Go To Definition

Free

Make ctrl+click perform a "Go To Definition" on the identifier under the cursor. Also, when the ctrl key is held down, highlight identifiers that look like they have definitions to navigate to.

(69) Review
Visual Studio
2013, 2012, 2010
Download (138,905)
11/10/2013
2.5
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (69)
Q and A (36)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Dale Newman | July 27 2015

Perfect. Thank you.

by OlegO. _ | July 23 2015

You can download Go To Definition for Visual Studio 2015 here
http://blog.virtosoftware.com/2015/07/go-to-definition-for-visual-studio-2015-download.html

Download, Unzip, Run GoToDefVS2015.vsix, restart Visual Studio and enjoy it.

I've modified current VSIX package (just added VS2015 support).

by raf nas | July 09 2015

Working perfectly with VS2013. Simply install and re-open VS.

by FecoD | May 15 2015

Love the tool, please add vs 2015 support :)

by Gilbert_F | May 04 2015

by Davor Mas | March 04 2015

Great extension!

Just what I needed after my excursion to Eclipse for couple of months. ;)

by mist83 | January 20 2015

Interferes with default functionality of Ctrl+click, which highlights the whole word when clicked, making precision less important and saving me ~200-300 ms when I want to highlight a whole word.

While reaching for F12 wastes that same ~200-300 ms, it's far less likely (because it's explicit) to derail my current workflow than having to recover from accidentally navigating when I meant to be copying.

v2.5. ignores Ctrl+Shift+click because it has other bindings, but would propose that user can define key+click combo instead (I don't use default Ctrl+Shift functionality often, so for my workflow, Ctrl+Shift+click for F12 functionality might be useful).

by grundt | August 22 2014

Works well - very speedy ... the only trick is remembering that it's available

by hsinwei | July 05 2014

by Prateek Bhushan | May 05 2014

It is an awesome tool, however I have to degrade to VS2008, can I use it for that?

Noah Richards May 19 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Nope. VS2008 used a completely different editor and extensibility system, so this definitely won't work there. Sorry :(

by stabilopro | April 19 2014

by Jamie Collins | February 28 2014

A fantastic extension I've been using since VSS 2010 and have just installed VSS 2013.

In common with @a5Digital, I too would like a way of navigating 'Peek Definition' but wonder whether this functionality is exposed by the API. There is no mention of 'peek' in the docs for VSConstants.VSStd97CmdID (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/microsoft.visualstudio.vsconstants.vsstd97cmdid.aspx). So it doesn't seem possible - or am I missing something?

Noah Richards March 01 2014
| Edit |
Delete

It wouldn't be in the "97" set, since that was for VS 97, so waaaay too old :) Check the values in the vsstd12cmdid section, which has peek definition + peek navigate (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/microsoft.visualstudio.vsconstants.vsstd12cmdid.aspx).

by VolarVideo | February 25 2014

I wish this worked. Using VS2013 and GTD 2.5. I ctrl+click doesn't do anything. Ctrl+hover and the identifier turns into a hyperlink but when I click nothing happens.

Noah Richards February 25 2014
| Edit |
Delete

That's unfortunate. Can you point me (a comment in Q&A) at what GTD 2.5 is? It must somehow conflict with how the mouse event is handled, but I'm not sure how.

by Oleg V. Korzhukov | February 18 2014

Most useful extension I ever installed to VS

by Batu Ozk | January 15 2014

by iphilsy | January 03 2014

Thank you thank you thank you. Works great. You turned my frown upside-down!

by ITSTH | November 28 2013

For me it's the best plugin ever for visual studio. It's the fastest way of navigating. Just one suggestion: I think it would be nice if Ctrl+RightClick on a keyword triggered the search for references of a function.

by denis_stankovski | November 21 2013

Thank you so much!

by a5Digital | November 13 2013

I agree with most of these reviews - this extension is a must. However I there is so much more potential here which would leave me baffled if the author doesn't explore the possibility of augmenting this:

a) allow for another key combo + left click perform a peek definition
b) allow for another key combo + left click perform a find all references

If these are exposed via the API (and I believe they are), adding these features should be fairly trivial.

Noah Richards November 14 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Sending a different command would be pretty easy to add, yup. If you want it to be configurable, that's more difficult, but just hardcoding combinations wouldn't be bad.

If you're curious about implementing it yourself, the source is here: https://github.com/noahric/gotodef. The actual command logic is in DispatchGoToDef in GoToDefMouseHandler.cs, so you could probably modify that function (or add new functions) for peek or find all references. Since the extension is still built to be compatible with VS2010, you'd want to hardcode the cmdset/cmdid for peek definition and do a version check first, though.

If you have any questions, let me know on the Q&A!

by Daniel Joos | October 21 2013

Works with VS 2013. It just requires some manual work:
1. Download the .vsix file
2. Unzip it (e.g. using 7zip)
3. Open the vsixmanifest file and add the following block to line 22
<VisualStudio Version="12.0">
<Edition>Pro</Edition>
</VisualStudio>
4. Save and Zip all files again
5. Rename the .zip to .vsix and install it

Noah Richards November 10 2013
| Edit |
Delete

2.5 should now support VS2013. Let me know if you run into any issues, thanks!

1 - 20 of 69 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • VS 2015 support?
    4 Posts | Last post Sun 5:35 PM
    • Do you have plans to support VS2015?
    • I've modified current VSIX package (just added VS2015 support).
      
      You can download Go To Definition for Visual Studio 2015 here
      http://download.virtosoftware.com/Dev/GoToDefVS2015.zip
      
      Download, Unzip, Run GoToDefVS2015.vsix, restart Visual Studio and enjoy it.
    • Thanks Oleg. Your version works fine in VS2015 :)
    • thank you, love this tool. just installed it for 2015
  • VS 2015 support?
    1 Posts | Last post July 23, 2015
  • Extension not working in js file editor
    1 Posts | Last post May 20, 2015
    • how to make this extension works in JS file editor?
  • Go To "cref" Definition
    1 Posts | Last post April 27, 2015
    • I think this would be a very userful feature (at least for me): go to definition from XML comments like those:
         /// <summary>
         ///    A loader, that is responsible for retrieving XYZ from the database.
         ///       E.g: <see cref="MyLoaderClass"/>.
         /// </summary>
  • Go To Derive Definition
    2 Posts | Last post March 05, 2015
    • Will this extension allow me to go to the 'derived class'? for example, my code calls an interface method, can I peek/go-to-definition of the class which implemented the interface?
    • +1 for this feature.
  • Please change to Alt+Click in VS-2013
    2 Posts | Last post October 08, 2014
    • Sometimes I do want to promote to document rather than just peeking definition.
      Please refer and reply to this discussion:
      http://stackoverflow.com/questions/26247822/mouse-shortcut-for-go-to-definition
    • This extension was never updated, so I think you want to give that feedback to the VS team. Sorry!
      
      -Noah
  • Go to #region
    1 Posts | Last post August 25, 2014
    • For the next version, it is possible to implement the Ctrl + click on #regions to go to his #endregion and vice versa?
  • ctrl+click for "go to", ctrl+shift+click for "open peek window"
    1 Posts | Last post June 22, 2014
    • hi!
      is it possible that you add ctrl+shit+click to open peek window at location? (alt+f12)
      
  • Make the addin work with other windows like Output
    2 Posts | Last post June 02, 2014
    • I used to use the "Go to definition" feature of pre-2012 versions of Visual Studio to navigate identifiers that came from build errors (which happens excessively often when something goes wrong while comipiling templates).
      
      It is counter productive to have to copy/paste identifiers from the build output to a code window that does not deserve polluting, only to then use the addin.
      
      Would it be possible to make this addin work in the context of any text window, like the build output?
      
      Thanks
    • It may be possible, but definitely not straightforward. The extension itself doesn't actually do the "Go to definition" logic, it just basically triggers a press of F12 (the GoToDefinition command). If F12 does work in the output window, then it's just a matter of getting the extension there and figuring out what to underline on ctrl+mouseover.
      
      -Noah
  • Go To File
    1 Posts | Last post May 13, 2014
    • It would be nice if it did open includes (the equivalent of Ctrl+Shift+G).
      
      I also second that Ctrl+middle click should open peek
1 - 10 of 36 Items