CodeMaid

Free

CodeMaid is an open source Visual Studio extension to cleanup, dig through and simplify our C#, C++, F#, VB, PHP, JSON, XAML, XML, ASP, HTML, CSS, LESS, SCSS, JavaScript and TypeScript coding.

(176) Review
Visual Studio
2015, 2013, 2012, 2010
Download (499,991)
3/21/2015
0.7.6
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (176)
Q and A (133)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by ..walt | November 27 2014

It cleans, it organizes and it can call in the heavy movers (Resharper in my case). And Steve ... thanks for responding to so many people.

Steve Cadwallader November 27 2014
| Edit |
Delete

I'm glad you're enjoying it, thanks for the positive review. :)

by VikNet | November 22 2014

by MJ11235 | November 19 2014

I love it!

Steve Cadwallader November 19 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Wonderful! :)

by ian-craig | November 17 2014

by Rishikesh Parkhe | November 06 2014

Fantastic plugin to visual studio :-) 4 stars....

More customisation options will be handy... to format internal code (like if statements / style cop whining etc... )

Also if there is an option to re-organize selected files (just like cleanup selected files), it will be great.

Awesome stuff!

Steve Cadwallader November 08 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks for the review and suggestions. :)

Some of the internal code details aren't available with the current VS API, but the new Roslyn compiler in VS14 will provide a lot more information that will make those kind of cleanups possible in the future. If you have specific requests check out the Roslyn list in the backlog: https://trello.com/b/VVxVhbQv/backlog

I've also added a new card to the backlog for reorganizing selected files, great idea: https://trello.com/c/cAOyUtUR

by Stevoisiak | November 02 2014

Awesome little program. Very helpful for cleaning up code.

Steve Cadwallader November 02 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thank you, the positive feedback is a great booster. :)

by Josh Garverick | October 23 2014

I found this extension on a whim one day, and have to admit that it works quite well for tidying things up. I also like the method complexity analysis as well.

Steve Cadwallader October 26 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks, glad you like it. :)

by Shockwaver One | August 27 2014

Saved my day, present and future ones, in a way you cannot even immagine XD.
Amazingly done, keep it up!

Cheers.

Steve Cadwallader August 28 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Fantastic, thanks! :)

by Nicw | August 24 2014

I may have missed something here but I have not found it. I always like to
know what changes are going to be made before anything goes making them. So
being able to scan the solution then review the suggested changes would be a
must for me.

as a test I created a simple VS2013 MFC application with various classes and
code then ran CodeMaid Clean up All Code. The result was then not able to
be compiled a CodeMaid removed the EOF character from the end of the .rc2
file, so I would be very fearful of running this on larger projects.

Steve Cadwallader August 25 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks for the constructive criticism, that is very helpful.

For that specific item with the .rc2 EOF indicator not being on a separate line, Issue #18 opened and resolved for the next minor release. There is a "Remove end of file trailing new line" option that could be disabled in the interim.

I've also placed a card in the backlog to investigate adding integration tests that would iterate across all the different project templates and invoke CodeMaid actions upon them. https://trello.com/c/Sqv2bIWC

by Homer_ | August 21 2014

by Miro Jeliaskoff | August 12 2014

I did not know it existed but now I am happy. I love open source because there is no corporate guy to decide what the world needs. WE do it!

Steve Cadwallader August 13 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Amen! :)

by endl | August 08 2014

A good tool for VS2013!

by Deniz Şevderoğlu | July 31 2014

Çok yaralı buldum.Teşekkür ederim.

Steve Cadwallader July 31 2014
| Edit |
Delete

If Google translate is correct, you're welcome. :)

by Ma3ztro | July 30 2014

by JAltepeter | July 30 2014

by Rbby | July 24 2014

Very handy tool and for free! Keep up the good work!

Steve Cadwallader July 24 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Will do, thanks! :)

by ShrenikOne | July 03 2014

First its awesome and second its awesome, very light weight and incredible. But for some reasons it doesn't work on solution level clean-up all. I have mix projects in solution, ASP.NET MVC, Web API, Silverlight, WCF, Windows Service etc.. and total around 50+ projects excluding unit test projects :)... if it work at solution level then save more time for me and save me 50+ individual project level clicks...

Thanks again for your tool, its really helpful..

Steve Cadwallader July 03 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks for the high compliments! :)

VS2013 had a known issue with solution level cleanups being disabled. They fixed it recently with Update 2. If that doesn't do the trick a shortcut is you can multi-select projects and do cleanup on several at once. Also feel free to open a BitBucket issue and we can figure it out if it wasn't the VS update.

Keep enjoying! :)

by Daniel Cazé | June 30 2014

This tool saved my life!!!
I liked a lot.

I will feel so wonderful if more stylecop rules added at cleanup processing

- sorry by my bad english

Steve Cadwallader July 01 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks :) To suggest or vote for specific StyleCop rules please go to the backlog here: https://trello.com/b/VVxVhbQv/backlog

by Felipe F. Diogo | May 20 2014

All I have to say is that the extension is awesome.

one of the features that I've come to like is the close read-only files.

Also the CodeMaid Spade blew my mind away.

sry for grammar since english is not my native language.

Keep up the good work and I'm looking forward for updates.

Steve Cadwallader May 23 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks - I really appreciate the feedback and am glad you're enjoying it so much. :)

by Jay Muralee | May 15 2014

I'm blown away! Where have you been all my coding life? Simple little things like collapsing all the projects in the solution explorer - such a time saver.

Steve Cadwallader May 17 2014
| Edit |
Delete

*grin* thanks :)

21 - 40 of 176 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Uninstall
    4 Posts | Last post April 10, 2015
    • Codemaid does not appear to uninstall from VS2013.  I have version v0.7.6 installed and after uninstalling and restarting VS2013, Codemaid menus still show up and all items still working.  Something I'm missing ?
    • It appears that when I choose uninstall that it disables but doesn't remove it.  When I think uninstall the second time it is gone from my list (extensions and updates) but still is a menu on vs2013 along with all functionality still working.
    • Appears that i have finally removed it.  Not sure how other than physically shutting down vs2013 rather than the restarted recommended by the add extensions dialog.  :)
    • I'm glad you got it figured out, but not sure why you were having difficulties.  You do need to restart VS for the process to complete, but that's the same VSIX infrastructure and process used by all VS extensions.
  • Any planned date for VS2015 support?
    2 Posts | Last post April 07, 2015
    • I understand it's still in preview, just getting excited to have it in latest version.
    • We already have support for VS2015 preview, enjoy. :)
  • Uninstall CodeMaid.
    3 Posts | Last post April 04, 2015
  • Can not istall for VS2010
    5 Posts | Last post March 26, 2015
    • Not allowing to be installed for VS2010. Gives and error 'The extension 'Code Maid' required a version of .NET framework that is not installed'
      
      Can any one help me with this.
      
      Thanks
    • CodeMaid requires .NET 4.5 or higher, which you can download here: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30653
    • I have installed Windows XP SP3 32bit.
      .NetFramevork 4.5 can not be installed on WindowsXP (Supported Operating System: Windows 7 Service Pack 1, Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1, Windows Server 2008 Service Pack 2, Windows Vista Service Pack 2). Where can I download a previous version CodeMaid.
    • https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid/releases/tag/v0.7.3
    • Yep, exactly - v0.7.3 was the last edition before the upgrade to .NET 4.5
      
      https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid/releases/tag/v0.7.3
  • Code reorganization for both C# and VB.NET
    2 Posts | Last post March 24, 2015
    • With upcoming VS2015 and Roslyn .NET Compiler Platform, there should be same possibilities for both C# and VB.NET.
      Do you plan implementing code reorganization for VB.NET using this?
    • Roslyn will definitely open some doors, but is a huge rewrite that will take some time.  I'm hopeful it will improve the VB API experience.
      
      VB code reorganization is in the backlog here: https://trello.com/c/TD0jaAab
  • Layout formatting for Python
    2 Posts | Last post March 18, 2015
    • Will you support for Python scripts layout formatting?
    • It isn't currently supported, but you're welcome to add suggestions on our public backlog here: https://trello.com/b/VVxVhbQv/backlog
  • Custom Region Names
    2 Posts | Last post February 18, 2015
    • Hi,
      Is it possible to customize the region names created by CodeMaid? I cannot find this capability. e.g. Rather than "Fields" something of our choosing.
    • Yes, go to CodeMaid -> Configuration -> Reorganizing -> Types.  You can drag to reorder, drag over to group, right click to split, and (most importantly) double-click to rename.
  • Trying to run it but fails with this errro - any ideas
    3 Posts | Last post February 11, 2015
    • "Could not load file or assembly 'Microsoft.VisualStudio.Package.LanguageService.10.0, Version=10.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b03f5f7f11d50a3a' or one of its dependencies. 
      The system cannot find the file specified.
    • this is on vs professional 2013 version 12.0.21005.1 REL
    • There was a known issue with the initial releases of VS2013 where the devenv.exe.config had an invalid entry for the LanguageService DLL that would cause that error.  They resolved it in VS2013 Update 2.  If you update to that version (or higher) that should help.
      
      More details here: https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/issue/220/vs2013-cleanup-all-code-shows-error
  • Error while cleaning file using
    2 Posts | Last post February 04, 2015
    • [CodeMaid Handled Exception 08:06:24 PM] Stopped cleaning 'SomeFile.cs': System.Runtime.InteropServices.COMException (0x80004005): Error HRESULT E_FAIL has been returned from a call to a COM component.
         at EnvDTE80.DTE2.ExecuteCommand(String CommandName, String CommandArgs)
         at SteveCadwallader.CodeMaid.Logic.Cleaning.UsingStatementCleanupLogic.RemoveUnusedUsingStatements(TextDocument textDocument, Boolean isAutoSave)
         at SteveCadwallader.CodeMaid.Logic.Cleaning.CodeCleanupManager.RunCodeCleanupCSharp(Document document, Boolean isAutoSave)
         at SteveCadwallader.CodeMaid.Logic.Cleaning.CodeCleanupManager.<>c__DisplayClassb.<Cleanup>b__9()
         at SteveCadwallader.CodeMaid.Helpers.UndoTransactionHelper.Run(Func`1 undoConditions, Action tryAction, Action`1 catchAction)
      [CodeMaid Handled Exception 08:06:26 PM] Stopped cleaning 'httpactionresultexcentions.cs': System.Runtime.InteropServices.COMException (0x80004005): Error HRESULT E_FAIL has been returned from a call to a COM component.
         at EnvDTE80.DTE2.ExecuteCommand(String CommandName, String CommandArgs)
         at SteveCadwallader.CodeMaid.Logic.Cleaning.UsingStatementCleanupLogic.RemoveUnusedUsingStatements(TextDocument textDocument, Boolean isAutoSave)
         at SteveCadwallader.CodeMaid.Logic.Cleaning.CodeCleanupManager.RunCodeCleanupCSharp(Document document, Boolean isAutoSave)
         at SteveCadwallader.CodeMaid.Logic.Cleaning.CodeCleanupManager.<>c__DisplayClassb.<Cleanup>b__9()
         at SteveCadwallader.CodeMaid.Helpers.UndoTransactionHelper.Run(Func`1 undoConditions, Action tryAction, Action`1 catchAction)
      
    • VS is throwing an error about removing unused using statements. 
      
      A few possible causes:
      - Code is not in a compilable state
      - ReSharper 9 (fixed in 9.0.1)
      
      For more support please open an issue on GitHub with a code excerpt. 
  • Won't install for 2013?
    2 Posts | Last post December 08, 2014
    • Hi!
      
      I have VS 2013, yet your add-on just won't install. I've downloaded it twice now, and it keeps saying 'no applicable version found' and then just exits. 
      
      Any ideas?
    • Are you using the express edition of VS2013?  If so you'll want to switch over to the community edition which supports extensions (more details here: http://www.codemaid.net/2014/11/14/visualstudio2013community/)
      
      If you're not using an express edition, can you please open an issue on GitHub (https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid/issues) including if you've been able to install the extension before, if you've been able to install it on other machines, and what other extensions you have installed?
1 - 10 of 133 Items