Web Essentials 2012

Free

Adds many useful features to Visual Studio for web developers.

(196) Review
Visual Studio
2012
Download (1,143,537)
6/1/2015
3.8
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (196)
Q and A (328)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by maverick_rules | November 29 2012

This extension is really, really well done! Particularly like the extensive configuration options which allows me to combine this tool in my IDE with a build-time compiler/minifier like Cassette.

by WorkAByte | November 29 2012

by AaronLewis_GP | November 29 2012

Wouldn't code without it!

by Jarrett Vance | November 29 2012

Makes visual studio crash often when working with less files.

Mads Kristensen November 29 2012
| Edit |
Delete

This is fixed in version 1.9.2. I hope you'll give it another try

by Kristian Thrane | November 28 2012

This is simply a fantastic tool!

by Tomekole | November 28 2012

Awesome extension! Thanks!

by JM_MSDN | November 27 2012

This is absolutely, hands-down, the BEST Visual Studio extension for web development. The only thing more amazing than this extension is the rate at which Mads pushes out new features and bug fixes!

by NateClark | November 27 2012

Very, very useful. Thanks!

by Mark.Bice | November 26 2012

by ADefwebserver | November 24 2012

You really need this for TypeScript.

by AlexDrel | November 21 2012

by shaneandersonxp | November 20 2012

by Jan Janoušek | November 20 2012

by Oleg Lokhvitsky | November 20 2012

Invaluable extension and great support! It's my #1 must for any web-related VS project.

by Sergey Litvinov | November 20 2012

Amazing thing. Thank you for it.

by W. Paap | November 20 2012

Indeed an essential plugin for web developers using visual studio!

by croban | November 17 2012

Essentials has a bug with new version of TypeScript 0.8.1,
does not compile.

by Veniamin Krol | November 14 2012

by seri-freedom | November 14 2012

by KKBruce | November 14 2012

非裝不可的外掛。
請注意,目前1.7的版本會讓code snippets失效。

解決辦法請參考:http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=CD154glDNdc

作者回覆,在1.8版會修正。

121 - 140 of 196 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Markdown preview not showing anymore
    1 Posts | Last post November 11, 2015
    • When editing a markdown file, I used to have a split screen that shows the source and then the "generated" file in preview mode. However, ever since I closed and reopen the solution, I don't see the preview anymore. Is there a command to get it back?
      
      Thanks
  • Can't get Markdown to work
    3 Posts | Last post October 19, 2015
    • Which MarkDown dialect is used by WebEssentials?
      
    • While trying to install it tells me:
      "The extension 'Web Essentials 2012' requires a version of the .NET Framework that is not installed."
      
      Which one is required?
    • Hi try install extension throw visual studio menu Tools / Extension and updates and there search for Web Essentials 2012
      
      This works for me
  • .net framework
    2 Posts | Last post October 19, 2015
    • While trying to install it tells me:
      "The extension 'Web Essentials 2012' requires a version of the .NET Framework that is not installed."
      
      Which one is required?
    • Hi try install extension throw visual studio menu Tools / Extension and updates and there search for Web Essentials 2012
      
      This works for me
  • Region in JS doesn't work if @ is inside
    1 Posts | Last post April 21, 2015
    • //region SomeRegion
      //endregion
      
      in JS doesn't work if i have js code with @ inside tags. Does anyone have solution for this?
  • Error when using Re-Minify all CSS/JS files
    1 Posts | Last post March 17, 2015
    • I get this error:
      
      ---------------------------
      Microsoft Visual Studio
      ---------------------------
      Not implemented (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80004001 (E_NOTIMPL))
      ---------------------------
      OK   
      ---------------------------
      
  • Permission Denied
    1 Posts | Last post March 12, 2015
    • I work in an environment where we have very limited permissions on our computer. I installed Web Essentials 2012 and created a blank .less file. The preview window is showing
      
      /*
      
      Compile Error.  See error list for details
      
      */
      
      I pulled up the error list and it's showing
      
      LESS: Permission denied
      
      I can't find the error in any log or the event viewer so I don't know which account needs permissions to what folder. I tried giving everyone all permissions to the folder that contains the .less file just to see if that was where the error is, but that didn't do it. Does anybody know which folder it writes to? The temp asp.net folder maybe? Do you also know what account needs permissions? I don't have rights to modify the temp asp folder, so I'd have to put in a request with my IT department, so I can't really just play around and figure it out via trial and error.
      
      I've spent a few days trying to find an answer to this, but I'm not getting anywhere. If someone could point me in the right direction, that would be awesome.
  • Good
    1 Posts | Last post February 13, 2015
    • One of the best.
  • SASS Compile Error Link
    1 Posts | Last post October 14, 2014
    • When you compile a not valid SASS files a Link Error is generated.
      This link is not connected to a running Web server.
      How can I customize this link.
      e.g. http://localhost:80/error.aspx
      
      Something went wrong reaching: http://127.0.0.1:6642/?service=SCSS&sourceFileName=C:%5CWork%5CMCH.CMS.Sass%5CMCH.CMS.Sass%5Cproject%5CCongress%5CBuehne%5Cportalbuehne_did.scss&targetFileName=C:%5CWork%5CMCH.CMS.Sass%5CMCH.CMS.Sass%5Cproject%5CCongress%5CBuehne%5Cportalbuehne_did.css&mapFileName=C:%5CWork%5CMCH.CMS.Sass%5CMCH.CMS.Sass%5Cproject%5CCongress%5CBuehne%5Cportalbuehne_did.css.map&precision=5&outputStyle=expanded&sourceMapURL&
      
  • Recompile all less files doesn't work
    3 Posts | Last post October 11, 2014
    • Recompile all less files worked just fine, but when I've checkout fresh version into another folder it stop working (including recompile after build).
      
      If I open less file, change it and save (css is created) then this file works automatically since then just fine.
      
      Should I open each time I create a new repository all less files, or there is another way?
    • I have comitted only .less files, once I add corresponded .css, Web Essentials start works with it as expected.
    • The only way, find out for now is to commit .css files too. Though all my .css files are autogenerated and therefore it is a pitty, that I should commit .css along with .less and checkin .css on change of less too.
  • Minify CSS
    1 Posts | Last post September 30, 2014
    • On CSS minify, should there be an option to remove empty selectors?
1 - 10 of 328 Items