Your extension will be available shortly on the Visual Studio Marketplace at this link.

Serene

Free

Serenity is an ASP.NET MVC / TypeScript application platform designed to simplify and shorten development of data-centric business applications with a service based architecture. Serene is a starter template to build Serenity applications.

5 Star
(80)
Visual Studio
2017, 2015, 2013, 2012
Download (383,630)
5/9/2017
2.9.23.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

5 Star
by reginold15 | June 17 2016

great app. kudos to the development team.

5 Star
by S.April | June 13 2016

Unbelievable !!!

5 Star
by James Alan White | June 07 2016

Love it! What a productivity enhancer at work! Volkan, next time you are in The Hague, Netherlands, let me know so I can buy you dinner and a few drinks to show my appreciation!

James White

5 Star
by mindfreak93 | June 07 2016

5 Star
by Sesesese87 | June 06 2016

5 Star
by gege444 | June 04 2016

Very good mvc app for development.
Thank you very much for making this software free
and updated. Very much appreciated your effort and time.

I'm currently reading the Movie tutorial.


BTW..if i have some question, do i need to post it here
or you have a separate forum?

Thanks again!

Volkan Ceylan June 04 2016
| Edit |
Delete

You can use here, but github issues are preferred. Thanks.

5 Star
by ARUNARAMESH | May 31 2016

Thumbs Up this is for Excellent Design.
Thumbs Up this is for Excellent Code.
Thumbs Up this is for Excellent MVC Involvement.
Thumbs Up this is for Excellent Localization.
Thumbs Up this is for Form and Code Reuseable.

Thumbs Up this for the Excellence.
Thank you Boss

Looking for Tutorials.

Volkan Ceylan June 02 2016
| Edit |
Delete

Thumbs up for great review ;) Tutorials are coming. First need to update existing ones for TypeScript.

5 Star
by Mustafa TURKOGLU | May 25 2016

Real world application. End To End solution. A+ value for developers.
Çok iyi bir çalışma. Paylaştığınız için teşekkürler.

Volkan Ceylan May 28 2016
| Edit |
Delete

Teşekkürler güzel değerlendirmeniz için

5 Star
by Ramon B | May 24 2016

Fantastic template with a very good documentation. Good Job !!

Volkan Ceylan May 28 2016
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks a lot Ramon

5 Star
by sql_developer | May 22 2016

Impresionante, cuanto han avanzado! lo baje en Abril(2.0.4) y me encanto! y ahora ya están en 2.2 con TypeScript!, lo probaré, las nuevas características descritas en el Log se ven geniales!
Impressive, have advanced! it down in April (2.0.4) and I loved it! and now they are already in 2.2 with typescript !, I will prove it, the new features described in the log look great!
--
Pero, estimado Volkan, en la realidad, los sistemas son multiempresas, normalmente en la ventana de Logueo escoges una de las empresas de una lista. Quiero migrar usando Serenity, pero faltaría esa gran característica, ojala próximamente, lo incluyan.
But, dear Volkan, in reality, the systems are multicompanies, usually in the login window, choose one of the companies from a list (permissions granted by the system administrator). I want to migrate using Serenity, but miss this great feature, hopefully soon, you include this feature.
--
Un gran abrazo, a descargar la nueva version y probarla! Por favor sigan que uno aprende mucho de ustedes maestros.
A big hug, now download the new version and try it! Please continue! We learn a lot from you.
--
Saludos desde Perú.
Greetings from Peru.

Volkan Ceylan May 22 2016
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks, currently rewriting tutorials, i'll try to add that tenant selection sample to login screen

5 Star
by PROBLEMAS 4TA ESTRELLA | May 13 2016

Great job

Volkan Ceylan May 16 2016
| Edit |
Delete

Gracias.

5 Star
by d_faruque | May 13 2016

I think this is the best platform ever for developing data centric web apps.
I love it so much.
Thank you.

Volkan Ceylan May 16 2016
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks Faruque!

5 Star
by czeng | May 09 2016

Volkan Ceylan May 09 2016
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks!

5 Star
by jcyamacho | May 06 2016

Volkan Ceylan May 09 2016
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks jcyamacho!

5 Star
by vijay_sg | May 03 2016

love it

Volkan Ceylan May 09 2016
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks vijay!

5 Star
by BugmoDave | April 29 2016

Thank you Mr. Ceylan for this. Very easy to use; extremely well-documented. I wish there were more stars to give.

Volkan Ceylan May 09 2016
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks Dave

5 Star
by Rodolfo Ricardo | April 29 2016

Simply good work.
Regards.

Volkan Ceylan May 09 2016
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks Rodolfo, regards as well.

5 Star
by stadled | April 20 2016

Top notch keep up the good work and thanks for sharing!

Volkan Ceylan April 20 2016
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks, i'll try ;)

5 Star
by Yann Duran | March 27 2016

I'm still working my way through the Developer Guide, but Serenity is an absolutely fantastic idea, well thought out and well executed.

It's kind of like "open source LightSwitch", but with far more control and focused on developers as opposed to mainly point and click users.

An great template extension (Serene) for an absolutely stellar platform (Serenity).

Great work Volkan!

Volkan Ceylan March 28 2016
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks Duran, very accurate depictions about LightSwitch.

5 Star
by Scott Cottingham | March 23 2016

After 2 months of searching for a base starting framework for our new case management project, I ran across Serenity. Let me just say that I am super impressed with the modularity and systematic approach of your framework. You have done an excellent job of allowing the programmer to remain in C# to manipulate the UI and javascript functionality (all with intellisense too). Our team is now getting up to speed with customizations and we love how quickly all the base screens and CRUD operations are generated as well as how easily UI changes can be made through annotations and simple code snippets rather than being bogged down in the usual HTML and CSS hell. We were also pretty blown away by all the features and kept noticing more code that we didn't have to write. I look forward to joining in and contributing to this project. Excellent work!

Volkan Ceylan March 23 2016
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks a lot for nice review. I look forward to more contributors too.

21 - 40 of 71 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Editor type is null in MasterDetails and $knownTypes
    6 Posts | Last post November 14, 2016
    • I am trying to setup the MasterDetailRelation as I did before but it's giving me this error in console: "Can't find xxxEditor editor type!"
      
      The code points to where: 
      var editorType = $Serenity_EditorTypeRegistry.$knownTypes[key.toLowerCase()];
      
      The list of knownTypes doesn't include any of my newly generated tables?  I have generated everything through Sergen as before, where does the program discover the new editor and add it into this list of knownTypes?
      
      Thanks
    • I have rebuild and transform already.  I tried to trace some of the code and it looks like it's it gets added where suffix is "editor".  I am assuming it gets register with the @Serenity.Decorators.registerClass() in the typescript.  I am not sure why they are missing?
    • Your type must have registerEditor, must be in correct namespace, not lowercase, etc. If it works for other editors in code but not yours you need to spot differencesi
    • Its odd.  I don't know if I did something different.  But I named the module cccDB and it didn't show up in the knowntypes, however, I deleted, and recreated and renamed with a longer module name and it works.  Maybe I typed something wrong the first time...?
    • Namespaces must start with uppercase letter
    • Ahhhh...thank you!
  • Is there any requirements/limitations for IE Version?
    4 Posts | Last post November 14, 2016
    • Dear Volkan,
      
      For the developed web-applications based on the Serenity template, I wonder if there is requirements/limitation for IE browser version, as well as other Chrome/Firefox/etc.
      
      
      Thanks,
      Harry
       
    • IE11+
    • Many Thanks Volkan, I got it.
       
      
      In addition, can I develop the android/iOS apps through the serenity template, if possible, is there any similar development guideline?
      
      Thanks,
      Harry  
    • No, there is no such sample or support. You may call services only, search issues in GitHub.
  • displayname, labels and the placeholder
    7 Posts | Last post November 14, 2016
    • Any reason why the the displayname, labels and the placeholder showing as:
      
      Db.Administration.User.Username
      Controls.Quicjserach.placeholder 
      Controls.Quicjserach.Hint
      
      and many other displayname and labels Controls.EntityDialog.SaveButton or NewButton!!!!
      
      What I've done wrong?
      
    • Check handler mappings, IIS
    • What to check exactly? I have not done any changes to IIS and it was showing the text correctly!
    • !! Yes i came and broke your app, EXCLAMATION!!
    • OK without EXCLAMATION, I've the original template ruining in a different virtual directory without this issue (all the text are showing just fine)
      
      So I'm wondering what is wrong with my application? if it's the IIS handler mapping why the original template is working fine?
      
      
    • In additional to that I've an old backup for the project, when I set the IIS path to the old backup it works fine and the text is showing correctly.
    • Check the naming on the html files and the reference files for the placeholders. You probably renamed something and it's just defaulting to the internal reference. For example: If you go to the CustomerIndex.cshtml from Northwind and change the local text to "DB.Northwind.Customers.EntityPlural"you'll notice that when you go to that page, the page name on the tab has the placeholder instead of the proper name. 
      
      Chances are you renamed something like "User" to "Users" review your changes relevant to those fields and you'll find it. 
  • Error in SqlErrorStore
    2 Posts | Last post November 13, 2016
    •  public override string Name => "Serenity Sql Error Store";
      
      In this point returns an error
      "there is provided a semicolon"
      Sorry but I just can not understand why, I've updated typescript and no way to remove this error
      Thank you
      Fabrizio
    • It's not TypeScript code, it's CS. You probably don't have VS2015.
      
              public override string Name
              {
                  get
                  {
                      return "Serenity Sql Error Store";
                  }
              }
      
  • window.open in ts
    4 Posts | Last post November 13, 2016
    • Dear,
      I want to use window.open in xxxxGrid.ts to open a new window to display a report for the selected customer, this what I have done:
      
            protected getColumns(): Slick.Column[] {
                  var columns = super.getColumns();
                  var fld = Students.CustRow.Fields;
                  Q.first(columns, x => x.field == fld.CID).format =           
                      ctx => `<a href="javascript:;" class="sdetails-link">${Q.htmlEncode(ctx.value)}</a>`;
                  return columns;
              }
      
              protected onClick(e: JQueryEventObject, row: number, cell: number): void {
                  super.onClick(e, row, cell);
                  if (e.isDefaultPrevented()) {
                      return;
                  }
                  var item = this.itemAt(row);
                  var target = $(e.target);
      
                  if (target.hasClass("sdetails-link")) {
                      e.preventDefault();
      //// **** To add the a javascript code to open new window by sending the selected item.CID to the new page.
      
                  }
              }
      
      any idea how to do that?
      
      Thanks
      
    • Up:)
    • Please help:(
    • It's window.open in TypeScript too, what kind of help do you expect?
  • Filter records by User email address
    6 Posts | Last post November 12, 2016
    • Hi Volkan,
      
      I am working on an overtime log for staff. I want to be able to filter the overtime records on the dialog using the staff email address.
      
      Any guide will be appreciated.
      
      Regards
    • Sorry was the typescript version, I solved
      Fabrizio
    • Ok sorry I was wrong post
    • I am working on an overtime log for staff. I want to be able to filter the overtime records on the grid using the staff email address so that the it only shows the records for the user that logged in....
      
    • Override ApplyFilters in your ListHandler, query.Where(fld.Email == usersEmailFromUserDefinition)
    • Thank you.
  • Urgent: Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found)
    2 Posts | Last post November 12, 2016
    • The project was working fine, suddenly it producing the below error on the runtime:
      
      Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found)
      
      http://localhost/Portal/Services/Students/Enrollment/List
      
      Not sure what is the above folder, I have no folder called Services or List!
      
      I just have /Students/Enrollment which has an index page to view the students grid view.
      
       
    • What are you doing at that address, its the service URL for your endpoint.cs, move to /Portal
  • Last Error
    2 Posts | Last post November 12, 2016
    • error :
      
      public override string Name => ("Serenity Sql Error Store");
      
      Request ';' 
      
      I don't understand
      Fabrizio
    • Install TypeScript 
  • error on start Expected ';'
    2 Posts | Last post November 12, 2016
    • Hello, I am following the tutorial Serenity developer guides, I installed Serenity on visual studio 2013. I followed the tutorial to the first launch of the application, but I returned in 1000 errors:
      Expected ';'
      Unexpected token. Expected 'instruction
      Character "@" Unexpected '
      
      Thanks
    • Sorry was the typescript version, I solved
      Fabrizio
  • Customize the home screen
    4 Posts | Last post November 11, 2016
    • Hi There,
      
      How do I remove the dashboard from the Home screen when entering on the App? I'd like to keep the dashboard on the menu as an option, but create a customized UI to stand on the Home Page.
      
      I didn't find the routes that point out to the Dashboard when the App is starting, and I'm not sure if I create a new module by my own it could replace the dashboard.
      
      Regards,
      
      Marcos.
    • Remove Route("~/") from DashboardController, and put it in your new dashboard.
    • Thanks!
      
      And how do I set this page to be a simple plain html (os cshtml) file? (instead of a complex dashboard with backend code running)
      
      I made some tests here in Visual Studio creating some views and trying to access'em, but saw 404 errors all the time. It seems lacking a reference somewhere.
    • Please read some asp.net mvc book
1 - 10 of 643 Items