Productivity Power Tools


A set of extensions to Visual Studio Professional (and above) which improves developer productivity.

(833) Review
Visual Studio
Download (1,785,544)
E-mail Twitter Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Reviews (833)
Q and A (877)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by MikeBTP | May 03 2011

I liked this tool but had to uninstall it because it caused VS-2010 to crash when I clicked to Add Reference. It seems to have started that when I had a bad reference in the list (yield sign) and then right-clicked to Add Reference. Did it all the time after that.

by Emre Gunerturk | April 29 2011

Great tool which saves me a lot of time. Thanks!

by NassimJD | April 28 2011

by Fichtenelch | April 28 2011

Helped me a lot in Development. Ctrl-Click, Document Tab Well and some keyboard shortcuts are on my "Never want to miss" list! Install and use it.

by Aravind PK | April 27 2011

So far, awesome! By saying "so far", i mean, its cool and great. but i occasionally get issues and Ctrl-click feature can be disabled or give some handler, as we use ctrl-click to select the whole word right? many +s and few or countable -s only. Thanks for this plugin.

-- Apr27, 2011:
I have Issues with this:

I have few issues and noted those. the quick find or compact find (New) feature is not picking up the selected text once its already opened.
1) press ctrl+f to find some texts. the control will be visible.
2) select another word and press ctrl+f, the new selected word will not be picked for search.

Quick help or description of a method, is not auto-hiding when we move out of that method or its scope. When we scroll out of that method, still that method info control is visible.

by Alexandre Mutel | April 26 2011

This is a great extension BUT I had to uninstall it due to repetitive crash of Visual Studio 2010, especially while trying to debug an application (not to mention I was not able to debug any unmanaged application).

I did debug devenv.exe to see what was wrong and found that PowerTools is setting a property for a visual debug sheet (don't remember exactly the name) that was outside the range.

So, to make it clear, If your Visual Studio 2010 keeps crashing and you have Power Tools installed, try to remove it.

by ungoul | April 24 2011

After extensive testing (installing/de-installing/disabling) of all extensions in my library of extensions, I have come to the conclusion that the following IDE crash is being caused by Microsoft's Productivity Tools extension:

When rapid scrolling with the Mouse thumbnail against a fairly large .cs source file (2000 + lines of code), the IDE goes down with 'Visual Studio has encountered a problem and has to restart (i am paraphrasing the exact verbiage). The IDE then shuts down and restarts. This is repeatable consistently.

I have had to deinstall the extension - disabling alone does not solve the problem.... I would hope Microsoft addresses this problem as the Productivity Suite has many useful tools and I would like to re-install it.

by jeje003 | April 23 2011

BUG REPORT for VERSION 10.0.20318.14

There is unhandled "a regular expression parsing error" exception in this tool which causes crash of whole IDE immediately.

A regular expression parsing error (System.ArgumentException) occurs in case of try to use new Quick Find/Replace functionality while user enters an unparsable .NET Regular Expression into find/replace popup of this tool while Search option in this popup is set to Use Regular Expression.

For sample, try to use this expression without enclosing quotes:


by Omie | April 21 2011

by SlavoIngilizov | April 20 2011

This thing has been bugging me for a while:

I've customized the color for highlighting the selected line, because I'm using a non-default color theme. This resets to the default color for the highlighted line (for the plugin) every time I restart VS. The problem is fixed if I go into the options for fonts and colors and just click OK.

Otherwise, a great extension.

by sudarsan srinivasan | April 20 2011

I like most of the features from the powertools, except the find replace window. The usability is very poor in this. Please update the find replace window's UI. Also there are a couple of bugs in the find replace window. Please fix it and release a patch as it is very annoying currently.

by Rob26 | April 18 2011

Fantastic power tools, install and use asap!

by toto2316 | April 14 2011

by aganariman | April 14 2011

Visual studio is crashed when an Apostrophe character is used in new Find box.

by Xatter | April 13 2011

by Michael Proctor | April 12 2011

The additions that are introduced with this is absolutely brilliant.

I would love to have an option for the tab well to have two rows, one for code and one for visual designers. At the moment I just pin code windows at the moment, however would be great to have it automatic.

Anyhow keep up the great work.

by Robert Koritnik | April 11 2011

BUG report:
Version: 10.0.20318.14

Whenever I try to do a Find&Replace (I'm using the top right corner simple F&R provided by PPT) on a SQL file and use Regular expressions PPT crashes Visual Studio 2010.

The first key I hit in the find text box Visual Studio crashes.

Can anybody else confirm that this is a bug?

P.S. I couldn't find any link for reporting bugs so I'm reporting it here.

by Capslock66 | April 09 2011

Version 10.0.20318.14

The enhanced scrollbar is good (copy of AllMargins plugin).

Always the SAME problem with Belgium keyboard : the "Alt Gr" key must be used to enter the "[" key.
It's no more possible to enter that key somewhere on a line, just on an empty line :
The power tools use this combination of key for "Align Assignments".

by | April 09 2011

this plugin messed up all my C++ intellisense that was remaining in Visual C++.... now it is like C++/CLI.

Great tools for C# development.

Please make this tool such a way that it will not mess up my Visual C++.


by Andre at GreatSoft | April 07 2011

This is a neat set of tools and I this is indeed making me more productive with the exception one little annoying cotcha.
On a PC with two monitors running in extended dislpay mode and the Document Well 2010 Plus turned on with Floating Docs
settings: Enable floating tab well = True, Enable independeent floating tablwell = True, Float documents by default = False - When one drag an aspx page or xaml page to the secondary monitor and you close the solution without closing any open pags on the secondary monitor - or move it it back and dock it in the main IDE tabs, Visual studio crashes the next time you open the solution. - The work-around is to delete the solution .suo file.
Really annoying...

381 - 400 of 833 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion

  • Delete Regex/Project color coding pattern
    1 Posts | Last post September 20, 2015
    • Is there a way to disable or remove the initial 15 Project color coding patterns? I cant seem to figure out how to remove patterns. Only edit them or create a new one.
  • Debugging Doesn't remember tabs
    1 Posts | Last post September 18, 2015
    • Before this extension, my debugging window tabs would be remembered. Typically I keep "Autos" and "Output" selected. Now it appears that I get random tabs selected when debugging starts. Don't like that.
  • Productivity Power Tools Will not install on Win 10
    1 Posts | Last post August 13, 2015
    • Anyone else had an issue installing Productivity Power Tools, VS .Net 2013 on Windows 10?
  • GDI Object resource leak with enhanced scrollbar
    2 Posts | Last post August 10, 2015
    • There's a GDI object resource leak when using the enhanced scrollbar on full mode. If you open task manager, enable GDI Objects column and open file after file you will notice it growing with each file opened, and never cleaned up. Once it hits 10000 Visual Studio crashes. Whilst it grows things get slower and slower. The enhanced scrollbar is the best feature of PPT so it would be very nice to have this fixed asap.
    • I confirm this with VS2012 Update 4 and extension version 11.0.60403.0.
      When the enhanced scrollbar is enables and in full mode, there is a considerable GDI object leak.
      To test this:
      0. Make sure enhanced scrollbar is enables and in full mode
      1. With task manager or process explorer, inspect the number of GDI objects used by Visual Studio
      2. Open a file
      3. Inspect the number of GDI objects again
      4. Close the file
      5. Inspect the number of GDI objects again
      6. Repeat steps 2 through 5 a few dozen times; you may use the same file or another file
      Expected output (assuming eager disposal of GDI objects):
      3. An increase in GDI objects since the last observation
      5. A decrease in GDI objects since the last observation by the same amount it increased in 3
      Expected output (assuming eventual disposal of GDI objects, subject to GC):
      3. An increase in GDI objects since the last observation
      5. An eventual decrease in GDI objects to the number observed in 1, or by the sum of the increases observed in 3; otherwise, no change
      Observed output:
      3. An increase in GDI objects since the last observation between 50 and 100
      5. A decrease in GDI objects since the last observation between 0 and 10
      What this means is that the number of GDI objects grows quite fast. Eventually the default GDI limit of 10000 is reached and Visual Studio stops responding.
      With multiple instances of Visual Studio open, the session's GDI limit is easily reached, affecting all other open applications and making the whole session unstable.
  • continuous crashing / source available?
    1 Posts | Last post June 08, 2015
    • hi 
      i love this plugin for vs2010 - ive been using it for ages but it keeps crashing my ide and its getting so bad (9 crashes today, all from this plugin) that ill have to stop using it if it cant be fixed - is the source code available so that we can fix the bugs?
  • Solution Navigator crashes VS 2010?
    1 Posts | Last post June 05, 2015
    • I love Solution Navigator, but lately it tends to crash VS2010 completely sometimes when I use the Collapse All button. Very annoying. Any fixes out there?
  • Shift Enter does not Work in VS2010
    1 Posts | Last post March 09, 2015
    • Shift Enter does not Work in VS2010
  • Is there a way to disable the highlight of a symbol under the cursor?
    2 Posts | Last post February 13, 2015
    • It seems that whenever I put my cursor over a symbol, the same name will get highlighted in the whole file instantly. The same happens when selecting code.
      Is there a way to disable this? I find that I already have a lot of colors in my setup, and this makes it a bit more confusing :( The default VS behavior doesn't seem to be highlighting that much.
    • one of the best tool
  • Solution Navigator Tool
    3 Posts | Last post February 13, 2015
    • Where has gone the wonderful Solution Navigation tooltip that was present in VS2010?
      I hope it's still there, it would be a great loss.
    • OK, obviously from what I see nobody from the VS team is answering those questions anymore. Same eagerness to help as in the other MS bug report areas.
    • [with vs2013 (update 4) + PPT latest] why mode "highlight references to symbol under cursor" actually is always enabled when PPT is ON?
  • Productivity Power Tools for Visual Studio is disabled and won't enable
    1 Posts | Last post January 01, 2015
    • It started from PPT for VS12 and happens also on VS13.
      It just got disabled all of the sudden and just won't enable. I've tried to uninstall and reinstall it. I've tried going back in my system with System Restore. I've removed other unnecessary extensions. Nothing helps!
      Please help me with this issue, I'm so frustrated from this.
1 - 10 of 877 Items