SlowCheetah - XML Transforms


This package enables you to transform your app.config or any other XML file based on the build configuration. It also adds additional tooling to help you create XML transforms.. Written by: Sayed Ibrahim Hashimi, Chuck England and Bill Hiebert

(137) Review
Visual Studio
2013, 2012, 2010
Download (203,972)
E-mail Twitter Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Reviews (137)
Q and A (253)
Sign in to write a review

Be the first to write a review.

Sign in to start a discussion

  • .Config files and Source Control
    1 Posts | Last post November 15, 2015
    • Using TFS source control
      The .config files used for Transforms do not appear to be under Source Control
      1. TFS is set up to include *.config files
      2 app.config is in Source Control
  • SlowCheetah XML transform app.config at deploy stage
    2 Posts | Last post October 19, 2015
    • Hi all, 
      I use SlowCheetah 2.5.15 with VS2015 to manage an app.config file for a Win8.1 universal app in order to manage connectionStrings based on build config. Everything is ok about the transformation but at the deploy stage the wrong file is publish to the ..\AppX\ folder - i.e. the default app.config (with no transformation) is published ! Does anyone have a solution. 
      It seems that the target _ComputeAppxPackagePayload building _UnfilteredAppxPackagePayload and _CalculateInputsForGenerateAppxPackageRecipe list building _GenerateAppxPackageRecipeInput list contains the wrong file. This lead to have a (my app is HelloWorld) with the wrong file - i.e. the app.config with non transformation ! 
      Thx for your help. Let me know if you need the complete build log or file. 
    • Hi opierrat, 
      Did you ever solve your problem?
  • Transformed XML no longer deployed via Web Deploy
    3 Posts | Last post October 19, 2015
    • For years I've been working on project that uses SlowCheetah to transform XML files for on screen text. 
      During the Web Deploy process for Windows Azure - the files are transformed, copied to ASPNETCompileMerge, packaged and delivered to my Azure website. Nice and simple. 
      Recently this process has stopped working.
      The files are clearly transformed and copied to the bin/app_data folder correctly. But when I take a look at the obj/BUILDXXX/Source/ASPNETCompileMerge/Source/App_Data I only see the untransformed version of XML document.
      From there the wrong xml file is packaged and deployed to the server.
      Any ideas? Comments? Anything? I've spent 5 full days trying to figure it out and I'm no closer now than when I started.
    • Hi Justin,
      I have the same problem! 
      Everything worked fine and now it stopped working. 
      Did you find a solution?
    • Sorry for the delay. Sorry, I never did find a solution. It's been a few weeks, did you find anything?
  • How to configure for TFS2015?
    1 Posts | Last post October 09, 2015
    • Has anyone found any article explaining how to make this awesome product work on TFS2015 as part of a team build?
  • Need SlowCheetah Installation Help
    3 Posts | Last post September 22, 2015
    • On a newly installed Visual Studio 2013 (Windows Server 2012), I have created a new Console project, then installed SlowCheetah 2.5.15 using the NuGet manager. I right-click on App.config file but I don't see the "Transform" menu option as I expect. The same happens in Visual Studio 2015. This has worked for me on other boxes. Any suggestions on how to debug this? 
    • fwiw, here is the Package Manager output after installing SC 2.5.15:
      Attempting to gather dependencies information for package 'SlowCheetah.2.5.15' with respect to project 'ConsoleApplication1', targeting '.NETFramework,Version=v4.5.2'
      Attempting to resolve dependencies for package 'SlowCheetah.2.5.15' with DependencyBehavior 'Lowest'
      Resolving actions to install package 'SlowCheetah.2.5.15'
      Resolved actions to install package 'SlowCheetah.2.5.15'
      For adding package 'SlowCheetah.2.5.15' to project 'ConsoleApplication1' that targets 'net452'.
      For adding package 'SlowCheetah.2.5.15' to project 'ConsoleApplication1' that targets 'net452'.
      Adding package 'SlowCheetah.2.5.15' to folder 'c:\users\<name obscured>\documents\visual studio 2015\Projects\ConsoleApplication1\packages'
      Added package 'SlowCheetah.2.5.15' to folder 'c:\users\<name obscured>\documents\visual studio 2015\Projects\ConsoleApplication1\packages'
      Added file 'SlowCheetah.Transforms.targets' to folder 'Properties\SlowCheetah'.
      Added file 'Properties\SlowCheetah\SlowCheetah.Transforms.targets' to project 'ConsoleApplication1'.
      Added package 'SlowCheetah.2.5.15' to 'packages.config'
      Added file 'packages.config' to project 'ConsoleApplication1'.
      For adding package 'SlowCheetah.2.5.15' to project 'ConsoleApplication1' that targets 'net452'.
      Executing script file 'c:\users\<name obscured>\documents\visual studio 2015\Projects\ConsoleApplication1\packages\SlowCheetah.2.5.15\tools\Install.ps1'...
      Installing SlowCheetah to project [c:\users\<name obscured>\documents\visual studio 2015\Projects\ConsoleApplication1\ConsoleApplication1\ConsoleApplication1.csproj]
      Name              : SlowCheetahToolsPath
      Value             : $([System.IO.Path]::GetFullPath( $(MSBuildProjectDirectory)\..\packages\SlowCheetah.2.5.15\tools\))
      Condition         : 
      Label             : 
      Parent            : Microsoft.Build.Construction.ProjectPropertyGroupElement
      AllParents        : {Microsoft.Build.Construction.Projec
    • Its because that the Nuget package does not provide the Visual studio extension for previewing the transforms, it only provides transforms on build. In order to preview the transforms you have to install the visual studio extension called SlowCheetah found on visual studio gallery or using the VS extension manager.
  • 2 questions
    1 Posts | Last post September 08, 2015
    • Hi,
      Thanks for this cool tool!
      Questions (VS2012 update 4):
      1 - No "Preview Transform" on "Web.Release.config". I do get it when I right-click on the Debug config. Why is that?
      2 - I have a separate config for connection strings. I configured profile configs for each, but it doesn't seem the tool picked it up. Do I need to configure this somewhere?
  • VS2015 Support
    2 Posts | Last post August 25, 2015
    • Excellent project. Is there an e.t.a for VS2015 support?
    • Visual Studio 2015 Support:
  • VS2013 Update 5
    1 Posts | Last post July 30, 2015
    • Hi,
      Does it support VS2013 Update 5 ?
  • VS2015
    1 Posts | Last post July 21, 2015
    • Is there an ETA when this will be updated to support VS 2015?
  • Preserve format of original config file
    1 Posts | Last post June 16, 2015
    • Is there some way to preserve the format of the original config file?
      We've got the VS option "Align attributes each on separate line" for XML files
      But after running a web config transform, the replaced section goes back to a single line 
1 - 10 of 253 Items