CodeMaid is an open source Visual Studio extension to cleanup, dig through and simplify our C#, C++, F#, VB, PHP, PowerShell, JSON, XAML, XML, ASP, HTML, CSS, LESS, SCSS, JavaScript and TypeScript coding.

(205) Review
Visual Studio
2015, 2013, 2012
Download (600,339)
E-mail Twitter Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Reviews (205)
Q and A (155)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by michal_bb | January 30 2015

A must have plugin for VS. I especially like the ability to go find an opened file in solution explorer, code cleanup, code reorganizing and showing progress in the taskbar. 5*****

Steve Cadwallader January 31 2015
| Edit |

Thanks! :)

by Steven Goodgrove | January 29 2015

by ErdincDogrul | January 27 2015

Awesome and perfect. thank you

Steve Cadwallader January 31 2015
| Edit |

You're very welcome! :)

by Michaël Polla | January 05 2015

This extension is really great ! I wish I'd known it before. For now I mostly used the cleanup functionality, and it's very useful. It already works well with Visual Studio 2015 (Preview). Thank you for this great work !
[FR] Je recommande cette extension, très pratique. J'ai pour l'instant surtout utilisé la fonction de "nettoyage" du code, qui apporte des modifications très appréciables. Fonctionne très bien avec Visual Studio 2015 (Preview).

Steve Cadwallader January 06 2015
| Edit |

You're very welcome! :)

by Yatajga | January 02 2015

Good tool.

by helixwmonkey | December 31 2014

Very nice tool. Just download and try and it amazes me~

Steve Cadwallader December 31 2014
| Edit |

Thanks! :)

by ytf1 | December 23 2014

a very good plugin,thanks

Steve Cadwallader December 23 2014
| Edit |

Glad you like it! :)

by Krzysztof Osowicki | December 18 2014

by PadamkNegi | December 06 2014

I love this plugin. i was using it with vs 2010 and it worked perfectly, but with vs 2013. It crashes my visual studio again and again. and corrupts my .aspx page (html). i don't know why.?? Please resolve this issue.

thank you

Steve Cadwallader December 06 2014
| Edit |

I'm glad you love the plugin, and sorry that you're encountering a difficulty. If you can open an issue on GitHub with some more details (e.g. code sample before and after) then I can look into it further.

by ..walt | November 27 2014

It cleans, it organizes and it can call in the heavy movers (Resharper in my case). And Steve ... thanks for responding to so many people.

Steve Cadwallader November 27 2014
| Edit |

I'm glad you're enjoying it, thanks for the positive review. :)

by VikNet | November 22 2014

by MJ11235 | November 19 2014

I love it!

Steve Cadwallader November 19 2014
| Edit |

Wonderful! :)

by ian-craig | November 17 2014

by Rishikesh Parkhe | November 06 2014

Fantastic plugin to visual studio :-) 4 stars....

More customisation options will be handy... to format internal code (like if statements / style cop whining etc... )

Also if there is an option to re-organize selected files (just like cleanup selected files), it will be great.

Awesome stuff!

Steve Cadwallader November 08 2014
| Edit |

Thanks for the review and suggestions. :)

Some of the internal code details aren't available with the current VS API, but the new Roslyn compiler in VS14 will provide a lot more information that will make those kind of cleanups possible in the future. If you have specific requests check out the Roslyn list in the backlog:

I've also added a new card to the backlog for reorganizing selected files, great idea:

by Stevoisiak | November 02 2014

Awesome little program. Very helpful for cleaning up code.

Steve Cadwallader November 02 2014
| Edit |

Thank you, the positive feedback is a great booster. :)

by Josh Garverick | October 23 2014

I found this extension on a whim one day, and have to admit that it works quite well for tidying things up. I also like the method complexity analysis as well.

Steve Cadwallader October 26 2014
| Edit |

Thanks, glad you like it. :)

by Shockwaver One | August 27 2014

Saved my day, present and future ones, in a way you cannot even immagine XD.
Amazingly done, keep it up!


Steve Cadwallader August 28 2014
| Edit |

Fantastic, thanks! :)

by Nicw | August 24 2014

I may have missed something here but I have not found it. I always like to
know what changes are going to be made before anything goes making them. So
being able to scan the solution then review the suggested changes would be a
must for me.

as a test I created a simple VS2013 MFC application with various classes and
code then ran CodeMaid Clean up All Code. The result was then not able to
be compiled a CodeMaid removed the EOF character from the end of the .rc2
file, so I would be very fearful of running this on larger projects.

Steve Cadwallader August 25 2014
| Edit |

Thanks for the constructive criticism, that is very helpful.

For that specific item with the .rc2 EOF indicator not being on a separate line, Issue #18 opened and resolved for the next minor release. There is a "Remove end of file trailing new line" option that could be disabled in the interim.

I've also placed a card in the backlog to investigate adding integration tests that would iterate across all the different project templates and invoke CodeMaid actions upon them.

by Homer_ | August 21 2014

by Miro Jeliaskoff | August 12 2014

I did not know it existed but now I am happy. I love open source because there is no corporate guy to decide what the world needs. WE do it!

Steve Cadwallader August 13 2014
| Edit |

Amen! :)

41 - 60 of 205 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion

  • Sort Lines not working
    2 Posts | Last post November 12, 2015
    • I wanted to sort a set of #include statements in a CPP files, but when I select the lines and choose Sort Lines the only result I get is a new line at the end of my selection.
      Am i mis-understanding the Sort Lines feature?
    • Can you please open an issue on GitHub with a code sample showing the lines you are trying to sort?
  • spade is empty
    2 Posts | Last post November 05, 2015
    • hi
      im just starting off with codemaid. i installed it and reopened visual studio. but the spade is empty. do i need to "start" it somehow? icouldnt find any such instructions.
      i have resharper active. is that a clash?
      the solution is pretty big (has about 20 projects in it)
    • Welcome to CodeMaid. :)
      What code language are you trying to view in Spade?  Spade currently supports C#, VB and C++ based on the VS API for FileCodeModel.  Other languages are not currently supported as that API isn't available for them.
      If you are using one of those languages, there is a refresh button in the top-left of the Spade toolbar you can also select to try and force Spade to reload the file if there was an issue loading it the first time.
      We use ReSharper all the time, and I've used CodeMaid on solutions up to 150 projects so I don't think either of those should be a problem.
      If you're still having an issue please open an issue on GitHub so we can look into it further:
  • Single line auto properties
    3 Posts | Last post October 20, 2015
    • Hi,
      First i want to thanks you for your fabulous work.
      CodeMaid is my companion since several years now.
      Since i update to vs2015+CodeMaid 0.8.1 this week, i think the formatting of auto properties has changed:
      Before, they were formatted as this:
      public string Name { get; set; }
      Now, i got this:
      public string Name
      { get; set; }
      I've tried to switch 'Update accessor... SA1504' and 'Update single method ... SA1502' on/of without success
    • Forget my question aabout the property formatting : it's a breaking change in VS 2015.
      Again thanks for the awesome work you provide for us.
    • Thanks for the kind remarks, I'm very glad you like it.
      That sounds odd, and isn't the behavior that I'm seeing.  One other thing you could check out is the CodeMaid settings at CodeMaid->Options->Cleaning->Insert.  By default, insert blank line padding before/after single-line properties is disabled.  It doesn't sound like it would explain your issue and it seems like you've found a different source, but I would be interested to hear what you found.
  • Code spade suggestions
    3 Posts | Last post September 17, 2015
    • Great addin, almost exactly what I was looking for.
      I had a couple suggestions in specific for the CodeSpade tool.
      1. When you press the hotkey to bring up the code spade, it'd be VERY nice if it could come up with the code element that the cursor is currently in highlighted in the tree. That would help enormously with "seeing" where you currently are in the code.
      2. Given the code spade tool, it'd be +really+ nice to have a couple extra commands to jump to the "next" method and "previous" method, given the current cursor location. VS has a next and prev method command, but they only work with VB as far as I can tell.
      Still, awesome tool, and very handy.
      Is the code up on Github or something? I'd be happy to look into whipping up a pull request for these things.
    • Duh. Open source. I see that now. I'll have a look at that.
    • Wonderful, glad you like it. :)
      Yep, open source as you found - contributions welcome!  I recommend checking out for some basic details.
      Our backlog is on Trello:  Your first suggestion does exist but the second one is new so please suggest it there.
      Some tips specifically for extending Spade:
        - SpadeToolWindow inherits from ToolWindowPane to integrate into VS
        - SpadeViewModel is instantiated by SpadeToolWindow and backs SpadeView
        - SpadeView is the WPF visual.  It does have more code behind than I would like, primarily to perform a lot of custom mouse/key/drag and drop operations to drive the TreeView based control.
      Hope it helps and feel free to reach out with questions.  These discussion boards on VSG aren't usually the easiest - Trello is preferred.
  • unnecessary indentation of a comment section
    2 Posts | Last post August 31, 2015
    • Hi,
      I like the extension, but I noticed a strange cleaning-up that I don't know how to disable. If I have in my .h file in a cpp project the following simple code:
      /* Copyright (C) ...
       * Proprietary and confidential
       * Written by ...
      #include "../Utils/ValidatedArticleLinks.h"
      /// //////////////////////
      /// TStarter
      class TStarter ...
      then cleaning up adds one space in the TStarter comment:
       /// //////////////////////
       /// TStarter
      class TStarter
      this has to do with the copyright section at the top, because if I remove it, there is no problem.
    • I'm glad to hear you like it.  Will you please open an issue on GitHub so we can look into that further?
  • Why is "Clean Up Code" Menu inactive?
    2 Posts | Last post August 31, 2015
    • I installed CodeMaid 0.8.1 under fresh installed Visual Studio 2015 but the menu "Clean Up Code" is greyed or inactive. The file is in the solution of course. And auto clean up on save seems doesn't work as well. But spade and other things are working  properly.
    • If Spade is able to load a document, then cleaning should(tm) work and be enabled as they share some common underlying infrastructure.
      You could try enabling diagnostics mode (CodeMaid->Options->Diagnostics mode) and then see what messages are posted to the Output tool window in Visual Studio.
      If that doesn't point out something obvious, please open an issue on GitHub so we can look into it further:
  • Function Parameter Indentation
    5 Posts | Last post August 22, 2015
    • Hi,
      I think this is a great tool, and special thanks to taking time to write it.
      int func1(
        int32_t a,
        int32_t b);
      If I run CodeMaid becomes
      int func1(
      int32_t a,
      int32_t b);
      I.e. it looses indentation of the parameters, 
      How can I disable it?
    • Hi Sumonto -
      Thanks for your kind comments.
      I wasn't able to reproduce this, but I suspect it could be a similar issue to the other one you posted (see next reply to consolidate).
      Hope it helps,
      -Steve Cadwallader
    • Hi Steve,
      Thanks for your reply, however I could not find an option under 
      "Tools->Options->Text Editor->C/C++->Formatting->Spacing" to disable "
      To disable "function param indentation" issue?
      Is there any way you could help me more.
    • OK found it!
      Tools->Options->Text Editor->C/C++->Formatting->Indentation->In Existing code...
      Disable it.
    • Great, glad you found it and thanks for posting that for anybody else who might be looking for it.
  • Sorting methods alphabetically
    5 Posts | Last post August 21, 2015
    • Is there a way to just sort methods alphabetically regardless of access or type? I tried looking into Formatting but I need to either go with access before type or type before access. I want to ignore both type and access and just sort the entire thing by name.
    • Currently no, I don't think there's a configuration that would match your request.  You may make a feature request on the Trello backlog ( or the code is open source if you would like to look to add it (
    • I see. Thanks for the response. Just posted on Trello :)
    • How do I uninstall it?
      Windows 10, it doesn't appear in the "Program and Features" section, I can't find any option to remove it in the settings from within VS. So?
    • Inside Visual Studio under Tools->Extensions and Updates where all extensions are listed is where you can uninstall.
  • Variable Declaration alignment
    2 Posts | Last post August 19, 2015
    • Hi,
      Is there a way to leave the variable declaration indentation un-touched.
      ShortType1   st1      = 0;
      LongLongType longtype = 0;
      ShortType1 st1 = 0;
      LongLongType longtype = 0;
      Is there a way to disable this?
    • CodeMaid invokes Visual Studio's native formatting, and then extends upon it.  The removal of spaces in variable declarations is done by Visual Studio's formatting, and you can see the same behavior if you invoke Edit->Advanced->Format Document.  You can tell CodeMaid not to invoke Visual Studio's native formatting at CodeMaid->Options->Visual Studio->"Run format document", but you would lose several other cleanup actions in the process.  You can also look for additional Visual Studio configuration options under Tools->Options->Text Editor->C/C++->Formatting->Spacing.
  • More code cleaning for VB.Net
    4 Posts | Last post August 17, 2015
    • First of all, I love your addon. It's great.
      My question: Is it possible to add the "Remove unused using statements"
      and "Sort using statements"(Imports) for Visual Basic .Net?
    • Thanks, I really appreciate hearing that. :)
      It should be possible.  I don't think there is an existing card in the backlog for that feature, would you like to add one?
    • I think, I don't have the permission to add a card to the list.
    • The very first card says "You can add comments to this card to request a new card". Please comment there. 
1 - 10 of 155 Items