Your extension will be available shortly on the Visual Studio Marketplace at this link.

Visual Studio 2013 Color Theme Editor

Microsoft Free

Allows users to create and edit Visual Studio themes. Themes can customize colors used for menus, toolbars, tabs, titlebars, the text editor, and other environment colors.

Microsoft
4 Star
(56)
Visual Studio
2013
Download (208,716)
11/13/2013
3.1
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

4 Star
by Enrique Thedy | February 18 2014

It's perfect for me. Thnak you for this extension!!

5 Star
by framic | February 17 2014

Should be included as a Standard - very nice!

5 Star
by Michail77 | February 11 2014

This is the first extension I add to new installs. VS would be horribly depressing without it.

5 Star
by akerd | February 11 2014

Very nice extension, it is really easy change the whole theme using order and multiple edit features.

5 Star
by Andrew Greenwright | February 09 2014

This is a must have for those who like to customize VS. Thank you!

5 Star
by kyzylsungur | January 13 2014

Superb! Better than default "Dark" version. This little extension provides "Dark with Light Editor".

5 Star
by dk.basket123 | November 28 2013

Thanks for this. It would also be great if we could somehow right click on a string in the editor and change the colour of the category that it's under.

5 Star
by Binori | November 25 2013

Can you imagine VS without this addin?

5 Star
by Alin Constantin - MSFT | November 25 2013

@mkanet2: Visual Studio Express does not allow extensions to be installed (well, not without some PLKs provided by Microsoft for exceptional cases). A normal extension is limited to VS Integrated Shell/Professional/Premium/Ultimate.
For people trying to colorize Express editions, see http://alinconstantin.blogspot.com/2013/11/using-color-themes-with-visual-studio.html

1 Star
by mkanet2 | November 24 2013

Why is this limited to the Professional/Ultimate versions only? How do I get custom themes from the Express version?

5 Star
by k_samsonov | November 07 2013

Implement fast filter full color list with color below mouse with Ctrl-Shift pressed. This can realy help customize themes...

5 Star
by Steven.A.S | September 21 2013

41 - 52 of 52 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Will not install for VS2013 on Windows 10CTP
    10 Posts | Last post May 06, 2016
    • I get the following error:
      The extension could not be installed because the following error occurred:
      The extension 'Visual Studio 2013 Color Theme Editor' requires a version of the .Net Framework that is not installed.
      
      
      What version is required?
      I have 4.5+
    • I have same problem on Windows 10 Technical Preview, Please fix this issue i realy want this tool.
    • Same here.
      Even though, according to the Web Platform Installer, the .NET Framework 4.5 is installed, the plugin installer doesn't recognize it.
      
      Additionally, if I list directory C:\Windows\Microsoft .NET\, I can see versions 2, 3, 3.5, 4, but not 4.5 .
    • Also on windows 10 with the same error
    • Ok, I got this to work on windows 10. The quick fix. 
      Download the vsix file above. 
      Open it as a zip file. 
      Edit the .vsixmanifest file
      remove the .net dependency
      install
    • @JonnyRocks
      Thanks! That worked for me. A new trick to add to my toolbox.
    • to JonnyRocks
      Thanks!
    • @JonnyRocks
      Thank you! I hava fix it !
    • @JonnyRocks
      Thanks you so much.I fixed it just now
    • Editing the vsix file works perfectly! Nice one!
  • Can't install
    3 Posts | Last post March 23, 2016
    • Can't install to VS 2013 Premium. The log says:
      
      Install Error : Microsoft.VisualStudio.ExtensionManager.MissingTargetFrameworkException: The extension 'Visual Studio 2013 Color Theme Editor' requires a version of the .NET Framework that is not installed.
      
      Sometime ago I was able to install it, but now I can't. I think it's an incompatibility with VS2015 CTP 5.
    • I have the exact same issue. I installed VS 2013, and then deleted my account, and re-created it to fix an entirely unrelated issue. I don't this had anything to do with it, but it was working before I did this.
      
      I've tried Repairing VS, and I've tried uninstalling and then installing VS and didn't work. So I gave up by now. I'm gonna miss Solarized themes.
    • Same here. My OS is Windows 10, and I'm installing it at VS 2013.
  • How do I change Text Color in the Object Properties Window >
    1 Posts | Last post January 21, 2016
    • i know by now how to change color of text in Solution Explorer:
      
      TreeView / BackGroundText ...
      
      this probably can be done to the Properties Window too ?
  • main tab and solution explorer background colour
    2 Posts | Last post December 22, 2015
    • how is it possible to change the main tab and solution explorer background colour from the theme editor UI  
    • like for instance i want to use Solarized(Dark) but i want the background to be white
  • Keep settings from fonts and colors
    1 Posts | Last post December 18, 2015
    • How can I switch a theme without it affecting fonts and colors settings?
      
      I just want to change the theme of the shell, not of my settings.
  • Unable to install
    2 Posts | Last post August 30, 2015
    • VS2013 cannot be installed under win10. Because there is no specific version of the dot net Framework, but I installed all dot nte netframe version
    • @尽管如此世界依然美丽,
      
      I have Win10 Pro as well, and encountered this issue. Make sure .NET 4.5+ is installed on your system, my copy came with VS2015, but since i have a few VS2013 projects we cant transfer yet i had to make these work.
      
      Heres what i did, worked like a charm.
      1. Create a shortcut to the Vs2013 VSIX Installer at "C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 12.0\Common7\IDE\VSIXInstaller.exe"
      2. Download the Extension Manually.
      3. Open in your favorite Zip program and copy the "extension.vsixmanifest" out.
      4. Open in a text editor and comment out the "<Dependency Id="Microsoft.Framework.NDP" DisplayName="Microsoft .NET Framework" Version="4.5" />" line, its standard XML and save.
      5. Copy modified file in to VSIX package overwriting the first.
      6. Install (drag+drop over our Installer shortcut)
      
      It should now just work on your next launch.
      
      My hunch is, .NET 4.5 on Win10 has a different dependency identifier, or for some reason isnt detected by the installer.
  • it's can not be installed.
    3 Posts | Last post August 30, 2015
    • The extension "Visual Studio 2013 Color Theme Editor" requires a version of the NET framework that is not installed.
      
      vs version: visual studio 2013 update 4.
    • windows version is win10
    • @Eden Lee,
      I have Win10 Pro as well, and encountered this issue. Make sure .NET 4.5+ is installed on your system, my copy came with VS2015, but since i have a few VS2013 projects we cant transfer yet i had to make these work.
      
      Heres what i did, worked like a charm.
      1. Create a shortcut to the Vs2013 VSIX Installer at "C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 12.0\Common7\IDE\VSIXInstaller.exe"
      2. Download the Extension Manually.
      3. Open in your favorite Zip program and copy the "extension.vsixmanifest" out.
      4. Open in a text editor and comment out the "<Dependency Id="Microsoft.Framework.NDP" DisplayName="Microsoft .NET Framework" Version="4.5" />" line, its standard XML and save.
      5. Copy modified file in to VSIX package overwriting the first.
      6. Install (drag+drop over our Installer shortcut)
      
      It should now just work on your next launch.
      
      My hunch is, .NET 4.5 on Win10 has a different dependency identifier, or for some reason isnt detected by the installer.
  • Can We Have This Open Source (GitHub)?
    2 Posts | Last post July 18, 2015
    • https://github.com/olegsych/T4Toolbox/issues/14#issuecomment-122160212
      
      Would it be possible to release this to Microsoft On GitHub? (http://microsoft.github.io/)
      
      
    • Specifically: Microsoft.VisualStudio.PkgDef (supporting other projects which use PkgDef format). 
      
      Documentation about the specific format would be an additional plus, but, could be filled-in by the community if released.
  • NullReferenceException when importing partial .pkgdef theme files
    1 Posts | Last post July 18, 2015
    • The Color Theme Editor encounters an error when importing partial .pkgdef theme files used by Visual Studio extensions. (Details: https://connect.microsoft.com/VisualStudio/feedback/details/1558707).
      
      This is an important scenario for third-party extension developers because the Color Theme Editor is the only publically available tool that could be used for generating and maintaining partial .pkgdef theme files. (Details:  https://github.com/olegsych/T4Toolbox/issues/14)
      
      What are the plans to support extension developers?
      
      
      
  • Import Color Themes on Computers Without This Extension?
    1 Posts | Last post June 27, 2015
    • Is it at all possible to import the themes we make here on a computer that doesn't have Visual Studio Color Theme Editor? That would be cool if you could. If you can, could you import a color theme into VS 2015? It feels weird trying to use VS 2015 RC without my color theme.
1 - 10 of 48 Items