Web Essentials 2012


Adds many useful features to Visual Studio for web developers.

(196) Review
Visual Studio
Download (1,147,200)
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Reviews (196)
Q and A (328)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Marcel Raad | April 05 2013

by GlobeCoder | March 31 2013

In theory this plugin would easily earn 5 stars, but it seems there are some issues with the js bundle plugin/minifier and JSHint.
Two things:
1.) The minified version doesn't seem to work all the time (I mean it might be something I could fix if I would "optimize" the JS code a bit more, but for small web project I just want something that works out of the box). One thing it "broke", e.g. was the jQuery plugin jTruncate.
2.) While it seem to compress better than YUI, Google Closure Compiler seems to make a better job even with the Simple optimzations. So maybe Web Essentials could use GCC and allow a new preference, something like "advanced=true" to achieve even better minification.
3.) And possibly the most important thing: JSHint should become more customizable. E.g. there is this other VS Extension JSLint that imo does a much better job (though I don't really want another VS extension installed): You can set your custom namespaces, it is possible to check a single file on save (much better than checking all files on build, which can get really annoying if you work on big JS projects).
Anyway, thanks for this quite helpful extension and up the good work.

by Altuğ Duygulu | March 27 2013

Good extension. Thanks.

by Lyamine | March 14 2013

so nice

by RichardKeller | March 08 2013

Very useful extension!
It helps productivity a lot and turn viable to use LESS in Visual Studio.
I'm looking forward for sass full integration too.

by Anita Malmö | March 07 2013

I've installed Web Essentials 2012 and Web Tools 2012.2 Update.

In my VS2k12, I don't see Web Essentials as in this picture

What gives? Can anybody advise?

by Jafin | March 06 2013

Thank you for elevating Visual Studio from out of the dark ages!! Awesome stuff.

by Tarek Ayna - appSmarts.com | March 01 2013

by Keith5150 | March 01 2013

by yakupipek | February 18 2013

Most usefull extension. Thanks.

I just want to report that latest WE 2012 update to version 2.5.1 does not recognize .less and type script files. I have been tried to uninstall WE and delete settings file then install hadn't fixed anything. Reset whole visual studio settings hadn't too.

Anyone experienced same problem ? How can i fix this problem ? :((

Update: Now i understand that those features currently removed at 2.5 version : (((

Mads Kristensen February 18 2013
| Edit |

We just released the ASP.NET and Web Tools 2012.2 which restores and improves both LESS and CoffeeScript. Get it here: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=282650

by danny_su | February 18 2013

V2.4.5 supports .coffee file, but doesn't support .less file, v2.5 doesn't support both. why?

Mads Kristensen February 18 2013
| Edit |

Because both LESS and CoffeeScript will be rolled into an official release going out tomorrow morning.

by Stan Thomas | February 09 2013

Very useful addition to Visual Studio. Works well in combination with TypeScript. Thanks Mads.

by miminor | February 08 2013

Code manipulations in the TypeScript editor make this extension to hang the VS 2012. Had to uninstall it. Piece of shit.

by Brandon Wittwer | February 08 2013

Fantastic tooling improvements for web developers. Quickly becoming my most cherished extension for VS 2012. Thanks for your hard work!

by Adamlay12233 | February 08 2013

This greatly increases efficiency, and saves time. All these features are combined and integrated really well with Visual Studio, and I've never had any issues with it.
Many thanks for this extension!

by Waqas M | February 08 2013

Nice work

by Tomasz von Oertzen | February 04 2013

I love it. It's very useful and helped me a lot!

by jkarp | January 31 2013

by zymara | January 31 2013

by José Barba | January 30 2013


61 - 80 of 196 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion

  • Markdown preview not showing anymore
    1 Posts | Last post November 11, 2015
    • When editing a markdown file, I used to have a split screen that shows the source and then the "generated" file in preview mode. However, ever since I closed and reopen the solution, I don't see the preview anymore. Is there a command to get it back?
  • Can't get Markdown to work
    3 Posts | Last post October 19, 2015
    • Which MarkDown dialect is used by WebEssentials?
    • While trying to install it tells me:
      "The extension 'Web Essentials 2012' requires a version of the .NET Framework that is not installed."
      Which one is required?
    • Hi try install extension throw visual studio menu Tools / Extension and updates and there search for Web Essentials 2012
      This works for me
  • .net framework
    2 Posts | Last post October 19, 2015
    • While trying to install it tells me:
      "The extension 'Web Essentials 2012' requires a version of the .NET Framework that is not installed."
      Which one is required?
    • Hi try install extension throw visual studio menu Tools / Extension and updates and there search for Web Essentials 2012
      This works for me
  • Region in JS doesn't work if @ is inside
    1 Posts | Last post April 21, 2015
    • //region SomeRegion
      in JS doesn't work if i have js code with @ inside tags. Does anyone have solution for this?
  • Error when using Re-Minify all CSS/JS files
    1 Posts | Last post March 17, 2015
    • I get this error:
      Microsoft Visual Studio
      Not implemented (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80004001 (E_NOTIMPL))
  • Permission Denied
    1 Posts | Last post March 12, 2015
    • I work in an environment where we have very limited permissions on our computer. I installed Web Essentials 2012 and created a blank .less file. The preview window is showing
      Compile Error.  See error list for details
      I pulled up the error list and it's showing
      LESS: Permission denied
      I can't find the error in any log or the event viewer so I don't know which account needs permissions to what folder. I tried giving everyone all permissions to the folder that contains the .less file just to see if that was where the error is, but that didn't do it. Does anybody know which folder it writes to? The temp asp.net folder maybe? Do you also know what account needs permissions? I don't have rights to modify the temp asp folder, so I'd have to put in a request with my IT department, so I can't really just play around and figure it out via trial and error.
      I've spent a few days trying to find an answer to this, but I'm not getting anywhere. If someone could point me in the right direction, that would be awesome.
  • Good
    1 Posts | Last post February 13, 2015
    • One of the best.
  • SASS Compile Error Link
    1 Posts | Last post October 14, 2014
    • When you compile a not valid SASS files a Link Error is generated.
      This link is not connected to a running Web server.
      How can I customize this link.
      e.g. http://localhost:80/error.aspx
      Something went wrong reaching:
  • Recompile all less files doesn't work
    3 Posts | Last post October 11, 2014
    • Recompile all less files worked just fine, but when I've checkout fresh version into another folder it stop working (including recompile after build).
      If I open less file, change it and save (css is created) then this file works automatically since then just fine.
      Should I open each time I create a new repository all less files, or there is another way?
    • I have comitted only .less files, once I add corresponded .css, Web Essentials start works with it as expected.
    • The only way, find out for now is to commit .css files too. Though all my .css files are autogenerated and therefore it is a pitty, that I should commit .css along with .less and checkin .css on change of less too.
  • Minify CSS
    1 Posts | Last post September 30, 2014
    • On CSS minify, should there be an option to remove empty selectors?
1 - 10 of 328 Items