Your extension will be available shortly on the Visual Studio Marketplace at this link.

Web Essentials 2010

Free

Adds many useful features to Visual Studio for web developers

4.5 Star
(99)
Visual Studio
2010
Download (259,314)
7/17/2015
2.7.1
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

5 Star
by kristinnip | November 30 2011

This extension is awesome, if I could change the browser and browser versions in the live preview window I would buy this for a million bucks!!!

Thank you so much for this. :)

5 Star
by WorkAByte | November 29 2011

You ROCK!!!
any chance we can add an option to have aspx pages auto complete with '' instead of ""?

Mads Kristensen November 29 2011
| Edit |
Delete

Would this be for databinding scenarios or just in general?

5 Star
by Amtiskaw | November 29 2011

My previous performance problems have been resolved with v2.6, so I can wholeheartedly recommend this extension! Provides a lot of very useful features for anybody doing web development in Visual Studio, and it's free!

5 Star
by cslater | November 28 2011

Absolutely a must have.

Please integrate this functionality into the next version of Visual Studio.

5 Star
by alaa9jo | November 22 2011

It's an excellent plugin,you've done a lot of improvements and it's way stable than before,keep up the amazing work!

5 Star
by Huskymoto | November 21 2011

4 Star
by TobiasJLJ | November 18 2011

Very nice plugin. A few bugs though.
For example: color: #FF0000 !important; shows a yellow color dot instead of red as it should be. If I remove !important the dot becomes red again.

Thanks for a great job!

Mads Kristensen November 21 2011
| Edit |
Delete

This is fixed and will be in version 2.6

5 Star
by Emdadgar2 | November 18 2011

Great job, Thanks

5 Star
by thomas.woo | November 16 2011

Having frequent updates is fine with me, great work!

5 Star
by Roby075 | November 16 2011

Great plugin, please make it compatible with the express!

Mads Kristensen November 16 2011
| Edit |
Delete

I would if I could, but only Microsoft can do plugins for Express edition

4 Star
by Sazabi02 | November 16 2011

Very great features. Most of which made me ask why VS didn't have in the first place. Reinstalled after patch 2.5, no issues on performance so far. Kinda annoying that it alters my keyboard shortcuts though on installation though.

Mads Kristensen November 22 2011
| Edit |
Delete

Keyboard shortcuts will be back to normal in version 2.6

5 Star
by Joao L Albuquerque | November 16 2011

Very, very cool! Great VS add-on! No performance issues!
Daily updates? Bring'em on, I like that! Some folks say they have slowdowns... Realy? Come on, it's time to buy a new PC... Are you guys running 486 machines?!?

Thank you Mads, keep up the good work.
Cheers, from Portugal!

5 Star
by Ontoic | November 15 2011

Mads, hang in there. I have been using your stuff now for several months. I have started removing other extensions but yours is very useful and does some key things. Keep the releases coming! It shows me your working on it and each time things get better. Updating is no skin off my nose. I use your stuff 6-12 hours per day weekends included. Your Live Web Preview is off the chart amazing (browser selection would be really useful). About the restarting of VS, humm, I don't get that one, I must open and close 5 to 6 projects regularly during the day, even NuGet will cause a restart, it is a non-event, never even gave it a second thought.

4 Star
by Blake Niemyjski | November 15 2011

I'm at the point of completely uninstalling this add-in.. I am tired of getting prompts to update to a new version every day. Please limit your releases to once every two weeks...

With that said, thanks for your hard work..

3 Star
by AWBauman | November 15 2011

Too many incremental updates! With that being said I love to see progress being made, maybe just consider slowing them down to once a week.

Mads Kristensen November 15 2011
| Edit |
Delete

That's my plan going forward post version 2.5

2 Star
by Mick Brace | November 13 2011

It's ok, made my life easier but:
1. It has serious performance problems
2. It prompts to update every two days forcing me to restart VS
For this reasons I had to uninstall.

Mads Kristensen November 15 2011
| Edit |
Delete

I'm sorry to hear that Mick.

1. Performance issues have been solved in 2.5
2. Going forward, it will be updated less frequently

5 Star
by kevinbailey25 | November 11 2011

5 Star
by djcponty | November 10 2011

An incredibly useful extension for web developers - every feature is well thought out and works well. The inline colour preview is pure genius. Thanks for your work!

4 Star
by RetekBacsi | November 10 2011

Great tool, thanks! Should be a part of the core VisualStudio package.
One problem though: live CSS preview loses background: url(...) images, unless they are inlined. Upon saving everything gets back to normal, until the first keypress.

5 Star
by Сергей Калабонга | November 09 2011

Very good job!

61 - 80 of 99 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Minified files are not getting published via VS Web Deploy
    1 Posts | Last post September 08, 2015
    • I have created minifcation for my project using Web Essentials visual studio extension. So it is working fine when i run it as localhost. I am doing deployment using web deployment and these minfied files are not getting copied to the destination server and i am getting 404 error for the missing minified files
  • Version for Visual Studio 2013 Update 5?
    1 Posts | Last post June 15, 2015
    • Will there be a version of web essentials for Visual Studio 2013 update 5? 
      I tried installing the version for Update 4, and get the error message 
      
      "This extension is not installable on any currently installed products"
      
      I assume this is because I'm on version 5, but if there's another way around this error then nothing could be better...!
  • Improved LESS support
    1 Posts | Last post May 15, 2015
    • Hello,
      
      I'm a big fan of your work. I'd like to know if it would be feasible to improve LESS file support for Visual Studio 2010 as seen in the latest versions of Web Essentials for VS 2012+. A lot of my customers still use VS 2010 for SharePoint development.
      
      Thank you,
  • Minified CSS not Working
    2 Posts | Last post September 25, 2014
    • Cannot figure out what's going wrong, so posting here in hopes someone can shed some light... Using MS Visual Express 2013 for Web, with the Web Essentials 2013 for Update 3 extension. 
      
      My website is built off a Twitter Bootstrap template with a theme, and, as such, has a base and theme CSS file. All CSS customization is done in the theme file. I use Web Essentials > Minify CSS to bundle and minify these 2 files, selecting the base file first and the theme file second. The resultant bundled CSS file works fine (web page display is as expected). If I substitute the bundled file for the minified CSS file (more ideal to decrease page load), it doesn't work correctly. It seems like the browser only reads the base CSS file and not the theme CSS file content from the min CSS file.  
      
      In addition, I keep getting 'Inconsistent Line Endings' prompt messages in VS referring to the theme CSS file. Perhaps this is related to the min file not working. I can post a link to demo if anyone cares to take a look. Any pointers or suggestions?
      
       
    • This is a bug with either the Twitter Bootstrap theme CSS syntax or the way Web Essentials minifies the CSS (specifically how it handled 0 vs. 0%). Issue reported to the dev for the theme CSS and they will change syntax there. 
  • Speed typing video link is broken
    1 Posts | Last post September 25, 2014
    • This link is broken.
      
      http://madskristensen.net/post/CSS-speed-typing-for-Visual-Studio.aspx
  • Parent scss file won't compile, but children will
    1 Posts | Last post August 15, 2014
    • So I've got a bit of a doozy. I was editing and updating my SASS project just  fine suddenly my parent scss file stopped saving.  I get the following error:
      
      8/15/2014 9:27:12 AM: SCSS: Compiling bootstrap.scss
      
      8/15/2014 9:27:14 AM: Something went wrong reaching: http://127.0.0.1:56538/?service=SCSS&sourceFileName=C:%5CProject%20Builds%5CCFIT_Styleguide%5CDev%5Cmain%5CMS.IT.UXDI%5CUX%20Styles%5Cbootstrap.scss&targetFileName=C:%5CProject%20Builds%5CCFIT_Styleguide%5CDev%5Cmain%5CMS.IT.UXDI%5CUX%20Styles%5Cbootstrap.css&mapFileName=C:%5CProject%20Builds%5CCFIT_Styleguide%5CDev%5Cmain%5CMS.IT.UXDI%5CUX%20Styles%5Cbootstrap.css.map&precision=5&outputStyle=expanded&sourceMapURL&
      
      8/15/2014 9:27:18 AM: Something went wrong reaching: http://127.0.0.1:54932/?service=SCSS&sourceFileName=C:%5CProject%20Builds%5CCFIT_Styleguide%5CDev%5Cmain%5CMS.IT.UXDI%5CUX%20Styles%5Cbootstrap.scss&targetFileName=C:%5CProject%20Builds%5CCFIT_Styleguide%5CDev%5Cmain%5CMS.IT.UXDI%5CUX%20Styles%5Cbootstrap.css&mapFileName=C:%5CProject%20Builds%5CCFIT_Styleguide%5CDev%5Cmain%5CMS.IT.UXDI%5CUX%20Styles%5Cbootstrap.css.map&precision=5&outputStyle=expanded&sourceMapURL&
      
      8/15/2014 9:27:18 AM: SCSS: bootstrap.scss compilation failed: The service failed to respond to this request
      
      			Possible cause: Syntax Error!
      
      The same code compiles just fine on my coworker's machines. For some reason it claims it can't find/access the mapping file, so I'm not sure what's going on here. I've done everything from rolling back, to reinstalling Web Essentials (and updating to the nightly build).  
      
      Any clues?
      
  • What is this? I dont seem to have this rule, why am i suddenly getting these warning
    6 Posts | Last post July 01, 2014
    • since update to 2.2 I ma getting all these warnings.
      JSCS: The requireLeftStickedOperators rule is no longer supported.
      Please use the following rules instead:
      
      disallowSpaceBeforeBinaryOperators
      
      disallowSpaceBeforePostfixUnaryOperators
      disallowSpacesInConditionalExpression
    • I am seeing the same issue immediately after upgrading to 2.2
    • +1
    • Same thing here too. Fortunately there's a quick fix for it.
      
      http://www.roelvanlisdonk.nl/?p=3859
      
      Essentially, edit the global JSCS settings & remove the line with "remove the line: 'requireLeftStickedOperators": [","],'.
      
      Mads, there seems to be an awful lot of silly little bugs slipping in with each new update. Are there no unit tests run before releasing updates?
    • This is not a bug.  The latest version of JSCS removed several validation rules, and this happens to be one of them.  See:  https://github.com/mdevils/node-jscs#removed-rules
      
      The "requireLeftStickedOperators" rule was ensuring that the comma operator does not have any spaces to the left of it.  So this would be valid:
      
      x = [1, 2];
      
      While this would not be valid:
      
      x = [1 , 2];
      
      Try replacing "requireLeftStickedOperators" with "disallowSpaceBeforeBinaryOperators".  That should enforce the same rule behavior without causing an error.
      
      Removing that line means you're removing that rule entirely.  If that is what you mean to do then feel free to remove it, but since you are currently checking for it, odds are you'll want to keep that rule in place.
      
    • Here is the latest version of the .jscsrc file: https://github.com/madskristensen/WebEssentials2013/blob/master/EditorExtensions/Resources/settings-defaults/.jscsrc
      
      Just replace your current content with the content of the latest version and adapt your changes accordingly.
  • Bootstrap columns showing error
    1 Posts | Last post June 11, 2014
    • When I use the following code, it works as intended but Web Essentials (2013 for Update 2) shows an error: Bootstrap: Sum of columns of type col-xs-12 must not exceed 12. my intent is show only one column in the xs model.Any suggestions?
      
      <div class="row">
              <div class="col-lg-3 col-md-4 col-sm-6 col-xs-12">
                  <div class="well">
                      Div 1
                  </div>
              </div>
              <div class="col-lg-3 col-md-4 col-sm-6 col-xs-12">
                  <div class="well">
                     DIV2
                  </div>
              </div>
              <div class="col-lg-3 col-md-4 col-sm-6 col-xs-12">
                  <div class="well">
                      DIV3
                  </div>
              </div>
              <div class="col-lg-3 col-md-4 col-sm-6 col-xs-12">
                  <div class="well">
                      DIV4
                  </div>
              </div>
      </div>
  • Not working in 2010 Premium
    2 Posts | Last post May 25, 2014
    • After installation, it appears as Web Essentials 1.0 under Help > About Microsoft Visual Studio. However, it does not appear under Tools > Options. None of its features are available either.
      
      Mine is 2010 Premium.
      
      What's happening?
    • Same to me with Visual Studio 2010 Professional. It seems not to be activated at all. Please help.
  • LESS with underscore
    1 Posts | Last post May 16, 2014
    • If a LESS file starts with an underscore, auto creation and minification does not work.
      
      PS Your bug recording is not working
      http://madskristensen.net/contact.aspx?subject=Web%20Essentials%20bug
1 - 10 of 89 Items