Go To Definition

Free

Make ctrl+click perform a "Go To Definition" on the identifier under the cursor. Also, when the ctrl key is held down, highlight identifiers that look like they have definitions to navigate to.

(66) Review
Visual Studio
2013, 2012, 2010
Download (135,782)
11/10/2013
2.5
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (66)
Q and A (34)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by f00nth | October 04 2013

by Gameme | September 23 2013

Its awesome to get a navigation style similar to source insight. I love it.

by Stefanos Anastasiou | August 24 2013

This plugin is using a hack, which makes it unusable with DSLs.

The plugin, uses the following export type:

[ContentType("code")]

And in addition it tries to highlight and subsequently find symbol definitions, for every classification span which happens to have the following characters in them

if ((name.Contains("identifier") || name.Contains("user types")) &&
SetHighlightSpan(classification.Span))
{
updated = true;
return true;
}

i.e. "identifier", "user types"

I know of no language, which doesn't have an "identifier". So it is very probable that any DSL will not work with the plugin.

The funny thing is, that the plugin somehow managed to creep into power productivity tools 2012, and since everyone uses those, they also use the plugin.

We had to change our DSL in order to continue using the plugin..

The plugin should only support only languages which do support this feature natively, than trying to invoke "find symbol definitions" for all languages which happen to export an "identifier" token.

Noah Richards August 24 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Sadly, there wasn't a non-hacky way to implement the extension, and there's no way to determine which languages "support this feature natively". Since Go To Definition wasn't designed as a queryable command, the extension had to use some broad guessing at what has definitions, and it actually under guesses for certain scenarios (I remember one or two in VB, at least).

I'd be happy to at least modify this standalone version to avoid loading for documents that use your DSL language type and you could file a Connect bug to get it integrated back into the PPT extension . Fee free to either add a Q&A comment here or a github bug (https://github.com/noahric/gotodef/issues) with the details, or make the modifications yourself and send me a pull request on github.

by Code Buddha | August 07 2013

This made my day. You're awesome. Thanks!

by uonun | August 04 2013

by Petr Škaloud | May 15 2013

Exactly what I need :) Thanks a lot, it is great job.

by lioncall | December 22 2012

Great...thank you.

Having the option to open in Preview Tab would be wonderful!

by IrvingDoe | December 01 2012

Can't live without it!

by Paulius Žaliaduonis | November 09 2012

Useful.

by Shimmy Weitzhandler | October 31 2012

Great tool very useful!

I have another good suggestion:
When in debug, Ctrl + Click (or Ctrl + Right Click) should lead to Quick Watch.

Thanks Noah!

by Roberto Yglesias - Buildingi | October 30 2012

This should be a default functionality on VS by now...

Thanks for the contribution!

by tbomb80 | October 18 2012

Keep up the great work!

by Urbanion | September 21 2012

Should be as default feature.

by Muckrucker | September 18 2012

by Rudolf Grauberger | September 16 2012

Must have !!! :-)

by Andre.Ziegler | September 13 2012

absolutely must have extension for VS

by lucianomx | August 29 2012

Why isn't it default or at least native (configurable) in Visual Studio ?

by Cyril PERNOT_ | July 16 2012

Simple, but very useful :)

by JohnLeo Carton | July 07 2012

How did i survive without this!!!

by Mr. Wharty | June 08 2012

Brilliant little utility

21 - 40 of 66 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Extension not working in js file editor
    1 Posts | Last post Wed 8:48 AM
    • how to make this extension works in JS file editor?
  • Go To "cref" Definition
    1 Posts | Last post April 27, 2015
    • I think this would be a very userful feature (at least for me): go to definition from XML comments like those:
         /// <summary>
         ///    A loader, that is responsible for retrieving XYZ from the database.
         ///       E.g: <see cref="MyLoaderClass"/>.
         /// </summary>
  • Go To Derive Definition
    2 Posts | Last post March 05, 2015
    • Will this extension allow me to go to the 'derived class'? for example, my code calls an interface method, can I peek/go-to-definition of the class which implemented the interface?
    • +1 for this feature.
  • Please change to Alt+Click in VS-2013
    2 Posts | Last post October 08, 2014
    • Sometimes I do want to promote to document rather than just peeking definition.
      Please refer and reply to this discussion:
      http://stackoverflow.com/questions/26247822/mouse-shortcut-for-go-to-definition
    • This extension was never updated, so I think you want to give that feedback to the VS team. Sorry!
      
      -Noah
  • Go to #region
    1 Posts | Last post August 25, 2014
    • For the next version, it is possible to implement the Ctrl + click on #regions to go to his #endregion and vice versa?
  • ctrl+click for "go to", ctrl+shift+click for "open peek window"
    1 Posts | Last post June 22, 2014
    • hi!
      is it possible that you add ctrl+shit+click to open peek window at location? (alt+f12)
      
  • Make the addin work with other windows like Output
    2 Posts | Last post June 02, 2014
    • I used to use the "Go to definition" feature of pre-2012 versions of Visual Studio to navigate identifiers that came from build errors (which happens excessively often when something goes wrong while comipiling templates).
      
      It is counter productive to have to copy/paste identifiers from the build output to a code window that does not deserve polluting, only to then use the addin.
      
      Would it be possible to make this addin work in the context of any text window, like the build output?
      
      Thanks
    • It may be possible, but definitely not straightforward. The extension itself doesn't actually do the "Go to definition" logic, it just basically triggers a press of F12 (the GoToDefinition command). If F12 does work in the output window, then it's just a matter of getting the extension there and figuring out what to underline on ctrl+mouseover.
      
      -Noah
  • Go To File
    1 Posts | Last post May 13, 2014
    • It would be nice if it did open includes (the equivalent of Ctrl+Shift+G).
      
      I also second that Ctrl+middle click should open peek
  • Go to definition across different languages
    1 Posts | Last post November 28, 2013
    • I've had a problem for ages while working on a legacy site that was built in VB.NET and we've added C# projects to it.
      The problem seems to be that Go To Definition doesn't work across the projects. 
      I even tried setting up a test solution to see if the problem existed on a brand new one and it still did.
      
      I've tried all the solutions I've found on the net around using Project References and not File ones but nothing seems to work.
      
      Well, one thing works. ReSharper. Unfortunately, ReSharper is quite overkill just to get Go To Definition working properly...
      
      Is there any chance your extension could fix this bug and enable the Go To Definition (And Find Usages if possible :P) across projects?
  • Can this be modified to perform a Peek Definition?
    3 Posts | Last post November 20, 2013
    • I love this extension.
      
      Is it possible to have a different combo (perhaps CTRL+ALT + left click) do a peek definition in addition to the default CTRL + left click performing a goto definition?
    • Hey Noah.
      
      I'm not comfortable in making this change myself. Given your response to my review comments indicating that it wouldn't be too hard to implement peek definition and find all references with a non-configurable key combination, would you consider?
      
      Perhaps:
      CTRL + Left Click == goto def
      CTRL + Middle Click == peek definition
      CTRL + Right Click == find all references
      
      what do you think?
    • ...well now that MS's PPT 2013 extension is out, which can do a peek definition with the ctrl-click, I guess this request (and extension) is no longer needed...
      
      unless this one provides the ability to do both (peek and goto def) via different mouse buttons / key combo.
1 - 10 of 34 Items