Linq to Entity query visualizer

Free

View Native SQL (MS SQL, DB2, Oracle, etc) of LInQ to entities ObjectQuery while debugging in Visual Studio 2008/2010/. Also view Lambda expression, edit Query parameters, view DB Connection info, view query results, and export results to MS Excel(No MS Excel required)

RRV
(19) Review
Visual Studio
2012, 2010, 2008
Get now (52,377)
7/13/2015
3.3.0.0
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (19)
Q and A (17)
Sign in to write a review

Be the first to write a review.

Sign in to start a discussion


  • VS2015?
    1 Posts | Last post June 06, 2016
    • Hi, does it work with Visual Studio 2015?
      
      In the mean time, I have tried to install it with VS2012 and couldn't get it to work.
      I have copied the file in document and program file and I have added the "allRemote" in config file. I'm on window7 and couldn't find "unblock" anywhere, however I'm admin on my computer, so I had no trouble pasting them in "program file". 
      
      Can't seem to get the "lens" icon. All I get is "can't evaluate lambda expression" or similar. Does it work on IQueryable<Entity> type as well?
  • VS2015?
    1 Posts | Last post June 06, 2016
    • Hi, does it work with Visual Studio 2015?
      
      In the mean time, I have tried to install it with VS2012 and couldn't get it to work.
      I have copied the file in document and program file and I have added the "allRemote" in config file. I'm on window7 and couldn't find "unblock" anywhere, however I'm admin on my computer, so I had no trouble pasting them in "program file". 
      
      Can't seem to get the "lens" icon. All I get is "can't evaluate lambda expression" or similar. Does it work on IQueryable<Entity> type as well?
  • VS2015?
    1 Posts | Last post June 06, 2016
    • Hi, does it work with Visual Studio 2015?
      
      In the mean time, I have tried to install it with VS2012 and couldn't get it to work.
      I have copied the file in document and program file and I have added the "allRemote" in config file. I'm on window7 and couldn't find "unblock" anywhere, however I'm admin on my computer, so I had no trouble pasting them in "program file". 
      
      Can't seem to get the "lens" icon. All I get is "can't evaluate lambda expression" or similar. Does it work on IQueryable<Entity> type as well?
  • How do i install it
    2 Posts | Last post January 05, 2016
    • How do i install it
    • RRV
      Hi Juxstar, you may download in the link or from www.rajavenkatesh.com. Unblock the downloaded file in properties of Windows Explorer (zip file), unzip the file and place the extracted files in the Visual Studio extensions folder as explained in the below messages.  Restart your VS and you should be able to use it.
  • VS2013 cast error
    2 Posts | Last post July 13, 2015
    • Hi there
      
      I receive the following error when selecting from the context menu in break mode
      
      Microsoft.VisualStudio.DebuggerVisualizers.DebugViewerShim.RemoteObjectSourceException: 
      Unable to cast object of type 
      'FR.CodeVisualizer.ObjectSource.EFVisualizerObjectSource' 
      to type 
      'Microsoft.VisualStudio.DebuggerVisualizers.VisualizerObjectSource'. 
      ---> 
      System.InvalidCastException: 
      Unable to cast object of type 
      'FR.CodeVisualizer.ObjectSource.EFVisualizerObjectSource' 
      to type 
      Microsoft.VisualStudio.DebuggerVisualizers.VisualizerObjectSource'.
      
    • RRV
      I did not test with VS 2013 and VS 2015 yet.  Shall test and release as early as possible.  Sorry for the inconvenience caused.
  • VS2010 version issues
    8 Posts | Last post September 30, 2013
    • RRV
      Hi, Couple of Sev-1 errors faced in VS2010 version is resolved.
      
      * "Specified Cast is Not Valid" while using Oracle Entity Framework solved.
      * Few users getting Visual Studio unresponsive is addressed by pushing the visualizer into a new WPF UI thread.
      * Possibility of having multiple working DB providers via dropdown box seletion.  Can compare performance of same SQL against different providers.
      * Sub screen showing results of executed query has "Export to Excel". This export feature working too slowly with large data is addressed and can work quite fast without having Excel installed in user's PC.
      * Visualizer Log box updates itself with seperate UI thread showing real time log.
      
      Recommendation: Users having difficulty to find magnifying glass can use "Add Watch" window.
    • RRV
      Hi, If you continue to face Visual Studio unresponsive issue please ensure you use version 3.2.0.1.
      
      Thanks for your patience.  Happy debugging.
    • hi RRV,I have install version 3.2.0.1, but the visual studio still unresponsive.why?
    • RRV
      Hi RMickael,
      Please find the version 3.2.0.2 available in the same download link under Description. I managed to simulate the hanging issue and corrected the same.
      
      Thanks
      RRV
    • If your Visual Studio 2010 hangs, use this single thread version (3.2.0.2). When i downloaded it still gave me the version 3.1.0.1 and visual studio still unresponsive. Can you please help ASAP.
      
      Thanks,
      Akirah
    • RRV
      Hi Akirah,
      Have you tried <trust level="Full" originUrl="" /> in your web.config as described in Reviews section?
      
      Let me know if you use Windows XP/7 64 bit.
    • Hi,
      The link for v3.2.0.2 (VS2010 description) contains v3.1.0.1. Could you please update the reference?
      Many thanks for this great tool.
      (5. If your Visual Studio 2010 hangs, use this single thread version (3.2.0.2).)
    • RRV
      The Visual Studio unresponsive issue due to switch in MTA/STA thread is fixed in version 3.3.0.0.  This works for VS2010 also.  Hope this helps many of you.
      
      Thanks
  • Which version?
    3 Posts | Last post January 03, 2012
    • In the previous post RRV says to use version 3.2.0.1.  However, when I download the dlls for VS 2010, the version of the dll is 3.1.0.1.  Where can I find the 3.2.0.1?
    • facing the same issue and cannot find the 3.2.0.1 version of the visualizer. anyone could help?
    • RRV
      Hi RMickael,
      Please find the version 3.2.0.2 available in the same download link under Description. I managed to simulate the hanging issue and corrected the same.
      
      Thanks
      RRV
  • LInQ Visualizer in VisualStudioMagazine
    1 Posts | Last post June 11, 2011
    • RRV
      Hi friends, Happy to bring to your notice that LInQ Visualizer has been selected one among best free Visual Studio and .NET tools and add-ins by VisualStudioMagazine.  The article is available at http://visualstudiomagazine.com/articles/2011/06/01/pfint_free-tools.aspx 
  • Unable to use the visualizer
    3 Posts | Last post June 11, 2011
    • RRV
      Of late i received few emails stating that everything looks fine but the visualizer intellisense does not popup.  Finally we found they were waiting on a linq query which is converted to list. Ex
      
      Dim OutQry = (From iQr in NWndEnt.Customers
                   Select iQr).ToList
      
      Hovering mouse over OutQry will not help.  This visualizer works on ObjectQuery, not List.
      
      Thanks
      Venkat
    • Hi, 
      
      I have Windows XP SP3, VisualStudio 2008 and Devart installed to connect to Oracle, 
      
      I follow all the steps to activate the visualizer (DLL, <loadFromRemoteSources enabled="true"/>, code...  but it doesnt work
      
      Is there an update for your query visualizer?
      
      Thanks and greetings from Mexico.
      
    • RRV
      Hi arzamm,  Can you mail me [info@rajavenkatesh.com] more details on steps you followed to get it working.  I shall get back to you on method to get it working.  Thanks for your patience.
  • System.Data.SqlClient.SqlException: An attempt to attach an auto-named database for file...
    3 Posts | Last post May 03, 2011
    • When I found out about this tool, I thought it'd be very useful because I could view the resulting query in debug mode, but mostly because I could execute it and see the results. But, so far, it's been nothing but a waste of my time.
      
      I am using VS2008 Pro, SQLExpress 2008, and C#. I have a Web Site opened in VS, and I have a MS-SQL database in the App_Data folder. I have a Linq query against that database. I have a breakpoint just after the Linq statement. When I debug the application, it stops at the breakpoint. I then use the Visualizer to view the query, but when I click on Execute, I get the subject error. The last part of the error message says: "A database with the same name exists, or specified file cannot be opened, or it is located on UNC share." (my DB is not on UNC share).
      
      I have spent a considerable amount of searching on this error, as it relates to this tool, but found no solution. There is a mention of that error in this Q and A, but the answer is less than helpful.
      
      My Web site works fine otherwise. I don't believe I am doing anything out of the ordinary, and my setup is a pretty standard one. I would expect many others to experience the same, but I am baffled by the lack of hits on my searches.
      
      What gives? 
      
      
    • RRV
      Hi meamdarealman,
      We have faced this error while working with file based database (MDF) in SQL.
      At first time of use, you could have opened this DB file connection in SQL Management studio.  Remove this DB file from SQL management studio.  Once you are not seeing the database in SQL MStudio, a db connection to the database file could be established.
      If this solves, good luck to you.  Otherwise please email to me at info@rajavenkatesh.com and i shall get back to you with more details to solve it.
      Thanks for your patience.
      Please support my sponsors @ http://www.rajavenkatesh.com.
      
      Venkat
    • RRV
      Hi meamdarealman,
      Executing below code via a Detach.cmd file could help.  Modify as required.
      *******************************
      set DATABASE_NAME=NorthwindEF
      set SERVER_INSTANCE=%1
      if (%1)==() set SERVER_INSTANCE=.\sqlexpress
      
      osql -S %SERVER_INSTANCE% -E -Q "exec sp_detach_db '%DATABASE_NAME%'"
      *******************************
1 - 10 of 17 Items