Visual Studio Tools for Git


An extension for Team Explorer to provide source control integration for Git. Enables integration with local Git repositories and provides tools to work with remote repositories.

(171) Review
Visual Studio
Download (407,790)
E-mail Twitter Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Reviews (171)
Q and A (259)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by MoyHajjat | September 24 2015

Love it!

by Lucas Mendes Pereira | August 17 2015

by cporter711 | July 02 2015

by Jeff Mounce | June 23 2015

Conflicts with R# in VS2012.
Feature set is limited. Overall, it is buggy and not well designed.

Never used it in VS2013.

by George Heynen | April 27 2015

Works great. I have had no problems using with VS 2012 and database project via Microsoft SQL Server Data Tools. To answer below, VS 2013 GIT integration is built into the product.

by James_Parsons | April 16 2015

No VS 2013 support :(

by Stewa11 | April 09 2015

An error occurred. Detailed message: Failed to inflate packfile
This error has been reported and supposed to have been fixed. I am using VS2013.5.5 and the error is still present.

by testeewweqtergerwg | March 25 2015


I am receiving a error

An error occurred. Detailed message: An error was raised by libgit2. Category = Net (Error).
Response status code does not indicate success: 301 (Moved Permanently).

Why this is happening?

by mihai.cucicea | March 24 2015


by JonasT | March 11 2015

I find the "Visual Studio Tools for GIT" confusing and not well organized. Also the integration lacks a lot of the important features which GIT supports (amend, interactive rebase etc.).

Instead Visual Studio Tools for Git should abandon the TFS look and go all in with GIT, so we get a userexperience like Sourcetree or "thg".

Mostly I just use these tools to highlight which files a have modified or created...

by K Dahl | February 23 2015

Doesn't support SQL Server Development Tools version of Visual Studio 2012.

by Dmitry.Novoselov | January 08 2015

It works. And it has a tight integration with VS.
In overal, it covers my needs completely and looks nice. So why not like it?

by dandrews216 | January 05 2015

by GalayM | November 03 2014

Very lacking icons on folders (as in VisualSVN)

by Rafael Pacheco | September 12 2014

Suggestions: This tool should have the Branch/Merge tree visualizer.

And also, GitFlow support.

by AbdElRaheim | September 06 2014

slow, buggy, does some crazy disk i/o that slows down my entire computer, ** in ignore doesnt work, vs get hung in this git2-msvstfs.dll!_git_graph_ahead_behind method for over 10 minutes sometimes at startup, visual studio stays running even after close now and it causes visual studio to lock up all the time. I get these weird cannot stat file errors where I need to go and physical delete a file in bin folder generated by the build. Also the Add icon looks almost exactly the same as the unmodified icon. Wouldnt recommend.

Yesterday after working for couple hours taskman showed 100s of gbs of read i/o. The issue resolved it self after I deleted a file in test results folder that was locked by sql server. After that I tried to open another solution, after waiting five minutes I just gave up and uninstalled.

I switched to the 3rd party "Git Source Control Provider" with tortoisegit. So it is great, no issues perf issues. Probably wont be checkin anything until monday so will know more by then. All I need is add files and commit in stable way, everything else I do from command line. So if it does that without perf issues then its a 5/5 for me.

by carlos.muentes | August 21 2014

Very, very unstable for me. I constantly have issues committing due to odd 'File In Use' errors, the plugin constantly doesn't add files to git that I've added to my projects and so missed commits happen frequently. Just not ready for prime time.

by Tho Ho-37e4c28 | August 21 2014

Simple, easy to use. Just sync, commit changes and sync.

by cniak | August 18 2014

by Tomas Vala | August 07 2014

I've been trying hard to use this thing shortly and already going furious.

-no stash support
-no rebase support
-no interactive rebase support
-files with unconfirmed merge conflict resolution are presented as Pending Removal

This tool albeit having Git in name actually promotes quite the opposite, central fashioned methodology and effectively discourages practises invented and intended for distributed systems like Git. I mean, really?

I like the conflict resolution view.

Apparently the only viable way of collaborating and keeping working copy refreshed by other contributors is to:
1. Commit (or revert) unfinished changes before pulling from upstream. Commit for the sake of commit. Reminder: no stash.
2. Pollute history with unorganized heaps of commits. Reminder: no stash, no rebase, no interactive rebase.
3. Delegate unsupported but mission critical operations to other tools. Why not stay with them and avoid VS Git placeholder in the first place then?

The way this tool is integrated in VS and what capabilities it exposes (or better hides) is a total bummer and discourtesy to any self respecting Git user. On the bright side: 9/10 masochists disagree.

1 - 20 of 171 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion

  • does it support system level config?
    1 Posts | Last post September 14, 2015
    • when working in a 3-party git tool, I can have system level config that applies to all repos on the machine. Is it possible in this extension?
  • Support for Gerrit
    1 Posts | Last post September 02, 2015
    • I have VS2015 Enterprise, and we use Gerrit internally for our Git repo.  I'm trying to use VS2015 to clone a repo, using HTTPS with the extension generating an error:
      Error encountered while cloning the remote repository: An error occurred while sending the request.
      Inner Exception:
          The remote server returned an error: (401) Unauthorized.
          Inner Exception:
              No credentials are available in the security package
      Has the Git extension been tested with Gerrit?  Is there anything to make this work?  I've added my Gerrit URL to the Windows Credentials for my user account.
  • Conflicts prevent checkout
    1 Posts | Last post May 22, 2015
    • Heya
      Im working on a project from 2 different computers. Both have the same version of Visual Studio 2013.
      If I work the home computer, commit, push, go to my other computer - have no pending changes or unsynced commits, try to pull/sync - I get "An error occurred. Detailed message: 3 conflicts prevent checkout", everytime.
      If I fire up the command prompt and do a "git pull", no conflicts and it pulls just fine.
      A quick fix or anything for this? Very annoying to not be able to use the tool in VS and have to rely on the command prompt just to get new commits.
  • to be able to install to the followin
    1 Posts | Last post May 12, 2015
    • Download extension
      Open with 7-zip
      Edit extension.vsixmanifest
      Change line
           <Dependency Id="Microsoft.Framework.NDP" DisplayName="Microsoft .NET Framework" Version="4.5" />
          <Dependency Id="Microsoft.Framework.NDP" DisplayName="Microsoft .NET Framework" MinVersion="4.5" />
      Close editor
      Update archive
      Then install
  • An error occurred. Detailed message: An error was raised by libgit2. Category = Net (Error). Early EOF
    1 Posts | Last post April 23, 2015
    • An error occurred. Detailed message: An error was raised by libgit2. Category = Net (Error).
      Early EOF.
      I am encountering this error while cloning operation, within visual studio 2012. Using Git BASH or Git GUI, I am not getting any error and successfully able to clone remote repository. However, having issues in pushing local changes back to remotely(using GIt BASH) - getting error as 'Cannot access URL return code 22'
      Git server is on Ubuntu 14.04 linux and git client is on Windows 8.1
      Could anyone help me to resolve these issues.
      Really appreciate for the help !!
  • Push Error
    2 Posts | Last post April 07, 2015
    • I get the following error when trying to push to bitbucket (it has pushed successfully previously, many times):
      An error was raised by libgit2. Category = Net (Error).
      Chunked encoding upload is not supported on the HTTP/1.0 protocol.
    • Same problem here ? any update on this ?
  • Some files in the project not added to trackedfiles
    1 Posts | Last post March 31, 2015
    • When someone changed *.csproj or add files through Visual Studio extensions, the Visual Studio Tools for Git will not add these files into Tracked file so all these files will not commit automatically.  It must be include these files manually in order to commit to the repository.  Is it a bug?  Or is there anyway to fix that?
  • System.IO.FileNotFoundException: Package 'SccProviderPackage' failed to load
    1 Posts | Last post March 26, 2015
    • I am getting the following error.
      ystem.IO.FileNotFoundException: Package 'SccProviderPackage' failed to load.
         at System.Runtime.InteropServices.Marshal.ThrowExceptionForHRInternal(Int32 errorCode, IntPtr errorInfo)
         at System.Runtime.InteropServices.Marshal.ThrowExceptionForHR(Int32 errorCode)
         at Microsoft.TeamFoundation.Git.Provider.ServiceProviderExtensionMethods.EnsurePackageLoaded(IServiceProvider serviceProvider, Guid packageGuid)
         at Microsoft.TeamFoundation.Git.Provider.ServiceProviderExtensionMethods.EnsureSccAndTfPackagesLoaded(IServiceProvider serviceProvider)
         at Microsoft.TeamFoundation.Git.Provider.Settings.SettingsLinksSectionVS.Initialize(Object sender, SectionInitializeEventArgs e)
         at Microsoft.TeamFoundation.Controls.WPF.TeamExplorer.Framework.TeamExplorerSectionHost.Initialize(Object context)
  • Error 301 (Moved Permanently)
    1 Posts | Last post March 25, 2015
    • I am receiving a error 
      An error occurred. Detailed message: An error was raised by libgit2. Category = Net (Error).
      Response status code does not indicate success: 301 (Moved Permanently).
  • Does not support SSDT/SSDT-BI
    1 Posts | Last post February 23, 2015
    • FYI,
      This is not installable on the resulting version of visual studio from a SSDT/SSDT-BI install, so it appears that git cannot currently be used for SQL Server development when a full blown version of visual studio is not also installed. Seems rather strange that express products are supported when SQL Server developers are not.
      Connect bug is here:
1 - 10 of 259 Items