Snippet Designer

Free

Snippet Designer is a Visual Studio plug in which allows you to create and search for snippets inside the IDE

(49) Review
Visual Studio
2015, 2013, 2012
Download (136,503)
7/23/2015
1.6.2
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (49)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Dave Sexton | May 20 2013

by Aman JIANG | April 04 2013

I installed version 1.4.2 on vs2010,
start vs2010 at blank environment, file->new->file->snippet designer->code snippet, vs2010 freezed.

Open a C++ project, file->new->file->snippet designer->code snippet,
open, "SnippetFile1.snippet" appears, Visual Basic, C#, XML, JavaScript, SQL and HTML in the Language list box, but there is no C++.

I've tried many times.

Matthew Manela April 14 2013
| Edit |
Delete

The 2010 version does not support C++ snippets since the VS feature was added in 2012.

Sorry you ran into problems. Could you file an issue on snippetdesigner.codeplex.com which details your environment setup and repro steps.
Thanks!

by Coo Magic | March 29 2013

Very useful. Why this wouldn't come standard with VS is beyond me.

by HDM1 | February 14 2013

Nice tool, but for new users it may be best to use in conjunction with MSDN code snippets page http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms165392.aspx

by Eyal Solnik | February 08 2013

Amazing! thank you.

by simon.vandamme | September 26 2012

by xuanvu | August 15 2012

Super useful!

by Piggy | Tue 10:30 PM

Very useful, user friendly, and stable!
A real time-saver....

Very good job
(set to my very limited list of favorites)

by BillW33 | July 18 2012

A very useful tool.

by Dzmuh | June 19 2012

Good product. Thank you.

by Robert Homes | February 24 2012

Very good!

by XAML guy | February 11 2012

Had no idea how to use it at first, would have liked a lot more hand holding and prompting to start with. Otherwise, great little tool.

by Tom McKearney | February 09 2012

Quite useful. I use it very frequently.
It's slightly awkward to use sometimes.

I wish it had a "view XML" tab on the editor or something too.

Matthew Manela February 09 2012
| Edit |
Delete

Thanks. The "view xml" tab is a great idea. I added a work item for it here: http://snippetdesigner.codeplex.com/workitem/5439

by Rinaldo De Paolis | January 11 2012

Fantastic project will save me hours, great work :)

by Grey Ham | January 06 2012

Exactly what I was looking for. A great experience and a huge productivity boost for our team.

by Igby Dalziel | January 03 2012

Useful program. But I had to knock off two stars due to a serious bug which caused me to lose all the work I'd just done on a snippet. Clicking save produced no errors, caused the "*" to be removed from the editor tab and allowed it to be closed. But the changes were lost. On closer investigation I noticed that it had appended the snippet path to itself. This happened a few times but I haven't figured out how to reproduce it.

Matthew Manela January 03 2012
| Edit |
Delete

Sorry that you had issues. Thanks for making me aware of this though. Can you file a bug on http://snippetdesigner.codeplex.com/ with repro steps. Thanks!

by Paul Keister | November 10 2011

Snippet editor is the best I've seen, and snippet explorer is a great idea. With these 2 tools, it's easy to integrate snippet creation and usage smoothly into your workflow.

by Mohamed.Radwan-MVP | July 15 2011

It’s very useful

by PikachuEXE | July 01 2011

I always forget to use it :P
built-in code snippet = zzzzzzzz

by Development Dude | June 30 2011

21 - 40 of 49 Items