Image Optimizer

Free

Uses industry standard tools to optimize any JPEG, PNG and Gifs - including animated Gifs. Can do both lossy and lossless optimization.

(50) Review
Visual Studio
2015, 2013, 2012, 15
Download (191,957)
5/2/2016
3.6.89
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (50)
Q and A (41)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Susant sahu | November 22 2012

it optimizes 20- 40%...very nice tool

by Bobby Cannon (CSI) | November 08 2012

Excellent!

by Joe Wilson in Denver | November 03 2012

by Bennor McCarthy | October 04 2012

Works great and is super easy to use.

by AAKoken | September 03 2012

Nice extension!

by Rob Reynolds (FerventCoder) | August 26 2012

Literally one of the biggest time saver extensions I have. Fantastic!

by Villain Christov | August 06 2012

This is a great extension, very handy and easy to use.

by dale_janssen | August 01 2012

I found many times the PunyPNG and Smushit websites either timed out or returned 500 errors. While I realize this is not the tool's fault, it does limit the usefulness.

In addition, while working with Assembla as a code repository, it will often delete images that do not need optimizing. Those that were optimized are saved properly. Can't seem to see a pattern, but once again this really limits the usefulness. If you optimize a folder, you have to figure out what images are deleted that should not have been from others that were optimized.

by John R. Cutburth II | April 22 2012

This is a great tool. I wish more Web developers would think about how much bandwidth we are wasting.

by Trevor Forrester | April 13 2012

I am having exception errors using it with VS 2010 Sp1

by Titatuh | April 01 2012

As I tried - works super!

by Daniel Carey | March 29 2012

by NateClark | March 09 2012

Awesome. Thanks for taking it to VS11!

by denhul01 | January 16 2012

looks nice but it seems it screws up my positioning of team explorer and other stuff.. I constantly have to move the windows to what I'm used to.
Once uninstalled the problem stopped?

Anyone else with this problem?

@Mads Kristensen
(oddly I didn't find a way to reply.. maybe I overlooked it :) )
The Team Foundation window, pending changes,... did a new install and now it's working fine.. must have been a Visual Studio hiccup :)

by MosaliR | December 30 2011

by Monique.Bizzell | December 23 2011

Excellent!

by nigwoko | December 21 2011

by Cengiz Gür | November 02 2011

Programatik olarak eklenen bazı resimleri görmüyor, fakat genel olarak kullanışlı bir uygulama.

by tmcconechy | October 28 2011

So useful...Love it

by Froogabadoodle | October 27 2011

Awesome, awesome, awesome. The optimization is great, but my favorite thing about this is the mouseover thumbnails of images in Solution Explorer.

Thanks!

21 - 40 of 50 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Compress images while uploading
    1 Posts | Last post May 09, 2016
    • Hi
      
      I am uploading images from a webform, then resizing and saving different versions of the file. I am using BitMap images to draw new images.
      
      Is there a way (extension) to compress images programmatically just like you do it in this tool?
  • VS 2015 and PNG?
    1 Posts | Last post March 18, 2016
    • I think it is now working with VS 2015. My Executable is always bigger after compressing the PNG images.
  • New feature?
    1 Posts | Last post February 19, 2016
    • Do you think that this would be an acceptable addition to your tool?
      http://www.responsivebreakpoints.com/
      
      It has an open API...
  • Detected as Malware by Windows Defender?
    3 Posts | Last post February 09, 2016
    • Windows Defender detected this extension as malware.  
      
      Detected item: PWS:Win32/Lineage.gen!C.dam
    • Might be a false positive? 
      
      https://github.com/imagemin/optipng-bin/issues/12
    • TrendMicro Officescan also flagged the entire .vsix package with 3 viruses.
      
      May have to go to GitHub and get a diff version... 
  • Not able to run Image optimizer in VS 2013
    1 Posts | Last post September 25, 2015
    • I came across this great tool and thought of trying it with in my project which uses many images. Unfortunately after installing it on any image if i run this the visual studio crashing. It seems its working for others well. let me know if any body know the reason for this crash?
  • Output not shown in VS2015
    1 Posts | Last post July 21, 2015
    • Hello, the tool works very nice! I only don't see the output from it in the Output window. The dropdown also doesn't show an option named 'Image Optimizer'. Am I overlooking something?
      
      I'm using VS2015 RTM.
      
      Thanks in advance!
  • The remote name could not be resolved
    8 Posts | Last post May 06, 2015
    • Hi all,
      
      this toll is awesome. They save me a lot of time.
      But unfortunately today it just stop working
      
      I tried remove and install again, restart VS but noting help. Pls tell me if someone have solution for this problem. 
      
      Message which I got:
      
      ------ Image optimization started -----
      The remote name could not be resolved: 'smushit.eperf.vip.ac4.yahoo.com'
      D:\Current\images\ActivationInstructions01.png - using http://smushit.com
      
      1 skipped. 0 optimized. Total savings 0%
      ------ Image optimization finished -----
    • This is also happening to me when I try to use the plugin.  Was there a response to this issue at all?
    • Is there a known fix for this? It appears to still be happening.
    • I'm seeing this as well:
      
      The remote name could not be resolved: 'smushit.eperf.vip.ac4.yahoo.com'
      
      Is there a place at yahoo to check on this?
    • Same issue here
    • Same problem here!
    • Fixed in version 3.0
    • @Mads tnx a lot! It work now!!
  • An exception occurred during a WebClient request.
    4 Posts | Last post April 21, 2015
    • Hi Mads, 
      I'm getting the following error when trying your extension.  I'm guessing it might be a firewall issue but I don't have much information to go on.  Any clue?
      Thanks
    • An exception occurred during a WebClient request.
    • I am having this same issue ("An exception occurred during a WebClient request"), but I don't believe it is a firewall problem.  I watched the request/response in Fiddler, and it very clearly gets a response of 200 with a JSON object in the payload describing how much the image was "smushed" and where the new image resides.  I don't see a follow-up request that actually retrieves the smushed image, though, so I'm guessing this is where the error is occurring.  Any ideas?
      
      Running v2.0
    • Fixed in version 3.0
  • (417) Expectation Failed.
    2 Posts | Last post April 21, 2015
    • Im getting this error
      
      The remote server returned an error: (417) Expectation Failed.
      
      im behind a company proxy
      
      :(
    • Fixed in version 3.0 that no longer requires the use a remote web service
  • optimizer image using c# code
    2 Posts | Last post April 21, 2015
    • how i optimize image using c# code. i want to use same technique as you have used in image optimizer. Just i want to implement it in my c# code 
    • Here's how I do it: https://github.com/madskristensen/ImageOptimizer/blob/master/src/Compressor.cs
1 - 10 of 41 Items