Productivity Power Tools 2012

Microsoft Free

A set of extensions to Visual Studio 2012 Professional (and above) which improves developer productivity.

Microsoft
(123) Review
Visual Studio
2012
Download (446,965)
3/17/2016
11.0.60403.0
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (123)
Q and A (160)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by wmevius | July 29 2013

caused a crash when trying to go to the work items for a project

System.NullReferenceException was unhandled
HResult=-2147467261
Message=Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Source=Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.PowerTools.Common
StackTrace:
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.PowerTools.Common.VsipHost.GetUserSubKey(Package package, String subKey, Boolean writable)
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.PowerTools.Settings.GetRootKey(Boolean writable)
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.PowerTools.Settings.GetValue(String name, Object defaultValue)
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.PowerTools.Settings.GetCachedValue(String key, Boolean defaultValue)
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.PowerTools.Settings.get_TemplateEnabled()
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.PowerTools.TemplatesViewModel.<Refresh>d__1.MoveNext()

Update: updated to latest version and now this error has gone :)

by Kareninstructor | July 15 2013

Great edition to the IDE. Also used this in VS2010 too.

by Coder_Dan | June 14 2013

Quite useful but also contains some serious flaws!

Watch out for the options:
1) "Enhanced Scroll Bar" - this can slow the editor down to a crawl at times.

2) In "Tabs and Windows" - do not check "Maintain pin status if document is removed from well"! It causes DevStudio to crash when doing routine operations like running up an app in the debugger, or lock up with resizing the main window. If you are getting faulting module: KERNELBASE.dll with exception code 0xe0434352 in DEVENV.EXE reported to your EventLog, then there is a good chance that it is this option!

by urza.cc | May 31 2013

Unfortunately, this 2012 version is missing the superb functionality from 2012 the Ctrl+2 to quickly navigate to any class/member in the current source file. This is a pain, because now to navigate to class/member in current source file, one must reach to the mouse and use either solution explorer or the combobox menu, none of these is as quick and elegant as was the keyboard only popup solution with CTRL+2 in PowerTools 2010 version.

by Guy Shahine | May 29 2013

One of my favorite core tools.

by HS Gurvey | May 28 2013

It is very hard to see why these items simply aren't in VS2012. And the need to add, roughly, the color code printing feature, after the VS2010 experience, is simply ridiculous.

by Softlion | May 25 2013

The new "pinned line" of tabs is very handy.

Tab colorization is quickly a mess. You have to search hard to find which tab the current window is.

I love the "close tab button on tab", and the close tab button on the far right. I need both and this extension gives me both !

The drop down of "other opened windows" could display a tree of open windows organized by projects, as in the solution explorer when you search something in it. Instead of a flat list.

thks for the tab well. Plz fix its bugs !

by _Aleks | May 21 2013

Stupid MS decision to remove color printing from VS 2010. Now have to build extra applications to put it back. Why not fixing it in VS 2012 or updates directly?

by HolgerSinn.Com | May 20 2013

Maybe the best collection for visual Studio
if you don't know it: check it out

by Sergio Parra | April 27 2013

This set of tools save a lot of time

by Peter Pressacco | April 09 2013

by Carsten Siemens | April 06 2013

Extends VS with very useful features: color printing, auto brace completion,...

by LEPT0N | April 01 2013

Nothing beats the 'full map mode' setting of the 'enhanced scroll bar'!

by jwake | March 18 2013

by MDJRUK68 | March 01 2013

Great addition. Now I can print in colour :)

by Piotr Kula | February 28 2013

Every time I use a new machine I notice the little things that are missing. Always gotta install this. Great work!

by Vrane | February 23 2013

Excellent extension :)

idea for new feature : http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en/vswpfdesigner/thread/1bdf2ddd-472c-4c17-ad2e-845f5bf1f086

by Juan Zamudio | February 21 2013

When I installed the version 11.0.60128.0 I lost my settings, i thought this bug was fixed?

by TLunsf | February 20 2013

I have been a Microsoft fanboy for my entire programming career, but 2012-2013 may be your (Microsoft's) downfall. Everything is pushed out without QA - Win8, Office2013, VS2012, and now this update. Have you ever heard of saving configuration settings??? Now I've got to go waste an hour to figure out what my settings should be. AGAIN.

by Lemonshark1 | February 16 2013

41 - 60 of 123 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Email Code Snippet throws exception
    1 Posts | Last post Wed 7:35 AM
    • Hi, I am using this tool. It is really very useful. I used Email Code Snippet but got exception "An exception occured when trying to launch the default mail client". How to fix this issue? Thanks.
  • ColorizedSignatureHelp issue
    1 Posts | Last post April 06, 2016
    • Hi there.
      
      When ColorizedSignatureHelp is on, the type DateTime does not highligh.
      
      ...
      System.DateTime anyDate = DateTime.Now;
      Console.WriteLine(anyDate.ToString());
      ...
      
      The type "DateTime" does not highligh. Its color should be the same as "Console".
      
      When I disable ColorizedSignatureHelp at options, I've got an error:
      
      Unable to modify Colorized Parameter Help: Could not find file
      'c:\user\..\..\EXTENSIONS\..\ColorizedSignatureHelp.pkgdef.disabled'
      
      I am using Visual Studio 2012 Professional Update 5, Windows 10.
      Thanks.
  • System.ArgumentOutOfRangeException
    3 Posts | Last post September 28, 2015
    • Exception Type       : System.ArgumentOutOfRangeException
      Exception Message    : Invalid position
      Parameter name: newPosition
      Exception Stack Trace:    at Microsoft.VisualStudio.PlatformUI.Shell.DocumentGroup.MovePinnedView(ViewElement element, Int32 newPosition)
         at Microsoft.CustomDocWell.Slider.SliderDocumentGroup.SortViews()
         at Microsoft.CustomDocWell.Slider.SliderDocumentGroup.<ScheduleAsyncSort>b__5()
         at System.Windows.Threading.ExceptionWrapper.InternalRealCall(Delegate callback, Object args, Int32 numArgs)
         at MS.Internal.Threading.ExceptionFilterHelper.TryCatchWhen(Object source, Delegate method, Object args, Int32 numArgs, Delegate catchHandler)
      Exception Data:
      Key: System.Object, Value: [null]
      
    • I too have received this error.  It happens to me when I try to debug.  I removed all but one pinned tab and debug worked.  I then added them all back one by one without a crash when starting debug.  This did occasionally prevent me from launching VS when selecting a recent project from the start menu.
    • I am also experiencing this issue since upgrading from Update 2 to Update 5 in VS2013. Do I have to disable the Productivity Power Tools to get rid of this error? I'd rather not as it is a useful toolkit.
      
  • GDI object leak in full mode enhanced scrollbar
    1 Posts | Last post August 10, 2015
    • When the enhanced scrollbar is enables and in full mode, there is a considerable GDI object leak.
      
      
      To test this:
      
      0. Make sure enhanced scrollbar is enables and in full mode
      1. With task manager or process explorer, inspect the number of GDI objects used by Visual Studio
      2. Open a file
      3. Inspect the number of GDI objects again
      4. Close the file
      5. Inspect the number of GDI objects again
      6. Repeat steps 2 through 5 a few dozen times; you may use the same file or another file
      
      Expected output (assuming eager disposal of GDI objects):
      3. An increase in GDI objects since the last observation
      5. A decrease in GDI objects since the last observation by the same amount it increased in 3
      
      Expected output (assuming eventual disposal of GDI objects, subject to GC):
      3. An increase in GDI objects since the last observation
      5. An eventual decrease in GDI objects to the number observed in 1, or by the sum of the increases observed in 3; otherwise, no change
      
      Observed output:
      3. An increase in GDI objects since the last observation between 50 and 100
      5. A decrease in GDI objects since the last observation between 0 and 10
      
      
      What this means is that the number of GDI objects grows quite fast. Eventually the default GDI limit of 10000 is reached and Visual Studio stops responding.
      
      With multiple instances of Visual Studio open, the session's GDI limit is easily reached, affecting all other open applications and making the whole session unstable.
  • Format document on save & XAML
    2 Posts | Last post December 04, 2014
    • Format document on save doesn't seem to work on XAML files, is it intended ?
      If I edit and save, it doesn't behave as if I edit and use Ctrl+E, D.
    • VS 2012 Pro Update 4 (v11.0.61030.00)
      Productivity Power Tools v11.0.60403.0
  • Interactive Tooltips
    1 Posts | Last post November 30, 2014
    • Can we have the interactive tooltips back to VS2012? Like the one in Solution Navigator in VS2010
  • using line is removed even though it contains extension classes used in the code
    1 Posts | Last post November 16, 2014
    • Power Tools removes the extension using lines even though the classes they contain are used in the code.
      
      Can I suppress the removal of an individual using line by using a directive or attribute etc.?
      
      Thanks in advance
  • ResolveConflicts dialog is displayed as a modal window preventing access to vs tabs
    1 Posts | Last post August 18, 2014
    • I have converted/modified this version to run under VS 2013 Update 2 and all is fine except when you merge and have a conflict. When the ResolveConflicts dialog is invoked it displays as a modal window. When you opt to click its button to Manually Resolve in Merge Tool it opens the conflict in a tabbed vs page but you cannot access any tabs in vs or do anything to resolve it as the modal dialog window blocks all access.
      
      How can I change this window to open as a vs tab page?
      
      Thanks
  • Shortcut conflict
    1 Posts | Last post August 04, 2014
    • With a french canadian keyboard, the ] character (alt.car. + ]) is not accessible anymore if the align assignement option is activated.
  • IDE hangs when printing under Win 8, 8.1, Srv2012 R2 (corrected text)
    2 Posts | Last post July 11, 2014
    • Productivity Power Tools Extension fail to print with Visual Studio 2012 Ultimate (Update 4) under Windows 8, Windows 8.1 and Windows Server 2012 R2. Mainly I use it to print from the editor the syntax highlighted text.
      It appears not possible to print - the Visual Studio 2012 IDE hangs shortly after giving 'Print' command. The issue is noticed only under these systems, the latest updates were applied
      The same happens also with Visual Studio 2010 Ultimate. Something goes wrong, in particular, if we make print out via 'Adobe PDF' printer driver the file with name "Xps Document.pdf" is created, which means that printing subsystem is used wrong way. I think it is necessary to install some addition absent in the system but present in Windows 7.
      But if we disable the extensions the print possibility returns. I would like to use modern Windows to run both Visual Studio 2012 and 2010, but without syntax highlited printouts it is not that handy.
      
    • Sorry, let me reply my question. It seems I understood what was wrong.
      Color print of the text with syntax highlight works under modern Windows but not through 'Adobe PDF' printer driver of Acrobat Pro version 9 (9.5.1). This is the fault of Adobe Acrobat 9 Pro, but not of Windows, I suppose, as everything works ok if we use Acrobat XI Pro instead. But I prefer version 9 to 11. Has anyone tested the print through Acrobat Pro 9.5.5 'Adobe PDF' driver in Windows 8, 8.1 or 2012 R2? 
1 - 10 of 160 Items