SlowCheetah - XML Transforms


This package enables you to transform your app.config or any other XML file based on the build configuration. It also adds additional tooling to help you create XML transforms.. Written by: Sayed Ibrahim Hashimi, Chuck England and Bill Hiebert

(146) Review
Visual Studio
2013, 2012, 2010
Download (220,961)
E-mail Twitter Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Reviews (146)
Q and A (258)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by rostolator | Thu 11:39 PM

a link to the VS2015 compatible version would be very helpful .. oh thanks Mike (3 comments below)

by CodeSourcerer | Thu 2:11 PM

by Jürgen Bayer | September 09 2016

Works perfectly and is even better than the ASP.NET transformation since it transforms even when running the project in Visual Studio.

by Mike DePouw | May 27 2016

For whatever reason, there's a new project for VS 2015.

by Ondřej | May 11 2016

Looks extremely useful and exactly what I need, but it does not work in Visual Studio 2015 Community Update 2.

by nkomp18 | May 11 2016

I am extremely frustrated with SlowCheetah.
I tried to use it in many occasions and it never quite worked for me.
The main problem is that I have multiple configurations like:
QA, UAT, PRD, Live, Local, DEV, etc and I want to be able to define those myself.
Attempting to change the configuration manager of the solution causes an array of problems that need hours to be resolved. Notably, the underlying projects will still not generate the new build configs, which leads to build problems, DLL issues and finally I can't get rid of Debug and Release configurations of which I don't want any configs to be generated.
Also if I add my configurations to the configuration manager,
How hard is it to let the user define these in a simple XML file?
Until this very simple feature is added, SlowCheetah is of no use to me and I assume many other developers

by EvangelistaLion | May 10 2016

When work in VS 2015 please ?? Thank you

by Bhuard | May 06 2016

Used it for SQL unit test app.config.


by Dave_MEC | January 19 2016

This is an extension I can't live without. We use this in everyone of our applications. It should be added as part of Visual Studio going forward.

by jmelllo | November 19 2015

by DragonOfId | November 12 2015

This extension has made configuring console programs for multiple environments SO much easier. I have no idea why this functionality isn't native in VS!

by George Birbilis | November 05 2015

see for VS2015

by the real Tim Partridge | October 23 2015

Works as advertised. Downloaded, installed, restarted Visual Studio. Done

by Toomas Talviste | September 23 2015

by Kevin Landymore | September 15 2015

Doesn't work with a build controller. Useless for me sadly, these things should work "out of the box".

by Richard M Lee | September 06 2015

Invaluable! A feature that should definitely be native to visual studio.

by SabbirSpider | August 14 2015

Great Package.It reduces my lot of manual task for my windows application

by sukhdeep.singh1 | July 31 2015

Great plugin, a life saver :)

by ronnotel | July 18 2015

I've been coding large financial trading frameworks in VS/C# since .NET 1.1 days (12/13 years). From this perspective, I can affirmatively state that Slow Cheetah is by far the most productive package that is not currently integrated into the VS tool. I'm walking through a major rollout now involving five different staging environments and over twenty different server configs. Without Slow Cheetah, the other 35 people in the deployment team waiting on my builds would be left high and dry while I tried to manage the configs by hand. VS management - what the *hell* are you thinking? Integrate!

by MGSman123 | June 30 2015

Excellent extension! Definitely essential to my VS toolbelt going forward. Works like a charm in VS2015 too. Just needed to tweak the vsextension xml inside the package :)

1 - 20 of 146 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion

  • Handling relative path
    2 Posts | Last post September 16, 2016
    • I like to use a relative path to publish to. Because it works well when tagging with SVN. But SlowCheetah don't seem to handle this? Or am I wrong?
    • I mean it don't work with preview changes to Web.config.. 
  • Previewing bug
    1 Posts | Last post May 12, 2016
    • There is a bug. SlowCheetah is unable to preview a transformation when the namespace declaration and the transformation are on the same element:
      <someElement xmlns:xdt=""  xdt:Transform="Replace" value="1" />
      However the transformation happens successfully. So it's simply just a SlowCheetah bug
  • Can slowCheetah handle external config files?
    1 Posts | Last post May 11, 2016
    • I noticed this was asked before with no answers.
      If you have a few custom sections and you want to do this:
      <section1 configSource="Config\section1.config" />
      <section2 configSource="Config\section2.config" />
      <section3 configSource="Config\section3.config" />
      Then I couldn't get slowCheetah to handle this very simple transformation:
      <section1 xdt:Transform="Replace"
      I think there is no root element to place the xmlns:xdt="" declaration. 
      I tried various things, all of them failed and made Slow Cheetah crash.
      How does this scenario get handled?
  • Is it possible to transform DOCTYPE?
    1 Posts | Last post February 19, 2016
    • I am applying transforms to a custom xml config file, but ran into a snag. How would I go about transforming this:
      <!DOCTYPE ParameterSet [ <!ENTITY someValue "10"> ]>
      into this:
      <!DOCTYPE ParameterSet [ <!ENTITY someValue "20"> ]>
      Thanks in advance for the help!
  • .Config files and Source Control
    2 Posts | Last post January 26, 2016
    • Using TFS source control
      The .config files used for Transforms do not appear to be under Source Control
      1. TFS is set up to include *.config files
      2 app.config is in Source Control
    • Hi,
      having a TFS managed project with slow cheetah, too. Works without any problems. Have you checked the "detected adds" in your "pending changes"-view of Visual studio Team Exploer for your project? 
  • How to remove slow cheetah from a project
    1 Posts | Last post December 31, 2015
    • Is there a way to remove slow cheetah from a project (ie. and not use app.config transorms)?
  • SlowCheetah XML transform app.config at deploy stage
    2 Posts | Last post October 19, 2015
    • Hi all, 
      I use SlowCheetah 2.5.15 with VS2015 to manage an app.config file for a Win8.1 universal app in order to manage connectionStrings based on build config. Everything is ok about the transformation but at the deploy stage the wrong file is publish to the ..\AppX\ folder - i.e. the default app.config (with no transformation) is published ! Does anyone have a solution. 
      It seems that the target _ComputeAppxPackagePayload building _UnfilteredAppxPackagePayload and _CalculateInputsForGenerateAppxPackageRecipe list building _GenerateAppxPackageRecipeInput list contains the wrong file. This lead to have a (my app is HelloWorld) with the wrong file - i.e. the app.config with non transformation ! 
      Thx for your help. Let me know if you need the complete build log or file. 
    • Hi opierrat, 
      Did you ever solve your problem?
  • Transformed XML no longer deployed via Web Deploy
    3 Posts | Last post October 19, 2015
    • For years I've been working on project that uses SlowCheetah to transform XML files for on screen text. 
      During the Web Deploy process for Windows Azure - the files are transformed, copied to ASPNETCompileMerge, packaged and delivered to my Azure website. Nice and simple. 
      Recently this process has stopped working.
      The files are clearly transformed and copied to the bin/app_data folder correctly. But when I take a look at the obj/BUILDXXX/Source/ASPNETCompileMerge/Source/App_Data I only see the untransformed version of XML document.
      From there the wrong xml file is packaged and deployed to the server.
      Any ideas? Comments? Anything? I've spent 5 full days trying to figure it out and I'm no closer now than when I started.
    • Hi Justin,
      I have the same problem! 
      Everything worked fine and now it stopped working. 
      Did you find a solution?
    • Sorry for the delay. Sorry, I never did find a solution. It's been a few weeks, did you find anything?
  • How to configure for TFS2015?
    1 Posts | Last post October 09, 2015
    • Has anyone found any article explaining how to make this awesome product work on TFS2015 as part of a team build?
  • Need SlowCheetah Installation Help
    3 Posts | Last post September 22, 2015
    • On a newly installed Visual Studio 2013 (Windows Server 2012), I have created a new Console project, then installed SlowCheetah 2.5.15 using the NuGet manager. I right-click on App.config file but I don't see the "Transform" menu option as I expect. The same happens in Visual Studio 2015. This has worked for me on other boxes. Any suggestions on how to debug this? 
    • fwiw, here is the Package Manager output after installing SC 2.5.15:
      Attempting to gather dependencies information for package 'SlowCheetah.2.5.15' with respect to project 'ConsoleApplication1', targeting '.NETFramework,Version=v4.5.2'
      Attempting to resolve dependencies for package 'SlowCheetah.2.5.15' with DependencyBehavior 'Lowest'
      Resolving actions to install package 'SlowCheetah.2.5.15'
      Resolved actions to install package 'SlowCheetah.2.5.15'
      For adding package 'SlowCheetah.2.5.15' to project 'ConsoleApplication1' that targets 'net452'.
      For adding package 'SlowCheetah.2.5.15' to project 'ConsoleApplication1' that targets 'net452'.
      Adding package 'SlowCheetah.2.5.15' to folder 'c:\users\<name obscured>\documents\visual studio 2015\Projects\ConsoleApplication1\packages'
      Added package 'SlowCheetah.2.5.15' to folder 'c:\users\<name obscured>\documents\visual studio 2015\Projects\ConsoleApplication1\packages'
      Added file 'SlowCheetah.Transforms.targets' to folder 'Properties\SlowCheetah'.
      Added file 'Properties\SlowCheetah\SlowCheetah.Transforms.targets' to project 'ConsoleApplication1'.
      Added package 'SlowCheetah.2.5.15' to 'packages.config'
      Added file 'packages.config' to project 'ConsoleApplication1'.
      For adding package 'SlowCheetah.2.5.15' to project 'ConsoleApplication1' that targets 'net452'.
      Executing script file 'c:\users\<name obscured>\documents\visual studio 2015\Projects\ConsoleApplication1\packages\SlowCheetah.2.5.15\tools\Install.ps1'...
      Installing SlowCheetah to project [c:\users\<name obscured>\documents\visual studio 2015\Projects\ConsoleApplication1\ConsoleApplication1\ConsoleApplication1.csproj]
      Name              : SlowCheetahToolsPath
      Value             : $([System.IO.Path]::GetFullPath( $(MSBuildProjectDirectory)\..\packages\SlowCheetah.2.5.15\tools\))
      Condition         : 
      Label             : 
      Parent            : Microsoft.Build.Construction.ProjectPropertyGroupElement
      AllParents        : {Microsoft.Build.Construction.Projec
    • Its because that the Nuget package does not provide the Visual studio extension for previewing the transforms, it only provides transforms on build. In order to preview the transforms you have to install the visual studio extension called SlowCheetah found on visual studio gallery or using the VS extension manager.
1 - 10 of 258 Items