SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox

VSIP Partner Free

SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox add-in for Visual Studio. This add-in adds several features to help your embedded database development efforts: Scripting of tables and data, import from SQL Server and CSV files and much, much more.

(198) Review
Visual Studio
2015, 2013, 2012, 2010, 15
Download (545,996)
5/6/2016
4.5.0.2
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (198)
Q and A (113)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Leonardo Miglietta | June 24 2016

Useful and powerful at the same time, great job. Erik now you're in my favorite;-)

by SamuelOConnor | June 23 2016

Brilliant!

by Carlo Salas | June 17 2016

Thanks for the tool, is amazing!

by Paco Rodriguez M | June 09 2016

Best tool for SQL Server CE!

by Jan Rajnoha | June 02 2016

by teak421 | May 28 2016

by Vikas Sawarkar | May 23 2016

Fantastic Tool

by CAD bloke | May 18 2016

Not only a great tool but Erik has contributed immeasurable value to the dev community over the years. Thanks for all your hard work and generosity.

by PavelJ_CZ | May 18 2016

Great tool.

by Wilhelm.Medetz | May 18 2016

by M.Reza.K | May 16 2016

Hi

Thanks so much for your great tool!
It is really help me to write my first SQL program in C#. Also, thanks so much for your great documentations/clips and all of your comments in here and in stackoverflow.com .You are the best!

I wish you all success and happiness in your life and business. (5 stars is not enough for your helps!)
Best Regards.

by astrickland | May 11 2016

Really helpful tool here. It saved me a bunch of time having to take a bunch of screenshots of a SQL CE 3.5 database from VS 2008. I know, not a programming task but still saved me time, and the script it generated would come in handy if I really did need to move to SQL Server Express.

by Nicolas Mohamed | May 09 2016

Great tool! I use it at least once a week to migrate from SQL Compact to SQL Server. It works perfectly!

Erik is *the* expert regarding SQL Compact matters.


Nicolas

by Ed Kaufmann | April 28 2016

As a retired hobby developer this is the tool I would miss most.
I use the offline tool since years - the most amazing thing: it does everything it promises!
The integration in VS is flawless as well.

And, last but not least, I've never experienced a better support.
Erik thanks a lot!
ed

by Rdogmartin | April 25 2016

Fantastic little tool for quickly editing a SQL CE database. We recommend the stand-alone version to our customers any time they need to edit their Gallery Server database.

Roger Martin
Founder and Lead Developer
Gallery Server
Digital Asset Management and Web Gallery
galleryserverpro.com

by SirWernich | April 25 2016

it doesn't quite fit in with the "dark" theme, but it works pretty darn well, which is brilliant because sql server management studio doesn't do
sql CE anymore.
(i'm using this in vs2013)

by Peter Vrenken | April 19 2016

Great tool!

A must-have for everyone that uses SQL Server Compact and/or SQLite.

by Giarko | April 13 2016

It's a fantastic tool, it does exactly what it promises! Thank you very much.

by JJPuua | April 07 2016

ErikEJ April 07 2016
| Edit |
Delete

How can I make it better?

by clarewang | April 01 2016

ErikEJ April 01 2016
| Edit |
Delete

What could I do to make it 5 stars?

21 - 40 of 198 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • External Tool
    2 Posts | Last post Tue 2:38 PM
    • Hi, i need to schedule export from sdf to sqlite for many db's.
      There is a command line tool?
      
      Thanks
    • Sorry, found it!
      Great Tools. Thanks
  • Toolbox is Empty?
    2 Posts | Last post Tue 7:23 AM
    • After installing the toolbox, when ever i click on it, its empty. It only shows is the SQL Server Compact Data Types. I dont see any of the menu options as shown. Any ideas? Help? Im pulling out my hair..
    • You need to connect to a database, right click the root node (Data Connections) to do that - then you can start working with it.
  • Cannot install on VS 2015 Community
    5 Posts | Last post August 15, 2016
    • Hello
      I have a problem with installing the toolbox on VS 2015 Community version. It says it didn't find any installable applications. Can you help?
      
      Here is the log:
      
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Microsoft VSIX Installer
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - -------------------------------------------
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Initializing Install...
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Extension Details...
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	Identifier         : 41521019-e4c7-480c-8ea8-fc4a2c6f50aa
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	Name               : SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	Author             : ErikEJ
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	Version            : 4.5.0.2
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	Description        : SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox add-in for Visual Studio. This add-in adds several features to help your embedded database development efforts: Scripting of tables and data, import from SQL Server and CSV files and much, much more.
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	Locale             : en-US
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	MoreInfoURL        : http://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	InstalledByMSI     : False
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	SupportedFrameworkVersionRange : [4.0,4.9]
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	SignatureState     : Unsigned
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	Supported Products : 
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 		Microsoft.VisualStudio.Pro
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 			Version : [10.0]
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 		Microsoft.VisualStudio.Pro
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 			Version : [11.0]
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 		Microsoft.VisualStudio.Pro
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 			Version : [12.0]
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 		Microsoft.VisualStudio.Pro
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 			Version : [14.0]
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 		Microsoft.VisualStudio.Pro
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 			Version : [15.0]
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	References         : 
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 		-------------------------------------------------------
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 		Identifier   : Microsoft.VisualStudio.MPF
      2016-08-
      
      
    • 2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Searching for applicable products...
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Found installed product - Microsoft Visual Studio Express 2012 for Web
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Found installed product - Microsoft Visual Studio 2015 Shell (Integrated)
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Found installed product - Microsoft Visual Studio Express 2015 for Windows Desktop
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Found installed product - Global Location
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Found installed product - ssms
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Found installed product - ssms
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - VSIXInstaller.NoApplicableSKUsException: This extension is not installable on any currently installed products.
    • No extensions, including this one, work with VS Express, you need Community edition (free) or higher (Pro/Enterprise)
    • I am guessing that you have installed Express, not Community!
    • Good guess, sorry for trouble
  • SQL Server Compact Toolbox right click not working
    2 Posts | Last post August 12, 2016
    • I have a Compact Server 4.0 database.  I need to look at one of the tables.  When I right click on a table, the context menu only has refresh and properties.  What are the steps to fix this?
      
      I have VS 2015.  When I try to reinstall the toolbox, only VS2013 appears.
      
      Bob
    • You are looking at Server Explorer, open the Toolbox to get the full experience, from the Tools menu, or use the Icon is Server Explorer 
  • Tutorials For Windows IOT Core
    4 Posts | Last post August 02, 2016
    • Please let me know if you are aware of any online tutorial for creating a brand new SQLite database intended for the Windows 10 IOT Core and the Raspberry Pi 3?
      
       I'm interested in creating a Food Recipe database with four tables.The part that I need help with is only with the creation of the database using the scripts generated by your tool.
      
      I will appreciate if you guys can share some links on how to do this using SQLite Toolbox inside Visual Studio 2015.(C#)
      
      Thanks
    • Can you use this: http://erikej.blogspot.dk/2014/10/database-first-with-sqlite-in-universal.html ?
    • Erik:
      
      I was able to create my tables with the link you provided. For one of the tables I created all the needed fields and inserted all the data including images. Now I find myself in a situation where I need to add another field to that table?
      
      Question: Will I loose all the data? Is there a way to add a field without loosing the data already entered?
      
      Thanks
    • You must recreate the table, a SQLite "feature" !
  • Crash on Windows 10
    2 Posts | Last post July 20, 2016
    • Hi, ErikEJ.
      When I moved to Windows 10 and tried to export SQL server database to SQLite I
      got error DataReader.GetFieldType(3) returned null on my table with sys.geography type column. This operation worked for me on Windows 8.1 earlier. Also this error is well known in net and related with versions of SQL Server and .NET types and has solution.
      Is there suggestions?
    • Hi, if this is a "well known" error, could you please create an issue on github with all details. I have never heard about this issue before.
  • Edit Top Data 200 doesn't take into account the foreign key constraint
    4 Posts | Last post June 25, 2016
    • Hi,
      
      Congratulations for this excellent tool !!! 
      just a question : Am I wrong or when we edit data in a sqlite db, it does not take into account foreign keys ?
      
      Regards, 
      
      Florian 
    • By default, SQLite does not enforce foreign key constraints (sadly) - you can enable this when you add a connection to a SQLite db by selecting the "Foreign Keys" option - this will make your connection string look like this: data source=C:\Code\sq.db;Foreign Keys=True 
    • Yeah, it works fine ! Again Congratulations for all this work and the support ! (PS : Is it documented ?)
    • Documentation here: https://www.sqlite.org/foreignkeys.html - and if you like the Tool, I would be very grateful for a rating or review here:
      
      https://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/0e313dfd-be80-4afb-b5e9-6e74d369f7a1/view/Reviews
  • Visual Studio 15
    2 Posts | Last post June 01, 2016
    • Hi, Erik! Here's my question - when SQL CE Toolbox will support VS 15? :)
    • Today! Or is something not working for you?
  • SQL Server Data diff script
    2 Posts | Last post May 26, 2016
    • Hi Erik - Firstly, this is a great tool and is helpful in my work!
      
      I have few questions on data diff feature and others.
      
      1. I'm trying to convert server db(.mdf) to .sdf file.I had about 1100000 records. On choosing to do this for both schema and data, it generated multiple .sqlce (102)files with 18528KB size. Is there a way to restrict the script to a single file?
      
      2. Once the files were generated, I added an extra record. Since the last run of the script, is there a way to find out the differential updates and generate only the delta script other than doing the .sdf file compare?
      
      3. I wanted to compare the .sdf files and see the difference. I used this 'script database diff' option and saw the schema changes captured for the .sdf file, I am unable to capture the delta data changes between source and target. Is there an option for that?
       
    • 1: No (due to ressource restrictions during creation of the files)
      2: The Toolbox has a data compare featuire (on Table level) - could you use that?
      3: See 2
  • A tutorial for starting with SQLite embedded and ClickOnce??
    8 Posts | Last post May 25, 2016
    • Hello, I download the extension and watched the videos on https://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/documentation and https://github.com/ErikEJ/SqlCeToolbox and erikej.blogspot.com but I can´t find any simple tutorial of how to start from zero.
      
      I just need to solve the creation of a SQLite dabatabase AND the ClickOncePublish thing to start searching for more.
    • To create a database, just select Add new SQLite database from the menu. ClickOnce does not really relate to the Toolbox
    • Thanks ErikEJ!
      
      1) I create a New proyect - Visual Basic - Windows - WFA
      
      2) With the Toolbook I create or connect to the SQLite Database
      
      3) I install NuGet - Install-Package System.Data.SQLite
      
      4) I can show the data base info on a DataGridView
      
      All OK.. but when I publish the proyect and try to run I have the error "Unable to load DLL 'SQLite.Interop.dll'"
      
      I read a lot of boards and I even have the DLL but something still don´t work.
      
      This is something related to the Toolboox or to Visual Studio - SQlite integration?
      
      Thanks
    • Is your app built for x86 (and not Any CPU) ? It is a SQLite issue, and has nothing to do with the Toolbox or VS.
    • Thanks again ErikEJ, I will research. I'm stuck on that point.
    • Solved!!!
      
      Compile - Target CPU - x86
      
      Thanks
    • Great - If you use my tools, I would be very grateful for a rating or review here:
      
      https://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/0e313dfd-be80-4afb-b5e9-6e74d369f7a1/view/Reviews
    • "If you use my tools, I would be very grateful for a rating or review here:
      
      https://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/0e313dfd-be80-4afb-b5e9-6e74d369f7a1/view/Reviews"
      
      No problem, I need to learn more and then I will post a feedback
1 - 10 of 113 Items