Productivity Power Tools

Free

A set of extensions to Visual Studio Professional (and above) which improves developer productivity.

(832) Review
Visual Studio
2010
Download (1,773,486)
11/9/2012
10.0.20626.18
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (832)
Q and A (874)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by stevencohn | March 04 2011

In general still as useful as previous version but has two problem areas that I would like see fixed.

First, the new Find conflicts with both Edit.Find and Edit.GotoFindCombo; if you use only the new Find it works OK but then F3 no longer works to proceed to next instance. You CAN disable this feature without disabling the entire extension; just turn off the "Quick Find" feature. Honestly, other than the bright yellow highlighting, I don't see the real advantage of this feature. I bind Ctrl-D to the Edit.GotoFindCombo which works ostensibly the same.

Second, the Fix Mixed Tabs feature has regressed. It properly analyzes and identifies files with mixed tabs. You can click the 'x' to make the toolbar disappear. But if you click "Don't show again", nothing immediately happens - if you then click Tabify or Untabify VS will crash, if you click 'x' nothing happens and the toolbar does not go away.

I hope these descriptions help.

by erickorlando | March 04 2011

Excelentes herramientas en una sola!!!

by R.E. _ | March 03 2011

I removed it after getting tired of the new Find because the keyboard command don’t work: F3 or Alt-F to find the next, Alt-R to replace current, Alt-A to replace all, Tab from the “Find what” to the “Replace with” entries.

by adam0101 | March 03 2011

Disappointed that the Interactive Tooltips that come with the Solution Navigator still do not display the XML comments somewhere. Otherwise great work.

by Bill Leibold | March 03 2011

This update is killing me! Any use of the tabify feature crashes VS. A quick fix would be helpful.

by Benjamin S. Hanson | March 02 2011

I'm only going to talk about the new find feature, because all the others are generally good:

The new find feature is 100x better and much much faster than the built in find. I also like the fact that it always does a search in document and doesn't constantly default to "Search Solution" that can ruin your whole day.. that said - the quick replace is 1000x worse than the built-in and pretty much completely unusable.

I often have the need to do a replace in selection - this is the ONLY time I ever do a replace and it's always in a selection and it's always a 'Replace All'. This now requires about 10x as much effort as before and the default is to replace everything in the document, which is pretty much NEVER what you want.

To kick it all off you can't turn off the new replace without also turning off the new find. So where one saves my life, the other kills it.

by Frinkfree | March 02 2011

The color-coded marker/ui in the scrollbar is very innovative - making use of dead space that previously required a dedicated column in the code view - and with Shift+Click on the scrollbar to go to a specific marker I can navigate very quickly. Other enhancements to functionality are nice, but the quiet little visual cues are what help me most. I only use a fraction of all the functionality in this extension, so it's nice to be able to control usage through the options menu. Great job.

by MuhammedBaykal | March 02 2011

It's a great tool! I wish someday it will be open source...

by Brendon123 | March 01 2011

Useful tool. If find that "In Current Block" and, as others have said "In Selection" are are missed when using the new Find feature - even showing them under the options drop-down would improve things. Yes you can disable a feature if you don't like it, but I'm sure it's useful to have feedback on all the features if any case. This is more productive than the majority of users disabling the feature and not saying anything about it.

by ChrisPfohl | February 28 2011

Useful tool, makes very small improvements to the Visual Studio UI.

"Highlight Current Line" alone makes this tool worth it, although the Tabbing and Solution Navigator features are awesome as well.

Note: Contrary to other reviews, *every* feature can be turned on or off, including the new search feature: Tools//Options: Productivity Power Tools//All Extensions allows you to turn each new feature on or off. "Quick Find" is the new search functionality. I have it currently disabled.

Second note: Replace in Selection is still usable from the normal Find and Replace tool bar which is even usable while the Quick Find is enabled.

by Pankaj Lathiya | February 28 2011

Awesome and 'must have' tool !!

by Ulrich Proeller | February 28 2011

by Tuomas Hietanen | February 28 2011

Enhanced Scrollbar has now the same ability to show errors as ReShaper Marker Bar.

This is the feature I have waited most to be a part of Visual Studio editor. It is a must when you try to refactor class variables away from an old big legacy class.

by Chisp | February 28 2011

Replace in selection is gone, and the new find (which I don't like) can't be turned off.

by Keith Lloyd | February 27 2011

IDE hangs with Version 10.0.20214.15 installed, hence the 1 star rating. Previous version I would give 4 stars. The hang would happen when Silverlight Designer was showing and started a debug session. If I switched to a cs file and debugged then no hang. I would love to go back to the previous version.

by MrtnZ | February 27 2011

The new find and scrollbar tools are very useful. I use scroll bar in full mode without any performance problem.
A very great behavior of the new search is that you can leave open one on each file. I like it.

by qck1 | February 25 2011

I have disabled this because the newest version replaces the find and replace with something without the flexibility. It now becomes a hinderance to my work just because of the new find and replace feature. Cannot even go to the old find and replace dialog from the new one, let alone set the attributes for find and replace. Fix this and I will start using it.

by CodeShark | February 25 2011

it is nice the new version has the enhance scroll bar feature that is very similarly to metalscroll.

by grakgrak | February 25 2011

Excellent really like the new Find tool.

How about using the up and down arrow keys to move to the Next and Previous find results while typing into the text box.

GrakGrak

by AimeR | February 25 2011

The Enhanced scroll bar "Full Mode" is a great idea, but performance is horrific. Scrolling an xml file 500 lines long can become extremely slow.

441 - 460 of 832 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • continuous crashing / source available?
    1 Posts | Last post June 08, 2015
    • hi 
      
      i love this plugin for vs2010 - ive been using it for ages but it keeps crashing my ide and its getting so bad (9 crashes today, all from this plugin) that ill have to stop using it if it cant be fixed - is the source code available so that we can fix the bugs?
  • Solution Navigator crashes VS 2010?
    1 Posts | Last post June 05, 2015
    • I love Solution Navigator, but lately it tends to crash VS2010 completely sometimes when I use the Collapse All button. Very annoying. Any fixes out there?
  • Shift Enter does not Work in VS2010
    1 Posts | Last post March 09, 2015
    • Shift Enter does not Work in VS2010
  • Is there a way to disable the highlight of a symbol under the cursor?
    2 Posts | Last post February 13, 2015
    • It seems that whenever I put my cursor over a symbol, the same name will get highlighted in the whole file instantly. The same happens when selecting code.
      
      Is there a way to disable this? I find that I already have a lot of colors in my setup, and this makes it a bit more confusing :( The default VS behavior doesn't seem to be highlighting that much.
    • one of the best tool
  • Solution Navigator Tool
    3 Posts | Last post February 13, 2015
    • Where has gone the wonderful Solution Navigation tooltip that was present in VS2010?
      
      http://blogs.msdn.com/b/visualstudio/archive/2010/07/20/solution-navigator-blog-post.aspx
      
      I hope it's still there, it would be a great loss.
    • OK, obviously from what I see nobody from the VS team is answering those questions anymore. Same eagerness to help as in the other MS bug report areas.
    • [with vs2013 (update 4) + PPT latest] why mode "highlight references to symbol under cursor" actually is always enabled when PPT is ON?
      Thanks.
  • Productivity Power Tools for Visual Studio is disabled and won't enable
    1 Posts | Last post January 01, 2015
    • It started from PPT for VS12 and happens also on VS13.
      It just got disabled all of the sudden and just won't enable. I've tried to uninstall and reinstall it. I've tried going back in my system with System Restore. I've removed other unnecessary extensions. Nothing helps!
      Please help me with this issue, I'm so frustrated from this.
  • Align Assignments for Javascript objects
    1 Posts | Last post December 17, 2014
    • Could the assignment alignment for the equal sign (=) be (in a way) extended to the colon sign (:) so it would work just as nice for Javascript object definitions? It would make:
      
      obj = {
         short: 'hello',
         loooooong: 'world'
      }
      
      look like:
      
      obj = {
         short:     'hello',
         loooooong: 'world'
      }
      
      
  • Tab scroll bug
    2 Posts | Last post October 13, 2014
    • When you enable scrolling tabs in VS2013, and add enough tabs to enable the scroll buttons (and again - 3-4 extra tabs beyond that), then when you try to drag a tab to reposition it after scrolling to the end, the tab will not be located where the cursor is, and it will not be possible to place it at the end of the tab list.
      
      Also, as a feature request: It would be nice if the tab scrolling, could have a multi-row option, where you could select that e.g. you want a maximum of 3 rows of tabs, and then it will add a vertical scrollbar if it goes beyond that.
    • Correction: I meant to make this reply for the VS2013 version.
  • word separators?
    1 Posts | Last post September 03, 2014
    • I use the extension with native C++ mainly. Works great but when I use CTRL+F3 to search a word, it takes to many characters into the word.
      
      Ex: str+='L' will search for "str+=" instead of resolving the word as "str".
      
      How can I define the word delimiter list?
  • 自动补全
    1 Posts | Last post August 26, 2014
    • 这个插件我已经使用很长一段时间了,很好用。最近突然发现自动补全失灵了,重装后依旧如此。有什么方法可以修复吗?
1 - 10 of 874 Items