Your extension will be available shortly on the Visual Studio Marketplace at this link.

SlowCheetah - XML Transforms

Free

This package enables you to transform your app.config or any other XML file based on the build configuration. It also adds additional tooling to help you create XML transforms.. Written by: Sayed Ibrahim Hashimi, Chuck England and Bill Hiebert

(146)
Visual Studio
2013, 2012, 2010
Download (222,814)
7/20/2014
2.5.11
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by dinkelburt | August 30 2011

by steveculshaw | August 25 2011

This add-in fills a small but crucial part of the whole development and deployment story.

Being able to generate the config files for Dev, Test and Live environments in one step is excellent

by rockyMtnRajah | August 25 2011

Awesome. What I have been looking for, for quite some time.
How can I hook it up to TFS build so that the build runs the transformations based on the build configuration?

Sayed-Ibrahim-Hashimi August 30 2011
| Edit |
Delete

Hi rockyMtnRajah, all the transform logic is contained in a .targets file. When you install the plugin there are 3 files dropped to %LOCALAPPDATA%\Microsoft\MSBuild\SlowCheetah\v1\. If you want support for these transforms during a CI build then you should do the following: 1. Copy the files in that location and check them in to version control 2. During build set the property SlowCheetahTargets to the folder where they are checked in. After that you should be good to go, let me know if you have any issues with that.

by benjaminhowarth | August 23 2011

by Wizzarding | August 23 2011

Absolutely love this!

so simple to use, and very user friendly.

Something I've wanted to do for ages.

Many, many thanks.

by ArthurZ | August 21 2011

Just kudos to Sayed Ibrahim and Chuck!
I had been trying to struggle with building/maintaining a project targeting our dev, test, SIT, UAT, Perf and Prod environments. Before I tried to use the pre-build events in Visual Studio to maintain and just never had the time. Now this extension is a real gem, it does exactly what it supposed to!
A big thank you, and I wish the next Visual Studio version will have it included!

141 - 146 of 146 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Handling relative path
    2 Posts | Last post September 16, 2016
    • I like to use a relative path to publish to. Because it works well when tagging with SVN. But SlowCheetah don't seem to handle this? Or am I wrong?
    • I mean it don't work with preview changes to Web.config.. 
  • Previewing bug
    1 Posts | Last post May 12, 2016
    • There is a bug. SlowCheetah is unable to preview a transformation when the namespace declaration and the transformation are on the same element:
      
      <someElement xmlns:xdt="http://schemas.microsoft.com/XML-Document-Transform"  xdt:Transform="Replace" value="1" />
      
      However the transformation happens successfully. So it's simply just a SlowCheetah bug
  • Can slowCheetah handle external config files?
    1 Posts | Last post May 11, 2016
    • I noticed this was asked before with no answers.
      If you have a few custom sections and you want to do this:
      
      <section1 configSource="Config\section1.config" />
      <section2 configSource="Config\section2.config" />
      <section3 configSource="Config\section3.config" />
      
      Then I couldn't get slowCheetah to handle this very simple transformation:
      
      section1.config:
      
      <section1
      attribute1="1"
      attribute2="YES"
      />
      
      section1.Release.config:
      
      <section1 xdt:Transform="Replace"
      attribute1="2"
      attribute2="NO"
      />
      
      I think there is no root element to place the xmlns:xdt="http://schemas.microsoft.com/XML-Document-Transform" declaration. 
      I tried various things, all of them failed and made Slow Cheetah crash.
      
      How does this scenario get handled?
  • Is it possible to transform DOCTYPE?
    1 Posts | Last post February 19, 2016
    • I am applying transforms to a custom xml config file, but ran into a snag. How would I go about transforming this:
      
      <!DOCTYPE ParameterSet [ <!ENTITY someValue "10"> ]>
      
      into this:
      
      <!DOCTYPE ParameterSet [ <!ENTITY someValue "20"> ]>
      
      Thanks in advance for the help!
  • .Config files and Source Control
    2 Posts | Last post January 26, 2016
    • Using TFS source control
      
      The .config files used for Transforms do not appear to be under Source Control
      
      NOTES
      1. TFS is set up to include *.config files
      2 app.config is in Source Control
    • Hi,
      having a TFS managed project with slow cheetah, too. Works without any problems. Have you checked the "detected adds" in your "pending changes"-view of Visual studio Team Exploer for your project? 
  • How to remove slow cheetah from a project
    1 Posts | Last post December 31, 2015
    • Is there a way to remove slow cheetah from a project (ie. and not use app.config transorms)?
  • SlowCheetah XML transform app.config at deploy stage
    2 Posts | Last post October 19, 2015
    • Hi all, 
      
      I use SlowCheetah 2.5.15 with VS2015 to manage an app.config file for a Win8.1 universal app in order to manage connectionStrings based on build config. Everything is ok about the transformation but at the deploy stage the wrong file is publish to the ..\AppX\ folder - i.e. the default app.config (with no transformation) is published ! Does anyone have a solution. 
      
      It seems that the target _ComputeAppxPackagePayload building _UnfilteredAppxPackagePayload and _CalculateInputsForGenerateAppxPackageRecipe list building _GenerateAppxPackageRecipeInput list contains the wrong file. This lead to have a HelloWorld.build.appxrecipe (my app is HelloWorld) with the wrong file - i.e. the app.config with non transformation ! 
      
      Thx for your help. Let me know if you need the complete build log or HelloWorld.build.appxrecipe file. 
      
    • Hi opierrat, 
      
      Did you ever solve your problem?
  • Transformed XML no longer deployed via Web Deploy
    3 Posts | Last post October 19, 2015
    • For years I've been working on project that uses SlowCheetah to transform XML files for on screen text. 
      
      During the Web Deploy process for Windows Azure - the files are transformed, copied to ASPNETCompileMerge, packaged and delivered to my Azure website. Nice and simple. 
      
      Recently this process has stopped working.
      
      The files are clearly transformed and copied to the bin/app_data folder correctly. But when I take a look at the obj/BUILDXXX/Source/ASPNETCompileMerge/Source/App_Data I only see the untransformed version of XML document.
      
      From there the wrong xml file is packaged and deployed to the server.
      
      Any ideas? Comments? Anything? I've spent 5 full days trying to figure it out and I'm no closer now than when I started.
    • Hi Justin,
      
      I have the same problem! 
      Everything worked fine and now it stopped working. 
      
      Did you find a solution?
      
      Thanks! 
    • Sorry for the delay. Sorry, I never did find a solution. It's been a few weeks, did you find anything?
  • How to configure for TFS2015?
    1 Posts | Last post October 09, 2015
    • Has anyone found any article explaining how to make this awesome product work on TFS2015 as part of a team build?
  • Need SlowCheetah Installation Help
    3 Posts | Last post September 22, 2015
    • On a newly installed Visual Studio 2013 (Windows Server 2012), I have created a new Console project, then installed SlowCheetah 2.5.15 using the NuGet manager. I right-click on App.config file but I don't see the "Transform" menu option as I expect. The same happens in Visual Studio 2015. This has worked for me on other boxes. Any suggestions on how to debug this? 
    • fwiw, here is the Package Manager output after installing SC 2.5.15:
      
      ================
      Attempting to gather dependencies information for package 'SlowCheetah.2.5.15' with respect to project 'ConsoleApplication1', targeting '.NETFramework,Version=v4.5.2'
      Attempting to resolve dependencies for package 'SlowCheetah.2.5.15' with DependencyBehavior 'Lowest'
      Resolving actions to install package 'SlowCheetah.2.5.15'
      Resolved actions to install package 'SlowCheetah.2.5.15'
      For adding package 'SlowCheetah.2.5.15' to project 'ConsoleApplication1' that targets 'net452'.
      For adding package 'SlowCheetah.2.5.15' to project 'ConsoleApplication1' that targets 'net452'.
      Adding package 'SlowCheetah.2.5.15' to folder 'c:\users\<name obscured>\documents\visual studio 2015\Projects\ConsoleApplication1\packages'
      Added package 'SlowCheetah.2.5.15' to folder 'c:\users\<name obscured>\documents\visual studio 2015\Projects\ConsoleApplication1\packages'
      Added file 'SlowCheetah.Transforms.targets' to folder 'Properties\SlowCheetah'.
      Added file 'Properties\SlowCheetah\SlowCheetah.Transforms.targets' to project 'ConsoleApplication1'.
      Added package 'SlowCheetah.2.5.15' to 'packages.config'
      Added file 'packages.config' to project 'ConsoleApplication1'.
      For adding package 'SlowCheetah.2.5.15' to project 'ConsoleApplication1' that targets 'net452'.
      Executing script file 'c:\users\<name obscured>\documents\visual studio 2015\Projects\ConsoleApplication1\packages\SlowCheetah.2.5.15\tools\Install.ps1'...
      Installing SlowCheetah to project [c:\users\<name obscured>\documents\visual studio 2015\Projects\ConsoleApplication1\ConsoleApplication1\ConsoleApplication1.csproj]
      
      
      Name              : SlowCheetahToolsPath
      Value             : $([System.IO.Path]::GetFullPath( $(MSBuildProjectDirectory)\..\packages\SlowCheetah.2.5.15\tools\))
      Condition         : 
      Label             : 
      Parent            : Microsoft.Build.Construction.ProjectPropertyGroupElement
      AllParents        : {Microsoft.Build.Construction.Projec
    • Its because that the Nuget package does not provide the Visual studio extension for previewing the transforms, it only provides transforms on build. In order to preview the transforms you have to install the visual studio extension called SlowCheetah found on visual studio gallery or using the VS extension manager.
1 - 10 of 258 Items