Productivity Power Tools


A set of extensions to Visual Studio Professional (and above) which improves developer productivity.

(833) Review
Visual Studio
Download (1,785,868)
E-mail Twitter Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Reviews (833)
Q and A (877)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Arif Budiman | February 22 2011

by yzorg | February 20 2011

by Shaiket Das | February 16 2011

Amazing!! Thank you for this extension.
Unlike many users, I have been using this extension for over a month now and have not had any crashing issue so far. And this is not the only extension and/or add-on that I have. I am using Pro 2010.

Good luck!

by rp on connect | February 10 2011

Cool and useful extension. I like it.
I have one annotation for the "Align Assignments". It would be cool to set the formatting rule so, that the equal signs in the assignment block
are not shifted to the right.


aString =......."hello";
anotherString =."out";

by puneetspeed | February 09 2011

by Just_Another_Developer | February 09 2011

This is a fantastic add-on, however it kills the speed of my App completely when I run it from within VS. It's like full tracing, logging and who knows what else, is on. If it didn't interfere with VS's speed, I would have given it 5 stars.

by aaubry | February 09 2011

This extension, like most extensions on this gallery makes Visual Studio unstable and leads to crashes.

I believe that Visual Studio should execute extensions in isolation to prevent crashes, but until they do it, each extension should be really careful not to crash ever.

by contextfree. _ | February 08 2011

I love what this extension does, but sadly it also results in a much less stable Visual Studio. At one point it somehow got into a state where VS was crashing every time I opened a C# file; this extension was definitely the culprit since disabling it fixed the problem. The problem didn't come back when I tried re-enabling it, and I guess it goes to show how much I like the extension, or maybe just how dumb I am, but I still have it enabled today. Really, really, really hope you guys fix the bugs soon though! I was hoping maybe SP1 beta would improve things but it hasn't =(

by Melyurt | February 04 2011

by ozdemirerdem | February 04 2011

An excellent tool which has useful features

by hornerj99 | February 02 2011

by RickCole | February 01 2011

Great tool! Adds a lot of nice functionality to the IDE.
Downside is that it gets sluggish with a large number of projects and files in the solution and on large source code files. Not to mention other latencies in doing nearly everything in the IDE. Can't wait till a release comes out that fixes these issues.

by Michal Zalewski | January 29 2011

excellent work!

by ltlJohn40 | January 28 2011

I liked this extention until it caused me several hours of trouble shooting. I didn't see a place to submit bugs so I'm letting people know here. If you have this extention, do not drag a tab off to another monitor and close Studio. On opening that project, it will cause a CLR exception (0xE0434F4D) and crash studio.

by Stefan Vogel | January 27 2011

A great toolbox!

by Manfred Lange | January 26 2011

By and large I love this set of tools.

However, for some reason, I found the following issue in my installation: Selecting code, then copying, it won't paste into notepad.

Steps to reproduce:
1. Select code
2. select "Copy" from menu "Edit" (or use Ctrl+C)
3. Switch to notepad.exe and paste (or use Ctrl+V)
4. It doesn't bring the code across.

Maybe copying text was accidentially dropped when adding support for copying HTML?

Here is a work around. In Tools-Options-Productivity Power Tools select "All Extensions", then switch off "HTML Copy".

by AnirudhBakore | January 17 2011

Request VS team to make this tool as a part of standard install

by dagma20_ | January 17 2011

There are some nice features that make this a worthy download, however my experience of using this has caused alot of time wasting chasing errors with this set of tools, more specifically is the 'add reference' utility tool, which is pretty neat but causes problems / corrupts applications so have had to delete the power tools as a result, waiting for a new release that will hopefully resolve alot of the problems I had.

by Jean-Claude Bertrand | January 12 2011

Since I installed it I got crash issue with VStudio 2010...

by Brent Bordelon | January 10 2011

I had an open ticket for 3 months with MS related to the IDE freezing while stepping through code. It would happen randomly almost every time. Ultimately, they told me to disable all extensions (this was the only extension I had installed). I was skeptical, but that was back in September 2010. Now in January 2011 I've yet to have a single problem. Diagnosis? This extension was causing the problem.

481 - 500 of 833 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion

  • Delete Regex/Project color coding pattern
    1 Posts | Last post September 20, 2015
    • Is there a way to disable or remove the initial 15 Project color coding patterns? I cant seem to figure out how to remove patterns. Only edit them or create a new one.
  • Debugging Doesn't remember tabs
    1 Posts | Last post September 18, 2015
    • Before this extension, my debugging window tabs would be remembered. Typically I keep "Autos" and "Output" selected. Now it appears that I get random tabs selected when debugging starts. Don't like that.
  • Productivity Power Tools Will not install on Win 10
    1 Posts | Last post August 13, 2015
    • Anyone else had an issue installing Productivity Power Tools, VS .Net 2013 on Windows 10?
  • GDI Object resource leak with enhanced scrollbar
    2 Posts | Last post August 10, 2015
    • There's a GDI object resource leak when using the enhanced scrollbar on full mode. If you open task manager, enable GDI Objects column and open file after file you will notice it growing with each file opened, and never cleaned up. Once it hits 10000 Visual Studio crashes. Whilst it grows things get slower and slower. The enhanced scrollbar is the best feature of PPT so it would be very nice to have this fixed asap.
    • I confirm this with VS2012 Update 4 and extension version 11.0.60403.0.
      When the enhanced scrollbar is enables and in full mode, there is a considerable GDI object leak.
      To test this:
      0. Make sure enhanced scrollbar is enables and in full mode
      1. With task manager or process explorer, inspect the number of GDI objects used by Visual Studio
      2. Open a file
      3. Inspect the number of GDI objects again
      4. Close the file
      5. Inspect the number of GDI objects again
      6. Repeat steps 2 through 5 a few dozen times; you may use the same file or another file
      Expected output (assuming eager disposal of GDI objects):
      3. An increase in GDI objects since the last observation
      5. A decrease in GDI objects since the last observation by the same amount it increased in 3
      Expected output (assuming eventual disposal of GDI objects, subject to GC):
      3. An increase in GDI objects since the last observation
      5. An eventual decrease in GDI objects to the number observed in 1, or by the sum of the increases observed in 3; otherwise, no change
      Observed output:
      3. An increase in GDI objects since the last observation between 50 and 100
      5. A decrease in GDI objects since the last observation between 0 and 10
      What this means is that the number of GDI objects grows quite fast. Eventually the default GDI limit of 10000 is reached and Visual Studio stops responding.
      With multiple instances of Visual Studio open, the session's GDI limit is easily reached, affecting all other open applications and making the whole session unstable.
  • continuous crashing / source available?
    1 Posts | Last post June 08, 2015
    • hi 
      i love this plugin for vs2010 - ive been using it for ages but it keeps crashing my ide and its getting so bad (9 crashes today, all from this plugin) that ill have to stop using it if it cant be fixed - is the source code available so that we can fix the bugs?
  • Solution Navigator crashes VS 2010?
    1 Posts | Last post June 05, 2015
    • I love Solution Navigator, but lately it tends to crash VS2010 completely sometimes when I use the Collapse All button. Very annoying. Any fixes out there?
  • Shift Enter does not Work in VS2010
    1 Posts | Last post March 09, 2015
    • Shift Enter does not Work in VS2010
  • Is there a way to disable the highlight of a symbol under the cursor?
    2 Posts | Last post February 13, 2015
    • It seems that whenever I put my cursor over a symbol, the same name will get highlighted in the whole file instantly. The same happens when selecting code.
      Is there a way to disable this? I find that I already have a lot of colors in my setup, and this makes it a bit more confusing :( The default VS behavior doesn't seem to be highlighting that much.
    • one of the best tool
  • Solution Navigator Tool
    3 Posts | Last post February 13, 2015
    • Where has gone the wonderful Solution Navigation tooltip that was present in VS2010?
      I hope it's still there, it would be a great loss.
    • OK, obviously from what I see nobody from the VS team is answering those questions anymore. Same eagerness to help as in the other MS bug report areas.
    • [with vs2013 (update 4) + PPT latest] why mode "highlight references to symbol under cursor" actually is always enabled when PPT is ON?
  • Productivity Power Tools for Visual Studio is disabled and won't enable
    1 Posts | Last post January 01, 2015
    • It started from PPT for VS12 and happens also on VS13.
      It just got disabled all of the sudden and just won't enable. I've tried to uninstall and reinstall it. I've tried going back in my system with System Restore. I've removed other unnecessary extensions. Nothing helps!
      Please help me with this issue, I'm so frustrated from this.
1 - 10 of 877 Items