Go To Definition

Free

Make ctrl+click perform a "Go To Definition" on the identifier under the cursor. Also, when the ctrl key is held down, highlight identifiers that look like they have definitions to navigate to.

(80) Review
Visual Studio
2015, 2013, 2012, 2010
Download (155,254)
11/9/2015
2.6
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (80)
Q and A (36)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by oskary | April 23 2016

Very nice, the blue color could be a little lighter, hard to read when using a dark VS theme.

by flop2003 | February 02 2016

Had this extension working in VS2012. Can NOT get it working in VS2013. Unfortunately no helpful Q&A to this (common!) problem either. Not useful at this stage.

by Fabrice De Backer | January 31 2016

Thanks a lot for this! (the blue color of the link is maybe odd in dark theme, but that's peanuts)

by ant_pt | January 30 2016

by Nils35 | January 14 2016

Brilliant

by zcloud01 | December 29 2015

Very useful tool.

by Nikita Kunevich | December 05 2015

Works as expected! Must have. But it lacks very useful feature of navigation to included files

by Leonardo Lynx | November 24 2015

Excelente! Extrañaba esta función tan útil y que viene en NetBeans. Gracias al creador. 5 Stars

by Gilbert_F | October 19 2015

by Cocus | September 16 2015

Simply, amazing! That was the last thing this IDE was missing.

by Mike Malburg III | August 26 2015

A simple but useful module which really helps with my productivity when I used previous versions of Visual Studio. I also use Netbeans and Eclipse, and I love this feature in those editors and use it constantly.

Hitting F12 for me is not as quick/natural for me, personally. Productivity Power Tools has similar functionality of allowing you to control+click to peek a definition in VS2015, but I like the behavior of going to the definition much better than peeking it.

I think it would be nice to extend this module (or PPT) so that you can define peek and go to definition as shortcuts and have them as for instance control+click for one and shift+click for the other one, and just allow you to choose which maps to which function.

by VadimPanov1971 | August 25 2015

This is one of most useful extensions for me. Author, please create a release for VS2015 ASAP!!!

by Dale Newman | July 27 2015

Perfect. Thank you.

by OlegO. _ | July 23 2015

You can download Go To Definition for Visual Studio 2015 here
http://blog.virtosoftware.com/2015/07/go-to-definition-for-visual-studio-2015-download.html

Download, Unzip, Run GoToDefVS2015.vsix, restart Visual Studio and enjoy it.

I've modified current VSIX package (just added VS2015 support).

by raf nas | July 09 2015

Working perfectly with VS2013. Simply install and re-open VS.

by FecoD | May 15 2015

Love the tool, please add vs 2015 support :)

by Davor Mas | March 04 2015

Great extension!

Just what I needed after my excursion to Eclipse for couple of months. ;)

by mist83 | January 20 2015

Interferes with default functionality of Ctrl+click, which highlights the whole word when clicked, making precision less important and saving me ~200-300 ms when I want to highlight a whole word.

While reaching for F12 wastes that same ~200-300 ms, it's far less likely (because it's explicit) to derail my current workflow than having to recover from accidentally navigating when I meant to be copying.

v2.5. ignores Ctrl+Shift+click because it has other bindings, but would propose that user can define key+click combo instead (I don't use default Ctrl+Shift functionality often, so for my workflow, Ctrl+Shift+click for F12 functionality might be useful).

by grundt | August 22 2014

Works well - very speedy ... the only trick is remembering that it's available

by hsinwei | July 05 2014

1 - 20 of 80 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • VS 2015 support?
    7 Posts | Last post January 30, 2016
    • Do you have plans to support VS2015?
    • I've modified current VSIX package (just added VS2015 support).
      
      You can download Go To Definition for Visual Studio 2015 here
      http://download.virtosoftware.com/Dev/GoToDefVS2015.zip
      
      Download, Unzip, Run GoToDefVS2015.vsix, restart Visual Studio and enjoy it.
    • Thanks Oleg. Your version works fine in VS2015 :)
    • thank you, love this tool. just installed it for 2015
    • Dead link!
      I am used to this functionality from Eclipse, need it asap. Could you please provide a new link?
    • It doesn't quite work on VS2015 in my testing; some of the mouse clicks get eaten by some other component in VS. An engineer on the editor team is looking into it next week.
    • Small feature suggestion: how about Ctrl+Alt+Click to peek definition as an additional shortcut?
  • VS 2015 support?
    2 Posts | Last post October 08, 2015
    • +1
    • Hi, the link you provided: http://download.virtosoftware.com/Dev/GoToDefVS2015.zip does not work, did the zip file move to a different location? Thanks
  • Extension not working in js file editor
    1 Posts | Last post May 20, 2015
    • how to make this extension works in JS file editor?
  • Go To "cref" Definition
    1 Posts | Last post Mon 8:16 AM
    • I think this would be a very userful feature (at least for me): go to definition from XML comments like those:
         /// <summary>
         ///    A loader, that is responsible for retrieving XYZ from the database.
         ///       E.g: <see cref="MyLoaderClass"/>.
         /// </summary>
  • Go To Derive Definition
    2 Posts | Last post March 05, 2015
    • Will this extension allow me to go to the 'derived class'? for example, my code calls an interface method, can I peek/go-to-definition of the class which implemented the interface?
    • +1 for this feature.
  • Please change to Alt+Click in VS-2013
    2 Posts | Last post October 08, 2014
    • Sometimes I do want to promote to document rather than just peeking definition.
      Please refer and reply to this discussion:
      http://stackoverflow.com/questions/26247822/mouse-shortcut-for-go-to-definition
    • This extension was never updated, so I think you want to give that feedback to the VS team. Sorry!
      
      -Noah
  • Go to #region
    1 Posts | Last post August 25, 2014
    • For the next version, it is possible to implement the Ctrl + click on #regions to go to his #endregion and vice versa?
  • ctrl+click for "go to", ctrl+shift+click for "open peek window"
    1 Posts | Last post June 22, 2014
    • hi!
      is it possible that you add ctrl+shit+click to open peek window at location? (alt+f12)
      
  • Make the addin work with other windows like Output
    2 Posts | Last post June 02, 2014
    • I used to use the "Go to definition" feature of pre-2012 versions of Visual Studio to navigate identifiers that came from build errors (which happens excessively often when something goes wrong while comipiling templates).
      
      It is counter productive to have to copy/paste identifiers from the build output to a code window that does not deserve polluting, only to then use the addin.
      
      Would it be possible to make this addin work in the context of any text window, like the build output?
      
      Thanks
    • It may be possible, but definitely not straightforward. The extension itself doesn't actually do the "Go to definition" logic, it just basically triggers a press of F12 (the GoToDefinition command). If F12 does work in the output window, then it's just a matter of getting the extension there and figuring out what to underline on ctrl+mouseover.
      
      -Noah
  • Go To File
    1 Posts | Last post May 13, 2014
    • It would be nice if it did open includes (the equivalent of Ctrl+Shift+G).
      
      I also second that Ctrl+middle click should open peek
1 - 10 of 36 Items