Web Essentials 2010

Free

Adds many useful features to Visual Studio for web developers

(100) Review
Visual Studio
2010
Download (241,312)
7/17/2015
2.7.1
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (100)
Q and A (88)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Nicoolai | February 07 2012

Tons of amazing features, and it seems to just keep on expanding.
Really useful stuff.

by NateClark | February 07 2012

Very useful; thanks so much Mads.

Commenting in CSS is so basic... should have been in VS2010. I never quite understood that.

With Productivity Power Tools, Web Essentials, Web Standards, etc... Microsoft can provide an incrementally better IDE. I'm so happy MS puts out these tools.

by Comaneci | February 04 2012

by DanielD | February 02 2012

Good work, but im having an issue with the #regions, not working, i have vs2010 and resharper 6.1, maybe it is not compatible with resharper.

by George Chakhidze | January 31 2012

I like this extension very much. Good job, Mads.
I've encountered one non-critical (VS did not crash) exception when using "Embed resource as base64" feature (version 2.7):

System.ArgumentOutOfRangeException: Specified argument was out of the range of valid values.
Parameter name: span
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.Text.SnapshotSpan..ctor(ITextSnapshot snapshot, Span span)
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.Web.CSS.Implementation.CSSColorizer.Microsoft.VisualStudio.Text.Classification.IClassifier.GetClassificationSpans(SnapshotSpan trackingSpan)
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.Text.Classification.Implementation.ClassifierTagger.<GetTags>d__0.MoveNext()
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.Text.Tagging.Implementation.TagAggregator`1.<GetTagsForBuffer>d__16.MoveNext()

by Nikolai Villarin | January 31 2012

The features I like the most with this extension is the color/font preview, support for regions, and alphabetize properties. However, like some others I am very picky. Like Neliski I wish this extension can use the editor settings set on Visual Studio. I had the same issue with white-spaces and tabs as Neilski. But, something I would like is support for expanded formatting for CSS or some consistency. For instance I noticed that if I typed .class and press enter in a css document the extension will automatically create the opening and closing brackets for me. The extension uses the Semi-expanded format when creating opening and closing brackets. Now, if I type the same css rule (.class) but this time type the opening bracket after the class and then press enter Visual Studio will respect the rules I have set for the text editor and format my bracket using the Expanded format.

It’s something minor but gets irritating if Visual Studio is formatting your brackets in two different ways.

Mads Kristensen February 01 2012
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks for the feedback. I hope to get both things fixed for future versions of the extension

by rushfrisby | January 26 2012

Extension is constantly crashing Visual Studio. Mostly happens when typing class="... and then I guess it's the intellisense that it's getting hung up on. I cannot deal with it any more so I'm uninstalling this extension. Huge bug for such a popular plugin and I'm surprised it hasn't been fixed yet.

Mads Kristensen January 26 2012
| Edit |
Delete

I'm sorry it acts up like that. The plugin should not interfere with the HTML editor at all, so it's a bit weird. I'll investigate.

by Neilski | January 25 2012

Very useful add-on but I have found a couple of small problems (only tested css editing so far).

Indentations are always tabbed. It would be good if the tool reflected the editor settings and used white-space if appropriate (it would save to 'untabify' after each edit).

I can't get the <Shift+Enter> keyboard command to work (it does nothing).

Sorry to be picky - other than the above, the tools work great.

by torerikk | January 19 2012

The option to turn functions on/off would make this tool superb :)

by Niall Merrigan | January 19 2012

by Ove Andersen | January 16 2012

by Brettly | January 13 2012

This is a nice add-on, it makes CSS more interactive and speeds develop up. Good one!

by Dippu Gajjar | January 12 2012

Looks great.

by Glen Little | January 10 2012

Great features for CSS!

by Mustafa Genç | December 23 2011

by Maxisam | December 20 2011

This is an awesome plugin !!! I love the IE hack function.

by instruo | December 07 2011

Best plugin I've ever used! My only real request would be to collaspe all outlining with a single command. Great work!

by jcreamer898 | December 07 2011

by lethal venom | December 07 2011

bravo! bravo! a toast to the finiest

by Gandalf50 | December 07 2011

Well Done!! Very usefull extension

41 - 60 of 100 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Version for Visual Studio 2013 Update 5?
    1 Posts | Last post June 15, 2015
    • Will there be a version of web essentials for Visual Studio 2013 update 5? 
      I tried installing the version for Update 4, and get the error message 
      
      "This extension is not installable on any currently installed products"
      
      I assume this is because I'm on version 5, but if there's another way around this error then nothing could be better...!
  • Improved LESS support
    1 Posts | Last post May 15, 2015
    • Hello,
      
      I'm a big fan of your work. I'd like to know if it would be feasible to improve LESS file support for Visual Studio 2010 as seen in the latest versions of Web Essentials for VS 2012+. A lot of my customers still use VS 2010 for SharePoint development.
      
      Thank you,
  • Minified CSS not Working
    2 Posts | Last post September 25, 2014
    • Cannot figure out what's going wrong, so posting here in hopes someone can shed some light... Using MS Visual Express 2013 for Web, with the Web Essentials 2013 for Update 3 extension. 
      
      My website is built off a Twitter Bootstrap template with a theme, and, as such, has a base and theme CSS file. All CSS customization is done in the theme file. I use Web Essentials > Minify CSS to bundle and minify these 2 files, selecting the base file first and the theme file second. The resultant bundled CSS file works fine (web page display is as expected). If I substitute the bundled file for the minified CSS file (more ideal to decrease page load), it doesn't work correctly. It seems like the browser only reads the base CSS file and not the theme CSS file content from the min CSS file.  
      
      In addition, I keep getting 'Inconsistent Line Endings' prompt messages in VS referring to the theme CSS file. Perhaps this is related to the min file not working. I can post a link to demo if anyone cares to take a look. Any pointers or suggestions?
      
       
    • This is a bug with either the Twitter Bootstrap theme CSS syntax or the way Web Essentials minifies the CSS (specifically how it handled 0 vs. 0%). Issue reported to the dev for the theme CSS and they will change syntax there. 
  • Speed typing video link is broken
    1 Posts | Last post September 25, 2014
    • This link is broken.
      
      http://madskristensen.net/post/CSS-speed-typing-for-Visual-Studio.aspx
  • Parent scss file won't compile, but children will
    1 Posts | Last post August 15, 2014
    • So I've got a bit of a doozy. I was editing and updating my SASS project just  fine suddenly my parent scss file stopped saving.  I get the following error:
      
      8/15/2014 9:27:12 AM: SCSS: Compiling bootstrap.scss
      
      8/15/2014 9:27:14 AM: Something went wrong reaching: http://127.0.0.1:56538/?service=SCSS&sourceFileName=C:%5CProject%20Builds%5CCFIT_Styleguide%5CDev%5Cmain%5CMS.IT.UXDI%5CUX%20Styles%5Cbootstrap.scss&targetFileName=C:%5CProject%20Builds%5CCFIT_Styleguide%5CDev%5Cmain%5CMS.IT.UXDI%5CUX%20Styles%5Cbootstrap.css&mapFileName=C:%5CProject%20Builds%5CCFIT_Styleguide%5CDev%5Cmain%5CMS.IT.UXDI%5CUX%20Styles%5Cbootstrap.css.map&precision=5&outputStyle=expanded&sourceMapURL&
      
      8/15/2014 9:27:18 AM: Something went wrong reaching: http://127.0.0.1:54932/?service=SCSS&sourceFileName=C:%5CProject%20Builds%5CCFIT_Styleguide%5CDev%5Cmain%5CMS.IT.UXDI%5CUX%20Styles%5Cbootstrap.scss&targetFileName=C:%5CProject%20Builds%5CCFIT_Styleguide%5CDev%5Cmain%5CMS.IT.UXDI%5CUX%20Styles%5Cbootstrap.css&mapFileName=C:%5CProject%20Builds%5CCFIT_Styleguide%5CDev%5Cmain%5CMS.IT.UXDI%5CUX%20Styles%5Cbootstrap.css.map&precision=5&outputStyle=expanded&sourceMapURL&
      
      8/15/2014 9:27:18 AM: SCSS: bootstrap.scss compilation failed: The service failed to respond to this request
      
      			Possible cause: Syntax Error!
      
      The same code compiles just fine on my coworker's machines. For some reason it claims it can't find/access the mapping file, so I'm not sure what's going on here. I've done everything from rolling back, to reinstalling Web Essentials (and updating to the nightly build).  
      
      Any clues?
      
  • What is this? I dont seem to have this rule, why am i suddenly getting these warning
    6 Posts | Last post July 01, 2014
    • since update to 2.2 I ma getting all these warnings.
      JSCS: The requireLeftStickedOperators rule is no longer supported.
      Please use the following rules instead:
      
      disallowSpaceBeforeBinaryOperators
      
      disallowSpaceBeforePostfixUnaryOperators
      disallowSpacesInConditionalExpression
    • I am seeing the same issue immediately after upgrading to 2.2
    • +1
    • Same thing here too. Fortunately there's a quick fix for it.
      
      http://www.roelvanlisdonk.nl/?p=3859
      
      Essentially, edit the global JSCS settings & remove the line with "remove the line: 'requireLeftStickedOperators": [","],'.
      
      Mads, there seems to be an awful lot of silly little bugs slipping in with each new update. Are there no unit tests run before releasing updates?
    • This is not a bug.  The latest version of JSCS removed several validation rules, and this happens to be one of them.  See:  https://github.com/mdevils/node-jscs#removed-rules
      
      The "requireLeftStickedOperators" rule was ensuring that the comma operator does not have any spaces to the left of it.  So this would be valid:
      
      x = [1, 2];
      
      While this would not be valid:
      
      x = [1 , 2];
      
      Try replacing "requireLeftStickedOperators" with "disallowSpaceBeforeBinaryOperators".  That should enforce the same rule behavior without causing an error.
      
      Removing that line means you're removing that rule entirely.  If that is what you mean to do then feel free to remove it, but since you are currently checking for it, odds are you'll want to keep that rule in place.
      
    • Here is the latest version of the .jscsrc file: https://github.com/madskristensen/WebEssentials2013/blob/master/EditorExtensions/Resources/settings-defaults/.jscsrc
      
      Just replace your current content with the content of the latest version and adapt your changes accordingly.
  • Bootstrap columns showing error
    1 Posts | Last post June 11, 2014
    • When I use the following code, it works as intended but Web Essentials (2013 for Update 2) shows an error: Bootstrap: Sum of columns of type col-xs-12 must not exceed 12. my intent is show only one column in the xs model.Any suggestions?
      
      <div class="row">
              <div class="col-lg-3 col-md-4 col-sm-6 col-xs-12">
                  <div class="well">
                      Div 1
                  </div>
              </div>
              <div class="col-lg-3 col-md-4 col-sm-6 col-xs-12">
                  <div class="well">
                     DIV2
                  </div>
              </div>
              <div class="col-lg-3 col-md-4 col-sm-6 col-xs-12">
                  <div class="well">
                      DIV3
                  </div>
              </div>
              <div class="col-lg-3 col-md-4 col-sm-6 col-xs-12">
                  <div class="well">
                      DIV4
                  </div>
              </div>
      </div>
  • Not working in 2010 Premium
    2 Posts | Last post May 25, 2014
    • After installation, it appears as Web Essentials 1.0 under Help > About Microsoft Visual Studio. However, it does not appear under Tools > Options. None of its features are available either.
      
      Mine is 2010 Premium.
      
      What's happening?
    • Same to me with Visual Studio 2010 Professional. It seems not to be activated at all. Please help.
  • LESS with underscore
    1 Posts | Last post May 16, 2014
    • If a LESS file starts with an underscore, auto creation and minification does not work.
      
      PS Your bug recording is not working
      http://madskristensen.net/contact.aspx?subject=Web%20Essentials%20bug
  • Error when converting a list-style-image to base64 in a .scss file
    1 Posts | Last post February 18, 2014
    • Getting an error when I try to convert a bullet image to base64 in a .scss file. My steps.
      
      1. Add the list-style-image attribute.
      2. Drag the image from solution explorer into the SCSS file to create the path for the image (laziness).
      3. Click the dropdown under the link and create the base64.  
      4. This is where I get the "Object reference not set to an instance of an object" error.
      
      The SCSS doesn't compile after this.  I of course can go about it the regular way but just wanted to give you a heads up.  Still a stellar product, would love to see the intellisense in SASS though.
1 - 10 of 88 Items