CodeMaid

Free

CodeMaid is an open source Visual Studio extension to cleanup, dig through and simplify our C#, C++, F#, VB, PHP, JSON, XAML, XML, ASP, HTML, CSS, LESS, SCSS, JavaScript and TypeScript coding.

(181) Review
Visual Studio
2015, 2013, 2012, 2010
Download (512,091)
3/21/2015
0.7.6
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (181)
Q and A (137)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Susant sahu | Sat 6:29 AM

Excellent tool for code cleaning and formatting, i use it every time before checking in Code to TFS, Very simple to use, very effective.

Automatic Cleanup on Save option is really awesome.

Steve Cadwallader Sat 11:24 AM
| Edit |
Delete

That's great to hear, thanks! :)

by VisualNewbieVisual | May 20 2015

very useful Tools

by Adelost | May 17 2015

Excellent. If just "Reorganize Code" worked with C++ and sort import statements worked for C++ includes as well, that would have been super. But I still love it for the excellent outline view (CodeMaid Spade) and "Format Comment" has saved me a lot of time and made it more fun to document my code.

Steve Cadwallader May 21 2015
| Edit |
Delete

Glad you're enjoying it, and feel free to make suggestions on the public backlog here: https://trello.com/b/VVxVhbQv/backlog

by Rickysco | May 13 2015

Looking at all the reviews first. Will rate later. Rating 5 for now.

by Zodarion | May 12 2015

by Tagoma | April 23 2015

Excellent tool!

by QuYong | April 11 2015

by BillW33 | April 09 2015

A very well written and very helpful tool.

Steve Cadwallader April 10 2015
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks :)

by JPDavinci | April 03 2015

Steve;
I use this tool every day. Just made a small donation, but won't forget about you in future as I know you work hard on this stuff. Simply an excellent tool all around!

Steve Cadwallader April 04 2015
| Edit |
Delete

That was very generous of you and it is much appreciated. Keep enjoying the tool, more to come! :)

by dwight12 | April 03 2015

I have few extensions and addins in Visual Studio.

This is one my must-haves.

I love the ability to clean entire solutions.

Steve Cadwallader April 04 2015
| Edit |
Delete

Wonderful, glad to hear it! :)

by probackpacker | March 23 2015

by Ondřej | March 13 2015

Unfortunately does not support Visual Basic .NET code, otherwise 5/5.

Steve Cadwallader March 15 2015
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks for the feedback. We do support VB, but you're very right that some of the features are limited. Reorganization for example we've tried to implement in the past but the VS API's for VB didn't work out like the C# ones.

If there's any specific feature you're missing, feel free to point it out in the backlog - or it may be something already there to vote up: https://trello.com/b/VVxVhbQv/backlog

by Patrick Smacchia [NDepend] | March 08 2015

by RaviShankark | February 23 2015

I am using this tool from past 1 year and it is very good and handy tool for developer.

by Ammar.Zaied | February 13 2015

Good work.

by Ray Cheng Ray Cheng | February 04 2015

CodeMaid sorts "using" directives, but StyleCop wants the "System" directives be listed first.

After running CodeMaid clean up, I got the following StyleCop warning.

"System using directives must be placed before all other using directives."

Steve Cadwallader February 05 2015
| Edit |
Delete

You can configure VS to place system directives first (old convention they've gone away from). It is in Tools->Options->Text Editor->C# and called "Place system directives first..."

Hope it helps.

by michal_bb | January 30 2015

A must have plugin for VS. I especially like the ability to go find an opened file in solution explorer, code cleanup, code reorganizing and showing progress in the taskbar. 5*****

Steve Cadwallader January 31 2015
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks! :)

by Steven Goodgrove | January 29 2015

by ErdincDogrul | January 27 2015

Awesome and perfect. thank you

Steve Cadwallader January 31 2015
| Edit |
Delete

You're very welcome! :)

by Michaël Polla | January 05 2015

This extension is really great ! I wish I'd known it before. For now I mostly used the cleanup functionality, and it's very useful. It already works well with Visual Studio 2015 (Preview). Thank you for this great work !
**
[FR] Je recommande cette extension, très pratique. J'ai pour l'instant surtout utilisé la fonction de "nettoyage" du code, qui apporte des modifications très appréciables. Fonctionne très bien avec Visual Studio 2015 (Preview).

Steve Cadwallader January 06 2015
| Edit |
Delete

You're very welcome! :)

1 - 20 of 181 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Great product, question on javascript formatting...
    1 Posts | Last post Wed 11:44 PM
    • I've created a NODE.js console application which has a js file in it.  For some reason the CleanUp Code menuitem remains grayed out...?   Suggestions.  
      
      
  • Codemaid Extendion crashes VS when using Edit+Continue
    3 Posts | Last post Fri 1:56 PM
    • Hi,
      I really like this Extendion, but for some reason my VS2013 always crashes when trying to apply changes as long as Code Maid is activated.
      When I deactivate Code Maid, then I can use Edit+Continue without problems.
      This doesn't seems to have anything to do with Formatting, since I saved the Changes before continue.
      This doesn't seems to be a Managed Exception
      I use VB.Net Projects, and have VS2013 + VS2015 preview installed.
    • Hi Alexander -
      
      I'm glad you really like CodeMaid. :)  That's peculiar behavior you are describing.  CodeMaid explicitly checks the IDE state and will not run if you are in debugging mode.  If you right click and look at the CodeMaid context options you will see cleanup is not available.
      
      I tried reproducing your issue with a simple VB "Hello World" type application but it did not exhibit any issue like you were describing.
      
      So we can get to the bottom of it, will you open an issue on GitHub (https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid/issues) with some steps to reproduce (e.g. this is what the code looks like, I break on this line, make this change and then continue causes the exception).
      
      Thanks for reporting the issue,
      -Steve Cadwallader
    • Interestingly I had the same issue and never suspected CodeMaid. Eventually I started disabling extensions one by one, and disabling CodeMaid fixed the issue. But so far re-enabling CodeMaid has not reintroduced the issue.
      
      Very weird.
  • Unable to update to latest from v0.3.7
    2 Posts | Last post May 21, 2015
    • I am using Codemaid v0.3.7 in VS2010 and i want to upgrade it to the latest one. When i try to update, i am getting the error message like "Extension CodeMaid must be uninstalled through the Windows Add/Remove Programs dialog." But i couldn't find any codemaid entries in Windows Add/Remove Programs. Please help me to this and i am very much excited about the update. Please help me...
    • CodeMaid v0.3.7 is a very old release, about four years ago.  Yes, that version would need to be uninstalled from the Control Panel Add/Remove programs dialog.
      
      If you are not seeing in the list, you can also re-run the CodeMaid v0.3.7 installer and choose to 'uninstall'.  It is available here: https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/downloads/CodeMaid_v0.3.7.zip
      
      Also, you need to be logged in to the same account that as used to do the install.  Some more details here: https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/issue/93/unable-to-uninstall-previous-version-to  
  • Spade for Javascript/html
    2 Posts | Last post May 19, 2015
    • Will there ever be spade for js and/or html files?
    • Spade is built on top of the code models exposed by Visual Studio, and currently they do not provide anything for HTML/JS files.  So no, it is unlikely that will be supported anytime soon.
  • For VS Community 2013
    4 Posts | Last post May 16, 2015
    • Is it possible to use CodeMaid for VS Community 2013?
    • Yes, absolutely!
      
      http://www.codemaid.net/2014/11/14/visualstudio2013community/
    • If I understand correctly, I can download the application at this website (https://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/76293c4d-8c16-4f4a-aee6-21f83a571496) and start installing it for today?
    • Yes, that's correct.  You can also install it from within Visual Studio by going to Tools->Extensions and searching for CodeMaid.
  • Uninstall
    4 Posts | Last post April 10, 2015
    • Codemaid does not appear to uninstall from VS2013.  I have version v0.7.6 installed and after uninstalling and restarting VS2013, Codemaid menus still show up and all items still working.  Something I'm missing ?
    • It appears that when I choose uninstall that it disables but doesn't remove it.  When I think uninstall the second time it is gone from my list (extensions and updates) but still is a menu on vs2013 along with all functionality still working.
    • Appears that i have finally removed it.  Not sure how other than physically shutting down vs2013 rather than the restarted recommended by the add extensions dialog.  :)
    • I'm glad you got it figured out, but not sure why you were having difficulties.  You do need to restart VS for the process to complete, but that's the same VSIX infrastructure and process used by all VS extensions.
  • Any planned date for VS2015 support?
    2 Posts | Last post April 07, 2015
    • I understand it's still in preview, just getting excited to have it in latest version.
    • We already have support for VS2015 preview, enjoy. :)
  • Uninstall CodeMaid.
    3 Posts | Last post April 04, 2015
  • Can not istall for VS2010
    5 Posts | Last post March 26, 2015
    • Not allowing to be installed for VS2010. Gives and error 'The extension 'Code Maid' required a version of .NET framework that is not installed'
      
      Can any one help me with this.
      
      Thanks
    • CodeMaid requires .NET 4.5 or higher, which you can download here: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30653
    • I have installed Windows XP SP3 32bit.
      .NetFramevork 4.5 can not be installed on WindowsXP (Supported Operating System: Windows 7 Service Pack 1, Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1, Windows Server 2008 Service Pack 2, Windows Vista Service Pack 2). Where can I download a previous version CodeMaid.
    • https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid/releases/tag/v0.7.3
    • Yep, exactly - v0.7.3 was the last edition before the upgrade to .NET 4.5
      
      https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid/releases/tag/v0.7.3
  • Code reorganization for both C# and VB.NET
    2 Posts | Last post March 24, 2015
    • With upcoming VS2015 and Roslyn .NET Compiler Platform, there should be same possibilities for both C# and VB.NET.
      Do you plan implementing code reorganization for VB.NET using this?
    • Roslyn will definitely open some doors, but is a huge rewrite that will take some time.  I'm hopeful it will improve the VB API experience.
      
      VB code reorganization is in the backlog here: https://trello.com/c/TD0jaAab
1 - 10 of 137 Items