Productivity Power Tools

Free

A set of extensions to Visual Studio Professional (and above) which improves developer productivity.

(832) Review
Visual Studio
2010
Download (1,773,114)
11/9/2012
10.0.20626.18
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (832)
Q and A (874)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Emre Gunerturk | April 29 2011

Great tool which saves me a lot of time. Thanks!

by NassimJD | April 28 2011

by Fichtenelch | April 28 2011

Helped me a lot in Development. Ctrl-Click, Document Tab Well and some keyboard shortcuts are on my "Never want to miss" list! Install and use it.

by Aravind PK | April 27 2011

So far, awesome! By saying "so far", i mean, its cool and great. but i occasionally get issues and Ctrl-click feature can be disabled or give some handler, as we use ctrl-click to select the whole word right? many +s and few or countable -s only. Thanks for this plugin.

-- Apr27, 2011:
I have Issues with this:

Issue-1:
I have few issues and noted those. the quick find or compact find (New) feature is not picking up the selected text once its already opened.
Try:
1) press ctrl+f to find some texts. the control will be visible.
2) select another word and press ctrl+f, the new selected word will not be picked for search.

Issue-2:
Quick help or description of a method, is not auto-hiding when we move out of that method or its scope. When we scroll out of that method, still that method info control is visible.

by Alexandre Mutel | April 26 2011

This is a great extension BUT I had to uninstall it due to repetitive crash of Visual Studio 2010, especially while trying to debug an application (not to mention I was not able to debug any unmanaged application).

I did debug devenv.exe to see what was wrong and found that PowerTools is setting a property for a visual debug sheet (don't remember exactly the name) that was outside the range.

So, to make it clear, If your Visual Studio 2010 keeps crashing and you have Power Tools installed, try to remove it.

by ungoul | April 24 2011

After extensive testing (installing/de-installing/disabling) of all extensions in my library of extensions, I have come to the conclusion that the following IDE crash is being caused by Microsoft's Productivity Tools extension:

When rapid scrolling with the Mouse thumbnail against a fairly large .cs source file (2000 + lines of code), the IDE goes down with 'Visual Studio has encountered a problem and has to restart (i am paraphrasing the exact verbiage). The IDE then shuts down and restarts. This is repeatable consistently.

I have had to deinstall the extension - disabling alone does not solve the problem.... I would hope Microsoft addresses this problem as the Productivity Suite has many useful tools and I would like to re-install it.









by jeje003 | April 23 2011

BUG REPORT for VERSION 10.0.20318.14

There is unhandled "a regular expression parsing error" exception in this tool which causes crash of whole IDE immediately.

A regular expression parsing error (System.ArgumentException) occurs in case of try to use new Quick Find/Replace functionality while user enters an unparsable .NET Regular Expression into find/replace popup of this tool while Search option in this popup is set to Use Regular Expression.

For sample, try to use this expression without enclosing quotes:

"^({0,1}\s*(\d+)\s*(?:.|\))\s*(.+)$"

by Omie | April 21 2011

by SlavoIngilizov | April 20 2011

This thing has been bugging me for a while:

I've customized the color for highlighting the selected line, because I'm using a non-default color theme. This resets to the default color for the highlighted line (for the plugin) every time I restart VS. The problem is fixed if I go into the options for fonts and colors and just click OK.

Otherwise, a great extension.

by sudarsan srinivasan | April 20 2011

I like most of the features from the powertools, except the find replace window. The usability is very poor in this. Please update the find replace window's UI. Also there are a couple of bugs in the find replace window. Please fix it and release a patch as it is very annoying currently.

by Rob26 | April 18 2011

Fantastic power tools, install and use asap!

by toto2316 | April 14 2011

by aganariman | April 14 2011

Visual studio is crashed when an Apostrophe character is used in new Find box.

by Xatter | April 13 2011

by Michael Proctor | April 12 2011

The additions that are introduced with this is absolutely brilliant.

I would love to have an option for the tab well to have two rows, one for code and one for visual designers. At the moment I just pin code windows at the moment, however would be great to have it automatic.

Anyhow keep up the great work.

by Robert Koritnik | April 11 2011

BUG report:
Version: 10.0.20318.14

Whenever I try to do a Find&Replace (I'm using the top right corner simple F&R provided by PPT) on a SQL file and use Regular expressions PPT crashes Visual Studio 2010.

The first key I hit in the find text box Visual Studio crashes.

Can anybody else confirm that this is a bug?

P.S. I couldn't find any link for reporting bugs so I'm reporting it here.

by Capslock66 | April 09 2011

Version 10.0.20318.14

The enhanced scrollbar is good (copy of AllMargins plugin).

Always the SAME problem with Belgium keyboard : the "Alt Gr" key must be used to enter the "[" key.
It's no more possible to enter that key somewhere on a line, just on an empty line :
The power tools use this combination of key for "Align Assignments".

by free.fly | April 09 2011

this plugin messed up all my C++ intellisense that was remaining in Visual C++.... now it is like C++/CLI.

Great tools for C# development.

Please make this tool such a way that it will not mess up my Visual C++.

regards

by Andre at GreatSoft | April 07 2011

This is a neat set of tools and I this is indeed making me more productive with the exception one little annoying cotcha.
On a PC with two monitors running in extended dislpay mode and the Document Well 2010 Plus turned on with Floating Docs
settings: Enable floating tab well = True, Enable independeent floating tablwell = True, Float documents by default = False - When one drag an aspx page or xaml page to the secondary monitor and you close the solution without closing any open pags on the secondary monitor - or move it it back and dock it in the main IDE tabs, Visual studio crashes the next time you open the solution. - The work-around is to delete the solution .suo file.
Really annoying...

by sdehart | April 04 2011

The Find feature is really a problem for me.

- It hijacked my F3 and Ctrl+F shortcuts and routed them to its find dialog instead of the normal advanced one.
- it doesn't pre-populate the find text with my last search.
- worst of all: I can't use the up/down arrows on the text box to scroll through previous search terms. This is the main reason I get so mad that it's hard to get to the advanced dialog! Otherwise I would be fine with using this one.

I'm still rating 4 stars because the tools overall are excellent. I've been using them since I got VS 2010. I found them right away after I realized VS 2010 took away the close button on individual tabs and made you use the single close button on the right of the tab bar.

381 - 400 of 832 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • continuous crashing / source available?
    1 Posts | Last post June 08, 2015
    • hi 
      
      i love this plugin for vs2010 - ive been using it for ages but it keeps crashing my ide and its getting so bad (9 crashes today, all from this plugin) that ill have to stop using it if it cant be fixed - is the source code available so that we can fix the bugs?
  • Solution Navigator crashes VS 2010?
    1 Posts | Last post June 05, 2015
    • I love Solution Navigator, but lately it tends to crash VS2010 completely sometimes when I use the Collapse All button. Very annoying. Any fixes out there?
  • Shift Enter does not Work in VS2010
    1 Posts | Last post March 09, 2015
    • Shift Enter does not Work in VS2010
  • Is there a way to disable the highlight of a symbol under the cursor?
    2 Posts | Last post February 13, 2015
    • It seems that whenever I put my cursor over a symbol, the same name will get highlighted in the whole file instantly. The same happens when selecting code.
      
      Is there a way to disable this? I find that I already have a lot of colors in my setup, and this makes it a bit more confusing :( The default VS behavior doesn't seem to be highlighting that much.
    • one of the best tool
  • Solution Navigator Tool
    3 Posts | Last post February 13, 2015
    • Where has gone the wonderful Solution Navigation tooltip that was present in VS2010?
      
      http://blogs.msdn.com/b/visualstudio/archive/2010/07/20/solution-navigator-blog-post.aspx
      
      I hope it's still there, it would be a great loss.
    • OK, obviously from what I see nobody from the VS team is answering those questions anymore. Same eagerness to help as in the other MS bug report areas.
    • [with vs2013 (update 4) + PPT latest] why mode "highlight references to symbol under cursor" actually is always enabled when PPT is ON?
      Thanks.
  • Productivity Power Tools for Visual Studio is disabled and won't enable
    1 Posts | Last post January 01, 2015
    • It started from PPT for VS12 and happens also on VS13.
      It just got disabled all of the sudden and just won't enable. I've tried to uninstall and reinstall it. I've tried going back in my system with System Restore. I've removed other unnecessary extensions. Nothing helps!
      Please help me with this issue, I'm so frustrated from this.
  • Align Assignments for Javascript objects
    1 Posts | Last post December 17, 2014
    • Could the assignment alignment for the equal sign (=) be (in a way) extended to the colon sign (:) so it would work just as nice for Javascript object definitions? It would make:
      
      obj = {
         short: 'hello',
         loooooong: 'world'
      }
      
      look like:
      
      obj = {
         short:     'hello',
         loooooong: 'world'
      }
      
      
  • Tab scroll bug
    2 Posts | Last post October 13, 2014
    • When you enable scrolling tabs in VS2013, and add enough tabs to enable the scroll buttons (and again - 3-4 extra tabs beyond that), then when you try to drag a tab to reposition it after scrolling to the end, the tab will not be located where the cursor is, and it will not be possible to place it at the end of the tab list.
      
      Also, as a feature request: It would be nice if the tab scrolling, could have a multi-row option, where you could select that e.g. you want a maximum of 3 rows of tabs, and then it will add a vertical scrollbar if it goes beyond that.
    • Correction: I meant to make this reply for the VS2013 version.
  • word separators?
    1 Posts | Last post September 03, 2014
    • I use the extension with native C++ mainly. Works great but when I use CTRL+F3 to search a word, it takes to many characters into the word.
      
      Ex: str+='L' will search for "str+=" instead of resolving the word as "str".
      
      How can I define the word delimiter list?
  • 自动补全
    1 Posts | Last post August 26, 2014
    • 这个插件我已经使用很长一段时间了,很好用。最近突然发现自动补全失灵了,重装后依旧如此。有什么方法可以修复吗?
1 - 10 of 874 Items