Image Optimizer

Free

Lossless optimization of JPEG, PNG and Gifs - including animated Gifs

(46) Review
Visual Studio
2015, 2013, 2012
Download (108,002)
7/9/2015
3.1.31
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (46)
Q and A (36)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by AAKoken | September 03 2012

Nice extension!

by Rob Reynolds (FerventCoder) | August 26 2012

Literally one of the biggest time saver extensions I have. Fantastic!

by Villain Christov | August 06 2012

This is a great extension, very handy and easy to use.

by dale_janssen | August 01 2012

I found many times the PunyPNG and Smushit websites either timed out or returned 500 errors. While I realize this is not the tool's fault, it does limit the usefulness.

In addition, while working with Assembla as a code repository, it will often delete images that do not need optimizing. Those that were optimized are saved properly. Can't seem to see a pattern, but once again this really limits the usefulness. If you optimize a folder, you have to figure out what images are deleted that should not have been from others that were optimized.

by John R. Cutburth II | April 22 2012

This is a great tool. I wish more Web developers would think about how much bandwidth we are wasting.

by Trevor Forrester | April 13 2012

I am having exception errors using it with VS 2010 Sp1

by Titatuh | April 01 2012

As I tried - works super!

by Daniel Carey | March 29 2012

by NateClark | March 09 2012

Awesome. Thanks for taking it to VS11!

by denhul01 | January 16 2012

looks nice but it seems it screws up my positioning of team explorer and other stuff.. I constantly have to move the windows to what I'm used to.
Once uninstalled the problem stopped?

Anyone else with this problem?

@Mads Kristensen
(oddly I didn't find a way to reply.. maybe I overlooked it :) )
The Team Foundation window, pending changes,... did a new install and now it's working fine.. must have been a Visual Studio hiccup :)

by MosaliR | December 30 2011

by Tasksfunder.com | December 23 2011

Excellent!

by nigwoko | December 21 2011

by Cengiz Gür | November 02 2011

Programatik olarak eklenen bazı resimleri görmüyor, fakat genel olarak kullanışlı bir uygulama.

by tmcconechy | October 28 2011

So useful...Love it

by Froogabadoodle | October 27 2011

Awesome, awesome, awesome. The optimization is great, but my favorite thing about this is the mouseover thumbnails of images in Solution Explorer.

Thanks!

by Mufasa245 | October 20 2011

by Ehsan Mohammadi | October 07 2011

by CssGuru | September 30 2011

Sounds very promising, but I couldn't get it to work.

Mads Kristensen September 30 2011
| Edit |
Delete

This is probably because you're image files are under source control. Check them out first and then run Image Optimizer. I'm working on an update that will check out the files from source control automatically

by AlexDrel | September 01 2011

Embedding images in CSS is not working for me, but great anyway.

Mads Kristensen October 20 2011
| Edit |
Delete

That feature was moved to the Web Essentials extension http://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/6ed4c78f-a23e-49ad-b5fd-369af0c2107f

21 - 40 of 46 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Output not shown in VS2015
    1 Posts | Last post July 21, 2015
    • Hello, the tool works very nice! I only don't see the output from it in the Output window. The dropdown also doesn't show an option named 'Image Optimizer'. Am I overlooking something?
      
      I'm using VS2015 RTM.
      
      Thanks in advance!
  • The remote name could not be resolved
    8 Posts | Last post May 06, 2015
    • Hi all,
      
      this toll is awesome. They save me a lot of time.
      But unfortunately today it just stop working
      
      I tried remove and install again, restart VS but noting help. Pls tell me if someone have solution for this problem. 
      
      Message which I got:
      
      ------ Image optimization started -----
      The remote name could not be resolved: 'smushit.eperf.vip.ac4.yahoo.com'
      D:\Current\images\ActivationInstructions01.png - using http://smushit.com
      
      1 skipped. 0 optimized. Total savings 0%
      ------ Image optimization finished -----
    • This is also happening to me when I try to use the plugin.  Was there a response to this issue at all?
    • Is there a known fix for this? It appears to still be happening.
    • I'm seeing this as well:
      
      The remote name could not be resolved: 'smushit.eperf.vip.ac4.yahoo.com'
      
      Is there a place at yahoo to check on this?
    • Same issue here
    • Same problem here!
    • Fixed in version 3.0
    • @Mads tnx a lot! It work now!!
  • An exception occurred during a WebClient request.
    4 Posts | Last post April 21, 2015
    • Hi Mads, 
      I'm getting the following error when trying your extension.  I'm guessing it might be a firewall issue but I don't have much information to go on.  Any clue?
      Thanks
    • An exception occurred during a WebClient request.
    • I am having this same issue ("An exception occurred during a WebClient request"), but I don't believe it is a firewall problem.  I watched the request/response in Fiddler, and it very clearly gets a response of 200 with a JSON object in the payload describing how much the image was "smushed" and where the new image resides.  I don't see a follow-up request that actually retrieves the smushed image, though, so I'm guessing this is where the error is occurring.  Any ideas?
      
      Running v2.0
    • Fixed in version 3.0
  • (417) Expectation Failed.
    2 Posts | Last post April 21, 2015
    • Im getting this error
      
      The remote server returned an error: (417) Expectation Failed.
      
      im behind a company proxy
      
      :(
    • Fixed in version 3.0 that no longer requires the use a remote web service
  • optimizer image using c# code
    2 Posts | Last post April 21, 2015
    • how i optimize image using c# code. i want to use same technique as you have used in image optimizer. Just i want to implement it in my c# code 
    • Here's how I do it: https://github.com/madskristensen/ImageOptimizer/blob/master/src/Compressor.cs
  • And ... what's about SVG?
    2 Posts | Last post April 21, 2015
    • Hi Mads,
      I know, optimizing SVG graphics/images is something complete different and difficult in comparison to PNG & Co, but ... any chance to integrate a kind of TinySVG?
      Kind regards,
      Martin
    • Here's how I it https://github.com/madskristensen/ImageOptimizer/blob/master/src/Compressor.cs
  • PunyPNG returns 502
    2 Posts | Last post April 21, 2015
    • The PunyPNG domain seems to have gone down, it now returns 502 on any call (including in browser)
    • Fixed in version 3.0
  • Invalid JSON Primitive
    3 Posts | Last post April 21, 2015
    • Anyone else seeing this error???  I uninstalled and reinstall, same issue.
      
      ------ Image optimization started -----
      Invalid JSON primitive: .
      C:\Users\xxx\Documents\Visual Studio Projects\Projects\xxx.Solution\xxx.Web\Content\Images\Members\bill.png - using http://smushit.com
      
      1 skipped. 0 optimized. Total savings 0%
      ------ Image optimization finished -----
    • Never mind...same DNS problem as mentioned below :-(
    • Fixed in version 3.0
  • Broke
    2 Posts | Last post April 21, 2015
    • was working, now its not... but what would be good is if this plugin can be executed via c# code within your application then that would be pure gold!
    • Fixed in version 3.0
  • Smushit missing
    2 Posts | Last post April 21, 2015
    • Hello, I've noticed, smushit library has moved, and thus optimization is not further possible.
      
      Every time png is processed, i get:
      The remote name could not be resolved: 'smushit.eperf.vip.ac4.yahoo.com'
    • Fixed in version 3.0
1 - 10 of 36 Items