Productivity Power Tools


A set of extensions to Visual Studio Professional (and above) which improves developer productivity.

(841) Review
Visual Studio
Download (1,830,818)
E-mail Twitter Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Reviews (841)
Q and A (880)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by ontario1971 | March 09 2011

good set of features but recently not very stable.

by ebarke | March 09 2011

Great potential, but seems to continually hang or crash visual studio, even blue screened my machine once. I've finally resorted to disabling it :(. If there weren't so many bugs, it would be great, but for now, it causes more pain than help.

Issues i've seen seem to come from the document moves tabs around unexpectedly from docked to undocked or visa versa, doesn't always sort, selecting a different tab sometimes crashes the ui. Sometimes selecting a tab shows nothing in the editor (just a blank screen)

by rohancragg | March 09 2011

by EinmalIM | March 08 2011

Great extension.

Currently I have one problem with QuickFind and the VisualAssist extension from WholeTomato - don't know who should fix what in this case:

When VisualAssist is enabled and I use Quick Find the '(' key is not going into the find box but into the code editor. The currently highlighted text is enclosed in parenthesis.

Disabling VisualAssist gets all keys into the Quick Find box.

Can this be fixed on the Power Tools side?

by sky man | March 08 2011

Very good but still miss Metal Scroll. This is still the best so far and I hope you implement this in the add on.

Also why not implement Highlight Multi-word

into your scroll bar so that multi-highlights can be seen.

by Richard Slater | March 06 2011

Some duplicated functionality between PPT and CodeRush but equally there is a lot of great visual studio improvements that none of the productivity tools (CodeRush, Resharper or Telerik JustCode) offer.

by Keith Schaab | March 06 2011

The solution explorer and add reference tools are real productivity and sanity savers!

by BenyBlack | March 05 2011

my ide did crashed several times (on renaming control in winform designer), i attach vs procces to another ans see a null reference exception from Microsoft.PowerTool. finaly i disables powertools and then everything is ok now.
my powertools is uptodate at this time (30.05.2010)

by N L V | March 05 2011

Very useful set of tools!

by stevencohn | March 04 2011

In general still as useful as previous version but has two problem areas that I would like see fixed.

First, the new Find conflicts with both Edit.Find and Edit.GotoFindCombo; if you use only the new Find it works OK but then F3 no longer works to proceed to next instance. You CAN disable this feature without disabling the entire extension; just turn off the "Quick Find" feature. Honestly, other than the bright yellow highlighting, I don't see the real advantage of this feature. I bind Ctrl-D to the Edit.GotoFindCombo which works ostensibly the same.

Second, the Fix Mixed Tabs feature has regressed. It properly analyzes and identifies files with mixed tabs. You can click the 'x' to make the toolbar disappear. But if you click "Don't show again", nothing immediately happens - if you then click Tabify or Untabify VS will crash, if you click 'x' nothing happens and the toolbar does not go away.

I hope these descriptions help.

by erickorlando | March 04 2011

Excelentes herramientas en una sola!!!

by R.E. _ | March 03 2011

I removed it after getting tired of the new Find because the keyboard command don’t work: F3 or Alt-F to find the next, Alt-R to replace current, Alt-A to replace all, Tab from the “Find what” to the “Replace with” entries.

by adam0101 | March 03 2011

Disappointed that the Interactive Tooltips that come with the Solution Navigator still do not display the XML comments somewhere. Otherwise great work.

by Bill Leibold | March 03 2011

This update is killing me! Any use of the tabify feature crashes VS. A quick fix would be helpful.

by Benjamin S. Hanson | March 02 2011

I'm only going to talk about the new find feature, because all the others are generally good:

The new find feature is 100x better and much much faster than the built in find. I also like the fact that it always does a search in document and doesn't constantly default to "Search Solution" that can ruin your whole day.. that said - the quick replace is 1000x worse than the built-in and pretty much completely unusable.

I often have the need to do a replace in selection - this is the ONLY time I ever do a replace and it's always in a selection and it's always a 'Replace All'. This now requires about 10x as much effort as before and the default is to replace everything in the document, which is pretty much NEVER what you want.

To kick it all off you can't turn off the new replace without also turning off the new find. So where one saves my life, the other kills it.

by Frinkfree | March 02 2011

The color-coded marker/ui in the scrollbar is very innovative - making use of dead space that previously required a dedicated column in the code view - and with Shift+Click on the scrollbar to go to a specific marker I can navigate very quickly. Other enhancements to functionality are nice, but the quiet little visual cues are what help me most. I only use a fraction of all the functionality in this extension, so it's nice to be able to control usage through the options menu. Great job.

by MuhammedBaykal | March 02 2011

It's a great tool! I wish someday it will be open source...

by Brendon123 | March 01 2011

Useful tool. If find that "In Current Block" and, as others have said "In Selection" are are missed when using the new Find feature - even showing them under the options drop-down would improve things. Yes you can disable a feature if you don't like it, but I'm sure it's useful to have feedback on all the features if any case. This is more productive than the majority of users disabling the feature and not saying anything about it.

by ChrisPfohl | February 28 2011

Useful tool, makes very small improvements to the Visual Studio UI.

"Highlight Current Line" alone makes this tool worth it, although the Tabbing and Solution Navigator features are awesome as well.

Note: Contrary to other reviews, *every* feature can be turned on or off, including the new search feature: Tools//Options: Productivity Power Tools//All Extensions allows you to turn each new feature on or off. "Quick Find" is the new search functionality. I have it currently disabled.

Second note: Replace in Selection is still usable from the normal Find and Replace tool bar which is even usable while the Quick Find is enabled.

by Pankaj Lathiya | February 28 2011

Awesome and 'must have' tool !!

441 - 460 of 841 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion

  • Cannot see Solution Navigator
    2 Posts | Last post June 21, 2016
    • Where's it? I've installed this add-in without doing anything else, but I cannnot see that....
    • As of June 2016, Solution Navigator is still missing in VS2015. Or has it been rolled into the Solution Explorer now?
      I miss the quick hover tooltip that used to show class members so I didn't have to load or navigate away from the code I am editing. I can see the members in the class objects of the "new, improved" Solution Explorer, but that interrupts my coding.
  • Solution Navigator Not Displaying Methods and Properties
    1 Posts | Last post May 09, 2016
    • I am using VS 2010 Pro. I installed Productivity Power Tools this morning and I am trying to become more familiar with it`s use.  I noticed that the Solution Navigator is not displaying properties and methods like it does in the example picture.  What do I need to do to make these show up, it seems like it would be useful to have them?  Thanks.
  • Pinned tabs
    1 Posts | Last post March 01, 2016
    • Is there an option to set, that pinned tabs stay pinned after restarting VS?
  • Is there a "Close all tabs" feature?
    1 Posts | Last post November 12, 2015
    • 57
      Like this extension in vs2012 and above.
  • Delete Regex/Project color coding pattern
    1 Posts | Last post September 20, 2015
    • Is there a way to disable or remove the initial 15 Project color coding patterns? I cant seem to figure out how to remove patterns. Only edit them or create a new one.
  • Debugging Doesn't remember tabs
    1 Posts | Last post September 18, 2015
    • Before this extension, my debugging window tabs would be remembered. Typically I keep "Autos" and "Output" selected. Now it appears that I get random tabs selected when debugging starts. Don't like that.
  • Productivity Power Tools Will not install on Win 10
    1 Posts | Last post August 13, 2015
    • Anyone else had an issue installing Productivity Power Tools, VS .Net 2013 on Windows 10?
  • GDI Object resource leak with enhanced scrollbar
    2 Posts | Last post August 10, 2015
    • There's a GDI object resource leak when using the enhanced scrollbar on full mode. If you open task manager, enable GDI Objects column and open file after file you will notice it growing with each file opened, and never cleaned up. Once it hits 10000 Visual Studio crashes. Whilst it grows things get slower and slower. The enhanced scrollbar is the best feature of PPT so it would be very nice to have this fixed asap.
    • I confirm this with VS2012 Update 4 and extension version 11.0.60403.0.
      When the enhanced scrollbar is enables and in full mode, there is a considerable GDI object leak.
      To test this:
      0. Make sure enhanced scrollbar is enables and in full mode
      1. With task manager or process explorer, inspect the number of GDI objects used by Visual Studio
      2. Open a file
      3. Inspect the number of GDI objects again
      4. Close the file
      5. Inspect the number of GDI objects again
      6. Repeat steps 2 through 5 a few dozen times; you may use the same file or another file
      Expected output (assuming eager disposal of GDI objects):
      3. An increase in GDI objects since the last observation
      5. A decrease in GDI objects since the last observation by the same amount it increased in 3
      Expected output (assuming eventual disposal of GDI objects, subject to GC):
      3. An increase in GDI objects since the last observation
      5. An eventual decrease in GDI objects to the number observed in 1, or by the sum of the increases observed in 3; otherwise, no change
      Observed output:
      3. An increase in GDI objects since the last observation between 50 and 100
      5. A decrease in GDI objects since the last observation between 0 and 10
      What this means is that the number of GDI objects grows quite fast. Eventually the default GDI limit of 10000 is reached and Visual Studio stops responding.
      With multiple instances of Visual Studio open, the session's GDI limit is easily reached, affecting all other open applications and making the whole session unstable.
  • continuous crashing / source available?
    1 Posts | Last post June 08, 2015
    • hi 
      i love this plugin for vs2010 - ive been using it for ages but it keeps crashing my ide and its getting so bad (9 crashes today, all from this plugin) that ill have to stop using it if it cant be fixed - is the source code available so that we can fix the bugs?
  • Solution Navigator crashes VS 2010?
    1 Posts | Last post June 05, 2015
    • I love Solution Navigator, but lately it tends to crash VS2010 completely sometimes when I use the Collapse All button. Very annoying. Any fixes out there?
1 - 10 of 880 Items