Productivity Power Tools

Free

A set of extensions to Visual Studio Professional (and above) which improves developer productivity.

(831) Review
Visual Studio
2010
Download (1,760,217)
11/9/2012
10.0.20626.18
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (831)
Q and A (872)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Shaiket Das | February 16 2011

Amazing!! Thank you for this extension.
Unlike many users, I have been using this extension for over a month now and have not had any crashing issue so far. And this is not the only extension and/or add-on that I have. I am using VS.net Pro 2010.

Good luck!

by rp on connect | February 10 2011

Cool and useful extension. I like it.
I have one annotation for the "Align Assignments". It would be cool to set the formatting rule so, that the equal signs in the assignment block
are not shifted to the right.

Example:

aString =......."hello";
anotherString =."out";

by puneetspeed | February 09 2011

by Just_Another_Developer | February 09 2011

This is a fantastic add-on, however it kills the speed of my App completely when I run it from within VS. It's like full tracing, logging and who knows what else, is on. If it didn't interfere with VS's speed, I would have given it 5 stars.

by aaubry | February 09 2011

This extension, like most extensions on this gallery makes Visual Studio unstable and leads to crashes.

I believe that Visual Studio should execute extensions in isolation to prevent crashes, but until they do it, each extension should be really careful not to crash ever.

by contextfree. _ | February 08 2011

I love what this extension does, but sadly it also results in a much less stable Visual Studio. At one point it somehow got into a state where VS was crashing every time I opened a C# file; this extension was definitely the culprit since disabling it fixed the problem. The problem didn't come back when I tried re-enabling it, and I guess it goes to show how much I like the extension, or maybe just how dumb I am, but I still have it enabled today. Really, really, really hope you guys fix the bugs soon though! I was hoping maybe SP1 beta would improve things but it hasn't =(

by Melyurt | February 04 2011

by ozdemirerdem | February 04 2011

An excellent tool which has useful features

by hornerj99 | February 02 2011

by RickCole | February 01 2011

Great tool! Adds a lot of nice functionality to the IDE.
Downside is that it gets sluggish with a large number of projects and files in the solution and on large source code files. Not to mention other latencies in doing nearly everything in the IDE. Can't wait till a release comes out that fixes these issues.

by Michal Zalewski | January 29 2011

excellent work!

by ltlJohn40 | January 28 2011

I liked this extention until it caused me several hours of trouble shooting. I didn't see a place to submit bugs so I'm letting people know here. If you have this extention, do not drag a tab off to another monitor and close Studio. On opening that project, it will cause a CLR exception (0xE0434F4D) and crash studio.

by Stefan Vogel | January 27 2011

A great toolbox!

by Manfred Lange | January 26 2011

By and large I love this set of tools.

However, for some reason, I found the following issue in my installation: Selecting code, then copying, it won't paste into notepad.

Steps to reproduce:
1. Select code
2. select "Copy" from menu "Edit" (or use Ctrl+C)
3. Switch to notepad.exe and paste (or use Ctrl+V)
4. It doesn't bring the code across.

Maybe copying text was accidentially dropped when adding support for copying HTML?

Here is a work around. In Tools-Options-Productivity Power Tools select "All Extensions", then switch off "HTML Copy".

by AnirudhBakore | January 17 2011

Request VS team to make this tool as a part of standard install

by dagma20_ | January 17 2011

There are some nice features that make this a worthy download, however my experience of using this has caused alot of time wasting chasing errors with this set of tools, more specifically is the 'add reference' utility tool, which is pretty neat but causes problems / corrupts applications so have had to delete the power tools as a result, waiting for a new release that will hopefully resolve alot of the problems I had.

by Jean-Claude Bertrand | January 12 2011

Since I installed it I got crash issue with VStudio 2010...

by Brent Bordelon | January 10 2011

I had an open ticket for 3 months with MS related to the IDE freezing while stepping through code. It would happen randomly almost every time. Ultimately, they told me to disable all extensions (this was the only extension I had installed). I was skeptical, but that was back in September 2010. Now in January 2011 I've yet to have a single problem. Diagnosis? This extension was causing the problem.

by mvermef | January 07 2011

Solution Navigator -- just did a search for FrameworkElement wanted to know where it was located assembly wise and well it brought my i7 to its knees. Almost 1gig in memory was absorbed by devenv.exe. Search function appears slightly ineffecient.

by Khanna Gaurav | January 06 2011

Productivity Power Tools are a great extension to increase developers productivity. Auto Brace Completion, HTML Copy, Solution Navigator, Searchable Add Reference Dialog are few very good additions.

But "Ctrl + Click Go To Definition" is one feature which need some attention. Although its a good feature to have but often when trying to cut or copy the code (using Ctrl+C or Ctrl+X) instead of copying it opens the definition which is quite annoying.

But overall great work!

481 - 500 of 831 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Shift Enter does not Work in VS2010
    1 Posts | Last post March 09, 2015
    • Shift Enter does not Work in VS2010
  • Is there a way to disable the highlight of a symbol under the cursor?
    2 Posts | Last post February 13, 2015
    • It seems that whenever I put my cursor over a symbol, the same name will get highlighted in the whole file instantly. The same happens when selecting code.
      
      Is there a way to disable this? I find that I already have a lot of colors in my setup, and this makes it a bit more confusing :( The default VS behavior doesn't seem to be highlighting that much.
    • one of the best tool
  • Solution Navigator Tool
    3 Posts | Last post February 13, 2015
    • Where has gone the wonderful Solution Navigation tooltip that was present in VS2010?
      
      http://blogs.msdn.com/b/visualstudio/archive/2010/07/20/solution-navigator-blog-post.aspx
      
      I hope it's still there, it would be a great loss.
    • OK, obviously from what I see nobody from the VS team is answering those questions anymore. Same eagerness to help as in the other MS bug report areas.
    • [with vs2013 (update 4) + PPT latest] why mode "highlight references to symbol under cursor" actually is always enabled when PPT is ON?
      Thanks.
  • Productivity Power Tools for Visual Studio is disabled and won't enable
    1 Posts | Last post January 01, 2015
    • It started from PPT for VS12 and happens also on VS13.
      It just got disabled all of the sudden and just won't enable. I've tried to uninstall and reinstall it. I've tried going back in my system with System Restore. I've removed other unnecessary extensions. Nothing helps!
      Please help me with this issue, I'm so frustrated from this.
  • Align Assignments for Javascript objects
    1 Posts | Last post December 17, 2014
    • Could the assignment alignment for the equal sign (=) be (in a way) extended to the colon sign (:) so it would work just as nice for Javascript object definitions? It would make:
      
      obj = {
         short: 'hello',
         loooooong: 'world'
      }
      
      look like:
      
      obj = {
         short:     'hello',
         loooooong: 'world'
      }
      
      
  • Tab scroll bug
    2 Posts | Last post October 13, 2014
    • When you enable scrolling tabs in VS2013, and add enough tabs to enable the scroll buttons (and again - 3-4 extra tabs beyond that), then when you try to drag a tab to reposition it after scrolling to the end, the tab will not be located where the cursor is, and it will not be possible to place it at the end of the tab list.
      
      Also, as a feature request: It would be nice if the tab scrolling, could have a multi-row option, where you could select that e.g. you want a maximum of 3 rows of tabs, and then it will add a vertical scrollbar if it goes beyond that.
    • Correction: I meant to make this reply for the VS2013 version.
  • word separators?
    1 Posts | Last post September 03, 2014
    • I use the extension with native C++ mainly. Works great but when I use CTRL+F3 to search a word, it takes to many characters into the word.
      
      Ex: str+='L' will search for "str+=" instead of resolving the word as "str".
      
      How can I define the word delimiter list?
  • 自动补全
    1 Posts | Last post August 26, 2014
    • 这个插件我已经使用很长一段时间了,很好用。最近突然发现自动补全失灵了,重装后依旧如此。有什么方法可以修复吗?
  • ctrl+l doesn't work on multiple lines
    2 Posts | Last post July 31, 2014
    • ctrl+l doesn't work on multiple selected lines after installing this plugin. ctrl+l DOES work on a single line however if you select multiple lines it will leave behind text artifacts. 
      
      typical use case is to select multiple lines of text, BUT NOT the entire start and finish of the first and last line and press ctrl+l. expected result is all content from all selected lines will be cut from the document. actual result is that text that was not fully selected on the first and last line of the multi-line selection is then left behind and another ctrl+l is required to get rid of it.
      
      if the productivity power tools plugin is disabled or uninstalled the default visual studio behavior is restored so this plugin is definitely causing this bug.
    • For this feature, I discovered that it's a bug that comes from HTML Copy feature, simply turning it off, solved my problem.
  • How to disable new line for getters and setters
    1 Posts | Last post July 13, 2014
    • Hello,
      I like my properties' getters and setters on one line like this:
       public string FileHash {get; set;}
      
      but PPT is forcing them on new lines like this:
              public string FileHash {
                  get;
                  set;
              }
      
      How do I disable this?
1 - 10 of 872 Items