Productivity Power Tools

Free

A set of extensions to Visual Studio Professional (and above) which improves developer productivity.

(833) Review
Visual Studio
2010
Download (1,780,553)
7/27/2015
10.0.20626.18
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (833)
Q and A (875)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by eddyq | July 02 2012

This may not be compatible with Visual Studio Ultimate. When I bring up VS it gives an error: "Visual Studio has encountered an exception. This may be caused by an extension". If I click OK it seems to at least not give further problems.

by Cicero Vidal | July 01 2012

Thanks a lot.

by -Aft3rLif3- | June 29 2012

Thanks

by Tomas Mo | June 26 2012

Great extension.
Thank you

by pmccraken | June 26 2012

Wow! Boring Microsoft? Not this time!

I liked VS2010 already and thought it was good, even if a little evolutionary rather than revolutionary. Came across this when I was trying to find solution of frustrating problem around switching between document windows which I've never found intuitive. Well this solved that - changed binding from Window.NextDocumentWindow to Window.NextDocumentWellTab!!!!! Cool. But have since been stoked by all the other features. You've upped your game Microsoft! Well done. Haven't had much time to explore.

How about code formatting for T-SQL? Maybe it can? I'll take a closer look

Show "Full Mode" on scroll bar is super cool!

by jaapq42 | June 19 2012

I've seen lot's of reports of visual studio crashing:
http://connect.microsoft.com/VisualStudio/feedback/details/557051/vs-10-crashes-due-to-internal-error-in-the-net-runtime-at-ip-712ff146-71180000-with-exit-code-80131506

I've experienced it too, so I'm switching off this extension, even though it provides lots of goodies...

by Mohammad Sufiyan Shaikh | June 16 2012

AWESOME THANKS

by PrinzEugen | June 15 2012

Really nice tool!

by jeepfan | June 13 2012

by Mr. Wharty | June 08 2012

Great add-in. Can;t believe I didn't find this earlier!

by rnbergren | May 31 2012

It works for some things but not others. Complete hoses up expression building if you have to build any reports with SSRS.

by maxima | May 30 2012

would like to have triple click customisable and / or have ctrl-shift-click for "Find All References" command

by Kerem Kat | May 30 2012

VS 11 support for Enhanced Scrollbar would be awesome.
Solution Navigator does not support drag-scroll.

by Bruno de A. Monteiro | May 30 2012

This is great add-in!
Thks guys!

by Ingo Gambin | May 24 2012

Tab UI - Color tabs: I really like them ... maybe it would be nice if the entries in the solution explorer would get the same background-color the according tabs have... just an idea

by akjoshi | May 21 2012

Very useful, pinning tabs and coloured tabs features are great. Solution navigator also looks very useful.

by The Thinker | May 19 2012

Good set of powertools!

by Umair - m_umair_85 | May 11 2012

Awesome extension !

by Daniel W. Thomas | May 10 2012

The new Add reference dialog is absolutely fantastic. I've been writing a lot of demo apps lately, and I've been spending a lot of time adding references. Every time I open the standard Add reference dialog, I have to wait for it to populate. Again and again. And again. And again. Finally got fed up and did a search, and found this. OH ... MY ... GOD. Thank you so much to the people who created this.

Now that I'm starting to look at the other parts of this toolkit, I'm amazed even further. The Scroll Bar "Full Mode"! The Vertical Tabs! The HTML Copy - no longer do I have to copy, paste into Word, copy back out of Word, then paste into OneNote.

I'm sure I'm forgetting other things I like. Bottom line, this toolkit is fantastic. I hope all these features make it into the next version of VS, but if not, I hope you release this toolkit for it. I WON'T GO BACK!!!

by valamas | May 09 2012

101 - 120 of 833 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Productivity Power Tools Will not install on Win 10
    1 Posts | Last post August 13, 2015
    • Anyone else had an issue installing Productivity Power Tools, VS .Net 2013 on Windows 10?
  • GDI Object resource leak with enhanced scrollbar
    2 Posts | Last post August 10, 2015
    • There's a GDI object resource leak when using the enhanced scrollbar on full mode. If you open task manager, enable GDI Objects column and open file after file you will notice it growing with each file opened, and never cleaned up. Once it hits 10000 Visual Studio crashes. Whilst it grows things get slower and slower. The enhanced scrollbar is the best feature of PPT so it would be very nice to have this fixed asap.
    • I confirm this with VS2012 Update 4 and extension version 11.0.60403.0.
      
      When the enhanced scrollbar is enables and in full mode, there is a considerable GDI object leak.
      
      
      To test this:
      
      0. Make sure enhanced scrollbar is enables and in full mode
      1. With task manager or process explorer, inspect the number of GDI objects used by Visual Studio
      2. Open a file
      3. Inspect the number of GDI objects again
      4. Close the file
      5. Inspect the number of GDI objects again
      6. Repeat steps 2 through 5 a few dozen times; you may use the same file or another file
      
      Expected output (assuming eager disposal of GDI objects):
      3. An increase in GDI objects since the last observation
      5. A decrease in GDI objects since the last observation by the same amount it increased in 3
      
      Expected output (assuming eventual disposal of GDI objects, subject to GC):
      3. An increase in GDI objects since the last observation
      5. An eventual decrease in GDI objects to the number observed in 1, or by the sum of the increases observed in 3; otherwise, no change
      
      Observed output:
      3. An increase in GDI objects since the last observation between 50 and 100
      5. A decrease in GDI objects since the last observation between 0 and 10
      
      
      What this means is that the number of GDI objects grows quite fast. Eventually the default GDI limit of 10000 is reached and Visual Studio stops responding.
      
      With multiple instances of Visual Studio open, the session's GDI limit is easily reached, affecting all other open applications and making the whole session unstable.
  • continuous crashing / source available?
    1 Posts | Last post June 08, 2015
    • hi 
      
      i love this plugin for vs2010 - ive been using it for ages but it keeps crashing my ide and its getting so bad (9 crashes today, all from this plugin) that ill have to stop using it if it cant be fixed - is the source code available so that we can fix the bugs?
  • Solution Navigator crashes VS 2010?
    1 Posts | Last post June 05, 2015
    • I love Solution Navigator, but lately it tends to crash VS2010 completely sometimes when I use the Collapse All button. Very annoying. Any fixes out there?
  • Shift Enter does not Work in VS2010
    1 Posts | Last post March 09, 2015
    • Shift Enter does not Work in VS2010
  • Is there a way to disable the highlight of a symbol under the cursor?
    2 Posts | Last post February 13, 2015
    • It seems that whenever I put my cursor over a symbol, the same name will get highlighted in the whole file instantly. The same happens when selecting code.
      
      Is there a way to disable this? I find that I already have a lot of colors in my setup, and this makes it a bit more confusing :( The default VS behavior doesn't seem to be highlighting that much.
    • one of the best tool
  • Solution Navigator Tool
    3 Posts | Last post February 13, 2015
    • Where has gone the wonderful Solution Navigation tooltip that was present in VS2010?
      
      http://blogs.msdn.com/b/visualstudio/archive/2010/07/20/solution-navigator-blog-post.aspx
      
      I hope it's still there, it would be a great loss.
    • OK, obviously from what I see nobody from the VS team is answering those questions anymore. Same eagerness to help as in the other MS bug report areas.
    • [with vs2013 (update 4) + PPT latest] why mode "highlight references to symbol under cursor" actually is always enabled when PPT is ON?
      Thanks.
  • Productivity Power Tools for Visual Studio is disabled and won't enable
    1 Posts | Last post January 01, 2015
    • It started from PPT for VS12 and happens also on VS13.
      It just got disabled all of the sudden and just won't enable. I've tried to uninstall and reinstall it. I've tried going back in my system with System Restore. I've removed other unnecessary extensions. Nothing helps!
      Please help me with this issue, I'm so frustrated from this.
  • Align Assignments for Javascript objects
    1 Posts | Last post December 17, 2014
    • Could the assignment alignment for the equal sign (=) be (in a way) extended to the colon sign (:) so it would work just as nice for Javascript object definitions? It would make:
      
      obj = {
         short: 'hello',
         loooooong: 'world'
      }
      
      look like:
      
      obj = {
         short:     'hello',
         loooooong: 'world'
      }
      
      
  • Tab scroll bug
    2 Posts | Last post October 13, 2014
    • When you enable scrolling tabs in VS2013, and add enough tabs to enable the scroll buttons (and again - 3-4 extra tabs beyond that), then when you try to drag a tab to reposition it after scrolling to the end, the tab will not be located where the cursor is, and it will not be possible to place it at the end of the tab list.
      
      Also, as a feature request: It would be nice if the tab scrolling, could have a multi-row option, where you could select that e.g. you want a maximum of 3 rows of tabs, and then it will add a vertical scrollbar if it goes beyond that.
    • Correction: I meant to make this reply for the VS2013 version.
1 - 10 of 875 Items