SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox

VSIP Partner Free

SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox add-in for Visual Studio. This add-in adds several features to help your embedded database development efforts: Scripting of tables and data, import from SQL Server and CSV files and much, much more.

(202) Review
Visual Studio
2015, 2013, 2012, 2010, 15
Download (553,289)
5/6/2016
4.5.0.2
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (202)
Q and A (117)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Behnam Emamian Data3 | July 14 2016

by Mario64 | July 13 2016

Thank you for this amazing tool.

by RHUSA | July 10 2016

This guy knows what he's doing, is extremely helpful and might be the world's best source for his expertise. We're lucky to have him and his software!

by Gabor123 | July 08 2016

Would it be possible to add a Close connection option to the pop-up menu of a database? I have to restart VS to be able to delete the DB I previously opened by SQL Server SQLite Toolbox. Otherwise it's a great tool!

ErikEJ July 08 2016
| Edit |
Delete

Are you on the latest version? Do you use SQLCE or SQLite?

by Fniz | June 26 2016

Really good tool !!!!! Just try it ;)

by Leonardo Miglietta | June 24 2016

Useful and powerful at the same time, great job. Erik now you're in my favorite;-)

by SamuelOConnor | June 23 2016

Brilliant!

by Carlo Salas | June 17 2016

Thanks for the tool, is amazing!

by Paco Rodriguez M | June 09 2016

Best tool for SQL Server CE!

by Jan Rajnoha | June 02 2016

by teak421 | May 28 2016

by Vikas Sawarkar | May 23 2016

Fantastic Tool

by CAD bloke | May 18 2016

Not only a great tool but Erik has contributed immeasurable value to the dev community over the years. Thanks for all your hard work and generosity.

by PavelJ_CZ | May 18 2016

Great tool.

by Wilhelm.Medetz | May 18 2016

by M.Reza.K | May 16 2016

Hi

Thanks so much for your great tool!
It is really help me to write my first SQL program in C#. Also, thanks so much for your great documentations/clips and all of your comments in here and in stackoverflow.com .You are the best!

I wish you all success and happiness in your life and business. (5 stars is not enough for your helps!)
Best Regards.

by astrickland | May 11 2016

Really helpful tool here. It saved me a bunch of time having to take a bunch of screenshots of a SQL CE 3.5 database from VS 2008. I know, not a programming task but still saved me time, and the script it generated would come in handy if I really did need to move to SQL Server Express.

by Nicolas Mohamed | May 09 2016

Great tool! I use it at least once a week to migrate from SQL Compact to SQL Server. It works perfectly!

Erik is *the* expert regarding SQL Compact matters.


Nicolas

by Ed Kaufmann | April 28 2016

As a retired hobby developer this is the tool I would miss most.
I use the offline tool since years - the most amazing thing: it does everything it promises!
The integration in VS is flawless as well.

And, last but not least, I've never experienced a better support.
Erik thanks a lot!
ed

by Rdogmartin | April 25 2016

Fantastic little tool for quickly editing a SQL CE database. We recommend the stand-alone version to our customers any time they need to edit their Gallery Server database.

Roger Martin
Founder and Lead Developer
Gallery Server
Digital Asset Management and Web Gallery
galleryserverpro.com

21 - 40 of 202 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • parameter tables for code support
    2 Posts | Last post September 21, 2016
    • Hi I am still in analysis phase of developing rewriting an application previously developed in MS access over to vb.net with SQL server. One of the techniques I used with access is that I had a number of program support tables - table driven programming (code processing depending on user input are parametrized instead of hard coded) those data were stored in the front-end db rather then in the user's (back-end) database. with vb.net and SQL server as back end the question arises how to store and distribute those front-end data they have to be randomly accessible. Access table, xml or SQL server compact. Is SQL server compact compatible with SQL server on the same machine ?
    • It is completely different product, so if you mean can it be installed side by side with SQL Server, then yes. See my blog for various posts on deployment.
  • Add SQL Server Compact is grayed so cant use it
    2 Posts | Last post September 12, 2016
    • Hi,
      I am using the SqlCe40Toolbox.exe but when I right click to add a connection tha option is gray. What should I do?
      
      Thanks
      
      Eric
    • You need to install the SQL Server Compact 4.0 runtime - https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30709 
  • "The specified type isnt supported"-Error during creation of DataSet
    2 Posts | Last post September 05, 2016
    • Hello,
      I want to create a DataSet from a Connection to a Compact 4.0 Database.
      However, every time I am getting the following Error message:
      "An error occurred while retrieving the information from the database:
      The specified type is not supported by this selector".
      The NuGet package Microsoft.SqlServer.Compact as well as the MS Sql Server Compact SP1 x64 are installed.
      Know how to fix it?
    • Without seeing your code it is impossible for me to help you - and not really sure how this relates to the Toolbox... Suggest you post more information, incl code either on Stackoverflow or https://github.com/ErikEJ/EntityFramework.SqlServerCompact/issues/new 
  • Support for vs 2015 express
    3 Posts | Last post September 02, 2016
    • Hello,
       I am trying to use SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox with Visual Studio 2015 Express for web. But i can't  install it. Does exist any version that I could use? thank you. 
    • You can use VS Community instead or there is a standalone version on CodePlex
    • ok erik
      
      Let me change to the community edittion.
      
      thank you.
  • External Tool
    2 Posts | Last post August 30, 2016
    • Hi, i need to schedule export from sdf to sqlite for many db's.
      There is a command line tool?
      
      Thanks
    • Sorry, found it!
      Great Tools. Thanks
  • Toolbox is Empty?
    2 Posts | Last post August 30, 2016
    • After installing the toolbox, when ever i click on it, its empty. It only shows is the SQL Server Compact Data Types. I dont see any of the menu options as shown. Any ideas? Help? Im pulling out my hair..
    • You need to connect to a database, right click the root node (Data Connections) to do that - then you can start working with it.
  • Cannot install on VS 2015 Community
    5 Posts | Last post August 15, 2016
    • Hello
      I have a problem with installing the toolbox on VS 2015 Community version. It says it didn't find any installable applications. Can you help?
      
      Here is the log:
      
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Microsoft VSIX Installer
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - -------------------------------------------
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Initializing Install...
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Extension Details...
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	Identifier         : 41521019-e4c7-480c-8ea8-fc4a2c6f50aa
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	Name               : SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	Author             : ErikEJ
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	Version            : 4.5.0.2
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	Description        : SQL Server Compact/SQLite Toolbox add-in for Visual Studio. This add-in adds several features to help your embedded database development efforts: Scripting of tables and data, import from SQL Server and CSV files and much, much more.
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	Locale             : en-US
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	MoreInfoURL        : http://sqlcetoolbox.codeplex.com/
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	InstalledByMSI     : False
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	SupportedFrameworkVersionRange : [4.0,4.9]
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	SignatureState     : Unsigned
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	Supported Products : 
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 		Microsoft.VisualStudio.Pro
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 			Version : [10.0]
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 		Microsoft.VisualStudio.Pro
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 			Version : [11.0]
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 		Microsoft.VisualStudio.Pro
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 			Version : [12.0]
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 		Microsoft.VisualStudio.Pro
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 			Version : [14.0]
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 		Microsoft.VisualStudio.Pro
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 			Version : [15.0]
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 	References         : 
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 		-------------------------------------------------------
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - 		Identifier   : Microsoft.VisualStudio.MPF
      2016-08-
      
      
    • 2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Searching for applicable products...
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Found installed product - Microsoft Visual Studio Express 2012 for Web
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Found installed product - Microsoft Visual Studio 2015 Shell (Integrated)
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Found installed product - Microsoft Visual Studio Express 2015 for Windows Desktop
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Found installed product - Global Location
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Found installed product - ssms
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - Found installed product - ssms
      2016-08-15 11:58:59 - VSIXInstaller.NoApplicableSKUsException: This extension is not installable on any currently installed products.
    • No extensions, including this one, work with VS Express, you need Community edition (free) or higher (Pro/Enterprise)
    • I am guessing that you have installed Express, not Community!
    • Good guess, sorry for trouble
  • SQL Server Compact Toolbox right click not working
    2 Posts | Last post August 12, 2016
    • I have a Compact Server 4.0 database.  I need to look at one of the tables.  When I right click on a table, the context menu only has refresh and properties.  What are the steps to fix this?
      
      I have VS 2015.  When I try to reinstall the toolbox, only VS2013 appears.
      
      Bob
    • You are looking at Server Explorer, open the Toolbox to get the full experience, from the Tools menu, or use the Icon is Server Explorer 
  • Tutorials For Windows IOT Core
    4 Posts | Last post August 02, 2016
    • Please let me know if you are aware of any online tutorial for creating a brand new SQLite database intended for the Windows 10 IOT Core and the Raspberry Pi 3?
      
       I'm interested in creating a Food Recipe database with four tables.The part that I need help with is only with the creation of the database using the scripts generated by your tool.
      
      I will appreciate if you guys can share some links on how to do this using SQLite Toolbox inside Visual Studio 2015.(C#)
      
      Thanks
    • Can you use this: http://erikej.blogspot.dk/2014/10/database-first-with-sqlite-in-universal.html ?
    • Erik:
      
      I was able to create my tables with the link you provided. For one of the tables I created all the needed fields and inserted all the data including images. Now I find myself in a situation where I need to add another field to that table?
      
      Question: Will I loose all the data? Is there a way to add a field without loosing the data already entered?
      
      Thanks
    • You must recreate the table, a SQLite "feature" !
  • Crash on Windows 10
    2 Posts | Last post July 20, 2016
    • Hi, ErikEJ.
      When I moved to Windows 10 and tried to export SQL server database to SQLite I
      got error DataReader.GetFieldType(3) returned null on my table with sys.geography type column. This operation worked for me on Windows 8.1 earlier. Also this error is well known in net and related with versions of SQL Server and .NET types and has solution.
      Is there suggestions?
    • Hi, if this is a "well known" error, could you please create an issue on github with all details. I have never heard about this issue before.
1 - 10 of 117 Items