Developer Assistant

Free

Developer Assistant puts millions of code snippets and code sample projects at your fingertips while you are coding in Visual Studio.

(65) Review
Visual Studio
2012
Download (451,677)
5/1/2015
6.5.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (65)
Q and A (26)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Learning hard | September 04 2012

界面绚丽,操作简单,是一个好的工具

by The Thinker | May 19 2012

Very useful but needs more selection of apps in each catergory.

by Emre Gunerturk | December 16 2011

Great tool. Must have!

by KKBruce | November 22 2011

學習.NET Framework 不可多得的教材。

by Santhosh Sivarajan- | November 08 2011

Good job!

by Amarion | November 04 2011

Crashes every single time I use it. I simply open it up and go to the search screen. It then starts building the list of samples based on my search criteria.

I have already downloaded the entire library of samples to my local C:\ drive and pointed the browser to that path in the settings.

It get Index Out of Range error (parameter: index) and then crashes Visual Studio 2010 SP1 (which causes it to restart).

It happens after loading exactly 705 samples every single time.

Please fix this because I can't use it and will un-install it.

P.S. I have a Core i5 machine with 4GB RAM and Windows 7 Professional 64bit with all updates applied.

OneCode Team November 05 2011
| Edit |
Delete

Thank you for your feedback and the issue report!! We have fixed the problem and published a new version of Sample Browser VS extension. You can get the updated 4.4 version from the “Update” tab of VS Extension Manager, or by clicking the “download” button again in http://aka.ms/samplebrowservsx.

by Steef-Jan Wiggers | November 03 2011

I just love this browser. Great UX.

metro interface is fantastic!!! very cool

by I'm a Debugger | October 21 2011

by Ehsan Mohammadi | October 08 2011

by dongDong xu | September 20 2011

很不错啊.不过要想系统地学习,还是不够

by cportwood | September 16 2011

Awesome library of samples. Great thing is an online library and only downloads what you want.

by herb2live | August 08 2011

Works fine for me, just installed it and love the ease of use.

by Maxim A Golov | August 08 2011

(v1.4) It is probably a good tool when it works, but for me it does not work behind an authenticating proxy and crashes when trying to open the samples which were downloaded from the site manually. Opened a ticket on this issue.

by Mehmet YILDIZ | July 22 2011

by Esref Durna | July 21 2011

by Ciupaz | July 18 2011

I can't live without it.

by farproc2000 | June 07 2011

Rockalicious! 'Nuf said!

by syracus | June 06 2011

Does not work with authenticating proxy. Using Internet Explorer settings and get 'Network Connection Error'.

by Bruce Song | June 01 2011

very nice tool!

41 - 60 of 65 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • No code found
    1 Posts | Last post May 14, 2015
    • I am behind proxy and I can download extensions and nuget etc but intellisence of Developer Assistant always says no code found and if i click on search more then it open VS browser and hows nothing. please help.
  • installation problem
    4 Posts | Last post January 07, 2015
    • Installed BDA for VS2012 Pro, restarted VS and it does not work. The "Bing Contextual Search" appears in my context menu, but is completely unresponsive (as is "Alt+F1"). Nothing happens: no errors, nothing.
      
      Is there a setting that I am missing? When I select a keyword and hit F1 (the normal, old-school Help) my browser opens and navigates to the corresponding MSDN documentation. I expected something similar with the Bing Contextual Search.
    • Hi Kevin
      There could be a log file in your C:\Plugin folder.  Could you check if it captured any errors?
    • Same issue as Kevin and ajhg (except unlike ajhg I can't find the C:\Plugin folder to report any errors). Using VS2012 Pro as well (someone else at work is using the same version and is also having the same problem) i.e. contextual search doesn't cause anything to happen.
    • Hi OzRobDotNet
      Does it happen when you are using the 'compile error assistant' or the contextual search in the code editor?  If latter, does it happen when you select ANYTHING in the code editor, right click and choose 'Bing Contextual Search'?
  • Intellisense crash
    1 Posts | Last post December 29, 2014
    • After some days using it, VS 2012 crashes after intellisense fires. 
      
      Manually remove Visual stidio 11 config at registry. But now can´t reinstall Bing Developer Assistant it says it is allready installed on my products. 
      
      Two questions:
      1. What thisn may cause the crashes? 
      2. how can i do to reinstall BDA?
  • Dark Theme
    3 Posts | Last post December 23, 2014
    • Is it just me or are the code snippets unreadable when using Dark Theme in VS 2012?
    • Hi Markoueis
      We are looking into this problem.  After verifying the issue, we will release the fix early next week. Thank you for your feedback. 
    • Hi Markouis
      We cannot seem to reproduce the problem in the dark theme. Do you see the problem in the intellisense window or in the Sample Browser window?  Could you share a screenshot with us? bingdevassistant@microsoft.com
  • System.TypeInitializationException: The type initializer for 'Microsoft.BingSearch.RuntimeInfoGatherer'
    1 Posts | Last post December 17, 2014
    • I've just installed it on VS 2012 Professional and it does not work.
      
      I get the following error in C:\Plugin\VSBing.txt.
      Any help?
      
      line exc System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
         at Microsoft.BingSearch.BingQueryManager.getSelectedText(Window window, String& currentLine, String& neighbourHood, Int32& lineNum, String& errorFile, String& code)
      System.TypeInitializationException: The type initializer for 'Microsoft.BingSearch.RuntimeInfoGatherer' threw an exception. ---> System.Runtime.InteropServices.COMException: Invalid class string (Exception from HRESULT: 0x800401F3 (CO_E_CLASSSTRING))
         at System.Runtime.InteropServices.Marshal.CLSIDFromProgID(String progId, Guid& clsid)
         at System.Runtime.InteropServices.Marshal.GetActiveObject(String progID)
         at Microsoft.BingSearch.RuntimeInfoGatherer..ctor()
         at Microsoft.BingSearch.RuntimeInfoGatherer..cctor()
         --- End of inner exception stack trace ---
         at Microsoft.BingSearch.RuntimeInfoGatherer.get_Instance()
         at Microsoft.BingSearch.BingQueryManager.GetDataPacketGeneric(BingAddinType addInType)
         at Microsoft.BingSearch.BingQueryManager.GetBingSearchString(BingAddinType addInType, InputDataPacket& inputData)
      Exception while getting the query: System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
         at Microsoft.BingSearch.BingQueryManager.GetBingSearchString(BingAddinType addInType, InputDataPacket& inputData)
         at Microsoft.OneCode.SearchTool.OneCodeSearchToolPackage.ExecuteSearchEvent()
  • Regarding TFS integration & Other languages support
    2 Posts | Last post December 04, 2014
    • Could you please let me know if there are any plans to integrate this with TFS ?  What I mean is, instaed of searching in Internet, I would like to search in our local TFS codebase.  
      
      Right now, it supports only C# ( as I understand from TechEd 2014, Bangalore).  Could you please update on the plan to search for different languages like c++, JS, HTML5,... etc
    • Thank you for your suggestion.  Yes, all of these are in our roadmap.  The team is working hard to achieve them as soon as possible. 
  • CTRL + Spacebar = Crash
    3 Posts | Last post August 25, 2014
    • Hi,
      
      After installing the tool, when I use CTRL + Spacebar VS 2012 crashes.
      
      Problem signature:
        Problem Event Name:	CLR20r3
        Problem Signature 01:	devenv.exe
        Problem Signature 02:	11.0.61030.0
        Problem Signature 03:	5270a974
        Problem Signature 04:	Microsoft.OneCode.IntellisensePresenter
        Problem Signature 05:	1.0.0.0
        Problem Signature 06:	53ed9461
        Problem Signature 07:	7e
        Problem Signature 08:	0
        Problem Signature 09:	System.NullReferenceException
        OS Version:	6.3.9600.2.0.0.256.4
        Locale ID:	1033
        Additional Information 1:	5861
        Additional Information 2:	5861822e1919d7c014bbb064c64908b2
        Additional Information 3:	d1d9
        Additional Information 4:	d1d94a13d3609d6b740644c12508f581
      
      Read our privacy statement online:
        http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=280262
      
      If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
        C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt
      
    • Hello
      Thank you for reporting the issue to us!  This is a known issue.  We will hopefully release an app update next Monday to fix this problem.  As soon as the fix is released, I will inform you in this email thread.  
    • Hello
      We have just released the fix of the ctrl+sapce problem.  Could you install the update and let me know how it works for you?  Thank you again for reporting this issue!
      Thanks
      Scott
  • What about VS2013?
    2 Posts | Last post August 18, 2014
    • "Sample Browser Visual Studio Extension allows developers to search and download 4500+ code samples from within Visual Studio 2012 and Visual Studio 2010"
      
      Does this mean it won't work in VS 2013?
    • he plugin is now available in VS2013! With many new features :)
      We also rebranded the plugin as 'Bing Developer Assistant'.
      http://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/a1166718-a2d9-4a48-a5fd-504ff4ad1b65
  • VS 2013 ?
    4 Posts | Last post August 18, 2014
    • Still waiting...
      
    • It is unclear what you are waiting for.  Love the FoxPro icon!
    • Did you see my subject?
      I am waiting for the VS 2013 version!
      
    • he plugin is now available in VS2013! With many new features :)
      We also rebranded the plugin as 'Bing Developer Assistant'.
      http://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/a1166718-a2d9-4a48-a5fd-504ff4ad1b65
  • Sample web browser extension problem
    2 Posts | Last post August 18, 2014
    • I installed a sample web browser extension for VS 2012. It is working fine when I used it through toolbar. But when I type some code and want to find sample code in code editor i.e visual studio IDE about that then I right click on it and there is no option for " search code sample " in IDE. What should I do? Is there any problem?
    • Hi
      Do you still meet the problem?  We just released a new version of the plugin that adds lots of new cool features, and I believe that the problem you mentioned is also fixed.  Please try it. 
1 - 10 of 26 Items