SlowCheetah - XML Transforms

Free

This package enables you to transform your app.config or any other XML file based on the build configuration. It also adds additional tooling to help you create XML transforms.. Written by: Sayed Ibrahim Hashimi, Chuck England and Bill Hiebert

(125) Review
Visual Studio
2013, 2012, 2010
Download (185,923)
7/20/2014
2.5.11
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (125)
Q and A (242)
Sign in to write a review

Be the first to write a review.

Sign in to start a discussion


  • Visual Studio 2015 CTP
    1 Posts | Last post Thu 3:04 PM
    • Hi,
      
      is a (beta) version of Slow Cheetah available for VS 2015 CTP already?
      Will there be a version of Slow Cheetah for VS 2015 soon (after its release)?
      
      Best regards
      Markus
  • Cannot replace root node
    4 Posts | Last post March 26, 2015
    • Hi,
      
      I want to add transforms to an EPiServer license file. However, for this to be maintainable I need to replace all content in License.config. When I'm adding xdt:Transform="Replace" to the root node I get the following error:
      
      "Could not write Destination file: Cannot insert the node in the specified location."
      
      This applies to any file except Web.config. Any thoughts on this?
    • I am attempting to do the exact same thing with the exact same result.  Any update on this question?
    • Can anyone please tell me solution for this.I really need to get this done
    • Your issue is likely the idea of replacing the root node.  Try to alter any available nesting nodes or attributes.
      
      If none of that works you may need to resort to additional post-build steps (if you haven't already).
  • SlowCheetah for Telerik Windows Forms Project
    2 Posts | Last post March 26, 2015
    • Hi,
      
      We are trying to use SlowCheetah to create an XML Transforms for a "Telerik Windows Forms Project" (this is a project type added by the Telerik plugin) and we have noticed that the transformation just won't kick on build events, the transform preview though is working fine...
      
      I'm suspecting this has somthing to do with the custom project type, am I right? did anyone else had any experience in making slowcheetah work for Telerik projects, or any other custom-plug-in-project types for that matter? is there any chance to make it work manually?
      
      on a side note I'll use this opportunity to thank Sayed-Ibrahim for a really great tool, and productivity saver - which we use in almost all of our projects!
      
      Thanks 
    • OK apparently re-installing the extension solved the issue! 
  • Support for Web Setup Projects and MSI installer?
    1 Posts | Last post February 03, 2015
    • I know this supports the "Publish" option for deployment of Web Applications but does it work with Web Setup Projects?
      
      VS 2013 extension ... https://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/9abe329c-9bba-44a1-be59-0fbf6151054d
      
      I need to build an MSI installer for deployment.
  • Inheritance/Copying
    1 Posts | Last post February 02, 2015
    • Hey, I need some help.
      
      I have 7-8 XML transformations, each of them belonging to DEBUG or RELEASE 'group'. I have a BASE Debug transform and a BASE Release transform. All other transforms are based on one of these two transforms, so I have to perform many copy/paste procedures to 'derive' more specific XML Transform. 
      
      I would like to avoid copying/pasting and have some kind of 'inheritance', is it possible to achieve this with SlowCheetah or plain XSLT? I am new to XSLT, so any references to XSLT would be appreciated as well.
  • What options is available for VS 2013 for Web?
    1 Posts | Last post January 30, 2015
    • Hi Sayed. I have a VS solution containing several projects being worked on by several developers via TFS/GIT mode. We require XML transformations for App.config and Web.config.
      
      I tried installing via the download link above but was told my product is not supported. Is there a different solution for VS 2013 for Web?
  • Why "Debug" and "Release"?
    3 Posts | Last post January 12, 2015
    • I want to create transforms for each of our environments (e.g. "Dev", "QA", "Prod") and name them accordingly.  Having transforms named after the build configuration (e.g. "Debug" or "Release") doesn't work for us.  How can I set that up?
    • You can name your build configurations "Dev, QA, Prod", once you have done that, then transform the app.config file and it will take the name of the build configs.
    • Sorry Michael for the intrusion but I had the same issue.
      
      Harag9,
      
      I already did what you suggested but still only Debug and Release are getting transformed.  Once I use the environment specific config, the environment specific config files is just being copied instead of merging and transforming it with the main app.config.
  • xmlns="" in WMAppManifest.xml
    1 Posts | Last post November 29, 2014
    • Hi All, 
      I've noticed the the presence of the xmlns="" attribute in the <App> element in the Windows phone WMAppManifest.xml causes the transformations to fail.  When xmlns="" is removed the transformations work but the app will not build and deploy.  Any ideas how I can get round this?
      Thanks,
      Kevin
  • How to Update AppSetting
    1 Posts | Last post November 21, 2014
    • Hi ,i had used this tranform,but i wanna update a appsetting ,how to got it  
  • Could not load file or assembly Microsoft.Web.XmlTransform
    1 Posts | Last post November 07, 2014
    • We want to use SlowCheetah on developers computers without SlowCheetah installing. In this case we made following steps:
      - Copy files SlowCheetah.Transforms.targets, SlowCheetah.Xdt.dll, Microsoft.Web.XmlTransform.dll to specified folder in solution
      - Modify the project file: "<SlowCheetahTargets>$(MSBuildProjectDirectory)\..\SlowCheetah\SlowCheetah.Transforms.targets</SlowCheetahTargets>
      "
      - Reload project
      - Uninstall SlowCheetah extension
      
      We have occured following error after rebuild project:
      Error	68	The "SlowCheetah.Xdt.TransformXml" task failed unexpectedly.
      System.IO.FileNotFoundException: Could not load file or assembly 'Microsoft.Web.XmlTransform, Version=1.2.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b03f5f7f11d50a3a' or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified.
      
      How to fix it?
1 - 10 of 242 Items