CodeMaid

Free

CodeMaid is an open source Visual Studio extension to cleanup, dig through and simplify our C#, C++, F#, VB, PHP, JSON, XAML, XML, ASP, HTML, CSS, LESS, SCSS, JavaScript and TypeScript coding.

(185) Review
Visual Studio
2015, 2013, 2012, 2010
Download (524,644)
3/21/2015
0.7.6
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (185)
Q and A (139)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by michal_bb | January 30 2015

A must have plugin for VS. I especially like the ability to go find an opened file in solution explorer, code cleanup, code reorganizing and showing progress in the taskbar. 5*****

Steve Cadwallader January 31 2015
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks! :)

by Steven Goodgrove | January 29 2015

by ErdincDogrul | January 27 2015

Awesome and perfect. thank you

Steve Cadwallader January 31 2015
| Edit |
Delete

You're very welcome! :)

by Michaël Polla | January 05 2015

This extension is really great ! I wish I'd known it before. For now I mostly used the cleanup functionality, and it's very useful. It already works well with Visual Studio 2015 (Preview). Thank you for this great work !
**
[FR] Je recommande cette extension, très pratique. J'ai pour l'instant surtout utilisé la fonction de "nettoyage" du code, qui apporte des modifications très appréciables. Fonctionne très bien avec Visual Studio 2015 (Preview).

Steve Cadwallader January 06 2015
| Edit |
Delete

You're very welcome! :)

by Yatajga | January 02 2015

Good tool.

by helixwmonkey | December 31 2014

Very nice tool. Just download and try and it amazes me~

Steve Cadwallader December 31 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks! :)

by ytf1 | December 23 2014

a very good plugin,thanks

Steve Cadwallader December 23 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Glad you like it! :)

by Krzysztof Osowicki | December 18 2014

by PadamkNegi | December 06 2014

I love this plugin. i was using it with vs 2010 and it worked perfectly, but with vs 2013. It crashes my visual studio again and again. and corrupts my .aspx page (html). i don't know why.?? Please resolve this issue.

thank you

Steve Cadwallader December 06 2014
| Edit |
Delete

I'm glad you love the plugin, and sorry that you're encountering a difficulty. If you can open an issue on GitHub with some more details (e.g. code sample before and after) then I can look into it further.

https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid/issues

by ..walt | November 27 2014

It cleans, it organizes and it can call in the heavy movers (Resharper in my case). And Steve ... thanks for responding to so many people.

Steve Cadwallader November 27 2014
| Edit |
Delete

I'm glad you're enjoying it, thanks for the positive review. :)

by VikNet | November 22 2014

by MJ11235 | November 19 2014

I love it!

Steve Cadwallader November 19 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Wonderful! :)

by ian-craig | November 17 2014

by Rishikesh Parkhe | November 06 2014

Fantastic plugin to visual studio :-) 4 stars....

More customisation options will be handy... to format internal code (like if statements / style cop whining etc... )

Also if there is an option to re-organize selected files (just like cleanup selected files), it will be great.

Awesome stuff!

Steve Cadwallader November 08 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks for the review and suggestions. :)

Some of the internal code details aren't available with the current VS API, but the new Roslyn compiler in VS14 will provide a lot more information that will make those kind of cleanups possible in the future. If you have specific requests check out the Roslyn list in the backlog: https://trello.com/b/VVxVhbQv/backlog

I've also added a new card to the backlog for reorganizing selected files, great idea: https://trello.com/c/cAOyUtUR

by Stevoisiak | November 02 2014

Awesome little program. Very helpful for cleaning up code.

Steve Cadwallader November 02 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thank you, the positive feedback is a great booster. :)

by Josh Garverick | October 23 2014

I found this extension on a whim one day, and have to admit that it works quite well for tidying things up. I also like the method complexity analysis as well.

Steve Cadwallader October 26 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks, glad you like it. :)

by Shockwaver One | August 27 2014

Saved my day, present and future ones, in a way you cannot even immagine XD.
Amazingly done, keep it up!

Cheers.

Steve Cadwallader August 28 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Fantastic, thanks! :)

by Nicw | August 24 2014

I may have missed something here but I have not found it. I always like to
know what changes are going to be made before anything goes making them. So
being able to scan the solution then review the suggested changes would be a
must for me.

as a test I created a simple VS2013 MFC application with various classes and
code then ran CodeMaid Clean up All Code. The result was then not able to
be compiled a CodeMaid removed the EOF character from the end of the .rc2
file, so I would be very fearful of running this on larger projects.

Steve Cadwallader August 25 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks for the constructive criticism, that is very helpful.

For that specific item with the .rc2 EOF indicator not being on a separate line, Issue #18 opened and resolved for the next minor release. There is a "Remove end of file trailing new line" option that could be disabled in the interim.

I've also placed a card in the backlog to investigate adding integration tests that would iterate across all the different project templates and invoke CodeMaid actions upon them. https://trello.com/c/Sqv2bIWC

by Homer_ | August 21 2014

by Miro Jeliaskoff | August 12 2014

I did not know it existed but now I am happy. I love open source because there is no corporate guy to decide what the world needs. WE do it!

Steve Cadwallader August 13 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Amen! :)

21 - 40 of 185 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Use just Spade
    2 Posts | Last post Fri 5:55 PM
    • Hi,
      
      I like the Spade very much but have no need for other features, like the 'popup' after mouse hover over e.g. a property. Is it possible to disable those features and keep just the Spade 'window'? Thanks.
    • I'm glad to hear you like it.  There currently isn't a configuration option specifically for disabling the tool tip, but you could make a custom build by forking the code or requesting it on the public backlog. 
  • New Line after Closing Brace
    2 Posts | Last post June 24, 2015
    • Hi, firstly thanks for this excellent extension. It's one of the ones I could hardly live without these days.
      
      I've got a little feature request. I was wondering if CodeMaid could insert spaces after code control-flow block braces. e.g. following if/while/for code blocks.
    • Thanks, that's really great to hear. :)
      
      We do have that feature request in our backlog, contingent on the Roslyn rewrite (a pretty big effort on the horizon).  Check it out and vote it up here: https://trello.com/c/t3ZG4jsB
  • Great product, question on javascript formatting...
    2 Posts | Last post May 29, 2015
    • I've created a NODE.js console application which has a js file in it.  For some reason the CleanUp Code menuitem remains grayed out...?   Suggestions.  
      
      
    • Take a look at the output tool window in VS and switch to the CodeMaid pane.  If you don't see any messages about unrecognized file types, enable diagnostic logging within CodeMaid config.  Most likely the file is not included in the solution or recognized by VS as a JavaScript file through the API.
  • Codemaid Extendion crashes VS when using Edit+Continue
    3 Posts | Last post May 22, 2015
    • Hi,
      I really like this Extendion, but for some reason my VS2013 always crashes when trying to apply changes as long as Code Maid is activated.
      When I deactivate Code Maid, then I can use Edit+Continue without problems.
      This doesn't seems to have anything to do with Formatting, since I saved the Changes before continue.
      This doesn't seems to be a Managed Exception
      I use VB.Net Projects, and have VS2013 + VS2015 preview installed.
    • Hi Alexander -
      
      I'm glad you really like CodeMaid. :)  That's peculiar behavior you are describing.  CodeMaid explicitly checks the IDE state and will not run if you are in debugging mode.  If you right click and look at the CodeMaid context options you will see cleanup is not available.
      
      I tried reproducing your issue with a simple VB "Hello World" type application but it did not exhibit any issue like you were describing.
      
      So we can get to the bottom of it, will you open an issue on GitHub (https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid/issues) with some steps to reproduce (e.g. this is what the code looks like, I break on this line, make this change and then continue causes the exception).
      
      Thanks for reporting the issue,
      -Steve Cadwallader
    • Interestingly I had the same issue and never suspected CodeMaid. Eventually I started disabling extensions one by one, and disabling CodeMaid fixed the issue. But so far re-enabling CodeMaid has not reintroduced the issue.
      
      Very weird.
  • Unable to update to latest from v0.3.7
    2 Posts | Last post May 21, 2015
    • I am using Codemaid v0.3.7 in VS2010 and i want to upgrade it to the latest one. When i try to update, i am getting the error message like "Extension CodeMaid must be uninstalled through the Windows Add/Remove Programs dialog." But i couldn't find any codemaid entries in Windows Add/Remove Programs. Please help me to this and i am very much excited about the update. Please help me...
    • CodeMaid v0.3.7 is a very old release, about four years ago.  Yes, that version would need to be uninstalled from the Control Panel Add/Remove programs dialog.
      
      If you are not seeing in the list, you can also re-run the CodeMaid v0.3.7 installer and choose to 'uninstall'.  It is available here: https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/downloads/CodeMaid_v0.3.7.zip
      
      Also, you need to be logged in to the same account that as used to do the install.  Some more details here: https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/issue/93/unable-to-uninstall-previous-version-to  
  • Spade for Javascript/html
    2 Posts | Last post May 19, 2015
    • Will there ever be spade for js and/or html files?
    • Spade is built on top of the code models exposed by Visual Studio, and currently they do not provide anything for HTML/JS files.  So no, it is unlikely that will be supported anytime soon.
  • For VS Community 2013
    4 Posts | Last post May 16, 2015
    • Is it possible to use CodeMaid for VS Community 2013?
    • Yes, absolutely!
      
      http://www.codemaid.net/2014/11/14/visualstudio2013community/
    • If I understand correctly, I can download the application at this website (https://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/76293c4d-8c16-4f4a-aee6-21f83a571496) and start installing it for today?
    • Yes, that's correct.  You can also install it from within Visual Studio by going to Tools->Extensions and searching for CodeMaid.
  • Uninstall
    4 Posts | Last post April 10, 2015
    • Codemaid does not appear to uninstall from VS2013.  I have version v0.7.6 installed and after uninstalling and restarting VS2013, Codemaid menus still show up and all items still working.  Something I'm missing ?
    • It appears that when I choose uninstall that it disables but doesn't remove it.  When I think uninstall the second time it is gone from my list (extensions and updates) but still is a menu on vs2013 along with all functionality still working.
    • Appears that i have finally removed it.  Not sure how other than physically shutting down vs2013 rather than the restarted recommended by the add extensions dialog.  :)
    • I'm glad you got it figured out, but not sure why you were having difficulties.  You do need to restart VS for the process to complete, but that's the same VSIX infrastructure and process used by all VS extensions.
  • Any planned date for VS2015 support?
    2 Posts | Last post April 07, 2015
    • I understand it's still in preview, just getting excited to have it in latest version.
    • We already have support for VS2015 preview, enjoy. :)
  • Uninstall CodeMaid.
    3 Posts | Last post April 04, 2015
1 - 10 of 139 Items