CodeMaid

Free

CodeMaid is an open source Visual Studio extension to cleanup, dig through and simplify our C#, C++, F#, VB, PHP, JSON, XAML, XML, ASP, HTML, CSS, LESS, SCSS, JavaScript and TypeScript coding.

(185) Review
Visual Studio
2015, 2013, 2012, 2010
Download (523,490)
3/21/2015
0.7.6
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (185)
Q and A (138)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by endl | August 08 2014

A good tool for VS2013!

by Deniz Şevderoğlu | July 31 2014

Çok yaralı buldum.Teşekkür ederim.

Steve Cadwallader July 31 2014
| Edit |
Delete

If Google translate is correct, you're welcome. :)

by Ma3ztro | July 30 2014

by JAltepeter | July 30 2014

by Rbby | July 24 2014

Very handy tool and for free! Keep up the good work!

Steve Cadwallader July 24 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Will do, thanks! :)

by ShrenikOne | July 03 2014

First its awesome and second its awesome, very light weight and incredible. But for some reasons it doesn't work on solution level clean-up all. I have mix projects in solution, ASP.NET MVC, Web API, Silverlight, WCF, Windows Service etc.. and total around 50+ projects excluding unit test projects :)... if it work at solution level then save more time for me and save me 50+ individual project level clicks...

Thanks again for your tool, its really helpful..

Steve Cadwallader July 03 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks for the high compliments! :)

VS2013 had a known issue with solution level cleanups being disabled. They fixed it recently with Update 2. If that doesn't do the trick a shortcut is you can multi-select projects and do cleanup on several at once. Also feel free to open a BitBucket issue and we can figure it out if it wasn't the VS update.

Keep enjoying! :)

by Daniel Cazé | Mon 5:41 PM

This tool saved my life!!!
I liked a lot.

I will feel so wonderful if more stylecop rules added at cleanup processing

- sorry by my bad english

Steve Cadwallader July 01 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks :) To suggest or vote for specific StyleCop rules please go to the backlog here: https://trello.com/b/VVxVhbQv/backlog

by Felipe F. Diogo | May 20 2014

All I have to say is that the extension is awesome.

one of the features that I've come to like is the close read-only files.

Also the CodeMaid Spade blew my mind away.

sry for grammar since english is not my native language.

Keep up the good work and I'm looking forward for updates.

Steve Cadwallader May 23 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks - I really appreciate the feedback and am glad you're enjoying it so much. :)

by Jay Muralee | May 15 2014

I'm blown away! Where have you been all my coding life? Simple little things like collapsing all the projects in the solution explorer - such a time saver.

Steve Cadwallader May 17 2014
| Edit |
Delete

*grin* thanks :)

by rmoc | April 30 2014

by Brice Williams | April 14 2014

Excellent Visual Studio extension. Can't wait to see upcoming new features.

Steve Cadwallader April 14 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks. :) For spoiler's about what's coming next, vote/comment on our public backlog here: https://trello.com/b/VVxVhbQv/backlog

by Lukasz Ciastko | April 11 2014

I used to use CodeMain, but it's not compatible with the latest Windows Universal Apps. It's impossible to clean up classes inside a shared folder.

Steve Cadwallader April 13 2014
| Edit |
Delete

If you'd like to look into it together, please open an issue on BitBucket here: https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/issues

by user rob | April 10 2014

Code Maid persistently crashed the GUI for the project I maintain without me using any code maid features. I guess its for hobby use only.
Using C++ VS2010 Vista.

The loaded solution consists of 8 legacy programs with origins in VMS consisting mostly of C with Win API with some newer simple C++.

The VS GUI crashed in the following instances: rearranging window positions, selecting class view and while browsing the code before I un-installed it. After un-installing and before installing of code maid there were no VS crashes. I have been using VS 2010 to maintain this code since 2010 without any GUI crashes.

Steve Cadwallader April 11 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Sorry that you had a bad experience.

There are some fixes for VS2010 available in the latest beta. Message me through here for more details: http://www.codemaid.net/contact/

by digovc | April 07 2014

by mwbrady68 | April 05 2014

by honsinger | March 31 2014

This is fantastic. Don't for one minute think it's just a pretty thing, for me it is a major productivity boost!

Thank you.

Steve Cadwallader April 01 2014
| Edit |
Delete

You're welcome - I'm happy to hear it is giving you a boost. :)

by sharethl | March 24 2014

by samaursa | March 23 2014

Wonderful extension! Thanks to Steve for this amazing piece of work. Pretty much stopped me from buying Visual Assist for VS 2013 (binded Spade to Alt+m and now I can navigate symbols in the file just like I do in VA).

Suggestion: Spade should have a search box where I can search all the symbols that it shows in the current file.

The rest of the functionality just keeps making this extension a must have. Works beautifully in our moderately sized codebase.

Steve Cadwallader March 24 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Very glad to hear you like it. :)

That request is in the backlog already and gaining popularity - vote it up here: https://trello.com/c/MVmS0Jd0

by CelPlusPlus | March 13 2014

Excellent extension - integrates well with resharper.

Features which I was looking for: Spade and Reorder. Really, really useful.

Steve Cadwallader March 14 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks :) I'm a big fan of ReSharper so playing nicely with it is a must.

by Predrag Glumac | February 25 2014

41 - 60 of 185 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • New Line after Closing Brace
    2 Posts | Last post June 24, 2015
    • Hi, firstly thanks for this excellent extension. It's one of the ones I could hardly live without these days.
      
      I've got a little feature request. I was wondering if CodeMaid could insert spaces after code control-flow block braces. e.g. following if/while/for code blocks.
    • Thanks, that's really great to hear. :)
      
      We do have that feature request in our backlog, contingent on the Roslyn rewrite (a pretty big effort on the horizon).  Check it out and vote it up here: https://trello.com/c/t3ZG4jsB
  • Great product, question on javascript formatting...
    2 Posts | Last post May 29, 2015
    • I've created a NODE.js console application which has a js file in it.  For some reason the CleanUp Code menuitem remains grayed out...?   Suggestions.  
      
      
    • Take a look at the output tool window in VS and switch to the CodeMaid pane.  If you don't see any messages about unrecognized file types, enable diagnostic logging within CodeMaid config.  Most likely the file is not included in the solution or recognized by VS as a JavaScript file through the API.
  • Codemaid Extendion crashes VS when using Edit+Continue
    3 Posts | Last post May 22, 2015
    • Hi,
      I really like this Extendion, but for some reason my VS2013 always crashes when trying to apply changes as long as Code Maid is activated.
      When I deactivate Code Maid, then I can use Edit+Continue without problems.
      This doesn't seems to have anything to do with Formatting, since I saved the Changes before continue.
      This doesn't seems to be a Managed Exception
      I use VB.Net Projects, and have VS2013 + VS2015 preview installed.
    • Hi Alexander -
      
      I'm glad you really like CodeMaid. :)  That's peculiar behavior you are describing.  CodeMaid explicitly checks the IDE state and will not run if you are in debugging mode.  If you right click and look at the CodeMaid context options you will see cleanup is not available.
      
      I tried reproducing your issue with a simple VB "Hello World" type application but it did not exhibit any issue like you were describing.
      
      So we can get to the bottom of it, will you open an issue on GitHub (https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid/issues) with some steps to reproduce (e.g. this is what the code looks like, I break on this line, make this change and then continue causes the exception).
      
      Thanks for reporting the issue,
      -Steve Cadwallader
    • Interestingly I had the same issue and never suspected CodeMaid. Eventually I started disabling extensions one by one, and disabling CodeMaid fixed the issue. But so far re-enabling CodeMaid has not reintroduced the issue.
      
      Very weird.
  • Unable to update to latest from v0.3.7
    2 Posts | Last post May 21, 2015
    • I am using Codemaid v0.3.7 in VS2010 and i want to upgrade it to the latest one. When i try to update, i am getting the error message like "Extension CodeMaid must be uninstalled through the Windows Add/Remove Programs dialog." But i couldn't find any codemaid entries in Windows Add/Remove Programs. Please help me to this and i am very much excited about the update. Please help me...
    • CodeMaid v0.3.7 is a very old release, about four years ago.  Yes, that version would need to be uninstalled from the Control Panel Add/Remove programs dialog.
      
      If you are not seeing in the list, you can also re-run the CodeMaid v0.3.7 installer and choose to 'uninstall'.  It is available here: https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/downloads/CodeMaid_v0.3.7.zip
      
      Also, you need to be logged in to the same account that as used to do the install.  Some more details here: https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/issue/93/unable-to-uninstall-previous-version-to  
  • Spade for Javascript/html
    2 Posts | Last post May 19, 2015
    • Will there ever be spade for js and/or html files?
    • Spade is built on top of the code models exposed by Visual Studio, and currently they do not provide anything for HTML/JS files.  So no, it is unlikely that will be supported anytime soon.
  • For VS Community 2013
    4 Posts | Last post May 16, 2015
    • Is it possible to use CodeMaid for VS Community 2013?
    • Yes, absolutely!
      
      http://www.codemaid.net/2014/11/14/visualstudio2013community/
    • If I understand correctly, I can download the application at this website (https://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/76293c4d-8c16-4f4a-aee6-21f83a571496) and start installing it for today?
    • Yes, that's correct.  You can also install it from within Visual Studio by going to Tools->Extensions and searching for CodeMaid.
  • Uninstall
    4 Posts | Last post April 10, 2015
    • Codemaid does not appear to uninstall from VS2013.  I have version v0.7.6 installed and after uninstalling and restarting VS2013, Codemaid menus still show up and all items still working.  Something I'm missing ?
    • It appears that when I choose uninstall that it disables but doesn't remove it.  When I think uninstall the second time it is gone from my list (extensions and updates) but still is a menu on vs2013 along with all functionality still working.
    • Appears that i have finally removed it.  Not sure how other than physically shutting down vs2013 rather than the restarted recommended by the add extensions dialog.  :)
    • I'm glad you got it figured out, but not sure why you were having difficulties.  You do need to restart VS for the process to complete, but that's the same VSIX infrastructure and process used by all VS extensions.
  • Any planned date for VS2015 support?
    2 Posts | Last post April 07, 2015
    • I understand it's still in preview, just getting excited to have it in latest version.
    • We already have support for VS2015 preview, enjoy. :)
  • Uninstall CodeMaid.
    3 Posts | Last post April 04, 2015
  • Can not istall for VS2010
    5 Posts | Last post March 26, 2015
    • Not allowing to be installed for VS2010. Gives and error 'The extension 'Code Maid' required a version of .NET framework that is not installed'
      
      Can any one help me with this.
      
      Thanks
    • CodeMaid requires .NET 4.5 or higher, which you can download here: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30653
    • I have installed Windows XP SP3 32bit.
      .NetFramevork 4.5 can not be installed on WindowsXP (Supported Operating System: Windows 7 Service Pack 1, Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1, Windows Server 2008 Service Pack 2, Windows Vista Service Pack 2). Where can I download a previous version CodeMaid.
    • https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid/releases/tag/v0.7.3
    • Yep, exactly - v0.7.3 was the last edition before the upgrade to .NET 4.5
      
      https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid/releases/tag/v0.7.3
1 - 10 of 138 Items