Productivity Power Tools 2012

Microsoft Free

A set of extensions to Visual Studio 2012 Professional (and above) which improves developer productivity.

Microsoft
(117) Review
Visual Studio
2012
Download (399,746)
4/4/2013
11.0.60403.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (117)
Q and A (157)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Softlion | May 25 2013

The new "pinned line" of tabs is very handy.

Tab colorization is quickly a mess. You have to search hard to find which tab the current window is.

I love the "close tab button on tab", and the close tab button on the far right. I need both and this extension gives me both !

The drop down of "other opened windows" could display a tree of open windows organized by projects, as in the solution explorer when you search something in it. Instead of a flat list.

thks for the tab well. Plz fix its bugs !

by _Aleks | May 21 2013

Stupid MS decision to remove color printing from VS 2010. Now have to build extra applications to put it back. Why not fixing it in VS 2012 or updates directly?

by HolgerSinn.Com | May 20 2013

Maybe the best collection for visual Studio
if you don't know it: check it out

by Sergio Parra | April 27 2013

This set of tools save a lot of time

by Peter Pressacco | April 09 2013

by Carsten Siemens | April 06 2013

Extends VS with very useful features: color printing, auto brace completion,...

by LEPT0N | April 01 2013

Nothing beats the 'full map mode' setting of the 'enhanced scroll bar'!

by jwake | March 18 2013

by MDJRUK68 | March 01 2013

Great addition. Now I can print in colour :)

by Piotr Kula | Thu 5:01 PM

Every time I use a new machine I notice the little things that are missing. Always gotta install this. Great work!

by Vrane | February 23 2013

Excellent extension :)

idea for new feature : http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en/vswpfdesigner/thread/1bdf2ddd-472c-4c17-ad2e-845f5bf1f086

by Juan Zamudio | February 21 2013

When I installed the version 11.0.60128.0 I lost my settings, i thought this bug was fixed?

by TLunsf | February 20 2013

I have been a Microsoft fanboy for my entire programming career, but 2012-2013 may be your (Microsoft's) downfall. Everything is pushed out without QA - Win8, Office2013, VS2012, and now this update. Have you ever heard of saving configuration settings??? Now I've got to go waste an hour to figure out what my settings should be. AGAIN.

by Lemonshark1 | February 16 2013

by bobfox | February 15 2013

Big disappointment.
The most important feature - "Enhanced Tooltips" - has been left out.
Thumbs down - only one star for now.

Edit 02/15/2013:
Another update, still no enhanced tooltips :(
Update overwrites all settings :(

by Bastiaan Molsbeck | February 15 2013

A very useful extension, but unfortunately all settings are reverted to their default values each time installing an update for this extension.

by tampermatis | February 13 2013

Rockscroll lives again! Thank you so much.

by Andre.Ziegler | February 10 2013

by Roman Okolovich | January 31 2013

by Oybekjon | January 22 2013

Enhanced scrollbar is one of the most useful elements in the package! It is awesome. Another really useful feature is to move line up/down.
However, I'm missing an extremely handy one - Interactive tooltips. Please bring it back.
I gave 4 just because it missing the interactive tooltips.

41 - 60 of 117 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Format document on save & XAML
    2 Posts | Last post December 04, 2014
    • Format document on save doesn't seem to work on XAML files, is it intended ?
      If I edit and save, it doesn't behave as if I edit and use Ctrl+E, D.
    • VS 2012 Pro Update 4 (v11.0.61030.00)
      Productivity Power Tools v11.0.60403.0
  • Interactive Tooltips
    1 Posts | Last post November 30, 2014
    • Can we have the interactive tooltips back to VS2012? Like the one in Solution Navigator in VS2010
  • using line is removed even though it contains extension classes used in the code
    1 Posts | Last post November 16, 2014
    • Power Tools removes the extension using lines even though the classes they contain are used in the code.
      
      Can I suppress the removal of an individual using line by using a directive or attribute etc.?
      
      Thanks in advance
  • ResolveConflicts dialog is displayed as a modal window preventing access to vs tabs
    1 Posts | Last post August 18, 2014
    • I have converted/modified this version to run under VS 2013 Update 2 and all is fine except when you merge and have a conflict. When the ResolveConflicts dialog is invoked it displays as a modal window. When you opt to click its button to Manually Resolve in Merge Tool it opens the conflict in a tabbed vs page but you cannot access any tabs in vs or do anything to resolve it as the modal dialog window blocks all access.
      
      How can I change this window to open as a vs tab page?
      
      Thanks
  • Shortcut conflict
    1 Posts | Last post August 04, 2014
    • With a french canadian keyboard, the ] character (alt.car. + ]) is not accessible anymore if the align assignement option is activated.
  • IDE hangs when printing under Win 8, 8.1, Srv2012 R2 (corrected text)
    2 Posts | Last post July 11, 2014
    • Productivity Power Tools Extension fail to print with Visual Studio 2012 Ultimate (Update 4) under Windows 8, Windows 8.1 and Windows Server 2012 R2. Mainly I use it to print from the editor the syntax highlighted text.
      It appears not possible to print - the Visual Studio 2012 IDE hangs shortly after giving 'Print' command. The issue is noticed only under these systems, the latest updates were applied
      The same happens also with Visual Studio 2010 Ultimate. Something goes wrong, in particular, if we make print out via 'Adobe PDF' printer driver the file with name "Xps Document.pdf" is created, which means that printing subsystem is used wrong way. I think it is necessary to install some addition absent in the system but present in Windows 7.
      But if we disable the extensions the print possibility returns. I would like to use modern Windows to run both Visual Studio 2012 and 2010, but without syntax highlited printouts it is not that handy.
      
    • Sorry, let me reply my question. It seems I understood what was wrong.
      Color print of the text with syntax highlight works under modern Windows but not through 'Adobe PDF' printer driver of Acrobat Pro version 9 (9.5.1). This is the fault of Adobe Acrobat 9 Pro, but not of Windows, I suppose, as everything works ok if we use Acrobat XI Pro instead. But I prefer version 9 to 11. Has anyone tested the print through Acrobat Pro 9.5.5 'Adobe PDF' driver in Windows 8, 8.1 or 2012 R2? 
  • IDE hangs when printing under Win 8, 8.1, Srv2012 R2
    1 Posts | Last post July 11, 2014
    • Productivity Power Tools Extension fail to print with Visual Studio 2012 Ultimate (Update 4) under Windows 8, Windows 8.1 and Windows Server 2012 R2. Mainly I use it to print from the editor the syntax highlighted text.
      It appears not possible to print - the Visual Studio 2012 IDE hangs shortly after giving 'Print' command. The issue is noticed only under Windows Server 2012 R2, although the print through these extensions is possible (tested) under Windows 8 Ultimate and Windows 8.1 Pro.
      The same happens both with Visual Studio 2010 Ultimate. Something goes wrong, in particular, if we make print out via 'Adobe PDF' printer driver the file with name "Xps Document.pdf" is created, which means that printing subsystem is used wrong way. I think it is necessary to install some addition for Windows Server 2012 R2 absent in the system but present in other operating systems.
      But if we disable the extensions the print possibility returns. I would like to use Windows Server 2012 R2 to run both Visual Studio 2012 and 2010, but without syntax highlited printouts it is not that handy.
      
  • Feature PresentOff
    1 Posts | Last post July 07, 2014
    • I have a problem with feature PresentOff, I turned on the feature but I can't turn off it now. Do you know how I can fix it?
  • Pin status setting is not sticking
    2 Posts | Last post July 03, 2014
    • I have VS 2012 Update 4. Noticed recently that the pin status setting is not sticking. I have a few files pinned that I would like them to stay pinned when the project is opened. Does anyone else have this issue?
      Thanks in advanced.
    • Forgot to add, if you disable Power Tools 2012, the pinned files will stay pinned when the project is loaded. Pretty sure it is an issue with the extension.
  • Reg Ex colored tabs have wrong unselected text color
    1 Posts | Last post June 20, 2014
    • For regex colored tabs the unselected color is white instead of black as configured in settings http://i.imgur.com/irmvAMr.png
      It was the same also for default existing regex settings for .cs files etc.
      
      I have VS2012 Update 4 and Power Tools 11.0.60403.0
      
1 - 10 of 157 Items