CodeMaid

Free

CodeMaid is an open source Visual Studio extension to cleanup, dig through and simplify our C#, C++, F#, VB, PHP, JSON, XAML, XML, ASP, HTML, CSS, LESS, SCSS, JavaScript and TypeScript coding.

(190) Review
Visual Studio
2015, 2013, 2012, 2010
Download (540,437)
7/19/2015
0.8.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (190)
Q and A (141)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Josh Garverick | October 23 2014

I found this extension on a whim one day, and have to admit that it works quite well for tidying things up. I also like the method complexity analysis as well.

Steve Cadwallader October 26 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks, glad you like it. :)

by Shockwaver One | August 27 2014

Saved my day, present and future ones, in a way you cannot even immagine XD.
Amazingly done, keep it up!

Cheers.

Steve Cadwallader August 28 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Fantastic, thanks! :)

by Nicw | August 24 2014

I may have missed something here but I have not found it. I always like to
know what changes are going to be made before anything goes making them. So
being able to scan the solution then review the suggested changes would be a
must for me.

as a test I created a simple VS2013 MFC application with various classes and
code then ran CodeMaid Clean up All Code. The result was then not able to
be compiled a CodeMaid removed the EOF character from the end of the .rc2
file, so I would be very fearful of running this on larger projects.

Steve Cadwallader August 25 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks for the constructive criticism, that is very helpful.

For that specific item with the .rc2 EOF indicator not being on a separate line, Issue #18 opened and resolved for the next minor release. There is a "Remove end of file trailing new line" option that could be disabled in the interim.

I've also placed a card in the backlog to investigate adding integration tests that would iterate across all the different project templates and invoke CodeMaid actions upon them. https://trello.com/c/Sqv2bIWC

by Homer_ | August 21 2014

by Miro Jeliaskoff | August 12 2014

I did not know it existed but now I am happy. I love open source because there is no corporate guy to decide what the world needs. WE do it!

Steve Cadwallader August 13 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Amen! :)

by endl | August 08 2014

A good tool for VS2013!

by Deniz Şevderoğlu | Thu 9:38 AM

Çok yaralı buldum.Teşekkür ederim.

Steve Cadwallader Thu 12:34 PM
| Edit |
Delete

If Google translate is correct, you're welcome. :)

by Ma3ztro | Wed 7:07 PM

by JAltepeter | Wed 4:21 PM

by Rbby | July 24 2014

Very handy tool and for free! Keep up the good work!

Steve Cadwallader July 24 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Will do, thanks! :)

by ShrenikOne | July 03 2014

First its awesome and second its awesome, very light weight and incredible. But for some reasons it doesn't work on solution level clean-up all. I have mix projects in solution, ASP.NET MVC, Web API, Silverlight, WCF, Windows Service etc.. and total around 50+ projects excluding unit test projects :)... if it work at solution level then save more time for me and save me 50+ individual project level clicks...

Thanks again for your tool, its really helpful..

Steve Cadwallader July 03 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks for the high compliments! :)

VS2013 had a known issue with solution level cleanups being disabled. They fixed it recently with Update 2. If that doesn't do the trick a shortcut is you can multi-select projects and do cleanup on several at once. Also feel free to open a BitBucket issue and we can figure it out if it wasn't the VS update.

Keep enjoying! :)

by Daniel Cazé | June 30 2014

This tool saved my life!!!
I liked a lot.

I will feel so wonderful if more stylecop rules added at cleanup processing

- sorry by my bad english

Steve Cadwallader July 01 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks :) To suggest or vote for specific StyleCop rules please go to the backlog here: https://trello.com/b/VVxVhbQv/backlog

by Felipe F. Diogo | May 20 2014

All I have to say is that the extension is awesome.

one of the features that I've come to like is the close read-only files.

Also the CodeMaid Spade blew my mind away.

sry for grammar since english is not my native language.

Keep up the good work and I'm looking forward for updates.

Steve Cadwallader May 23 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks - I really appreciate the feedback and am glad you're enjoying it so much. :)

by Jay Muralee | May 15 2014

I'm blown away! Where have you been all my coding life? Simple little things like collapsing all the projects in the solution explorer - such a time saver.

Steve Cadwallader May 17 2014
| Edit |
Delete

*grin* thanks :)

by rmoc | April 30 2014

by Brice Williams | April 14 2014

Excellent Visual Studio extension. Can't wait to see upcoming new features.

Steve Cadwallader April 14 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks. :) For spoiler's about what's coming next, vote/comment on our public backlog here: https://trello.com/b/VVxVhbQv/backlog

by Lukasz Ciastko | April 11 2014

I used to use CodeMain, but it's not compatible with the latest Windows Universal Apps. It's impossible to clean up classes inside a shared folder.

Steve Cadwallader April 13 2014
| Edit |
Delete

If you'd like to look into it together, please open an issue on BitBucket here: https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/issues

by user rob | April 10 2014

Code Maid persistently crashed the GUI for the project I maintain without me using any code maid features. I guess its for hobby use only.
Using C++ VS2010 Vista.

The loaded solution consists of 8 legacy programs with origins in VMS consisting mostly of C with Win API with some newer simple C++.

The VS GUI crashed in the following instances: rearranging window positions, selecting class view and while browsing the code before I un-installed it. After un-installing and before installing of code maid there were no VS crashes. I have been using VS 2010 to maintain this code since 2010 without any GUI crashes.

Steve Cadwallader April 11 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Sorry that you had a bad experience.

There are some fixes for VS2010 available in the latest beta. Message me through here for more details: http://www.codemaid.net/contact/

by digovc | April 07 2014

by mwbrady68 | April 05 2014

41 - 60 of 190 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • remove unused using statment
    3 Posts | Last post Sun 11:34 PM
    • Hello first of all, I want to say thank you, I was using this extension for several years and it was great.
      
      BTW I just figure out lately that it is not removing the unused using statement, this is the first happened to me. so what i did is check the configuration. On the inside the Cleaning->Visual Studio the "Run remove unused using statements" option is check.
      
      I am using the codemaid 0.8.0 on VS2013 update 5
      
      Thank you
    • You're welcome, I'm glad you've been enjoying it.
      
      There is an additional clause for removal of unused using statements.  By default, it will skip running that operation during an automatic cleanup on save.  The reason for this is that when a build, triggers a save, which triggers a cleanup, in some scenarios it could cause Visual Studio to lock up.  This was mostly noticed with VS2012, but the default option has been kept the same.  If you manually invoke CodeMaid, then by default it will go ahead with removing the unused using statements.
      
      I hope that helps.  If it doesn't, can you please open an issue on GitHub along with a minimal code sample?  https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid/issues
    • Thank you so much
  • Happen error
    2 Posts | Last post July 19, 2015
    • When I use CodeMaid to load code And click "CodeMaid Spade".The IDE would send a error messagebox.
      My IDE is Visual Studio 2015 RC.And error log is
      http://sta.sh/01eobpsr8361
    • Thanks for reporting the issue.  I am seeing it as well, and have moved this to a GitHub issue here: https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid/issues/118
  • Use just Spade
    2 Posts | Last post July 03, 2015
    • Hi,
      
      I like the Spade very much but have no need for other features, like the 'popup' after mouse hover over e.g. a property. Is it possible to disable those features and keep just the Spade 'window'? Thanks.
    • I'm glad to hear you like it.  There currently isn't a configuration option specifically for disabling the tool tip, but you could make a custom build by forking the code or requesting it on the public backlog. 
  • New Line after Closing Brace
    2 Posts | Last post June 24, 2015
    • Hi, firstly thanks for this excellent extension. It's one of the ones I could hardly live without these days.
      
      I've got a little feature request. I was wondering if CodeMaid could insert spaces after code control-flow block braces. e.g. following if/while/for code blocks.
    • Thanks, that's really great to hear. :)
      
      We do have that feature request in our backlog, contingent on the Roslyn rewrite (a pretty big effort on the horizon).  Check it out and vote it up here: https://trello.com/c/t3ZG4jsB
  • Great product, question on javascript formatting...
    2 Posts | Last post May 29, 2015
    • I've created a NODE.js console application which has a js file in it.  For some reason the CleanUp Code menuitem remains grayed out...?   Suggestions.  
      
      
    • Take a look at the output tool window in VS and switch to the CodeMaid pane.  If you don't see any messages about unrecognized file types, enable diagnostic logging within CodeMaid config.  Most likely the file is not included in the solution or recognized by VS as a JavaScript file through the API.
  • Codemaid Extendion crashes VS when using Edit+Continue
    3 Posts | Last post May 22, 2015
    • Hi,
      I really like this Extendion, but for some reason my VS2013 always crashes when trying to apply changes as long as Code Maid is activated.
      When I deactivate Code Maid, then I can use Edit+Continue without problems.
      This doesn't seems to have anything to do with Formatting, since I saved the Changes before continue.
      This doesn't seems to be a Managed Exception
      I use VB.Net Projects, and have VS2013 + VS2015 preview installed.
    • Hi Alexander -
      
      I'm glad you really like CodeMaid. :)  That's peculiar behavior you are describing.  CodeMaid explicitly checks the IDE state and will not run if you are in debugging mode.  If you right click and look at the CodeMaid context options you will see cleanup is not available.
      
      I tried reproducing your issue with a simple VB "Hello World" type application but it did not exhibit any issue like you were describing.
      
      So we can get to the bottom of it, will you open an issue on GitHub (https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid/issues) with some steps to reproduce (e.g. this is what the code looks like, I break on this line, make this change and then continue causes the exception).
      
      Thanks for reporting the issue,
      -Steve Cadwallader
    • Interestingly I had the same issue and never suspected CodeMaid. Eventually I started disabling extensions one by one, and disabling CodeMaid fixed the issue. But so far re-enabling CodeMaid has not reintroduced the issue.
      
      Very weird.
  • Unable to update to latest from v0.3.7
    2 Posts | Last post May 21, 2015
    • I am using Codemaid v0.3.7 in VS2010 and i want to upgrade it to the latest one. When i try to update, i am getting the error message like "Extension CodeMaid must be uninstalled through the Windows Add/Remove Programs dialog." But i couldn't find any codemaid entries in Windows Add/Remove Programs. Please help me to this and i am very much excited about the update. Please help me...
    • CodeMaid v0.3.7 is a very old release, about four years ago.  Yes, that version would need to be uninstalled from the Control Panel Add/Remove programs dialog.
      
      If you are not seeing in the list, you can also re-run the CodeMaid v0.3.7 installer and choose to 'uninstall'.  It is available here: https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/downloads/CodeMaid_v0.3.7.zip
      
      Also, you need to be logged in to the same account that as used to do the install.  Some more details here: https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/issue/93/unable-to-uninstall-previous-version-to  
  • Spade for Javascript/html
    2 Posts | Last post May 19, 2015
    • Will there ever be spade for js and/or html files?
    • Spade is built on top of the code models exposed by Visual Studio, and currently they do not provide anything for HTML/JS files.  So no, it is unlikely that will be supported anytime soon.
  • For VS Community 2013
    4 Posts | Last post May 16, 2015
    • Is it possible to use CodeMaid for VS Community 2013?
    • Yes, absolutely!
      
      http://www.codemaid.net/2014/11/14/visualstudio2013community/
    • If I understand correctly, I can download the application at this website (https://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/76293c4d-8c16-4f4a-aee6-21f83a571496) and start installing it for today?
    • Yes, that's correct.  You can also install it from within Visual Studio by going to Tools->Extensions and searching for CodeMaid.
  • Uninstall
    4 Posts | Last post April 10, 2015
    • Codemaid does not appear to uninstall from VS2013.  I have version v0.7.6 installed and after uninstalling and restarting VS2013, Codemaid menus still show up and all items still working.  Something I'm missing ?
    • It appears that when I choose uninstall that it disables but doesn't remove it.  When I think uninstall the second time it is gone from my list (extensions and updates) but still is a menu on vs2013 along with all functionality still working.
    • Appears that i have finally removed it.  Not sure how other than physically shutting down vs2013 rather than the restarted recommended by the add extensions dialog.  :)
    • I'm glad you got it figured out, but not sure why you were having difficulties.  You do need to restart VS for the process to complete, but that's the same VSIX infrastructure and process used by all VS extensions.
1 - 10 of 141 Items