Productivity Power Tools 2012

Microsoft Free

A set of extensions to Visual Studio 2012 Professional (and above) which improves developer productivity.

Microsoft
(120) Review
Visual Studio
2012
Download (431,941)
7/27/2015
11.0.60403.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (120)
Q and A (158)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Tom Mohoric | November 04 2013

Great set of extensions! Looking forward to an update for use with VS 2013!

by BD Moby Disk | October 31 2013

I got this for the HTML Copy feature, but many other features interfere with Visual Studio in some way:
* You can't tell which tab is active with the colored tabs.
* The enhanced intellisense:
- Is slower.
- Does not save any keystrokes. It types the closing paren for you, but then you have to hit end then semicolon instead of close paren semicolon. That saves nothing.
- When you call a method that takes an enum, the default intellisense selects that enum by default. The new intellisense does not.
- Fixing mixed tabs and spaces is nice, but that pops up on files that are read only such as TFS diff windows, or files that are not checked out. Since there is already a menu option to do this, the bugs outweigh the benefits.

Overall, this is a nice testing ground for new Visual Studio features, but they need revising to be truly useful.

by SamCPP | October 29 2013

Go to definition and coloring build window are great. Is there a plan for VS2013 version?

by StoneCC94 | October 18 2013

Will this be updated for VS 2013? I greatly miss the enhanced Document Well...

by Mark Good | October 17 2013

I love these tools. This seems like a great way to evaluate features to go into a future version of VS.

by Dan Jarvis | October 17 2013

I cannot figure out how to turn off the automatic brace closing thing. I turned if off in the settings dialog but it is still doing it. It's really interfering with my normal way of coding. I like the other features, but I really wish I could turn off whatever it did to my brace/bracket settings.

by Kat_Development | October 16 2013

by bignewbe | October 14 2013

why i cannot install on my Visual Studio Express 2012 for Windows Desktop? i have the latest version installed. anyone can help?

---
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - Supported Products :
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - Microsoft.VisualStudio.Ultimate
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - Version : [11.0]
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - Microsoft.VisualStudio.Premium
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - Version : [11.0]

14-10-2013 14:36:15 - References :
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - -------------------------------------------------------
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - Identifier : Microsoft.VisualStudio.MPF
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - Name : Visual Studio MPF
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - Version : 10.0
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - MoreInfoURL :
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - Found installed product - Microsoft Visual Studio Express 2012 for Windows Desktop
14-10-2013 14:36:15 - VSIXInstaller.NoApplicableSKUsException: This extension is not installable on any currently installed products.

by Aleksandar Totovic | October 08 2013

It's very nice

by Akran | September 26 2013

No Copy HTML in Visual Studio 2012 Ultimate.

by user76382 | September 16 2013

Causes adding of items to sharepoint features to fail with a vague error. More details here:
https://connect.microsoft.com/VisualStudio/feedback/details/646396/object-reference-not-set-to-an-instance-of-an-object-when-trying-to-add-a-sharepoint-project-item#details

by Emir M | September 11 2013

All in all, the PPT 2012 is a great tool.

The "Custom Document Well" is pretty neat, given the fact, it adds specific colors to document tabs, that are present in multiple projects.

If you're open for suggestions, I would recommend adding the same color to the project icon in the Solution Explorer. That way, you'll be typing something in a document and at the same time be able to peek into the Solution Explorer and be positive about, which project this document belongs to.

by Kakukogou | September 03 2013

Great!
Ctrl+Click makes me more productive!

by Jeff.Forge | August 23 2013

Nice feature set. There needs to be a way to turn off the "Quick Find" feature though. The VS2010 version allows it to be toggled...why the heck was this option removed in the VS2012 version?

Or at the very least, please dismiss the Quick Find panel when the user hits Enter. It drives me crazy when I hit CTRL+F, <search string>, ENTER, and the focus is still in the Quick Find panel. It seems that I need to manually close the panel (via the X button) or click in the text editor window.

by Dub2 | August 15 2013

They took out the best feature! One star until interactive tool tips are put back.

by Oleg Boulanov | August 08 2013

Color printing enables color, but disables (greys out) FILE/Page Setup?
So one have to choose between coloring and margins...

by Chris Demetriad | July 31 2013

loving the enhanced scroll bar, it does help a lot if a very big file!

by wmevius | July 29 2013

caused a crash when trying to go to the work items for a project

System.NullReferenceException was unhandled
HResult=-2147467261
Message=Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Source=Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.PowerTools.Common
StackTrace:
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.PowerTools.Common.VsipHost.GetUserSubKey(Package package, String subKey, Boolean writable)
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.PowerTools.Settings.GetRootKey(Boolean writable)
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.PowerTools.Settings.GetValue(String name, Object defaultValue)
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.PowerTools.Settings.GetCachedValue(String key, Boolean defaultValue)
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.PowerTools.Settings.get_TemplateEnabled()
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.PowerTools.TemplatesViewModel.<Refresh>d__1.MoveNext()

Update: updated to latest version and now this error has gone :)

by Kevininstructor | July 15 2013

Great edition to the IDE. Also used this in VS2010 too.

by Coder_Dan | June 14 2013

Quite useful but also contains some serious flaws!

Watch out for the options:
1) "Enhanced Scroll Bar" - this can slow the editor down to a crawl at times.

2) In "Tabs and Windows" - do not check "Maintain pin status if document is removed from well"! It causes DevStudio to crash when doing routine operations like running up an app in the debugger, or lock up with resizing the main window. If you are getting faulting module: KERNELBASE.dll with exception code 0xe0434352 in DEVENV.EXE reported to your EventLog, then there is a good chance that it is this option!

21 - 40 of 120 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • System.ArgumentOutOfRangeException
    3 Posts | Last post September 28, 2015
    • Exception Type       : System.ArgumentOutOfRangeException
      Exception Message    : Invalid position
      Parameter name: newPosition
      Exception Stack Trace:    at Microsoft.VisualStudio.PlatformUI.Shell.DocumentGroup.MovePinnedView(ViewElement element, Int32 newPosition)
         at Microsoft.CustomDocWell.Slider.SliderDocumentGroup.SortViews()
         at Microsoft.CustomDocWell.Slider.SliderDocumentGroup.<ScheduleAsyncSort>b__5()
         at System.Windows.Threading.ExceptionWrapper.InternalRealCall(Delegate callback, Object args, Int32 numArgs)
         at MS.Internal.Threading.ExceptionFilterHelper.TryCatchWhen(Object source, Delegate method, Object args, Int32 numArgs, Delegate catchHandler)
      Exception Data:
      Key: System.Object, Value: [null]
      
    • I too have received this error.  It happens to me when I try to debug.  I removed all but one pinned tab and debug worked.  I then added them all back one by one without a crash when starting debug.  This did occasionally prevent me from launching VS when selecting a recent project from the start menu.
    • I am also experiencing this issue since upgrading from Update 2 to Update 5 in VS2013. Do I have to disable the Productivity Power Tools to get rid of this error? I'd rather not as it is a useful toolkit.
      
  • GDI object leak in full mode enhanced scrollbar
    1 Posts | Last post August 10, 2015
    • When the enhanced scrollbar is enables and in full mode, there is a considerable GDI object leak.
      
      
      To test this:
      
      0. Make sure enhanced scrollbar is enables and in full mode
      1. With task manager or process explorer, inspect the number of GDI objects used by Visual Studio
      2. Open a file
      3. Inspect the number of GDI objects again
      4. Close the file
      5. Inspect the number of GDI objects again
      6. Repeat steps 2 through 5 a few dozen times; you may use the same file or another file
      
      Expected output (assuming eager disposal of GDI objects):
      3. An increase in GDI objects since the last observation
      5. A decrease in GDI objects since the last observation by the same amount it increased in 3
      
      Expected output (assuming eventual disposal of GDI objects, subject to GC):
      3. An increase in GDI objects since the last observation
      5. An eventual decrease in GDI objects to the number observed in 1, or by the sum of the increases observed in 3; otherwise, no change
      
      Observed output:
      3. An increase in GDI objects since the last observation between 50 and 100
      5. A decrease in GDI objects since the last observation between 0 and 10
      
      
      What this means is that the number of GDI objects grows quite fast. Eventually the default GDI limit of 10000 is reached and Visual Studio stops responding.
      
      With multiple instances of Visual Studio open, the session's GDI limit is easily reached, affecting all other open applications and making the whole session unstable.
  • Format document on save & XAML
    2 Posts | Last post December 04, 2014
    • Format document on save doesn't seem to work on XAML files, is it intended ?
      If I edit and save, it doesn't behave as if I edit and use Ctrl+E, D.
    • VS 2012 Pro Update 4 (v11.0.61030.00)
      Productivity Power Tools v11.0.60403.0
  • Interactive Tooltips
    1 Posts | Last post November 30, 2014
    • Can we have the interactive tooltips back to VS2012? Like the one in Solution Navigator in VS2010
  • using line is removed even though it contains extension classes used in the code
    1 Posts | Last post November 16, 2014
    • Power Tools removes the extension using lines even though the classes they contain are used in the code.
      
      Can I suppress the removal of an individual using line by using a directive or attribute etc.?
      
      Thanks in advance
  • ResolveConflicts dialog is displayed as a modal window preventing access to vs tabs
    1 Posts | Last post August 18, 2014
    • I have converted/modified this version to run under VS 2013 Update 2 and all is fine except when you merge and have a conflict. When the ResolveConflicts dialog is invoked it displays as a modal window. When you opt to click its button to Manually Resolve in Merge Tool it opens the conflict in a tabbed vs page but you cannot access any tabs in vs or do anything to resolve it as the modal dialog window blocks all access.
      
      How can I change this window to open as a vs tab page?
      
      Thanks
  • Shortcut conflict
    1 Posts | Last post August 04, 2014
    • With a french canadian keyboard, the ] character (alt.car. + ]) is not accessible anymore if the align assignement option is activated.
  • IDE hangs when printing under Win 8, 8.1, Srv2012 R2 (corrected text)
    2 Posts | Last post July 11, 2014
    • Productivity Power Tools Extension fail to print with Visual Studio 2012 Ultimate (Update 4) under Windows 8, Windows 8.1 and Windows Server 2012 R2. Mainly I use it to print from the editor the syntax highlighted text.
      It appears not possible to print - the Visual Studio 2012 IDE hangs shortly after giving 'Print' command. The issue is noticed only under these systems, the latest updates were applied
      The same happens also with Visual Studio 2010 Ultimate. Something goes wrong, in particular, if we make print out via 'Adobe PDF' printer driver the file with name "Xps Document.pdf" is created, which means that printing subsystem is used wrong way. I think it is necessary to install some addition absent in the system but present in Windows 7.
      But if we disable the extensions the print possibility returns. I would like to use modern Windows to run both Visual Studio 2012 and 2010, but without syntax highlited printouts it is not that handy.
      
    • Sorry, let me reply my question. It seems I understood what was wrong.
      Color print of the text with syntax highlight works under modern Windows but not through 'Adobe PDF' printer driver of Acrobat Pro version 9 (9.5.1). This is the fault of Adobe Acrobat 9 Pro, but not of Windows, I suppose, as everything works ok if we use Acrobat XI Pro instead. But I prefer version 9 to 11. Has anyone tested the print through Acrobat Pro 9.5.5 'Adobe PDF' driver in Windows 8, 8.1 or 2012 R2? 
  • IDE hangs when printing under Win 8, 8.1, Srv2012 R2
    1 Posts | Last post July 11, 2014
    • Productivity Power Tools Extension fail to print with Visual Studio 2012 Ultimate (Update 4) under Windows 8, Windows 8.1 and Windows Server 2012 R2. Mainly I use it to print from the editor the syntax highlighted text.
      It appears not possible to print - the Visual Studio 2012 IDE hangs shortly after giving 'Print' command. The issue is noticed only under Windows Server 2012 R2, although the print through these extensions is possible (tested) under Windows 8 Ultimate and Windows 8.1 Pro.
      The same happens both with Visual Studio 2010 Ultimate. Something goes wrong, in particular, if we make print out via 'Adobe PDF' printer driver the file with name "Xps Document.pdf" is created, which means that printing subsystem is used wrong way. I think it is necessary to install some addition for Windows Server 2012 R2 absent in the system but present in other operating systems.
      But if we disable the extensions the print possibility returns. I would like to use Windows Server 2012 R2 to run both Visual Studio 2012 and 2010, but without syntax highlited printouts it is not that handy.
      
  • Feature PresentOff
    1 Posts | Last post July 07, 2014
    • I have a problem with feature PresentOff, I turned on the feature but I can't turn off it now. Do you know how I can fix it?
1 - 10 of 158 Items