooltips
    1 Posts | Last post November 30, 2014
    • Can we have the interactive tooltips back to VS2012? Like the one in Solution Navigator in VS2010
  • using line is removed even though it contains extension classes used in the code
    1 Posts | Last post November 16, 2014
    • Power Tools removes the extension using lines even though the classes they contain are used in the code.
      
      Can I suppress the removal of an individual using line by using a directive or attribute etc.?
      
      Thanks in advance
  • ResolveConflicts dialog is displayed as a modal window preventing access to vs tabs
    1 Posts | Last post August 18, 2014
    • I have converted/modified this version to run under VS 2013 Update 2 and all is fine except when you merge and have a conflict. When the ResolveConflicts dialog is invoked it displays as a modal window. When you opt to click its button to Manually Resolve in Merge Tool it opens the conflict in a tabbed vs page but you cannot access any tabs in vs or do anything to resolve it as the modal dialog window blocks all access.
      
      How can I change this window to open as a vs tab page?
      
      Thanks
  • Shortcut conflict
    1 Posts | Last post August 04, 2014
    • With a french canadian keyboard, the ] character (alt.car. + ]) is not accessible anymore if the align assignement option is activated.
  • IDE hangs when printing under Win 8, 8.1, Srv2012 R2 (corrected text)
    2 Posts | Last post July 11, 2014
    • Productivity Power Tools Extension fail to print with Visual Studio 2012 Ultimate (Update 4) under Windows 8, Windows 8.1 and Windows Server 2012 R2. Mainly I use it to print from the editor the syntax highlighted text.
      It appears not possible to print - the Visual Studio 2012 IDE hangs shortly after giving 'Print' command. The issue is noticed only under these systems, the latest updates were applied
      The same happens also with Visual Studio 2010 Ultimate. Something goes wrong, in particular, if we make print out via 'Adobe PDF' printer driver the file with name "Xps Document.pdf" is created, which means that printing subsystem is used wrong way. I think it is necessary to install some addition absent in the system but present in Windows 7.
      But if we disable the extensions the print possibility returns. I would like to use modern Windows to run both Visual Studio 2012 and 2010, but without syntax highlited printouts it is not that handy.
      
    • Sorry, let me reply my question. It seems I understood what was wrong.
      Color print of the text with syntax highlight works under modern Windows but not through 'Adobe PDF' printer driver of Acrobat Pro version 9 (9.5.1). This is the fault of Adobe Acrobat 9 Pro, but not of Windows, I suppose, as everything works ok if we use Acrobat XI Pro instead. But I prefer version 9 to 11. Has anyone tested the print through Acrobat Pro 9.5.5 'Adobe PDF' driver in Windows 8, 8.1 or 2012 R2? 
  • IDE hangs when printing under Win 8, 8.1, Srv2012 R2
    1 Posts | Last post July 11, 2014
    • Productivity Power Tools Extension fail to print with Visual Studio 2012 Ultimate (Update 4) under Windows 8, Windows 8.1 and Windows Server 2012 R2. Mainly I use it to print from the editor the syntax highlighted text.
      It appears not possible to print - the Visual Studio 2012 IDE hangs shortly after giving 'Print' command. The issue is noticed only under Windows Server 2012 R2, although the print through these extensions is possible (tested) under Windows 8 Ultimate and Windows 8.1 Pro.
      The same happens both with Visual Studio 2010 Ultimate. Something goes wrong, in particular, if we make print out via 'Adobe PDF' printer driver the file with name "Xps Document.pdf" is created, which means that printing subsystem is used wrong way. I think it is necessary to install some addition for Windows Server 2012 R2 absent in the system but present in other operating systems.
      But if we disable the extensions the print possibility returns. I would like to use Windows Server 2012 R2 to run both Visual Studio 2012 and 2010, but without syntax highlited printouts it is not that handy.
      
  • Feature PresentOff
    1 Posts | Last post July 07, 2014
    • I have a problem with feature PresentOff, I turned on the feature but I can't turn off it now. Do you know how I can fix it?
1 - 10 of 158 Items