CodeMaid

Free

CodeMaid is an open source Visual Studio extension to cleanup, dig through and simplify our C#, C++, F#, VB, PHP, JSON, XAML, XML, ASP, HTML, CSS, LESS, SCSS, JavaScript and TypeScript coding.

(194) Review
Visual Studio
2015, 2013, 2012, 2010
Download (560,841)
8/8/2015
0.8.1
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (194)
Q and A (149)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by BillW33 | April 09 2015

A very well written and very helpful tool.

Steve Cadwallader April 10 2015
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks :)

by JPDavinci | April 03 2015

Steve;
I use this tool every day. Just made a small donation, but won't forget about you in future as I know you work hard on this stuff. Simply an excellent tool all around!

Steve Cadwallader April 04 2015
| Edit |
Delete

That was very generous of you and it is much appreciated. Keep enjoying the tool, more to come! :)

by dwight12 | April 03 2015

I have few extensions and addins in Visual Studio.

This is one my must-haves.

I love the ability to clean entire solutions.

Steve Cadwallader April 04 2015
| Edit |
Delete

Wonderful, glad to hear it! :)

by probackpacker | March 23 2015

by Ondřej | March 13 2015

Unfortunately does not support Visual Basic .NET code, otherwise 5/5.

Steve Cadwallader March 15 2015
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks for the feedback. We do support VB, but you're very right that some of the features are limited. Reorganization for example we've tried to implement in the past but the VS API's for VB didn't work out like the C# ones.

If there's any specific feature you're missing, feel free to point it out in the backlog - or it may be something already there to vote up: https://trello.com/b/VVxVhbQv/backlog

by Patrick Smacchia [NDepend] | March 08 2015

by RaviShankark | February 23 2015

I am using this tool from past 1 year and it is very good and handy tool for developer.

by Ammar.Zaied | February 13 2015

Good work.

by Ray Cheng Ray Cheng | February 04 2015

CodeMaid sorts "using" directives, but StyleCop wants the "System" directives be listed first.

After running CodeMaid clean up, I got the following StyleCop warning.

"System using directives must be placed before all other using directives."

Steve Cadwallader February 05 2015
| Edit |
Delete

You can configure VS to place system directives first (old convention they've gone away from). It is in Tools->Options->Text Editor->C# and called "Place system directives first..."

Hope it helps.

by michal_bb | January 30 2015

A must have plugin for VS. I especially like the ability to go find an opened file in solution explorer, code cleanup, code reorganizing and showing progress in the taskbar. 5*****

Steve Cadwallader January 31 2015
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks! :)

by Steven Goodgrove | January 29 2015

by ErdincDogrul | January 27 2015

Awesome and perfect. thank you

Steve Cadwallader January 31 2015
| Edit |
Delete

You're very welcome! :)

by Michaël Polla | January 05 2015

This extension is really great ! I wish I'd known it before. For now I mostly used the cleanup functionality, and it's very useful. It already works well with Visual Studio 2015 (Preview). Thank you for this great work !
**
[FR] Je recommande cette extension, très pratique. J'ai pour l'instant surtout utilisé la fonction de "nettoyage" du code, qui apporte des modifications très appréciables. Fonctionne très bien avec Visual Studio 2015 (Preview).

Steve Cadwallader January 06 2015
| Edit |
Delete

You're very welcome! :)

by Yatajga | January 02 2015

Good tool.

by helixwmonkey | December 31 2014

Very nice tool. Just download and try and it amazes me~

Steve Cadwallader December 31 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks! :)

by ytf1 | December 23 2014

a very good plugin,thanks

Steve Cadwallader December 23 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Glad you like it! :)

by Krzysztof Osowicki | December 18 2014

by PadamkNegi | December 06 2014

I love this plugin. i was using it with vs 2010 and it worked perfectly, but with vs 2013. It crashes my visual studio again and again. and corrupts my .aspx page (html). i don't know why.?? Please resolve this issue.

thank you

Steve Cadwallader December 06 2014
| Edit |
Delete

I'm glad you love the plugin, and sorry that you're encountering a difficulty. If you can open an issue on GitHub with some more details (e.g. code sample before and after) then I can look into it further.

https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid/issues

by ..walt | November 27 2014

It cleans, it organizes and it can call in the heavy movers (Resharper in my case). And Steve ... thanks for responding to so many people.

Steve Cadwallader November 27 2014
| Edit |
Delete

I'm glad you're enjoying it, thanks for the positive review. :)

by VikNet | November 22 2014

21 - 40 of 194 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Function Parameter Indentation
    5 Posts | Last post August 22, 2015
    • Hi,
      I think this is a great tool, and special thanks to taking time to write it.
      
      Question:
      int func1(
        int32_t a,
        int32_t b);
      
      If I run CodeMaid becomes
      int func1(
      int32_t a,
      int32_t b);
      
      I.e. it looses indentation of the parameters, 
      How can I disable it?
      
      thanks.
      
    • Hi Sumonto -
      
      Thanks for your kind comments.
      
      I wasn't able to reproduce this, but I suspect it could be a similar issue to the other one you posted (see next reply to consolidate).
      
      Hope it helps,
      -Steve Cadwallader
    • Hi Steve,
      Thanks for your reply, however I could not find an option under 
      "Tools->Options->Text Editor->C/C++->Formatting->Spacing" to disable "
      To disable "function param indentation" issue?
      
      Is there any way you could help me more.
      
      thanks.
    • OK found it!
      Tools->Options->Text Editor->C/C++->Formatting->Indentation->In Existing code...
      Disable it.
    • Great, glad you found it and thanks for posting that for anybody else who might be looking for it.
  • Sorting methods alphabetically
    5 Posts | Last post August 21, 2015
    • Is there a way to just sort methods alphabetically regardless of access or type? I tried looking into Formatting but I need to either go with access before type or type before access. I want to ignore both type and access and just sort the entire thing by name.
    • Currently no, I don't think there's a configuration that would match your request.  You may make a feature request on the Trello backlog (https://trello.com/b/VVxVhbQv/backlog) or the code is open source if you would like to look to add it (https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid)
    • I see. Thanks for the response. Just posted on Trello :)
    • How do I uninstall it?
      
      Windows 10, it doesn't appear in the "Program and Features" section, I can't find any option to remove it in the settings from within VS. So?
    • Inside Visual Studio under Tools->Extensions and Updates where all extensions are listed is where you can uninstall.
  • Variable Declaration alignment
    2 Posts | Last post August 19, 2015
    • Hi,
      Is there a way to leave the variable declaration indentation un-touched.
      
      E.g.
      ShortType1   st1      = 0;
      LongLongType longtype = 0;
      
      Becomes
      ShortType1 st1 = 0;
      LongLongType longtype = 0;
      
      Is there a way to disable this?
      
      Thanks
      
      
    • CodeMaid invokes Visual Studio's native formatting, and then extends upon it.  The removal of spaces in variable declarations is done by Visual Studio's formatting, and you can see the same behavior if you invoke Edit->Advanced->Format Document.  You can tell CodeMaid not to invoke Visual Studio's native formatting at CodeMaid->Options->Visual Studio->"Run format document", but you would lose several other cleanup actions in the process.  You can also look for additional Visual Studio configuration options under Tools->Options->Text Editor->C/C++->Formatting->Spacing.
  • More code cleaning for VB.Net
    4 Posts | Last post August 17, 2015
    • First of all, I love your addon. It's great.
      
      My question: Is it possible to add the "Remove unused using statements"
      and "Sort using statements"(Imports) for Visual Basic .Net?
      
      regards
    • Thanks, I really appreciate hearing that. :)
      
      It should be possible.  I don't think there is an existing card in the backlog for that feature, would you like to add one?  https://trello.com/b/VVxVhbQv/backlog
    • I think, I don't have the permission to add a card to the list.
    • The very first card says "You can add comments to this card to request a new card". Please comment there. 
  • CodeMaid for Python
    2 Posts | Last post August 13, 2015
    • What is the chance the CodeMaid works with Python code?
      Visual Studio today already works with python code using Pytools (http://microsoft.github.io/PTVS/) and would be awesome if you cover it.
    • There is a card in our backlog to support Python here: https://trello.com/c/RcqeuQEi
      
      Please feel free to vote/comment on it.  The card also includes a link to the pull request showing how PHP support was added as an example for what it would take to add support for Python.
  • The Command to execute is not enabled.
    2 Posts | Last post August 11, 2015
    • I'm using VS Premium 2013, Update 5 and CodeMaid v 0.8.0.  Selecting the "Find In Solution Explorer" results in the exception message, "The Command to execute is not enabled."  How do I enable the Command?
    • Are you sure the currently active document exists within the solution?
      
      If you are still having issues, please open an issue on GitHub (https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid/issues), including information about what type of file you are trying to find (e.g. C#, VB, etc.)
  • CodeMaid Spade too slow to load
    2 Posts | Last post August 07, 2015
    • When opening large classes, say with 5k lines in it, spade may take more than a minute to load.
      Is it expected behavior? Most of the time, when opening a class you may need to user visual studio, but it hangs for that amount of time. Perhaps, if Spade would load asynchronouslly on background, might imnprove performance in this case.
      Additionally, it might check the cache first, and then load async. It will take about the same time to load, but will definitely avoind disrupting work. If you need to use it as soon as opening a class, you may just wait for it.
    • Spade does load asynchronously in the background.  Please check your settings at CodeMaid->Options->"Load models asynchronously".  This setting is on by default, but if it has been turned off then you would see the behavior you described.
      
      If you are still having an issue, please open an issue on GitHub here with more details (e.g. VS version, configuration settings): https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid/issues
  • got error when opening solution
    2 Posts | Last post August 05, 2015
    • I opening my solution while got alert message it says check ActiityLog.xml.
      The file content show as below.
      
      System.InvalidOperationException: Unexpected false at Roslyn.Utilities.Contract.ThrowIfFalse(Boolean condition, String message) at Microsoft.CodeAnalysis.Editor.Shared.Tagging.ProducerPopulatedTagSource`1.GetTagIntervalTreeForBuffer(ITextBuffer buffer) at Microsoft.CodeAnalysis.Editor.Shared.Tagging.AsynchronousTagger`1.GetTags(NormalizedSnapshotSpanCollection requestedSpans) at Microsoft.VisualStudio.Text.Tagging.Implementation.TagAggregator`1.<GetTagsForBuffer>d__38.MoveNext()
    • We have been seeing that too with the VS2015 RC.  It's been reported, and we have a fix that will be coming out soon.  Details and workarounds here (spoiler: you can ignore that warning) https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid/issues/118
  • remove unused using statment
    3 Posts | Last post July 26, 2015
    • Hello first of all, I want to say thank you, I was using this extension for several years and it was great.
      
      BTW I just figure out lately that it is not removing the unused using statement, this is the first happened to me. so what i did is check the configuration. On the inside the Cleaning->Visual Studio the "Run remove unused using statements" option is check.
      
      I am using the codemaid 0.8.0 on VS2013 update 5
      
      Thank you
    • You're welcome, I'm glad you've been enjoying it.
      
      There is an additional clause for removal of unused using statements.  By default, it will skip running that operation during an automatic cleanup on save.  The reason for this is that when a build, triggers a save, which triggers a cleanup, in some scenarios it could cause Visual Studio to lock up.  This was mostly noticed with VS2012, but the default option has been kept the same.  If you manually invoke CodeMaid, then by default it will go ahead with removing the unused using statements.
      
      I hope that helps.  If it doesn't, can you please open an issue on GitHub along with a minimal code sample?  https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid/issues
    • Thank you so much
  • Happen error
    2 Posts | Last post July 19, 2015
    • When I use CodeMaid to load code And click "CodeMaid Spade".The IDE would send a error messagebox.
      My IDE is Visual Studio 2015 RC.And error log is
      http://sta.sh/01eobpsr8361
    • Thanks for reporting the issue.  I am seeing it as well, and have moved this to a GitHub issue here: https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid/issues/118
1 - 10 of 149 Items