SlowCheetah - XML Transforms

Free

This package enables you to transform your app.config or any other XML file based on the build configuration. It also adds additional tooling to help you create XML transforms.. Written by: Sayed Ibrahim Hashimi, Chuck England and Bill Hiebert

(121) Review
Visual Studio
2013, 2012, 2010
Download (180,014)
7/20/2014
2.5.11
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (121)
Q and A (240)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by CloudKarthik | April 22 2014

SlowCheetah doesn't work with Windows azure Web/worker Role projects.

by maskey | April 17 2014

by Mathias Colpaert | April 01 2014

SlowCheetah might be a bit buggy to set up, but once it works its great!

by Michael A. Duncan | March 28 2014

Conflicts with ReSharper 8.1. Had to Suspend and Resume Resharper because I could not edit any file after applying a template

by Craig Brett (JP) | March 25 2014

I spent an afternoon trying to get this going for a team project. After a fair while thrashing with the already-mentioned "The SlowCheetah.Xdt.TransformXml" task could not be loaded from the assembly" problem, I eventually solved it by deleting the %localappdata%\Microsoft\MsBuild\Slowcheetah folder and it semed to resolve itself on my local machine and I was allowed to build and run stuff. I then deployed this to my colleagues who didn't have the plugin, under the impression that the NuGet package would make everything alright. No joy, regardless of what I tried. I'm now having to see if I can hand-roll a solution for changing config settings for people. Gets 2 stars because I like the idea and it kind of worked on my machine.

by Daniel Castenholz | February 07 2014

Nice integration with VS. Makes a chore much more manageable.

by Spesimensen | January 30 2014

Excelent tool! Thank you very much.

by Leonidas1 | December 06 2013

by AranV | November 27 2013

by 2Toad | November 23 2013

An invaluable addition to Visual Studio! Totally beats editing project files by hand. Well done!

by schleeke | November 11 2013

by Eric A. Duesing | November 01 2013

by Christoffer Johnsson | November 01 2013

Very nice tool, keep up the good work.

FYI to all people that get's build errors and use Ncrunch. You must include the package in Ncrunch, else you will get build errors.

http://tech.pro/blog/1586/making-ncrunch-build-projects-that-use-slowcheetah

Version 2.5.10.1 works well with ncrunch, version 2.5.10.2 and 2.5.10.3 doesn't.

by ankgupta067 | November 01 2013

facing error -
Error 1 The "SlowCheetah.Xdt.TransformXml" task could not be loaded from the assembly C:\Users\SESA254846\AppData\Local\Microsoft\MSBuild\SlowCheetah\v2.5.10\SlowCheetah.Xdt.dll. Could not load file or assembly 'file:///C:\Users\SESA254846\AppData\Local\Microsoft\MSBuild\SlowCheetah\v2.5.10\SlowCheetah.Xdt.dll' or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified. Confirm that the <UsingTask> declaration is correct, that the assembly and all its dependencies are available, and that the task contains a public class that implements Microsoft.Build.Framework.ITask. ConsoleApplication2

by WorkAByte | October 22 2013

amazing, cant believe I haven't found this sooner!
thanks for the simply awesome plug in

by e.sabbadin | September 19 2013

It works in vsnet 2012, but NOT on the TFS build server. I did not installed the plugin on the built server
I expected that the plugin was required only in the configuration phase, not to trigger the magic
, that is that it used the native xmltrasform features .. isn0t it the case ?

Sayed-Ibrahim-Hashimi September 21 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Hi e.sabbadin, when you install SlowCheetah into a project there is a message in the package manager console regarding build server support. Because of the way NuGet package restore is implemented there is some additional steps that need to be taken. You can read more info on how to enable that at http://sedodream.com/2012/12/24/SlowCheetahBuildServerSupportUpdated.aspx.

by Ed Schimmel | September 13 2013

It really annoys me that after an upgrade Slow Cheetah suddenly stopped working. In the first instance I was really pleased with this tool, but I can not use it when it is this buggy. It is a shame that there are no other tools doing the transformations, as far as I know.

Sayed-Ibrahim-Hashimi September 14 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Did you file a question in Q&A regarding your issue?

FYI please don't expect each release to be bug free. This is a one man project so I rely on the community to help in reporting issues when they arise.

by Mohammad Azis Fatoni | September 13 2013

by Pbsharper | September 06 2013

Highly recommended!
Used it for polyglot (f# c#) project. Worked without a hitch!

by zendu | September 06 2013

Release 2.5.7.1 simply sucks. It cannot even build project by throwing error - Could not copy the file"...exe.config" because it was not found.

PS: I wonder why there is no way to download earlier versions. It would at least made it easy to downgrade. With corporate firewall blocking NuGet packages, I am left with no options but to uninstall SlowCheetah and wait for next release that will fix the issue. So bad!

Sayed-Ibrahim-Hashimi September 14 2013
| Edit |
Delete

Sorry I had some issues with 2.5.7.1. Things should be better with 2.5.8, can you try and let me know? FYI regarding installing older versions you can always use the NuGet package manager console to install a specific version of the build support.

21 - 40 of 121 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Cannot replace root node
    3 Posts | Last post February 07, 2015
    • Hi,
      
      I want to add transforms to an EPiServer license file. However, for this to be maintainable I need to replace all content in License.config. When I'm adding xdt:Transform="Replace" to the root node I get the following error:
      
      "Could not write Destination file: Cannot insert the node in the specified location."
      
      This applies to any file except Web.config. Any thoughts on this?
    • I am attempting to do the exact same thing with the exact same result.  Any update on this question?
    • Can anyone please tell me solution for this.I really need to get this done
  • Support for Web Setup Projects and MSI installer?
    1 Posts | Last post February 04, 2015
    • I know this supports the "Publish" option for deployment of Web Applications but does it work with Web Setup Projects?
      
      VS 2013 extension ... https://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/9abe329c-9bba-44a1-be59-0fbf6151054d
      
      I need to build an MSI installer for deployment.
  • Inheritance/Copying
    1 Posts | Last post February 02, 2015
    • Hey, I need some help.
      
      I have 7-8 XML transformations, each of them belonging to DEBUG or RELEASE 'group'. I have a BASE Debug transform and a BASE Release transform. All other transforms are based on one of these two transforms, so I have to perform many copy/paste procedures to 'derive' more specific XML Transform. 
      
      I would like to avoid copying/pasting and have some kind of 'inheritance', is it possible to achieve this with SlowCheetah or plain XSLT? I am new to XSLT, so any references to XSLT would be appreciated as well.
  • What options is available for VS 2013 for Web?
    1 Posts | Last post January 30, 2015
    • Hi Sayed. I have a VS solution containing several projects being worked on by several developers via TFS/GIT mode. We require XML transformations for App.config and Web.config.
      
      I tried installing via the download link above but was told my product is not supported. Is there a different solution for VS 2013 for Web?
  • Why "Debug" and "Release"?
    3 Posts | Last post January 12, 2015
    • I want to create transforms for each of our environments (e.g. "Dev", "QA", "Prod") and name them accordingly.  Having transforms named after the build configuration (e.g. "Debug" or "Release") doesn't work for us.  How can I set that up?
    • You can name your build configurations "Dev, QA, Prod", once you have done that, then transform the app.config file and it will take the name of the build configs.
    • Sorry Michael for the intrusion but I had the same issue.
      
      Harag9,
      
      I already did what you suggested but still only Debug and Release are getting transformed.  Once I use the environment specific config, the environment specific config files is just being copied instead of merging and transforming it with the main app.config.
  • xmlns="" in WMAppManifest.xml
    1 Posts | Last post November 29, 2014
    • Hi All, 
      I've noticed the the presence of the xmlns="" attribute in the <App> element in the Windows phone WMAppManifest.xml causes the transformations to fail.  When xmlns="" is removed the transformations work but the app will not build and deploy.  Any ideas how I can get round this?
      Thanks,
      Kevin
  • How to Update AppSetting
    1 Posts | Last post November 21, 2014
    • Hi ,i had used this tranform,but i wanna update a appsetting ,how to got it  
  • Could not load file or assembly Microsoft.Web.XmlTransform
    1 Posts | Last post November 07, 2014
    • We want to use SlowCheetah on developers computers without SlowCheetah installing. In this case we made following steps:
      - Copy files SlowCheetah.Transforms.targets, SlowCheetah.Xdt.dll, Microsoft.Web.XmlTransform.dll to specified folder in solution
      - Modify the project file: "<SlowCheetahTargets>$(MSBuildProjectDirectory)\..\SlowCheetah\SlowCheetah.Transforms.targets</SlowCheetahTargets>
      "
      - Reload project
      - Uninstall SlowCheetah extension
      
      We have occured following error after rebuild project:
      Error	68	The "SlowCheetah.Xdt.TransformXml" task failed unexpectedly.
      System.IO.FileNotFoundException: Could not load file or assembly 'Microsoft.Web.XmlTransform, Version=1.2.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b03f5f7f11d50a3a' or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified.
      
      How to fix it?
  • Could not open Transform File
    1 Posts | Last post October 22, 2014
    • We have a VS2010 solution that we are converting to VS2012. There is one project that is giving us problems. The project is a ClickOnce WPF application that does not have a web.config file (as expected). It has an app.config file with all of the relevant target transformation files already. When we try to build the project then we get the following error:
      
      Could not open Transform file: Could not find file 'C:\Develop\Source\Rnd\FleetView\Development\FleetView\FleetView\Web.Development.config'.
      
      Any suggestions?  TIA!
      
  • support for Azure package for web roles
    1 Posts | Last post October 08, 2014
    • is there support for Azure web role package. I have a custom xml which needs to change based on build configuration. When i build the solution correct xml transformation happens. But and when i create a package for azure web role the transformation does not happen does SlowCheetah support azure web role package?
1 - 10 of 240 Items