CodeMaid

Free

CodeMaid is an open source Visual Studio extension to cleanup, dig through and simplify our C#, C++, F#, VB, PHP, JSON, XAML, XML, ASP, HTML, CSS, LESS, SCSS, JavaScript and TypeScript coding.

(190) Review
Visual Studio
2015, 2013, 2012, 2010
Download (540,736)
7/19/2015
0.8.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (190)
Q and A (141)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by dialexnunes | Thu 11:44 AM

by zeloran9 | July 24 2015

Excellent. Exactly what I was looking for.
The auto-formatting functionality removing extra new lines is awesome, and the VS default does not include that.
Thanks!

Steve Cadwallader July 26 2015
| Edit |
Delete

You're very welcome! :)

by HassanAli5502327 | July 22 2015

by Shaun Wilson [BC] | July 14 2015

by Akira Yamamoto | July 11 2015

by Kjetil Tonstad | June 24 2015

Very useful!

by Dylan777 | June 17 2015

Love this tool. Makes it so easy to keep code tidy. I really like the fast switch shortcut to switch between webpage and code behind files.

Thanks for your effort!

Steve Cadwallader June 18 2015
| Edit |
Delete

Awesome, thanks for the kind words. :)

by NirmanD | June 17 2015

Excellent tool

by lepine kong | June 06 2015

Could you fix bugs ? For example remove unused reference does not work like the native VS feature. It does not remove some references especially if reference is missing.

Steve Cadwallader June 07 2015
| Edit |
Delete

CodeMaid invokes the native VS remove unused references - they are the same feature.

If you have a specific bug you'd like for us to look into, please log it here: https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid/issues

by Susant sahu | May 23 2015

Excellent tool for code cleaning and formatting, i use it every time before checking in Code to TFS, Very simple to use, very effective.

Automatic Cleanup on Save option is really awesome.

Steve Cadwallader May 23 2015
| Edit |
Delete

That's great to hear, thanks! :)

by VisualNewbieVisual | May 20 2015

very useful Tools

by Adelost | May 17 2015

Excellent. If just "Reorganize Code" worked with C++ and sort import statements worked for C++ includes as well, that would have been super. But I still love it for the excellent outline view (CodeMaid Spade) and "Format Comment" has saved me a lot of time and made it more fun to document my code.

Steve Cadwallader May 21 2015
| Edit |
Delete

Glad you're enjoying it, and feel free to make suggestions on the public backlog here: https://trello.com/b/VVxVhbQv/backlog

by Rickysco | May 13 2015

Looking at all the reviews first. Will rate later. Rating 5 for now.

by Zodarion | May 12 2015

by Tagoma | April 23 2015

Excellent tool!

by QuYong | April 11 2015

by BillW33 | April 09 2015

A very well written and very helpful tool.

Steve Cadwallader April 10 2015
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks :)

by JPDavinci | April 03 2015

Steve;
I use this tool every day. Just made a small donation, but won't forget about you in future as I know you work hard on this stuff. Simply an excellent tool all around!

Steve Cadwallader April 04 2015
| Edit |
Delete

That was very generous of you and it is much appreciated. Keep enjoying the tool, more to come! :)

by dwight12 | April 03 2015

I have few extensions and addins in Visual Studio.

This is one my must-haves.

I love the ability to clean entire solutions.

Steve Cadwallader April 04 2015
| Edit |
Delete

Wonderful, glad to hear it! :)

by probackpacker | March 23 2015

1 - 20 of 190 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • remove unused using statment
    3 Posts | Last post July 26, 2015
    • Hello first of all, I want to say thank you, I was using this extension for several years and it was great.
      
      BTW I just figure out lately that it is not removing the unused using statement, this is the first happened to me. so what i did is check the configuration. On the inside the Cleaning->Visual Studio the "Run remove unused using statements" option is check.
      
      I am using the codemaid 0.8.0 on VS2013 update 5
      
      Thank you
    • You're welcome, I'm glad you've been enjoying it.
      
      There is an additional clause for removal of unused using statements.  By default, it will skip running that operation during an automatic cleanup on save.  The reason for this is that when a build, triggers a save, which triggers a cleanup, in some scenarios it could cause Visual Studio to lock up.  This was mostly noticed with VS2012, but the default option has been kept the same.  If you manually invoke CodeMaid, then by default it will go ahead with removing the unused using statements.
      
      I hope that helps.  If it doesn't, can you please open an issue on GitHub along with a minimal code sample?  https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid/issues
    • Thank you so much
  • Happen error
    2 Posts | Last post July 19, 2015
    • When I use CodeMaid to load code And click "CodeMaid Spade".The IDE would send a error messagebox.
      My IDE is Visual Studio 2015 RC.And error log is
      http://sta.sh/01eobpsr8361
    • Thanks for reporting the issue.  I am seeing it as well, and have moved this to a GitHub issue here: https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid/issues/118
  • Use just Spade
    2 Posts | Last post July 03, 2015
    • Hi,
      
      I like the Spade very much but have no need for other features, like the 'popup' after mouse hover over e.g. a property. Is it possible to disable those features and keep just the Spade 'window'? Thanks.
    • I'm glad to hear you like it.  There currently isn't a configuration option specifically for disabling the tool tip, but you could make a custom build by forking the code or requesting it on the public backlog. 
  • New Line after Closing Brace
    2 Posts | Last post June 24, 2015
    • Hi, firstly thanks for this excellent extension. It's one of the ones I could hardly live without these days.
      
      I've got a little feature request. I was wondering if CodeMaid could insert spaces after code control-flow block braces. e.g. following if/while/for code blocks.
    • Thanks, that's really great to hear. :)
      
      We do have that feature request in our backlog, contingent on the Roslyn rewrite (a pretty big effort on the horizon).  Check it out and vote it up here: https://trello.com/c/t3ZG4jsB
  • Great product, question on javascript formatting...
    2 Posts | Last post May 29, 2015
    • I've created a NODE.js console application which has a js file in it.  For some reason the CleanUp Code menuitem remains grayed out...?   Suggestions.  
      
      
    • Take a look at the output tool window in VS and switch to the CodeMaid pane.  If you don't see any messages about unrecognized file types, enable diagnostic logging within CodeMaid config.  Most likely the file is not included in the solution or recognized by VS as a JavaScript file through the API.
  • Codemaid Extendion crashes VS when using Edit+Continue
    3 Posts | Last post May 22, 2015
    • Hi,
      I really like this Extendion, but for some reason my VS2013 always crashes when trying to apply changes as long as Code Maid is activated.
      When I deactivate Code Maid, then I can use Edit+Continue without problems.
      This doesn't seems to have anything to do with Formatting, since I saved the Changes before continue.
      This doesn't seems to be a Managed Exception
      I use VB.Net Projects, and have VS2013 + VS2015 preview installed.
    • Hi Alexander -
      
      I'm glad you really like CodeMaid. :)  That's peculiar behavior you are describing.  CodeMaid explicitly checks the IDE state and will not run if you are in debugging mode.  If you right click and look at the CodeMaid context options you will see cleanup is not available.
      
      I tried reproducing your issue with a simple VB "Hello World" type application but it did not exhibit any issue like you were describing.
      
      So we can get to the bottom of it, will you open an issue on GitHub (https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid/issues) with some steps to reproduce (e.g. this is what the code looks like, I break on this line, make this change and then continue causes the exception).
      
      Thanks for reporting the issue,
      -Steve Cadwallader
    • Interestingly I had the same issue and never suspected CodeMaid. Eventually I started disabling extensions one by one, and disabling CodeMaid fixed the issue. But so far re-enabling CodeMaid has not reintroduced the issue.
      
      Very weird.
  • Unable to update to latest from v0.3.7
    2 Posts | Last post May 21, 2015
    • I am using Codemaid v0.3.7 in VS2010 and i want to upgrade it to the latest one. When i try to update, i am getting the error message like "Extension CodeMaid must be uninstalled through the Windows Add/Remove Programs dialog." But i couldn't find any codemaid entries in Windows Add/Remove Programs. Please help me to this and i am very much excited about the update. Please help me...
    • CodeMaid v0.3.7 is a very old release, about four years ago.  Yes, that version would need to be uninstalled from the Control Panel Add/Remove programs dialog.
      
      If you are not seeing in the list, you can also re-run the CodeMaid v0.3.7 installer and choose to 'uninstall'.  It is available here: https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/downloads/CodeMaid_v0.3.7.zip
      
      Also, you need to be logged in to the same account that as used to do the install.  Some more details here: https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/issue/93/unable-to-uninstall-previous-version-to  
  • Spade for Javascript/html
    2 Posts | Last post May 19, 2015
    • Will there ever be spade for js and/or html files?
    • Spade is built on top of the code models exposed by Visual Studio, and currently they do not provide anything for HTML/JS files.  So no, it is unlikely that will be supported anytime soon.
  • For VS Community 2013
    4 Posts | Last post May 16, 2015
    • Is it possible to use CodeMaid for VS Community 2013?
    • Yes, absolutely!
      
      http://www.codemaid.net/2014/11/14/visualstudio2013community/
    • If I understand correctly, I can download the application at this website (https://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/76293c4d-8c16-4f4a-aee6-21f83a571496) and start installing it for today?
    • Yes, that's correct.  You can also install it from within Visual Studio by going to Tools->Extensions and searching for CodeMaid.
  • Uninstall
    4 Posts | Last post April 10, 2015
    • Codemaid does not appear to uninstall from VS2013.  I have version v0.7.6 installed and after uninstalling and restarting VS2013, Codemaid menus still show up and all items still working.  Something I'm missing ?
    • It appears that when I choose uninstall that it disables but doesn't remove it.  When I think uninstall the second time it is gone from my list (extensions and updates) but still is a menu on vs2013 along with all functionality still working.
    • Appears that i have finally removed it.  Not sure how other than physically shutting down vs2013 rather than the restarted recommended by the add extensions dialog.  :)
    • I'm glad you got it figured out, but not sure why you were having difficulties.  You do need to restart VS for the process to complete, but that's the same VSIX infrastructure and process used by all VS extensions.
1 - 10 of 141 Items