CodeMaid

Free

CodeMaid is an open source Visual Studio extension to cleanup, dig through and simplify our C#, C++, F#, VB, XAML, XML, ASP, HTML, CSS, LESS, SCSS, JavaScript and TypeScript coding.

(168) Review
Visual Studio
2013, 2012, 2010, 14
Download (473,359)
11/23/2014
0.7.5
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (168)
Q and A (127)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Nicw | August 24 2014

I may have missed something here but I have not found it. I always like to
know what changes are going to be made before anything goes making them. So
being able to scan the solution then review the suggested changes would be a
must for me.

as a test I created a simple VS2013 MFC application with various classes and
code then ran CodeMaid Clean up All Code. The result was then not able to
be compiled a CodeMaid removed the EOF character from the end of the .rc2
file, so I would be very fearful of running this on larger projects.

Steve Cadwallader August 25 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks for the constructive criticism, that is very helpful.

For that specific item with the .rc2 EOF indicator not being on a separate line, Issue #18 opened and resolved for the next minor release. There is a "Remove end of file trailing new line" option that could be disabled in the interim.

I've also placed a card in the backlog to investigate adding integration tests that would iterate across all the different project templates and invoke CodeMaid actions upon them. https://trello.com/c/Sqv2bIWC

by Homer_ | August 21 2014

by Miro Jeliaskoff | August 12 2014

I did not know it existed but now I am happy. I love open source because there is no corporate guy to decide what the world needs. WE do it!

Steve Cadwallader August 13 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Amen! :)

by endl | August 08 2014

A good tool for VS2013!

by Deniz Şevderoğlu | July 31 2014

Çok yaralı buldum.Teşekkür ederim.

Steve Cadwallader July 31 2014
| Edit |
Delete

If Google translate is correct, you're welcome. :)

by Ma3ztro | July 30 2014

by JAltepeter | July 30 2014

by Rbby | July 24 2014

Very handy tool and for free! Keep up the good work!

Steve Cadwallader July 24 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Will do, thanks! :)

by ShrenikOne | July 03 2014

First its awesome and second its awesome, very light weight and incredible. But for some reasons it doesn't work on solution level clean-up all. I have mix projects in solution, ASP.NET MVC, Web API, Silverlight, WCF, Windows Service etc.. and total around 50+ projects excluding unit test projects :)... if it work at solution level then save more time for me and save me 50+ individual project level clicks...

Thanks again for your tool, its really helpful..

Steve Cadwallader July 03 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks for the high compliments! :)

VS2013 had a known issue with solution level cleanups being disabled. They fixed it recently with Update 2. If that doesn't do the trick a shortcut is you can multi-select projects and do cleanup on several at once. Also feel free to open a BitBucket issue and we can figure it out if it wasn't the VS update.

Keep enjoying! :)

by Daniel Cazé | June 30 2014

This tool saved my life!!!
I liked a lot.

I will feel so wonderful if more stylecop rules added at cleanup processing

- sorry by my bad english

Steve Cadwallader July 01 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks :) To suggest or vote for specific StyleCop rules please go to the backlog here: https://trello.com/b/VVxVhbQv/backlog

by Felipe F. Diogo | May 20 2014

All I have to say is that the extension is awesome.

one of the features that I've come to like is the close read-only files.

Also the CodeMaid Spade blew my mind away.

sry for grammar since english is not my native language.

Keep up the good work and I'm looking forward for updates.

Steve Cadwallader May 23 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks - I really appreciate the feedback and am glad you're enjoying it so much. :)

by Jay Muralee | May 15 2014

I'm blown away! Where have you been all my coding life? Simple little things like collapsing all the projects in the solution explorer - such a time saver.

Steve Cadwallader May 17 2014
| Edit |
Delete

*grin* thanks :)

by rmoc | April 30 2014

by Brice Williams | April 14 2014

Excellent Visual Studio extension. Can't wait to see upcoming new features.

Steve Cadwallader April 15 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks. :) For spoiler's about what's coming next, vote/comment on our public backlog here: https://trello.com/b/VVxVhbQv/backlog

by Lukasz Ciastko | April 11 2014

I used to use CodeMain, but it's not compatible with the latest Windows Universal Apps. It's impossible to clean up classes inside a shared folder.

Steve Cadwallader April 13 2014
| Edit |
Delete

If you'd like to look into it together, please open an issue on BitBucket here: https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/issues

by user rob | April 10 2014

Code Maid persistently crashed the GUI for the project I maintain without me using any code maid features. I guess its for hobby use only.
Using C++ VS2010 Vista.

The loaded solution consists of 8 legacy programs with origins in VMS consisting mostly of C with Win API with some newer simple C++.

The VS GUI crashed in the following instances: rearranging window positions, selecting class view and while browsing the code before I un-installed it. After un-installing and before installing of code maid there were no VS crashes. I have been using VS 2010 to maintain this code since 2010 without any GUI crashes.

Steve Cadwallader April 11 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Sorry that you had a bad experience.

There are some fixes for VS2010 available in the latest beta. Message me through here for more details: http://www.codemaid.net/contact/

by digovc | April 07 2014

by mwbrady68 | April 05 2014

by honsinger | April 01 2014

This is fantastic. Don't for one minute think it's just a pretty thing, for me it is a major productivity boost!

Thank you.

Steve Cadwallader April 01 2014
| Edit |
Delete

You're welcome - I'm happy to hear it is giving you a boost. :)

by sharethl | March 24 2014

21 - 40 of 168 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Custom Region Names
    2 Posts | Last post February 18, 2015
    • Hi,
      Is it possible to customize the region names created by CodeMaid? I cannot find this capability. e.g. Rather than "Fields" something of our choosing.
    • Yes, go to CodeMaid -> Configuration -> Reorganizing -> Types.  You can drag to reorder, drag over to group, right click to split, and (most importantly) double-click to rename.
  • Trying to run it but fails with this errro - any ideas
    3 Posts | Last post February 11, 2015
    • "Could not load file or assembly 'Microsoft.VisualStudio.Package.LanguageService.10.0, Version=10.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b03f5f7f11d50a3a' or one of its dependencies. 
      The system cannot find the file specified.
    • this is on vs professional 2013 version 12.0.21005.1 REL
    • There was a known issue with the initial releases of VS2013 where the devenv.exe.config had an invalid entry for the LanguageService DLL that would cause that error.  They resolved it in VS2013 Update 2.  If you update to that version (or higher) that should help.
      
      More details here: https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/issue/220/vs2013-cleanup-all-code-shows-error
  • Error while cleaning file using
    2 Posts | Last post February 04, 2015
    • [CodeMaid Handled Exception 08:06:24 PM] Stopped cleaning 'SomeFile.cs': System.Runtime.InteropServices.COMException (0x80004005): Error HRESULT E_FAIL has been returned from a call to a COM component.
         at EnvDTE80.DTE2.ExecuteCommand(String CommandName, String CommandArgs)
         at SteveCadwallader.CodeMaid.Logic.Cleaning.UsingStatementCleanupLogic.RemoveUnusedUsingStatements(TextDocument textDocument, Boolean isAutoSave)
         at SteveCadwallader.CodeMaid.Logic.Cleaning.CodeCleanupManager.RunCodeCleanupCSharp(Document document, Boolean isAutoSave)
         at SteveCadwallader.CodeMaid.Logic.Cleaning.CodeCleanupManager.<>c__DisplayClassb.<Cleanup>b__9()
         at SteveCadwallader.CodeMaid.Helpers.UndoTransactionHelper.Run(Func`1 undoConditions, Action tryAction, Action`1 catchAction)
      [CodeMaid Handled Exception 08:06:26 PM] Stopped cleaning 'httpactionresultexcentions.cs': System.Runtime.InteropServices.COMException (0x80004005): Error HRESULT E_FAIL has been returned from a call to a COM component.
         at EnvDTE80.DTE2.ExecuteCommand(String CommandName, String CommandArgs)
         at SteveCadwallader.CodeMaid.Logic.Cleaning.UsingStatementCleanupLogic.RemoveUnusedUsingStatements(TextDocument textDocument, Boolean isAutoSave)
         at SteveCadwallader.CodeMaid.Logic.Cleaning.CodeCleanupManager.RunCodeCleanupCSharp(Document document, Boolean isAutoSave)
         at SteveCadwallader.CodeMaid.Logic.Cleaning.CodeCleanupManager.<>c__DisplayClassb.<Cleanup>b__9()
         at SteveCadwallader.CodeMaid.Helpers.UndoTransactionHelper.Run(Func`1 undoConditions, Action tryAction, Action`1 catchAction)
      
    • VS is throwing an error about removing unused using statements. 
      
      A few possible causes:
      - Code is not in a compilable state
      - ReSharper 9 (fixed in 9.0.1)
      
      For more support please open an issue on GitHub with a code excerpt. 
  • Won't install for 2013?
    2 Posts | Last post December 08, 2014
    • Hi!
      
      I have VS 2013, yet your add-on just won't install. I've downloaded it twice now, and it keeps saying 'no applicable version found' and then just exits. 
      
      Any ideas?
    • Are you using the express edition of VS2013?  If so you'll want to switch over to the community edition which supports extensions (more details here: http://www.codemaid.net/2014/11/14/visualstudio2013community/)
      
      If you're not using an express edition, can you please open an issue on GitHub (https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid/issues) including if you've been able to install the extension before, if you've been able to install it on other machines, and what other extensions you have installed?
  • Codemaid Extendion crashes VS when using Edit+Continue
    2 Posts | Last post December 04, 2014
    • Hi,
      I really like this Extendion, but for some reason my VS2013 always crashes when trying to apply changes as long as Code Maid is activated.
      When I deactivate Code Maid, then I can use Edit+Continue without problems.
      This doesn't seems to have anything to do with Formatting, since I saved the Changes before continue.
      This doesn't seems to be a Managed Exception
      I use VB.Net Projects, and have VS2013 + VS2015 preview installed.
    • Hi Alexander -
      
      I'm glad you really like CodeMaid. :)  That's peculiar behavior you are describing.  CodeMaid explicitly checks the IDE state and will not run if you are in debugging mode.  If you right click and look at the CodeMaid context options you will see cleanup is not available.
      
      I tried reproducing your issue with a simple VB "Hello World" type application but it did not exhibit any issue like you were describing.
      
      So we can get to the bottom of it, will you open an issue on GitHub (https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid/issues) with some steps to reproduce (e.g. this is what the code looks like, I break on this line, make this change and then continue causes the exception).
      
      Thanks for reporting the issue,
      -Steve Cadwallader
  • Install on VS2013 Express
    4 Posts | Last post November 27, 2014
    • Hi, is it possible to install CM on VS 2013 Express for Desktop?
    • No, unfortunately it is not.  Microsoft does not allow for any 3rd party extensions with the express edition of Visual Studio.
      
      http://visualstudiomagazine.com/articles/2014/05/21/no-extensions-for-visual-studio-express.aspx
    • However, the new VS Community Edition does! All the features of VS 2013 Professional for free: http://tinyurl.com/mxbh9wb
      
    • Exactly!  And CodeMaid tested and approved: http://www.codemaid.net/2014/11/14/visualstudio2013community/
  • Make sure file ends with blank line?
    4 Posts | Last post November 21, 2014
    • I've been using this extension when writing C++ code and it is really excellent.  Would it be possible to add an option to force a file to end with a new line (essentially last line is blank)? Some compilers don't like it and will actually generate warnings if you don't end the file with a newline.
    • That's a feature request that's been gaining in popularity - check it out here: https://trello.com/c/o3lFZdXD
    • Spoiler, just finished implementation and will be in this weekend's release. ;)
    • That is awesome!  Thanks for the great (and fast) work.
  • Option to skip removing blank line cursor is on?
    2 Posts | Last post November 18, 2014
    • I often write a block of code and then Ctrl+S before continuing to the next block. At this point my cursor is usually on a (double) blank line ready to begin writing again. 
      
      Unfortunately though, when the code is cleaned up on save the cursor is moved as the line is deleted. Is there any way to prevent this? I really like the format on save and cleaning up of blank lines (along with so many other features!!) so I don't want to completely turn them off.
    • I'm glad you really like the tool. :)
      
      There isn't currently a way to do that.  There is a card in the backlog for that feature that you can track/vote/comment on here: https://trello.com/c/2IC3YRS9
  • Protecting a struct ( or part of a struct) from reordering.
    2 Posts | Last post October 14, 2014
    •  I have a few structures that represent the specific layout of data. The order of fields is important. I have not found a way to stop CodeMaid from reordering them.
      
      Is there one?
      
    • Yes, you could decorate the structure with an attribute indicating that the order of fields is important.  CodeMaid looks for and will ignore members that are decorated with either the StructLayout attribute or the ComImport attribute.
      
      http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/system.runtime.interopservices.structlayoutattribute(v=vs.100).aspx
      
      http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/system.runtime.interopservices.comimportattribute(v=vs.100).aspx
  • CodeMaid does not start
    3 Posts | Last post October 02, 2014
    • I install CodeMaid on two different computers but when I restart VS 2010, I get an error message : https://app.box.com/s/7140v41rk1hh7x54tina
      
      The most disturbing thing is that I installed version 0.7.3 on another computer some months ago and had no problem.
      
      I really do not know what to do. Any help would be very appreciated. 
    • As of CodeMaid v0.7.4, .NET 4.5 is required on the machine.  It did not get correctly marked in the installer so the error message is not very helpful.  Do you have .NET 4.5 installed?
      
      There are some more details here, including a link to the older installer: https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid/issues/13
    • Thank you for your quick answer.
      It is exactly as you said and version 0.7.3 does perfectly the job.
1 - 10 of 127 Items