Your extension will be available shortly on the Visual Studio Marketplace at this link.

Serene

Free

Serenity is an ASP.NET MVC / TypeScript application platform designed to simplify and shorten development of data-centric business applications with a service based architecture. Serene is a starter template to build Serenity applications.

5 Star
(80)
Visual Studio
2017, 2015, 2013, 2012
Download (380,542)
5/9/2017
2.9.23.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

5 Star
by Vinay B Kulkarni | November 04 2016

Awesome...
Just awesome,
Documentation is well written with examples...

5 Star
by wirble | November 03 2016

I have been using and testing this for about three weeks. So far I have been very impressed with this template and what Volkan had done. I am able to create a fairly complex form or atypical required form in a large departmental settings with relative ease. Out of the box, it creates very functional form data entries. I am able to configure it with decorators,hide and un-hide fields easily. I can probably meet 90 percent of all form data entry requirements with this tool. It can also generate excel and pdfs from html. The template is very structured and intuitive to learn. It's quite impressive.

The other 10 percent is where you need to modify it if you want to add things like workflows, ajax and web services lookup with autocomplete, generating pdf from server side with emails.

If your company needs lots of online forms, this is the tool to use.

5 Star
by 小拖 | October 05 2016

What‘s the password of admin?

Volkan Ceylan October 05 2016
| Edit |
Delete

it's "serenity" by default, please use Q&A for questions.

5 Star
by jlin423 | September 26 2016

Great framework, made development of our app faster

Volkan Ceylan September 28 2016
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks, but why changed previous review? I even used that one in serenity.is :)

5 Star
by P1xelF1end | September 08 2016

Great work! Such a time saver!

5 Star
by IzzetYildirim | September 06 2016

5 Star
by mijaved | August 28 2016

Its a complete solution for rapid development of CRUD application.
and gets itself updated with new technologies.

5 Star
by WalTor | August 25 2016

Good job dude! I´m using your template for several projects, this template is a lifesaver.

Thanks

5 Star
by blojayble | August 24 2016

Amazing template, amazing author!
Thank you, I hope to contribute to the project in the future.

5 Star
by fazardx | August 23 2016

fuck you, you have awesome template.. great job, salute for you..

5 Star
by RazorPx | August 01 2016

A W E S O M E

5 Star
by BravoSierra | July 25 2016

Excellent, it might be a replacement for Lightswitch projects. The tutorial is very well done, thanks.

5 Star
by MxChandler | July 23 2016

This is by far the best template for developing simple to complex web applications that look just as good on mobile as the desktop. I am totally impressed with the documentation, ease-of-use, and selection of underlying tech. This guy is "bad-ass" and I owe him for saving me from a lot of work under tight deadlines.

Some things are so good you don't want everyone to know about them ;)

I enjoy his commentary on Q And A as well. I would enjoy meeting the author someday!

5 Star
by M Lutzow | July 16 2016

+ Top notch application template.
+ Excellent documentation and tutorials that are frequently updated.
+ Frequent updates and enhancements to the product which work well with user written application.
+ Excellent support provided.

This template is superb, I've been using proprietary languages to code for the last number of years and am moving into newer technologies for development purposes. After reviewing multiple options to start with (both commercial and open source) I decided to use the SERENE Template. I consider this the best decision I could have made.

Having zero experience with C#, ASP.NET MVC 5, TypeScript and a number of the other tools used with this platform the well maintained documentation, provided tutorials, samples, and assistance from Mr. Volkan Ceylan and the user base of this product has lowered my learning curve and has broken some of those walls we all run into when using a new toolset.

Excellent product, outstanding support and documentation. Thank you for a superb product to use.

5 Star
by frankolo85 | July 15 2016

5 Star
by Clyde Kent | July 13 2016

Absolutely top notch!

5 Star
by Nobatgeldi | July 08 2016

5 Star
by zakaj | June 21 2016

This project sample is great, but i'm pretty sure a virus got attached to this project file somehow. They need to look into it because I've restored my computer 3 times and every time I download this file my sql server authorization services stop working, and also Norton antivirus keeps catching stuff after I download this file.

Volkan Ceylan June 22 2016
| Edit |
Delete

And I'm pretty sure its a false alarm.

https://www.virustotal.com/en/file/01c3d65d585beb81b8855efaaadc905b68afaf929febd0740c8de8e0c27c39a8/analysis/1466591052/

5 Star
by mh5775 | June 19 2016

best asp application template
saving lot of time and effort to start a new web application
thank you

5 Star
by HoangITK | June 17 2016

1 - 20 of 71 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Editor type is null in MasterDetails and $knownTypes
    6 Posts | Last post November 14, 2016
    • I am trying to setup the MasterDetailRelation as I did before but it's giving me this error in console: "Can't find xxxEditor editor type!"
      
      The code points to where: 
      var editorType = $Serenity_EditorTypeRegistry.$knownTypes[key.toLowerCase()];
      
      The list of knownTypes doesn't include any of my newly generated tables?  I have generated everything through Sergen as before, where does the program discover the new editor and add it into this list of knownTypes?
      
      Thanks
    • I have rebuild and transform already.  I tried to trace some of the code and it looks like it's it gets added where suffix is "editor".  I am assuming it gets register with the @Serenity.Decorators.registerClass() in the typescript.  I am not sure why they are missing?
    • Your type must have registerEditor, must be in correct namespace, not lowercase, etc. If it works for other editors in code but not yours you need to spot differencesi
    • Its odd.  I don't know if I did something different.  But I named the module cccDB and it didn't show up in the knowntypes, however, I deleted, and recreated and renamed with a longer module name and it works.  Maybe I typed something wrong the first time...?
    • Namespaces must start with uppercase letter
    • Ahhhh...thank you!
  • Is there any requirements/limitations for IE Version?
    4 Posts | Last post November 14, 2016
    • Dear Volkan,
      
      For the developed web-applications based on the Serenity template, I wonder if there is requirements/limitation for IE browser version, as well as other Chrome/Firefox/etc.
      
      
      Thanks,
      Harry
       
    • IE11+
    • Many Thanks Volkan, I got it.
       
      
      In addition, can I develop the android/iOS apps through the serenity template, if possible, is there any similar development guideline?
      
      Thanks,
      Harry  
    • No, there is no such sample or support. You may call services only, search issues in GitHub.
  • displayname, labels and the placeholder
    7 Posts | Last post November 14, 2016
    • Any reason why the the displayname, labels and the placeholder showing as:
      
      Db.Administration.User.Username
      Controls.Quicjserach.placeholder 
      Controls.Quicjserach.Hint
      
      and many other displayname and labels Controls.EntityDialog.SaveButton or NewButton!!!!
      
      What I've done wrong?
      
    • Check handler mappings, IIS
    • What to check exactly? I have not done any changes to IIS and it was showing the text correctly!
    • !! Yes i came and broke your app, EXCLAMATION!!
    • OK without EXCLAMATION, I've the original template ruining in a different virtual directory without this issue (all the text are showing just fine)
      
      So I'm wondering what is wrong with my application? if it's the IIS handler mapping why the original template is working fine?
      
      
    • In additional to that I've an old backup for the project, when I set the IIS path to the old backup it works fine and the text is showing correctly.
    • Check the naming on the html files and the reference files for the placeholders. You probably renamed something and it's just defaulting to the internal reference. For example: If you go to the CustomerIndex.cshtml from Northwind and change the local text to "DB.Northwind.Customers.EntityPlural"you'll notice that when you go to that page, the page name on the tab has the placeholder instead of the proper name. 
      
      Chances are you renamed something like "User" to "Users" review your changes relevant to those fields and you'll find it. 
  • Error in SqlErrorStore
    2 Posts | Last post November 13, 2016
    •  public override string Name => "Serenity Sql Error Store";
      
      In this point returns an error
      "there is provided a semicolon"
      Sorry but I just can not understand why, I've updated typescript and no way to remove this error
      Thank you
      Fabrizio
    • It's not TypeScript code, it's CS. You probably don't have VS2015.
      
              public override string Name
              {
                  get
                  {
                      return "Serenity Sql Error Store";
                  }
              }
      
  • window.open in ts
    4 Posts | Last post November 13, 2016
    • Dear,
      I want to use window.open in xxxxGrid.ts to open a new window to display a report for the selected customer, this what I have done:
      
            protected getColumns(): Slick.Column[] {
                  var columns = super.getColumns();
                  var fld = Students.CustRow.Fields;
                  Q.first(columns, x => x.field == fld.CID).format =           
                      ctx => `<a href="javascript:;" class="sdetails-link">${Q.htmlEncode(ctx.value)}</a>`;
                  return columns;
              }
      
              protected onClick(e: JQueryEventObject, row: number, cell: number): void {
                  super.onClick(e, row, cell);
                  if (e.isDefaultPrevented()) {
                      return;
                  }
                  var item = this.itemAt(row);
                  var target = $(e.target);
      
                  if (target.hasClass("sdetails-link")) {
                      e.preventDefault();
      //// **** To add the a javascript code to open new window by sending the selected item.CID to the new page.
      
                  }
              }
      
      any idea how to do that?
      
      Thanks
      
    • Up:)
    • Please help:(
    • It's window.open in TypeScript too, what kind of help do you expect?
  • Filter records by User email address
    6 Posts | Last post November 12, 2016
    • Hi Volkan,
      
      I am working on an overtime log for staff. I want to be able to filter the overtime records on the dialog using the staff email address.
      
      Any guide will be appreciated.
      
      Regards
    • Sorry was the typescript version, I solved
      Fabrizio
    • Ok sorry I was wrong post
    • I am working on an overtime log for staff. I want to be able to filter the overtime records on the grid using the staff email address so that the it only shows the records for the user that logged in....
      
    • Override ApplyFilters in your ListHandler, query.Where(fld.Email == usersEmailFromUserDefinition)
    • Thank you.
  • Urgent: Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found)
    2 Posts | Last post November 12, 2016
    • The project was working fine, suddenly it producing the below error on the runtime:
      
      Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found)
      
      http://localhost/Portal/Services/Students/Enrollment/List
      
      Not sure what is the above folder, I have no folder called Services or List!
      
      I just have /Students/Enrollment which has an index page to view the students grid view.
      
       
    • What are you doing at that address, its the service URL for your endpoint.cs, move to /Portal
  • Last Error
    2 Posts | Last post November 12, 2016
    • error :
      
      public override string Name => ("Serenity Sql Error Store");
      
      Request ';' 
      
      I don't understand
      Fabrizio
    • Install TypeScript 
  • error on start Expected ';'
    2 Posts | Last post November 12, 2016
    • Hello, I am following the tutorial Serenity developer guides, I installed Serenity on visual studio 2013. I followed the tutorial to the first launch of the application, but I returned in 1000 errors:
      Expected ';'
      Unexpected token. Expected 'instruction
      Character "@" Unexpected '
      
      Thanks
    • Sorry was the typescript version, I solved
      Fabrizio
  • Customize the home screen
    4 Posts | Last post November 11, 2016
    • Hi There,
      
      How do I remove the dashboard from the Home screen when entering on the App? I'd like to keep the dashboard on the menu as an option, but create a customized UI to stand on the Home Page.
      
      I didn't find the routes that point out to the Dashboard when the App is starting, and I'm not sure if I create a new module by my own it could replace the dashboard.
      
      Regards,
      
      Marcos.
    • Remove Route("~/") from DashboardController, and put it in your new dashboard.
    • Thanks!
      
      And how do I set this page to be a simple plain html (os cshtml) file? (instead of a complex dashboard with backend code running)
      
      I made some tests here in Visual Studio creating some views and trying to access'em, but saw 404 errors all the time. It seems lacking a reference somewhere.
    • Please read some asp.net mvc book
1 - 10 of 643 Items