Productivity Power Tools

Free

A set of extensions to Visual Studio Professional (and above) which improves developer productivity.

(840) Review
Visual Studio
2010
Download (1,824,844)
3/17/2016
10.0.20626.18
View
E-mail Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook
Add to favorites
Description
Reviews (840)
Q and A (880)
Sign in to write a review
Sort by:

by Michael T. Pudelko | July 28 2012

Very useful extension, thanks very much!

by Schmidt Attila | July 21 2012

by Pascal Saille | July 20 2012

by Allen Kim | July 17 2012

by GanesanM | July 09 2012

Excellent! It completely changed my VS working environment. Especially Tab group options.

by Mihail.Shishkov | July 03 2012

by lionheart730 | July 03 2012

Awesome extension! Thank you!

by eddyq | July 02 2012

This may not be compatible with Visual Studio Ultimate. When I bring up VS it gives an error: "Visual Studio has encountered an exception. This may be caused by an extension". If I click OK it seems to at least not give further problems.

by Cicero Vidal | July 01 2012

Thanks a lot.

by -Aft3rLif3- | June 29 2012

Thanks

by Tomas Mo | June 26 2012

Great extension.
Thank you

by pmccraken | June 26 2012

Wow! Boring Microsoft? Not this time!

I liked VS2010 already and thought it was good, even if a little evolutionary rather than revolutionary. Came across this when I was trying to find solution of frustrating problem around switching between document windows which I've never found intuitive. Well this solved that - changed binding from Window.NextDocumentWindow to Window.NextDocumentWellTab!!!!! Cool. But have since been stoked by all the other features. You've upped your game Microsoft! Well done. Haven't had much time to explore.

How about code formatting for T-SQL? Maybe it can? I'll take a closer look

Show "Full Mode" on scroll bar is super cool!

by jaapq42 | June 19 2012

I've seen lot's of reports of visual studio crashing:
http://connect.microsoft.com/VisualStudio/feedback/details/557051/vs-10-crashes-due-to-internal-error-in-the-net-runtime-at-ip-712ff146-71180000-with-exit-code-80131506

I've experienced it too, so I'm switching off this extension, even though it provides lots of goodies...

by Mohammad Sufiyan Shaikh | June 16 2012

AWESOME THANKS

by PrinzEugen | June 15 2012

Really nice tool!

by jeepfan | June 13 2012

by Mr. Wharty | June 08 2012

Great add-in. Can;t believe I didn't find this earlier!

by Rod N Bergren | May 31 2012

It works for some things but not others. Complete hoses up expression building if you have to build any reports with SSRS.

by maxima | May 30 2012

would like to have triple click customisable and / or have ctrl-shift-click for "Find All References" command

by Kerem Kat | May 30 2012

VS 11 support for Enhanced Scrollbar would be awesome.
Solution Navigator does not support drag-scroll.

101 - 120 of 840 Items   
Sign in to start a discussion


  • Cannot see Solution Navigator
    2 Posts | Last post June 21, 2016
    • Where's it? I've installed this add-in without doing anything else, but I cannnot see that....
    • As of June 2016, Solution Navigator is still missing in VS2015. Or has it been rolled into the Solution Explorer now?
      
      I miss the quick hover tooltip that used to show class members so I didn't have to load or navigate away from the code I am editing. I can see the members in the class objects of the "new, improved" Solution Explorer, but that interrupts my coding.
      
  • Solution Navigator Not Displaying Methods and Properties
    1 Posts | Last post May 09, 2016
    • I am using VS 2010 Pro. I installed Productivity Power Tools this morning and I am trying to become more familiar with it`s use.  I noticed that the Solution Navigator is not displaying properties and methods like it does in the example picture.  What do I need to do to make these show up, it seems like it would be useful to have them?  Thanks.
  • Pinned tabs
    1 Posts | Last post March 01, 2016
    • Is there an option to set, that pinned tabs stay pinned after restarting VS?
  • Is there a "Close all tabs" feature?
    1 Posts | Last post November 12, 2015
    • 57
      Like this extension in vs2012 and above.
  • Delete Regex/Project color coding pattern
    1 Posts | Last post September 20, 2015
    • Is there a way to disable or remove the initial 15 Project color coding patterns? I cant seem to figure out how to remove patterns. Only edit them or create a new one.
  • Debugging Doesn't remember tabs
    1 Posts | Last post September 18, 2015
    • Before this extension, my debugging window tabs would be remembered. Typically I keep "Autos" and "Output" selected. Now it appears that I get random tabs selected when debugging starts. Don't like that.
  • Productivity Power Tools Will not install on Win 10
    1 Posts | Last post August 13, 2015
    • Anyone else had an issue installing Productivity Power Tools, VS .Net 2013 on Windows 10?
  • GDI Object resource leak with enhanced scrollbar
    2 Posts | Last post August 10, 2015
    • There's a GDI object resource leak when using the enhanced scrollbar on full mode. If you open task manager, enable GDI Objects column and open file after file you will notice it growing with each file opened, and never cleaned up. Once it hits 10000 Visual Studio crashes. Whilst it grows things get slower and slower. The enhanced scrollbar is the best feature of PPT so it would be very nice to have this fixed asap.
    • I confirm this with VS2012 Update 4 and extension version 11.0.60403.0.
      
      When the enhanced scrollbar is enables and in full mode, there is a considerable GDI object leak.
      
      
      To test this:
      
      0. Make sure enhanced scrollbar is enables and in full mode
      1. With task manager or process explorer, inspect the number of GDI objects used by Visual Studio
      2. Open a file
      3. Inspect the number of GDI objects again
      4. Close the file
      5. Inspect the number of GDI objects again
      6. Repeat steps 2 through 5 a few dozen times; you may use the same file or another file
      
      Expected output (assuming eager disposal of GDI objects):
      3. An increase in GDI objects since the last observation
      5. A decrease in GDI objects since the last observation by the same amount it increased in 3
      
      Expected output (assuming eventual disposal of GDI objects, subject to GC):
      3. An increase in GDI objects since the last observation
      5. An eventual decrease in GDI objects to the number observed in 1, or by the sum of the increases observed in 3; otherwise, no change
      
      Observed output:
      3. An increase in GDI objects since the last observation between 50 and 100
      5. A decrease in GDI objects since the last observation between 0 and 10
      
      
      What this means is that the number of GDI objects grows quite fast. Eventually the default GDI limit of 10000 is reached and Visual Studio stops responding.
      
      With multiple instances of Visual Studio open, the session's GDI limit is easily reached, affecting all other open applications and making the whole session unstable.
  • continuous crashing / source available?
    1 Posts | Last post June 08, 2015
    • hi 
      
      i love this plugin for vs2010 - ive been using it for ages but it keeps crashing my ide and its getting so bad (9 crashes today, all from this plugin) that ill have to stop using it if it cant be fixed - is the source code available so that we can fix the bugs?
  • Solution Navigator crashes VS 2010?
    1 Posts | Last post June 05, 2015
    • I love Solution Navigator, but lately it tends to crash VS2010 completely sometimes when I use the Collapse All button. Very annoying. Any fixes out there?
1 - 10 of 880 Items