Editor Guidelines

Free

Adds vertical column guides to the Visual Studio text editor. This version is for Visual Studio 2012, Visual Studio 2013 or Visual Studio 2015

(32) Review
Visual Studio
2015, 2013, 2012
Download (52,898)
7/23/2015
1.11.70722.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (32)
Q and A (15)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Viacheslav Ivanov | July 21 2015

Great extension, but I wand an option for a separate color for each guideline.

by BRIAN_____ | May 26 2015

by dgoosens | May 12 2015

+1
this should be a default feature as it is on any other IDE

by TMOII | April 23 2015

by bradlandis | March 24 2015

Works well, but I'm only giving 4 stars because I think the config should be elsewhere. My right-click is already long enough as it is, and it just doesn't seem to fit there. I'd suggest in Options, but directly under Tools would be my 2nd pick.

by Grik1 | January 28 2015

Exactly what I was looking for!

by F.I.D.O | January 10 2015

by bewuethr | December 16 2014

by Mehradzie | November 14 2014

A little bit hard to figure out which guideline's color you're changing at first but all in all very good.

by Jonathan Karsh | June 27 2014

Well done. Does what it says and nothing else. Thanks!

by NobodysNightmare | June 18 2014

by TJ_a1234 | May 30 2014

Excellent extension. Does what it is supposed to do. Allows you to do it easily. Even allows some customization of colors that I did not expect would be possible. A+.

by Jopie Seimons | May 14 2014

Works as advertised

by Darth Basic | May 01 2014

YOUR EXTENSION KICKS A**! My man you would have made a killing with this extension. I read some of the negative reviews and all I could think was: "QUIT YOUR BELLY ACHING!", "You could have paid for this!" Thank you for giving this away. I've left the Order of C# to return to the Darkside of Basic and this has been my companion on both sides of the house. People, add this extension to your IDE. This is one of those must haves in the league of Notepad++, GIMP, VLC, etc. Once again thanks!

by serkan cakmak | March 15 2014

the reason is I come this page for how to remove the guidlines than I see first you need to come on the line than right click and remove while you are on the line thanks happy coding guys

by ValentinBadea | March 12 2014

by Cim Ryan - MSFT | February 14 2014

by jardous | February 05 2014

Thank you!

by M. Adams | January 02 2014

I have limited experience with IDEs, but- from my experience so far- these are the most perfectly implemented guidelines around. Easily added, easily removed; these guides are great, and the fact that I can have more than one is incredibly useful.

by ploeh | December 23 2013

1 - 20 of 32 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Mode with fixed column always marked?
    1 Posts | Last post May 12, 2015
    • Have you considered allowing a persistent column tag at a fixed column for all files (of a given type)?  For example: always mark it at column 80 or whatever row width limit you want the code to have?
  • No exports were found...
    2 Posts | Last post May 01, 2015
    • I've been used this extension normaly well in several development systems.
      But it not worked in the last one.
      
      Add/Remove/RemoveAll every command shows below alert message.
      ---
      No exports were found that match the constraint: 
      	ContractName	ColumnGuide.ITextEditorGuidesSettingsChanger
      	RequiredTypeIdentity	ColumnGuide.ITextEditorGuidesSettingsChanger
      ---
      when I typed "Edit.AddGuideline" in command window, shows same output.
      
      OS : Windows 10 Insider Preview.
      VS : Visual Studio 2013 Community with Update 5 RC
      
      Is it Windows 10 problem?
    • I'v reinstalled VS 2013 Update 5 RC and it works perfectly.
      Sorry Paul.
      
      - Soungjin
  • VS2013: No right-click menu
    6 Posts | Last post March 11, 2015
    • The right click menu where we could add guidelines in VS2012 does not show up in VS2013.
    • Piotr, I haven't seen this problem before. Can you try uninstalling and re-installing the Editor Guidelines extension?
      
      Verify that the extension is installed by looking for it on the "Tools/Extension and Updates..." UI.
      
      If it is installed, you can check that the command works by doing this:
      1. Create a new Text File (Ctrl+N, Enter)
      2. Show the "Command" window (Ctrl+Alt+A)
      3. In the Command window, type Edit.AddGuideline and hit Enter
      You should see a new guideline appear at column 0
      You can remove it again by tying Edit.RemoveGuideline in the Command window.
      
      If all of that seems to be working fine, then perhaps you have another extension that is modifying the right-click menu. Try disabling or uninstalling other extensions to see if the Guidelines menu comes back.
      
      - Paul
    • Hi Paul.
      Uh, I'm not sure why but after executing these commands (without reinstalling the extension) the menu came back... Maybe I was blind yesterday (though I double-checked), but oh well, it works now. Thanks for your feedback and a most useful extension :].
    • Hi Paul,
      I don't see local context menu "Guidelines" for .html file. But when execute command Edit.AddGuideline, the guideline was added at position 16. How can I remove it from this position and add guideline at position 80?
      - Alexander
    • Alexander,
      Thanks for the feedback.
      It's a bug that the context menu doesn't show for .html files. I'll look into fixing it soon - later this week, hopefully. To workaround it, does the context menu show up for other file extensions? (e.g. .txt). If so, you could add/remove guidelines with a .txt file open and then switch back to .html.
      Using the "Edit.AddGuideline" and "Edit.RemoveGuideline" commands requires that the cursor is placed at the point (column) where you want the guideline to be added/removed. That actually gives me an idea for a feature request: these commands should accept an argument indicating the column number.
      - Paul
    • I think I've fixed the HTML issue. Please download the latest version.  1.11.70311.0
      - Paul
  • VS Express 2013 for Desktop Instalation error
    2 Posts | Last post January 28, 2015
    • Hi Paul,
      I'm using Visual Studio Express 2013 for Windows Desktop and I get an instalation error :
      27.1.2015 г. 20:24:26 - Microsoft VSIX Installer
      27.1.2015 г. 20:24:26 - -------------------------------------------
      27.1.2015 г. 20:24:26 - Initializing Install...
      27.1.2015 г. 20:24:26 - Extension Details...
      27.1.2015 г. 20:24:26 - 	Identifier      : Editor_Guidelines.Microsoft Corp..123716ef-b2ed-4fab-bbcf-1d5f84856ca3
      27.1.2015 г. 20:24:26 - 	Name            : Editor Guidelines
      27.1.2015 г. 20:24:26 - 	Author          : Paul Harrington
      27.1.2015 г. 20:24:26 - 	Version         : 1.11.70123.0
      27.1.2015 г. 20:24:26 - 	Description     : Adds vertical column guides to the Visual Studio text editor. This version is for Visual Studio 2012 or Visual Studio 2013.
      27.1.2015 г. 20:24:26 - 	Locale          : en-US
      27.1.2015 г. 20:24:26 - 	MoreInfoURL     : http://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/da227a0b-0e31-4a11-8f6b-3a149cf2e459
      27.1.2015 г. 20:24:26 - 	InstalledByMSI  : False
      27.1.2015 г. 20:24:26 - 	SupportedFrameworkVersionRange : [4.5,)
      27.1.2015 г. 20:24:26 - 	Supported Products : 
      27.1.2015 г. 20:24:26 - 		Microsoft.VisualStudio.IntegratedShell
      27.1.2015 г. 20:24:26 - 			Version : [11.0,15.0)
      27.1.2015 г. 20:24:26 - 	References      : 
      27.1.2015 г. 20:24:26 - 		-------------------------------------------------------
      27.1.2015 г. 20:24:26 - 		Identifier   : Microsoft.VisualStudio.MPF.11.0
      27.1.2015 г. 20:24:26 - 		Name         : Visual Studio MPF 11.0
      27.1.2015 г. 20:24:26 - 		Version      : [11.0,12.0)
      27.1.2015 г. 20:24:26 - 		MoreInfoURL  : 
      27.1.2015 г. 20:24:26 - 		Nested       : No
      27.1.2015 г. 20:24:26 - Searching for applicable products...
      27.1.2015 г. 20:24:26 - Found installed product - Microsoft Visual Studio Express 2013 for Windows Desktop
      27.1.2015 г. 20:24:26 - Found installed product - Global Location
      27.1.2015 г. 20:24:26 - VSIXInstaller.NoAppl
    • The Express editions of Visual Studio do not support non-Microsoft extensions. While I work for Microsoft, this extension was released as a personal project, so I can't make it work for Express. Sorry :-(
  • VSIX Installer error
    5 Posts | Last post January 23, 2015
    • Hi Paul,
      
      I'm using Visual Studio 2012 in 64-bit Windows 7. When I installed this Editor Guidelines, I got the an error.
      It seams the VSIX - file is damaged. Could you check this, please?
      
      Thanks
      Martin
      
      Here is the installation log:
      
      21.08.2013 09:30:19 - Microsoft VSIX Installer
      21.08.2013 09:30:19 - -------------------------------------------
      21.08.2013 09:30:19 - Initializing Install...
      21.08.2013 09:30:19 - Microsoft.VisualStudio.ExtensionManager.InvalidExtensionPackageException: Die Datei ist kein gültiges VSIX-Paket. ---> System.IO.FileFormatException: Die Datei enthält beschädigte Daten.
         bei MS.Internal.IO.Zip.ZipIOEndOfCentralDirectoryBlock.FindPosition(Stream archiveStream)
         bei MS.Internal.IO.Zip.ZipIOEndOfCentralDirectoryBlock.SeekableLoad(ZipIOBlockManager blockManager)
         bei MS.Internal.IO.Zip.ZipArchive..ctor(Stream archiveStream, FileMode mode, FileAccess access, Boolean streaming, Boolean ownStream)
         bei MS.Internal.IO.Zip.ZipArchive.OpenOnStream(Stream stream, FileMode mode, FileAccess access, Boolean streaming)
         bei System.IO.Packaging.ZipPackage..ctor(Stream s, FileMode mode, FileAccess access, Boolean streaming)
         bei System.IO.Packaging.Package.Open(Stream stream, FileMode packageMode, FileAccess packageAccess, Boolean streaming)
         bei Microsoft.VisualStudio.ExtensionManager.InstallableExtensionImpl.ReadVSIXManifestFromPackage(Stream vsixStream, CultureInfo preferredCulture)
         --- Ende der internen Ausnahmestapelüberwachung ---
         bei Microsoft.VisualStudio.ExtensionManager.InstallableExtensionImpl.ReadVSIXManifestFromPackage(Stream vsixStream, CultureInfo preferredCulture)
         bei Microsoft.VisualStudio.ExtensionManager.InstallableExtensionImpl..ctor(String path, CultureInfo preferredCulture)
         bei VSIXInstaller.App.InitializeInstall()
         bei System.Threading.Tasks.Task.InnerInvoke()
         bei System.Threading.Tasks.Task.Execute()
      
      
      
    • The extension could not be installed because the following error occurred:
      
      The extension 'Editor Guidelines' requires a version of the .NET Framework that is not installed.
      
      This is a very strange error, considering I have full VS2013 installed. I also have VS2015 CTP 5 (January 2015 release) installed.
    • I just received this message. I downloaded the VSIX and edited the vsixmanifest file it contains to read "[4.5,)" instead of just "4.5", and it resolved the problem.
    • Thanks for the bug report, @Jon and thanks to @Sam for the hint on how to fix it. Yes, this is because the latest VS 2015 CTP includes .Net 4.6 as an in-place update to 4.5.
      I'll try and publish an update later today.
    • I just uploaded version 1.11.70123.0 which has the fix for loading in VS 2015 CTP 5.
  • VS2013 Express
    2 Posts | Last post November 07, 2014
    • According to the install log, this isn't compatible with VS2013 Express. Any chance this could be supported?
    • The Express editions of Visual Studio do not support non-Microsoft extensions. While I work for Microsoft, this extension was released as a personal project, so I can't make it work for Express. Sorry.
  • Visual Studio "14"
    2 Posts | Last post September 30, 2014
    • Is there any version available for Visual Studio "14"?
    • Yes. I have published a new version today which works in Visual Studio "14". Version 1.11.60930.0
  • Guidelines Added Automatically
    6 Posts | Last post April 13, 2014
    • I seem to remember there being an add-in for VS2010 that added the guidelines automatically. This may have been in C# only but I'm not 100% sure. Can this extension or any other extension add the guidelines automatically? For the life of me I cannot find one that does this.
    • Figures that as soon as I submit my question I find the answer. This extension does what I was looking for: http://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/e792686d-542b-474a-8c55-630980e72c30
    • After the 4/9 update, my guidelines are gone and when i try to re-add them i get this error message: "No exports were found that match the constraignt: ContractName ColumnGuide.ITextEditorGuidesSettingsChanger RequiredTypeIdentity ColumnGuide.ITextEditorGuidesSettingsChanger". i've tried uninstalling/reinstalling a few times with no luck. any ideas what is causing this?
    • I also get the "No exports were found that match the constraint: ..." error.
    • I am also getting the same error message after updating on 4/9.
    • @Drew, @ypoissant, @workingmom2004,
      Sorry about that. It should be all fixed in the 4/13 update.
  • Context menu issues & solutions
    1 Posts | Last post December 31, 2013
    • I can't get the context menu to show up if I load an HTML or CSS file in the editor.  I can, however, see the context menu when I have .cs, .js or .xml file open in the editor.  Hope this helps.
  • VS2013: Extension does not work
    4 Posts | Last post December 10, 2013
    • Hello, I've installed the extension on VS 2013: Ultimate. However, I don't get the Guidelines options in the right-click menu and I don't see the extension in the Add-Ins Manager or Extensions manager. I've restarted VS several times to be sure. If I run the installer again, it tells me that the extension has already been installed for all the available editions on my machine.
      
      The only thing that is potentially different about my VS installation is that I chose to install VS on a different drive than C. 
      
      Any ideas?
    • Sorry to hear you're having problems, gorygregory. When installed, "Editor Guidelines" should show up in the "Extensions and Updates" dialog (reachable via the Tools menu). You can type "Guidelines" into the search box to see if it shows up either under "Installed", or under the "Online/Visual Studio Gallery" category.
      
      Indeed, if the installer says it's already installed, then that's likely correct.
      
      I don't believe using a different drive makes a difference. However, note that this extension, like most others, will be installed into the folder where your user profile lives. Specifically, a folder under %LOCALAPPDATA%\Microsoft\VisualStudio\12.0\Extensions. (If you're searching for the Editor Guidelines binaries under that folder, note that the extension is known as "ColumnGuide" internally.)
      
      Have you been able to install other Gallery extensions successfully?
    • Turned out that VS 2013 was not properly configured to work in my environment. I started having trouble with it outside of this extension. Once I corrected the environment configuration, the extension started working correctly.
      
      I also installed VS 2012 and the guideline extension works just fine with that too. 
      
      Thank you for taking the time, this extension is great!
      
      Thank you for your reply!
    • Glad you figured it out.
1 - 10 of 15 Items