Productivity Power Tools

Free

A set of extensions to Visual Studio Professional (and above) which improves developer productivity.

(840) Review
Visual Studio
2010
Download (1,814,362)
3/17/2016
10.0.20626.18
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (840)
Q and A (880)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by PastorGL | July 21 2010

by Oleksandr Nikitin | July 21 2010

Good extension. Always crashes when using Quick Access though.

Win7 x64, VS2010 RTM Pro

wizzard0@gmail.com

by ashridah | July 20 2010

by geno.prida | July 20 2010

Love the solution explorer.

What about getting a "Check-out" filter as well?

by Cory Cissell | July 20 2010

I love the new Solution Navigator. Finding a class in a large solution is so simple now. It's huge time saver.

Now, you can turn off features you don't want to use so this extension is a must have.

by Anindya Chatterjee | July 20 2010

by StevensN | July 20 2010

Awesome...absolutely awesome.

There is one feature i would love to see added to this and that is to auto resolve usings.

The easiest example i can use is RegistryKey or StringBuilder, so while i am writing some code and i enter in RegistryKey key = Registry.LocalMachine; then this extension could resolve the using statement at the top of the file to using Microsoft.Win32; or i enter StringBuilder sb = new StringBuilder("Hello World"); i would want the using System.Text; to be auto inserted at the top of the file or in the usings section.

This would be a great addition and save hours in having to workout what usings you need upfront of jump around the code window including using statements as you need them, where a using statement cannot be resolved then everything is as it always has been and the user would need to manually include the using statement.

Hope that all makes sense.

Keep up the great work.

Regards
Neil

by Alexander Beletsky | July 20 2010

Crashed immediately I tried Quick Access function. Crash is stable.

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: CLR20r3
Problem Signature 01: devenv.exe
Problem Signature 02: 10.0.30319.1
Problem Signature 03: 4ba1fab3
Problem Signature 04: PresentationFramework
Problem Signature 05: 4.0.0.0
Problem Signature 06: 4ba1f8db
Problem Signature 07: 78fe
Problem Signature 08: 0
Problem Signature 09: System.Windows.Markup.XamlParse
OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1058

As you need some more details, please contact me

by jvorchak | July 20 2010

Fantastic, so much of what we did and didn't know was missing from VS2010!

by MarcF | July 20 2010

Great extension.

Could do with a summary toolip for each feature on the toggle options page, but at least there's a link back to this site.

by Blame73 | July 20 2010

by dwsqAnonymous | July 20 2010

The "Solution Navigator" could use a "Collapse All Projects" as provided with the PowerCommands for Visual Studio 2010.

But this time, with the enable/disable options, it seems like the Productivity Power Tools are here to stay in my case. This is a great add-in.

by Sham Singh | July 20 2010

Fantastic. One of the features I missed from Eclipse was the Auto Brace Completion feature. And the Solution Navigator..very cool and handy.

Well done.

by Yetao Chen | July 20 2010

You guys are genius!

by draculus | July 20 2010

by cpmcgrath | July 20 2010

Love the new version, just a couple of requests for how to improve it. Implement the functionality of my solution explorer tools - http://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/ef4ac3e9-d056-4383-8ca2-11721bd879b4

You've got the collapse all but a button to go to the current item, and one to collapse all then go to current item.
This is incredibly useful with the added expansions to see members the navigator can get really long fast. by doing this you no longer have to track active item and it keeps it clean.

Also, you add my btns on the solution navigator, they still work but they do the work on solution explorer.

Finally, I, like most developers keep my classes to 1 per file, It would make navigation much faster (and take up less space) if when there is only 1 class in a file doesn't bother with...
MyClass.cs
--MyClass
----MyMethod
----MyMethod2

and instead have...
MyClass.cs
----MyMethod
----MyMethod2

by Jeff Klosinski | July 19 2010

Love the new Solution Navigator, the ability to turn any of the features off, and the Tab Well UI is amazing. Thanks!

by Tobias Käs | July 19 2010

Would love to use it but it breaks the WinForms designer for my projects. Scenario is in Q/A

by Anton Afanasyev | July 19 2010

by Mike Danes | July 19 2010

721 - 740 of 840 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Solution Navigator Not Displaying Methods and Properties
    1 Posts | Last post May 09, 2016
    • I am using VS 2010 Pro. I installed Productivity Power Tools this morning and I am trying to become more familiar with it`s use.  I noticed that the Solution Navigator is not displaying properties and methods like it does in the example picture.  What do I need to do to make these show up, it seems like it would be useful to have them?  Thanks.
  • Pinned tabs
    1 Posts | Last post March 01, 2016
    • Is there an option to set, that pinned tabs stay pinned after restarting VS?
  • Is there a "Close all tabs" feature?
    1 Posts | Last post November 12, 2015
    • 57
      Like this extension in vs2012 and above.
  • Delete Regex/Project color coding pattern
    1 Posts | Last post September 20, 2015
    • Is there a way to disable or remove the initial 15 Project color coding patterns? I cant seem to figure out how to remove patterns. Only edit them or create a new one.
  • Debugging Doesn't remember tabs
    1 Posts | Last post September 18, 2015
    • Before this extension, my debugging window tabs would be remembered. Typically I keep "Autos" and "Output" selected. Now it appears that I get random tabs selected when debugging starts. Don't like that.
  • Productivity Power Tools Will not install on Win 10
    1 Posts | Last post August 13, 2015
    • Anyone else had an issue installing Productivity Power Tools, VS .Net 2013 on Windows 10?
  • GDI Object resource leak with enhanced scrollbar
    2 Posts | Last post August 10, 2015
    • There's a GDI object resource leak when using the enhanced scrollbar on full mode. If you open task manager, enable GDI Objects column and open file after file you will notice it growing with each file opened, and never cleaned up. Once it hits 10000 Visual Studio crashes. Whilst it grows things get slower and slower. The enhanced scrollbar is the best feature of PPT so it would be very nice to have this fixed asap.
    • I confirm this with VS2012 Update 4 and extension version 11.0.60403.0.
      
      When the enhanced scrollbar is enables and in full mode, there is a considerable GDI object leak.
      
      
      To test this:
      
      0. Make sure enhanced scrollbar is enables and in full mode
      1. With task manager or process explorer, inspect the number of GDI objects used by Visual Studio
      2. Open a file
      3. Inspect the number of GDI objects again
      4. Close the file
      5. Inspect the number of GDI objects again
      6. Repeat steps 2 through 5 a few dozen times; you may use the same file or another file
      
      Expected output (assuming eager disposal of GDI objects):
      3. An increase in GDI objects since the last observation
      5. A decrease in GDI objects since the last observation by the same amount it increased in 3
      
      Expected output (assuming eventual disposal of GDI objects, subject to GC):
      3. An increase in GDI objects since the last observation
      5. An eventual decrease in GDI objects to the number observed in 1, or by the sum of the increases observed in 3; otherwise, no change
      
      Observed output:
      3. An increase in GDI objects since the last observation between 50 and 100
      5. A decrease in GDI objects since the last observation between 0 and 10
      
      
      What this means is that the number of GDI objects grows quite fast. Eventually the default GDI limit of 10000 is reached and Visual Studio stops responding.
      
      With multiple instances of Visual Studio open, the session's GDI limit is easily reached, affecting all other open applications and making the whole session unstable.
  • continuous crashing / source available?
    1 Posts | Last post June 08, 2015
    • hi 
      
      i love this plugin for vs2010 - ive been using it for ages but it keeps crashing my ide and its getting so bad (9 crashes today, all from this plugin) that ill have to stop using it if it cant be fixed - is the source code available so that we can fix the bugs?
  • Solution Navigator crashes VS 2010?
    1 Posts | Last post June 05, 2015
    • I love Solution Navigator, but lately it tends to crash VS2010 completely sometimes when I use the Collapse All button. Very annoying. Any fixes out there?
  • Shift Enter does not Work in VS2010
    1 Posts | Last post March 09, 2015
    • Shift Enter does not Work in VS2010
1 - 10 of 880 Items