Go To Definition


Make ctrl+click perform a "Go To Definition" on the identifier under the cursor. Also, when the ctrl key is held down, highlight identifiers that look like they have definitions to navigate to.

(84) Review
Visual Studio
2015, 2013, 2012, 2010
Download (164,433)
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Reviews (84)
Q and A (41)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Davor Mas | March 04 2015

Great extension!

Just what I needed after my excursion to Eclipse for couple of months. ;)

by mist83 | January 20 2015

Interferes with default functionality of Ctrl+click, which highlights the whole word when clicked, making precision less important and saving me ~200-300 ms when I want to highlight a whole word.

While reaching for F12 wastes that same ~200-300 ms, it's far less likely (because it's explicit) to derail my current workflow than having to recover from accidentally navigating when I meant to be copying.

v2.5. ignores Ctrl+Shift+click because it has other bindings, but would propose that user can define key+click combo instead (I don't use default Ctrl+Shift functionality often, so for my workflow, Ctrl+Shift+click for F12 functionality might be useful).

by grundt | August 22 2014

Works well - very speedy ... the only trick is remembering that it's available

by hsinwei | July 05 2014

by Prateek Bhushan | May 05 2014

It is an awesome tool, however I have to degrade to VS2008, can I use it for that?

Noah Richards May 19 2014
| Edit |

Nope. VS2008 used a completely different editor and extensibility system, so this definitely won't work there. Sorry :(

by stabilopro | April 19 2014

by Jamie Collins | February 28 2014

A fantastic extension I've been using since VSS 2010 and have just installed VSS 2013.

In common with @a5Digital, I too would like a way of navigating 'Peek Definition' but wonder whether this functionality is exposed by the API. There is no mention of 'peek' in the docs for VSConstants.VSStd97CmdID (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/microsoft.visualstudio.vsconstants.vsstd97cmdid.aspx). So it doesn't seem possible - or am I missing something?

Noah Richards March 01 2014
| Edit |

It wouldn't be in the "97" set, since that was for VS 97, so waaaay too old :) Check the values in the vsstd12cmdid section, which has peek definition + peek navigate (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/microsoft.visualstudio.vsconstants.vsstd12cmdid.aspx).

by VolarVideo | February 25 2014

I wish this worked. Using VS2013 and GTD 2.5. I ctrl+click doesn't do anything. Ctrl+hover and the identifier turns into a hyperlink but when I click nothing happens.

Noah Richards February 25 2014
| Edit |

That's unfortunate. Can you point me (a comment in Q&A) at what GTD 2.5 is? It must somehow conflict with how the mouse event is handled, but I'm not sure how.

by Oleg V. Korzhukov | February 18 2014

Most useful extension I ever installed to VS

by Batu Ozk | January 15 2014

by iphilsy | January 03 2014

Thank you thank you thank you. Works great. You turned my frown upside-down!

by ITSTH | November 28 2013

For me it's the best plugin ever for visual studio. It's the fastest way of navigating. Just one suggestion: I think it would be nice if Ctrl+RightClick on a keyword triggered the search for references of a function.

by denis_stankovski | November 21 2013

Thank you so much!

by a5Digital | November 13 2013

I agree with most of these reviews - this extension is a must. However I there is so much more potential here which would leave me baffled if the author doesn't explore the possibility of augmenting this:

a) allow for another key combo + left click perform a peek definition
b) allow for another key combo + left click perform a find all references

If these are exposed via the API (and I believe they are), adding these features should be fairly trivial.

Noah Richards November 14 2013
| Edit |

Sending a different command would be pretty easy to add, yup. If you want it to be configurable, that's more difficult, but just hardcoding combinations wouldn't be bad.

If you're curious about implementing it yourself, the source is here: https://github.com/noahric/gotodef. The actual command logic is in DispatchGoToDef in GoToDefMouseHandler.cs, so you could probably modify that function (or add new functions) for peek or find all references. Since the extension is still built to be compatible with VS2010, you'd want to hardcode the cmdset/cmdid for peek definition and do a version check first, though.

If you have any questions, let me know on the Q&A!

by Daniel Joos | October 21 2013

Works with VS 2013. It just requires some manual work:
1. Download the .vsix file
2. Unzip it (e.g. using 7zip)
3. Open the vsixmanifest file and add the following block to line 22
<VisualStudio Version="12.0">
4. Save and Zip all files again
5. Rename the .zip to .vsix and install it

Noah Richards November 10 2013
| Edit |

2.5 should now support VS2013. Let me know if you run into any issues, thanks!

by maxima | October 21 2013

+1 VS2013
I use this from day one and is most helpful tool ever... But I have a request (I am amazed that nobody made it yet).

Could you please add Ctrl-Shift-Click to invoke VS Find All References command.

That will make your tool best for ever!! :)

Noah Richards November 10 2013
| Edit |

2.5 should now support VS2013. Ctrl-shift-click doesn't do find all, but it is now ignored (per another user's request).

by Jan Mazur | October 19 2013

+1 for the VS2013 support

Noah Richards November 10 2013
| Edit |

2.5 should now support VS2013. Let me know if you run into any issues, thanks!

by Kurt Dowswell | October 18 2013

Please add VS 2013 support! Love this extension. Use it countless times per day :)

Noah Richards November 10 2013
| Edit |

2.5 should now support VS2013. Let me know if you run into any issues, thanks!

by f00nth | October 04 2013

by Gameme | September 23 2013

Its awesome to get a navigation style similar to source insight. I love it.

21 - 40 of 84 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion

  • F12 go to Definition Please
    1 Posts | Last post Thu 9:02 AM
    • Can you Please add the option F12 - to to Definition ? Resharper has made this function invalid and just brings me to the top of the page or to the object browser .  I don't like using the mouse as much as key presses.
      Many thanks !!
  • go to multi target option
    1 Posts | Last post October 14, 2016
    • What happend if i declare name of function in some where, so i want to list of all path i can goto? it is verry hard in visual if has more than one funtion same name declared
  • Peek definition
    1 Posts | Last post October 13, 2016
    • It's very useful to navigate to definition via Ctrl+Click, but sometimes I need to open peek definition, is it possible to configure Ctrl+Shift+Click to open peek definition in current version or maybe you could add such functionality in next version of your extension?
  • Go To Implementation
    1 Posts | Last post October 06, 2016
    • Hi,
      Thanks for this great tool. Was wondering if you could add Ctrl+Alt+Click as a 'Go to Implementation' option. I deal with a lot of interfaces along the way, so this would be a great time saver.
  • Turn it OFF
    3 Posts | Last post May 26, 2016
    • I hate this feature. How can I turn it off?
    • ... Or at least make it so that it is harder to hit. Any time I am coding quickly there is a bit of time-overlap during my clicks and my key presses.... so if I am move along quickly - particularly if I'm copying and pasting - it's about a 50/50 shot that this thing will pop up and stops me in my tracks.
      It's very frustrating.
    • You can uninstall it.
      If you're asking because it's a part of some other extension (like Microsoft's Productivity Power Tools), you'll have to follow up on their extension page, not this one.
  • VS 2015 support?
    7 Posts | Last post January 30, 2016
    • Do you have plans to support VS2015?
    • I've modified current VSIX package (just added VS2015 support).
      You can download Go To Definition for Visual Studio 2015 here
      Download, Unzip, Run GoToDefVS2015.vsix, restart Visual Studio and enjoy it.
    • Thanks Oleg. Your version works fine in VS2015 :)
    • thank you, love this tool. just installed it for 2015
    • Dead link!
      I am used to this functionality from Eclipse, need it asap. Could you please provide a new link?
    • It doesn't quite work on VS2015 in my testing; some of the mouse clicks get eaten by some other component in VS. An engineer on the editor team is looking into it next week.
    • Small feature suggestion: how about Ctrl+Alt+Click to peek definition as an additional shortcut?
  • VS 2015 support?
    2 Posts | Last post October 08, 2015
    • +1
    • Hi, the link you provided: http://download.virtosoftware.com/Dev/GoToDefVS2015.zip does not work, did the zip file move to a different location? Thanks
  • Extension not working in js file editor
    1 Posts | Last post May 20, 2015
    • how to make this extension works in JS file editor?
  • Go To "cref" Definition
    1 Posts | Last post April 27, 2015
    • I think this would be a very userful feature (at least for me): go to definition from XML comments like those:
         /// <summary>
         ///    A loader, that is responsible for retrieving XYZ from the database.
         ///       E.g: <see cref="MyLoaderClass"/>.
         /// </summary>
  • Go To Derive Definition
    2 Posts | Last post March 05, 2015
    • Will this extension allow me to go to the 'derived class'? for example, my code calls an interface method, can I peek/go-to-definition of the class which implemented the interface?
    • +1 for this feature.
1 - 10 of 41 Items