CodeMaid

Free

CodeMaid is an open source Visual Studio extension to cleanup, dig through and simplify our C#, C++, F#, VB, PHP, JSON, XAML, XML, ASP, HTML, CSS, LESS, SCSS, JavaScript and TypeScript coding.

(176) Review
Visual Studio
2015, 2013, 2012, 2010
Download (500,634)
3/21/2015
0.7.6
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (176)
Q and A (133)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by rmoc | April 30 2014

by Brice Williams | April 14 2014

Excellent Visual Studio extension. Can't wait to see upcoming new features.

Steve Cadwallader April 14 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks. :) For spoiler's about what's coming next, vote/comment on our public backlog here: https://trello.com/b/VVxVhbQv/backlog

by Lukasz Ciastko | April 11 2014

I used to use CodeMain, but it's not compatible with the latest Windows Universal Apps. It's impossible to clean up classes inside a shared folder.

Steve Cadwallader April 13 2014
| Edit |
Delete

If you'd like to look into it together, please open an issue on BitBucket here: https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/issues

by user rob | April 10 2014

Code Maid persistently crashed the GUI for the project I maintain without me using any code maid features. I guess its for hobby use only.
Using C++ VS2010 Vista.

The loaded solution consists of 8 legacy programs with origins in VMS consisting mostly of C with Win API with some newer simple C++.

The VS GUI crashed in the following instances: rearranging window positions, selecting class view and while browsing the code before I un-installed it. After un-installing and before installing of code maid there were no VS crashes. I have been using VS 2010 to maintain this code since 2010 without any GUI crashes.

Steve Cadwallader April 11 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Sorry that you had a bad experience.

There are some fixes for VS2010 available in the latest beta. Message me through here for more details: http://www.codemaid.net/contact/

by digovc | April 07 2014

by mwbrady68 | April 05 2014

by honsinger | March 31 2014

This is fantastic. Don't for one minute think it's just a pretty thing, for me it is a major productivity boost!

Thank you.

Steve Cadwallader April 01 2014
| Edit |
Delete

You're welcome - I'm happy to hear it is giving you a boost. :)

by sharethl | March 24 2014

by samaursa | March 23 2014

Wonderful extension! Thanks to Steve for this amazing piece of work. Pretty much stopped me from buying Visual Assist for VS 2013 (binded Spade to Alt+m and now I can navigate symbols in the file just like I do in VA).

Suggestion: Spade should have a search box where I can search all the symbols that it shows in the current file.

The rest of the functionality just keeps making this extension a must have. Works beautifully in our moderately sized codebase.

Steve Cadwallader March 24 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Very glad to hear you like it. :)

That request is in the backlog already and gaining popularity - vote it up here: https://trello.com/c/MVmS0Jd0

by CelPlusPlus | March 13 2014

Excellent extension - integrates well with resharper.

Features which I was looking for: Spade and Reorder. Really, really useful.

Steve Cadwallader March 14 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks :) I'm a big fan of ReSharper so playing nicely with it is a must.

by Predrag Glumac | February 25 2014

by Donat Michal | February 23 2014

by mober | February 01 2014

One of the best free Visual Studio extensions!

by oviano | January 31 2014

Trying to use this with VB, but as someone else has written, doesn't insert spaces between functions.

Also, it would be nice to be able to insert spaces between if blocks.

Seems like a few things missing for VB then.

Steve Cadwallader February 01 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks for the suggestions, I've added the blank lines for functions to the backlog - vote it up here: https://trello.com/c/7kfFrz0o

If block blank lines would require the Roslyn compiler (future Visual Studio release).

by Kent Foyer | January 31 2014

Great tool. However, it doesn't seem to format VB as well as C#. One thing I noticed is it does not add an empty line between functions. Running CodeMaid on the below will not add an empty line between Foo and Bar.

Public Class Class1
Public Function Foo() As Integer
Return 1
End Function
Public Function Bar() As Integer
Return 2
End Function
End Class

Steve Cadwallader February 01 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks for the suggestion. You're right VB cleanup does not currently cover that scenario. I've added it to the feature backlog, vote it up! https://trello.com/c/7kfFrz0o

by Proco | January 27 2014

Excellent tool, helpfull when organizing code

by ybbozman | January 24 2014

Hi,
Great Extension.
By default, *.rc2 files should be excluded. If you remove the last CR/LF at the end of those files (ie if the file doesn't end with an empty line), the project doesn't compile anymore.
Fred

Steve Cadwallader January 25 2014
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks Fred, glad you like it.

I've put a card in the backlog with a question about if .rc files should also be excluded - please check out https://trello.com/c/cVlwfeM8

by Jan Van der Haegen | January 16 2014

How did I ever write code without this?
Woaaaah!
Thank you!

Steve Cadwallader January 17 2014
| Edit |
Delete

*grin* thanks! :)

by Patrick Sperneder | January 15 2014

This "great" plugin destroyed one week of work.
Im really angry, cleaning up singel files works good, but when it came to cleaning up the whole solution it is deleting whole files!
Big fat warning to everybody! DO NOT CLEAN THE WHOLE SOLUTION AS MENTIONED!

Steve Cadwallader January 15 2014
| Edit |
Delete

I'm very sorry to hear that happened to you. I have not heard of it happening before to anyone else, and I'd like to determine a root cause if you have any interest in pursuing it further. Please contact me directly via codemaid on gmail if you would like to discuss.

by Caino MDK | December 21 2013

Since the latest update Spade and Reorganize (And also the "add new line between Methods function) does not work in VS 2013 Ultimate anymore. :(

Steve Cadwallader December 21 2013
| Edit |
Delete

That's odd that you'd be seeing intermittent behavior like that. Have you tried the classic uninstall/reinstall technique? If that doesn't help please report some more details on BitBucket and we can take a look: https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/issues

41 - 60 of 176 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Uninstall
    4 Posts | Last post April 10, 2015
    • Codemaid does not appear to uninstall from VS2013.  I have version v0.7.6 installed and after uninstalling and restarting VS2013, Codemaid menus still show up and all items still working.  Something I'm missing ?
    • It appears that when I choose uninstall that it disables but doesn't remove it.  When I think uninstall the second time it is gone from my list (extensions and updates) but still is a menu on vs2013 along with all functionality still working.
    • Appears that i have finally removed it.  Not sure how other than physically shutting down vs2013 rather than the restarted recommended by the add extensions dialog.  :)
    • I'm glad you got it figured out, but not sure why you were having difficulties.  You do need to restart VS for the process to complete, but that's the same VSIX infrastructure and process used by all VS extensions.
  • Any planned date for VS2015 support?
    2 Posts | Last post April 07, 2015
    • I understand it's still in preview, just getting excited to have it in latest version.
    • We already have support for VS2015 preview, enjoy. :)
  • Uninstall CodeMaid.
    3 Posts | Last post April 04, 2015
  • Can not istall for VS2010
    5 Posts | Last post March 26, 2015
    • Not allowing to be installed for VS2010. Gives and error 'The extension 'Code Maid' required a version of .NET framework that is not installed'
      
      Can any one help me with this.
      
      Thanks
    • CodeMaid requires .NET 4.5 or higher, which you can download here: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30653
    • I have installed Windows XP SP3 32bit.
      .NetFramevork 4.5 can not be installed on WindowsXP (Supported Operating System: Windows 7 Service Pack 1, Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1, Windows Server 2008 Service Pack 2, Windows Vista Service Pack 2). Where can I download a previous version CodeMaid.
    • https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid/releases/tag/v0.7.3
    • Yep, exactly - v0.7.3 was the last edition before the upgrade to .NET 4.5
      
      https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid/releases/tag/v0.7.3
  • Code reorganization for both C# and VB.NET
    2 Posts | Last post March 24, 2015
    • With upcoming VS2015 and Roslyn .NET Compiler Platform, there should be same possibilities for both C# and VB.NET.
      Do you plan implementing code reorganization for VB.NET using this?
    • Roslyn will definitely open some doors, but is a huge rewrite that will take some time.  I'm hopeful it will improve the VB API experience.
      
      VB code reorganization is in the backlog here: https://trello.com/c/TD0jaAab
  • Layout formatting for Python
    2 Posts | Last post March 18, 2015
    • Will you support for Python scripts layout formatting?
    • It isn't currently supported, but you're welcome to add suggestions on our public backlog here: https://trello.com/b/VVxVhbQv/backlog
  • Custom Region Names
    2 Posts | Last post February 18, 2015
    • Hi,
      Is it possible to customize the region names created by CodeMaid? I cannot find this capability. e.g. Rather than "Fields" something of our choosing.
    • Yes, go to CodeMaid -> Configuration -> Reorganizing -> Types.  You can drag to reorder, drag over to group, right click to split, and (most importantly) double-click to rename.
  • Trying to run it but fails with this errro - any ideas
    3 Posts | Last post February 11, 2015
    • "Could not load file or assembly 'Microsoft.VisualStudio.Package.LanguageService.10.0, Version=10.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b03f5f7f11d50a3a' or one of its dependencies. 
      The system cannot find the file specified.
    • this is on vs professional 2013 version 12.0.21005.1 REL
    • There was a known issue with the initial releases of VS2013 where the devenv.exe.config had an invalid entry for the LanguageService DLL that would cause that error.  They resolved it in VS2013 Update 2.  If you update to that version (or higher) that should help.
      
      More details here: https://bitbucket.org/s_cadwallader/codemaid/issue/220/vs2013-cleanup-all-code-shows-error
  • Error while cleaning file using
    2 Posts | Last post February 04, 2015
    • [CodeMaid Handled Exception 08:06:24 PM] Stopped cleaning 'SomeFile.cs': System.Runtime.InteropServices.COMException (0x80004005): Error HRESULT E_FAIL has been returned from a call to a COM component.
         at EnvDTE80.DTE2.ExecuteCommand(String CommandName, String CommandArgs)
         at SteveCadwallader.CodeMaid.Logic.Cleaning.UsingStatementCleanupLogic.RemoveUnusedUsingStatements(TextDocument textDocument, Boolean isAutoSave)
         at SteveCadwallader.CodeMaid.Logic.Cleaning.CodeCleanupManager.RunCodeCleanupCSharp(Document document, Boolean isAutoSave)
         at SteveCadwallader.CodeMaid.Logic.Cleaning.CodeCleanupManager.<>c__DisplayClassb.<Cleanup>b__9()
         at SteveCadwallader.CodeMaid.Helpers.UndoTransactionHelper.Run(Func`1 undoConditions, Action tryAction, Action`1 catchAction)
      [CodeMaid Handled Exception 08:06:26 PM] Stopped cleaning 'httpactionresultexcentions.cs': System.Runtime.InteropServices.COMException (0x80004005): Error HRESULT E_FAIL has been returned from a call to a COM component.
         at EnvDTE80.DTE2.ExecuteCommand(String CommandName, String CommandArgs)
         at SteveCadwallader.CodeMaid.Logic.Cleaning.UsingStatementCleanupLogic.RemoveUnusedUsingStatements(TextDocument textDocument, Boolean isAutoSave)
         at SteveCadwallader.CodeMaid.Logic.Cleaning.CodeCleanupManager.RunCodeCleanupCSharp(Document document, Boolean isAutoSave)
         at SteveCadwallader.CodeMaid.Logic.Cleaning.CodeCleanupManager.<>c__DisplayClassb.<Cleanup>b__9()
         at SteveCadwallader.CodeMaid.Helpers.UndoTransactionHelper.Run(Func`1 undoConditions, Action tryAction, Action`1 catchAction)
      
    • VS is throwing an error about removing unused using statements. 
      
      A few possible causes:
      - Code is not in a compilable state
      - ReSharper 9 (fixed in 9.0.1)
      
      For more support please open an issue on GitHub with a code excerpt. 
  • Won't install for 2013?
    2 Posts | Last post December 08, 2014
    • Hi!
      
      I have VS 2013, yet your add-on just won't install. I've downloaded it twice now, and it keeps saying 'no applicable version found' and then just exits. 
      
      Any ideas?
    • Are you using the express edition of VS2013?  If so you'll want to switch over to the community edition which supports extensions (more details here: http://www.codemaid.net/2014/11/14/visualstudio2013community/)
      
      If you're not using an express edition, can you please open an issue on GitHub (https://github.com/codecadwallader/codemaid/issues) including if you've been able to install the extension before, if you've been able to install it on other machines, and what other extensions you have installed?
1 - 10 of 133 Items