Snippet Designer


Snippet Designer is a Visual Studio plug in which allows you to create and search for snippets inside the IDE

(53) Review
Visual Studio
2015, 2013, 2012
Download (141,585)
E-mail Twitter Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Reviews (53)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Tribute 2 PanterA | October 08 2013

thanks a lot.

by formspoint | August 22 2013

Will there be a VS 2013 version?

by JoanComasFdz | June 05 2013

Very easy tool to create snippets.

Just had some weird behavior in VS 2012 Update 2: when modifying the snippet text inserting "$" characters, the DataGrid below started duplicating some items. Its not a big deal, though.

by Yann Duran | May 24 2013

Great implementation of snippet designing. Thanks!

by Dave Sexton | May 20 2013

by Aman JIANG | April 04 2013

I installed version 1.4.2 on vs2010,
start vs2010 at blank environment, file->new->file->snippet designer->code snippet, vs2010 freezed.

Open a C++ project, file->new->file->snippet designer->code snippet,
open, "SnippetFile1.snippet" appears, Visual Basic, C#, XML, JavaScript, SQL and HTML in the Language list box, but there is no C++.

I've tried many times.

Matthew Manela April 14 2013
| Edit |

The 2010 version does not support C++ snippets since the VS feature was added in 2012.

Sorry you ran into problems. Could you file an issue on which details your environment setup and repro steps.

by Coo Magic | March 29 2013

Very useful. Why this wouldn't come standard with VS is beyond me.

by HDM1 | February 14 2013

Nice tool, but for new users it may be best to use in conjunction with MSDN code snippets page

by Eyal Solnik | February 08 2013

Amazing! thank you.

by simon.vandamme | September 26 2012

by xuanvu | August 15 2012

Super useful!

by Piggy | July 31 2012

Very useful, user friendly, and stable!
A real time-saver....

Very good job
(set to my very limited list of favorites)

by BillW33 | July 18 2012

A very useful tool.

by Dzmuh | June 19 2012

Good product. Thank you.

by Robert Homes | February 24 2012

Very good!

by XAML guy | February 11 2012

Had no idea how to use it at first, would have liked a lot more hand holding and prompting to start with. Otherwise, great little tool.

by Tom McKearney | February 09 2012

Quite useful. I use it very frequently.
It's slightly awkward to use sometimes.

I wish it had a "view XML" tab on the editor or something too.

Matthew Manela February 09 2012
| Edit |

Thanks. The "view xml" tab is a great idea. I added a work item for it here:

by Rinaldo De Paolis | January 11 2012

Fantastic project will save me hours, great work :)

by Grey Ham | January 06 2012

Exactly what I was looking for. A great experience and a huge productivity boost for our team.

by Igby Dalziel | January 03 2012

Useful program. But I had to knock off two stars due to a serious bug which caused me to lose all the work I'd just done on a snippet. Clicking save produced no errors, caused the "*" to be removed from the editor tab and allowed it to be closed. But the changes were lost. On closer investigation I noticed that it had appended the snippet path to itself. This happened a few times but I haven't figured out how to reproduce it.

Matthew Manela January 03 2012
| Edit |

Sorry that you had issues. Thanks for making me aware of this though. Can you file a bug on with repro steps. Thanks!

21 - 40 of 53 Items