Team Foundation Server Power Tools December 2011

Microsoft Free

Power Tools are a set of enhancements, tools and command-line utilities that increase productivity of Team Foundation Server scenarios.

(94) Review
Visual Studio
Download (730,143)
E-mail Twitter Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Reviews (94)
Q and A (199)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Arvin_DJ | May 12 2012

Had to wrestle a bit to make things work (Think Backup tool permissions!)

On the whole though a very powerful set of tools that should be part and parcel of Visual Studio.

Hoping VS 11 / TFS 11 includes all of these as from RTM.

by ezien | May 08 2012

by Brandon Williams | April 26 2012

Nice tools.

by MartinIs2Fast | April 14 2012

I see problems with Team Members and Cisco Webex Connect version
I had to disable that feature (Team Members and Team Members Contact Synchronization)
Hope they fix it soon :(

by Guido Over | April 13 2012

by Andromeda Nebula | March 21 2012

Same problem as mentioned by 'by Jon Kirby | March 09 2012 '
Visual studio crashes againa and again . I have to uninstall the Tools to make my visual studio work. Thats a shame I can't even use the Tool.
Iam hoping some update will be done in order to solve the issue. Else it makes simply useless.

by Asaf Benyamin | March 15 2012

by Jon Kirby | March 09 2012

The Team Explorer changes causes Visual Studio to crash whenever you go to Team Explorer. This happens on our main development machines but not on our virtual build machine. On the build machine the additions seem good.

The Windows Explorer integration works fine and is good.

Rating it down due to it's stability issues on some machines.

by Thiago Rogerio de Oliveira | February 22 2012

The process and work item edit tool is very good!!

by piekop | February 14 2012

by PRADEEP-JAGTAP | February 08 2012

by Sven Hubert (AIT) | December 16 2011

Eine unverzichtbare Erweiterung zum Team Foundation Server und Visual Studio. Wer eine Integration mit Windows Explorer benötigt ist hiermit sehr gut bedient.
Manche Funktionen sind noch etwas hakelig, außerdem möchte ich eigentlich zusätzliche Installationen auf dem Client vermeiden, daher nur 4 Punkte.

by abatishchev | December 06 2011

by Mattias Sköld | December 02 2011

Dont leave home without it

by Keith Tuomi | Mon 7:19 PM

Great set of tools.

by AWBauman | November 11 2011

The Windows Explorer Context Menu makes this tool a must-have!

by Anna Russo | November 08 2011

by Santhosh Sivarajan- | November 08 2011

Good job!

by Daniel Cheida | November 05 2011

Great tool

by PeterATL | October 27 2011

Great tools.

One tiny remark: Last Updated date would suggest the add-in's name should mention September 2011 instead of August 2011?

21 - 40 of 94 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion

  • import work item using VS2010 to TFS 2012
    1 Posts | Last post September 29, 2015
    • I am trying to customize work item using this VS2010 power tool and import to a TFS2012 server. But even if i do not change the workitem and try to just import i get the below error:
      Error importing work item type definition:
      The 'HideReadOnlyEmptyField' attribute is not declared.
      Please help.
  • VS2013
    1 Posts | Last post June 04, 2014
    • does it work with VS 2013 ?
  • Error 1334 upon installation
    1 Posts | Last post May 19, 2014
    • I downloaded and tried to install, but then I get: Error 1334. The file 'AlertsExplorer.mht' cannot be installed .....
      Am I the only one ?
  • Forward Compatibility
    1 Posts | Last post April 16, 2014
    • Can an older version of TFS Power Tools (for VS 2010) work against a newer version of TFS (like TFS 2013)?  Or is there an updated version of the Power Tools required?
  • TFPT annotate error
    2 Posts | Last post March 05, 2014
    • TFPT annotate displays all lines with latest changeset for all files. In actually each of the lines in the file is edited with diffferent changesets. Has any one faced this issue here. I am using power tools 2010. 
    • TFPT annotate wrongly displays all lines with latest changeset for all files. But each of the lines in the file is added with diffferent changesets. As one faced this issue before while using annotate cmd. I have tried in power tools 2010 and 2012.
  • TFS Backup plan - ConfigPT.xml and SCVMM
    1 Posts | Last post August 12, 2013
    • Hi everyone,
      Could any of you indicate me the name of the XML node for SCVMM in ConfigPT.xml, file which is located either in your backup path or "C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Team Foundation\Server Configuration".
      This is because PT Backup plan does not recognize my SCVMM database because SCVMM is installed on another server.
      Thanks beforehand !
  • Restore to new hardware failing
    1 Posts | Last post July 18, 2013
    • Hello,
      I've used the TFS Power Tools recovery capabilities to new hardware successfully before. However, on a separate TFS 2010 instance, when testing the recovery to new hardware I get the following error for all databases:
      Error while restoring the database Tfs_Configuration. Microsoft.SqlServer.Management.Smo.FailedOperationException: Restore failed for Server 'xxx-yy-zz01'.  ---> Microsoft.SqlServer.Management.Smo.SmoException: System.Data.SqlClient.SqlError: This differential backup cannot be restored because the database has not been restored to the correct earlier state.
         at Microsoft.SqlServer.Management.Smo.ExecutionManager.ExecuteNonQueryWithMessage(StringCollection queries, ServerMessageEventHandler dbccMessageHandler, Boolean errorsAsMessages)
         at Microsoft.SqlServer.Management.Smo.BackupRestoreBase.ExecuteSql(Server server, StringCollection queries)
         at Microsoft.SqlServer.Management.Smo.Restore.SqlRestore(Server srv)
         --- End of inner exception stack trace ---
         at Microsoft.SqlServer.Management.Smo.Restore.SqlRestore(Server srv)
         at Microsoft.TeamFoundation.PowerTools.Admin.Helpers.RestoreFactory.RestoreFullUsingSMO(String serverName, String databaseName, String path, String bakFile, Boolean noRecovery, Boolean renameExistingDatabases, Int32 statementTimeout)
         at Microsoft.TeamFoundation.PowerTools.Admin.RestoreConfigurator.DoRestore(OperationContext context)
      I tried restoring selecting various transaction and differential backups, same error each time. I'm between a rock and a hard place if the Backup tools cannot restore :( Any one seen this before?
  • Error after install
    1 Posts | Last post June 18, 2013
    • I am seeing two errors in the event log, this is a constant thing.  Are these two things related?  What can I do to fix it?
      The first is:
      TFS Shell Extension event:\n Failed to create COM provider for notification event.
      Followed by the second:
      Faulting application name: TfsComProviderSvr.exe, version: 10.0.40219.0, time stamp: 0x4edeeb5c
      Faulting module name: unknown, version:, time stamp: 0x00000000
      Exception code: 0xc0000005
      Fault offset: 0x7577492b
      Faulting process id: 0xba8
      Faulting application start time: 0x01ce6c2b85918e33
      Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Team Foundation Server 2010 Power Tools\TfsComProviderSvr.exe
      Faulting module path: unknown
  • Customizing a work item gloabally using TFS Power Tool
    1 Posts | Last post March 05, 2013
    • Hello,
      I would like to customize my work item say, Bug for capturing more information for reporting purpose. I am successfull in customizing the bug work item using TFS Power Tool for a particular Project / Application available under one project collection.
      Now, i want the same customized fields to be available to the work item (Bug) across my TFS, regardless of under which the project collection it is created. How can i do it. Any help is highly appreciated.
      Arun Nambiar
  • Download previous versions
    1 Posts | Last post February 27, 2013
    • I'm trying to install the December 2011 version, but setup keeps asking for the MSI of the August 2011 version which I don't have any more.
      Where can I get it so I can uninstall it?
      Any other ideas?
1 - 10 of 199 Items