Your extension will be available shortly on the Visual Studio Marketplace at this link.

Web Essentials 2012

Free

Adds many useful features to Visual Studio for web developers.

(197)
Visual Studio
2012
Download (1,149,333)
6/1/2015
3.8
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Ciprian-Stefan Grigore | August 05 2013

by Galeel Bhasha | July 24 2013

Web essential 2012 doesn't recognise the newly introduced html5 tag 'main'.
http://www.sitepoint.com/html5-main-element/

by emgee | July 19 2013

Excellent, the less processing and typescript bits have been very helpful to us. Thanks Mads!!

by Mahesh.Nalam | July 16 2013

Very Useful tools

by rafakato | July 15 2013

Great extension, but you could allow to change the JS Minifier Engine, I often the Google Closure Compiler rather than YUI Compressor.

by RichBern | June 28 2013

I had to disable this extension because it essentially made Ctrl+Comma unresponsive. I've got a web solution with about 47 projects, and I use Ctrl+Comma a lot to jump between files. But with this extension installed, I have to wait up to a minute for files to appear in the Navigate To window. I'm wondering if it has to do with the Ctrl+Comma stuff briefly mentioned in the 2.7 change notes, but I'm not sure.

by Callander | June 26 2013

CSS and javascript bundle feature is so simple, yet so great.

by mhasling | June 21 2013

by sjnaughton | June 20 2013

Love it can't live without it now

by LEllingsen | June 18 2013

Most valuable extension I have for VS2012. Excellent additions for CSS, HTML and JavaScript, as well as LESS and TypeScript

by KatarzynaBP | June 05 2013

Pointless...wanted to check reviews to decide if I want to install it, but you need to leave review first to view other reviews!!!

by Jacco M | May 18 2013

Great tool. Esspecialy Less support! Thanks!

by D. Chatterjee | May 17 2013

I try to download this but an error shows "The extension manifest is Invalid"

by Fduch | May 15 2013

This "thing" pollutes the context menu for the non-web projects by adding a top menu item where the "Build" item used to be.

Why do some developers think that their shiny gizmo needs to jump at the user at every click?

Uninstalling.

by christensen.rob | May 10 2013

Love this extension!

by Allco | May 07 2013

GREAT, simplesmente, GREAT!!!!!

by EdSF1 | May 01 2013

Pretty awesome! Particularly cool with TypeScript!

by casper_wilkes | April 21 2013

Love this extension!

by Sebastian Hösl | April 18 2013

Absolutely essential for web-development in Visual Studio!

by WPCoder | April 07 2013

Unfortunately, it causes crashes nearly every time I start to debug the web project. I've tried the latest version and have the latest update to VS 2012. (When this is installed, can't debug, and VS2012 crashes, when it's not, everything works smoothly).

41 - 60 of 196 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Markdown preview not showing anymore
    1 Posts | Last post November 11, 2015
    • When editing a markdown file, I used to have a split screen that shows the source and then the "generated" file in preview mode. However, ever since I closed and reopen the solution, I don't see the preview anymore. Is there a command to get it back?
      
      Thanks
  • Can't get Markdown to work
    3 Posts | Last post October 19, 2015
    • Which MarkDown dialect is used by WebEssentials?
      
    • While trying to install it tells me:
      "The extension 'Web Essentials 2012' requires a version of the .NET Framework that is not installed."
      
      Which one is required?
    • Hi try install extension throw visual studio menu Tools / Extension and updates and there search for Web Essentials 2012
      
      This works for me
  • .net framework
    2 Posts | Last post October 19, 2015
    • While trying to install it tells me:
      "The extension 'Web Essentials 2012' requires a version of the .NET Framework that is not installed."
      
      Which one is required?
    • Hi try install extension throw visual studio menu Tools / Extension and updates and there search for Web Essentials 2012
      
      This works for me
  • Region in JS doesn't work if @ is inside
    1 Posts | Last post April 21, 2015
    • //region SomeRegion
      //endregion
      
      in JS doesn't work if i have js code with @ inside tags. Does anyone have solution for this?
  • Error when using Re-Minify all CSS/JS files
    1 Posts | Last post March 17, 2015
    • I get this error:
      
      ---------------------------
      Microsoft Visual Studio
      ---------------------------
      Not implemented (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80004001 (E_NOTIMPL))
      ---------------------------
      OK   
      ---------------------------
      
  • Permission Denied
    1 Posts | Last post March 12, 2015
    • I work in an environment where we have very limited permissions on our computer. I installed Web Essentials 2012 and created a blank .less file. The preview window is showing
      
      /*
      
      Compile Error.  See error list for details
      
      */
      
      I pulled up the error list and it's showing
      
      LESS: Permission denied
      
      I can't find the error in any log or the event viewer so I don't know which account needs permissions to what folder. I tried giving everyone all permissions to the folder that contains the .less file just to see if that was where the error is, but that didn't do it. Does anybody know which folder it writes to? The temp asp.net folder maybe? Do you also know what account needs permissions? I don't have rights to modify the temp asp folder, so I'd have to put in a request with my IT department, so I can't really just play around and figure it out via trial and error.
      
      I've spent a few days trying to find an answer to this, but I'm not getting anywhere. If someone could point me in the right direction, that would be awesome.
  • Good
    1 Posts | Last post February 13, 2015
    • One of the best.
  • SASS Compile Error Link
    1 Posts | Last post October 14, 2014
    • When you compile a not valid SASS files a Link Error is generated.
      This link is not connected to a running Web server.
      How can I customize this link.
      e.g. http://localhost:80/error.aspx
      
      Something went wrong reaching: http://127.0.0.1:6642/?service=SCSS&sourceFileName=C:%5CWork%5CMCH.CMS.Sass%5CMCH.CMS.Sass%5Cproject%5CCongress%5CBuehne%5Cportalbuehne_did.scss&targetFileName=C:%5CWork%5CMCH.CMS.Sass%5CMCH.CMS.Sass%5Cproject%5CCongress%5CBuehne%5Cportalbuehne_did.css&mapFileName=C:%5CWork%5CMCH.CMS.Sass%5CMCH.CMS.Sass%5Cproject%5CCongress%5CBuehne%5Cportalbuehne_did.css.map&precision=5&outputStyle=expanded&sourceMapURL&
      
  • Recompile all less files doesn't work
    3 Posts | Last post October 11, 2014
    • Recompile all less files worked just fine, but when I've checkout fresh version into another folder it stop working (including recompile after build).
      
      If I open less file, change it and save (css is created) then this file works automatically since then just fine.
      
      Should I open each time I create a new repository all less files, or there is another way?
    • I have comitted only .less files, once I add corresponded .css, Web Essentials start works with it as expected.
    • The only way, find out for now is to commit .css files too. Though all my .css files are autogenerated and therefore it is a pitty, that I should commit .css along with .less and checkin .css on change of less too.
  • Minify CSS
    1 Posts | Last post September 30, 2014
    • On CSS minify, should there be an option to remove empty selectors?
1 - 10 of 328 Items